Customer Reviews


129 Reviews
5 star:
 (91)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robin Williams At His Best
Just about every film you will ever watch (with a few acceptions) will have been influenced by another film, and may seem very similar to that film in more ways than one. However, Jumanji is a complete acception to this rule. It is a completely original and fantstic idea for a film, which has become unsuprisingly succesful.
When Alan Parish finds an old game in a...
Published on 21 Dec 2003 by no1filmaddict

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good fantasy story
Good fun for all ages. All comes right in the end and ripe for a sequel. Now where did I put that board?
Published 4 months ago by Sue


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robin Williams At His Best, 21 Dec 2003
This review is from: Jumanji [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Just about every film you will ever watch (with a few acceptions) will have been influenced by another film, and may seem very similar to that film in more ways than one. However, Jumanji is a complete acception to this rule. It is a completely original and fantstic idea for a film, which has become unsuprisingly succesful.
When Alan Parish finds an old game in a building site and begins playing it with Sarah, a girl on his street, he dissappears and she is chased out of the house by a swarm of bats. Twenty Six years later, Judy and Peter find it in the attic of there new house, (the old Parish house) and they also begin to play. They release Alan, along with a hoard of unimaginable nightmares, their only hope being to finish the game, if they live that long!
The special effects in this movie, in there day were excelent, however they do look a little bit dated now, especially the lion. It still works well though. The acting is also pretty ok, especially from Robin Williams, who in my mind is on top form here.
Although this film was promoted as a family movie, some parts are pretty intense and scary, especially the beginning where the previous two children are burying the game. Therefore you may want to watch it before you show it to very young children. Having said this, it really is an excelent film and most of the family can enjoy the solid entertainment.
If you buy this film then i guarentee that you will be gripping your seat,and will be thinking of nothing else until the end. Well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Childhood Film, and Still Loved In My Adult Years., 6 Sep 2010
By 
Lee Thomas "Lee" (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I Remember this back when I was about 10 Years old.
I Remember It on VHS, and what a great Film, staring Robbin Williams, and some other great characters. Bearing In Mind, Technology wasn't that good, Over 15 years ago, and the amount of Computer Generated graphics that were in this film, and to make it look so real.

I'm so glad that they decided to bring it to DVD, This is a Film, on which I've lost over the years, but still think about, and Missed.
It's now in my 'Top DVD' collection, and It's a DVD which I can watch, and Watch and watch and never get bored of.

This film has everything, Comedy, Drama, Action, and I Suppose some scary parts - For little children. But something I think an entire family would enjoy, I know that when my daughter is a bit older. She will love it, and I intend to sit down as a Family, and watch it all together!

5**** From me!

The story is about 2 children who start off the game, and Robbin Williams gets sucked into the Jungle, about 25 years later, 2 other children play the same game after moving into the house, and they play the game, and roll a 3 or an 8 on the Dice, Robbin Williams then comes back from the Jungle, but the story does not end there, they have to finish the terrifying game, which has monkeys, Lions, Gunmen, and loads of nasty things happening, but until they finish the game, these things won't go away!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jumanji, 26 Mar 2011
This review is from: Jumanji [DVD] (DVD)
I boughtthis for a 16 year old boy who had not seen it before. He had sevear additional needs and not been out of bed since Christmas. He managed to watch once before he died. AND he LOVED IT!! It arrived really quickly,infact just in time, thank you.We have watched it again and is good for all ages although a younger friend watched it through his fingers. Excellant entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars COOL STUFF..., 29 Feb 2004
When Alan (Robin Williams) finds a strange boardgame buried in concrete he invites a friend to play, but after rolling the dice for the second time Alan is sent into the game and never seen again...Some years later two kids discover the boardgame in the house where Alan disappeared and begin to play. The dice is rolled and Alan appears some 30 years older, they must now complete the game in order to send back a hunter who has come through with him. With stampeding rhinos, mischevious monkeys,15ft aligators and violent weather conditions to contend with Jumanji is thoroughly entertaining and a must have fun for all the family adventure...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Roll The Dice & Play The Game, 16 Aug 2014
By 
Timelord007 (The Tardis) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Jumanji [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Jumanji (DVD).

DVD Info.
Format: PAL
Language: English, German
Subtitles: Arabic, Dutch, English, French, German, Hindi, Turkish
Dubbed: French, German
Subtitles For The Hearing Impaired: English
Region 2
Aspect Ratio: 16:9 - 1.85:1
Number of discs: 1
Classification: PG
Running Time: 100 minutes

Cast.
Robin Williams as Alan Parrish
Bonnie Hunt as Sarah Whittle
Kirsten Dunst as Judy Shepherd
Bradley Pierce as Peter Shepherd
David Alan Grier as Carl Bentley
Jonathan Hyde as Sam Parrish
Bebe Neuwirth as Nora Shepherd
Adam Hann-Byrd as the younger Alan Parrish
Laura Bell Bundy as the younger Sarah Whittle
Malcolm Stewart as Jim Shepherd
Annabel Kershaw as Martha Shepherd
Patricia Clarkson as Carol-Anne Parrish

Box Office.
Budget $65 million
Box office $262,797,249

Trivia.
1)Scarlett Johansson auditioned for the role of Judy Shepherd.
2)Robin Williams was filming this movie at the same exact time he was filming a small supporting performance in Chris Columbus's movie Nine Months (1995).
3)When Judy & Peter finally find the Jumanji board in the attic, another old game - this time from the '60s - reads: 'PASSWORD'.
4)Kirsten Dunst went on to play Mary Jane Watson in Sam Raimi's Spider-man trilogy.

What's The Story.
When young Alan Parrish discovers a mysterious board game, he doesn't realize its unimaginable powers until he is magically transported before the startled eyes of his friend Saraf into the untamed jungles of Jumanji! There he remains for 26 years until he is freed from the game's spell by two unsuspecting children.

Now a grown man, Alan reunites with Sarah & together with Judy & Peter they try to outwit the game's most powerful forces.

Timelord Thoughts.
Jumanji is based on a children's boook & has been adapted into a great family film, packed with for there time decent special effects which have now sadly dated a little but does contain quite a few scary scenes which pushes the boundaries of the PG rating although the movie doesn't feature any gory moments or gruesome attacks.

The late great Robin Williams is perfect cast in the role of Alan Parrish who delivers a wonderful humourous & at times such a subtle tender heartfelt performance as Alan Parrish as William's allows the audience to feel his character Alan's grief & suffering in that he has been robbed of his childhood by becoming trapped in the game of Jumanji for over 26 years & missed out on having a normal life & family of his own, Williams play's these childlike roless with such ease & as he did in Hook delivers a magical believability to them.

Robin Williams shares such a good chemistry with his co-star Bonnie Hunt who plays the older Sarah, while a young Kirsten Dunst shows why see went from a child star to a wonderful mature actress gives a great performance in this film was further shaping her acting career her biggest hit obviously in Sam Raimi's Spider-Man trilogy as Mary Jane Watson.

The only letdown in the supporting cast was by actor Jonathan Pryce who's over the top shouty portrayal of Sam Parrish becomes annoying very quickly.

The action is fast paced & there are some great moments of suspense as director Joe Johnston creates a magical special effects extravaganza yet never loses focus on what the story is trying to tell & delivers a great family fun movie.

Overall, Jumanji is a great action packed adventure suitable for the whole family which features a great cast of actors with a particular stand out performance from the late great multi talented Robin Williams, director Joe Johnston delivers a great paced family fun adventure with laugh out loud moments, loveable jungle animals & creatures all thrown together into a clever storyline with the end result being a great entertaining family movie.

Timelord Rating.
8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm game if you are..., 5 Jun 2009
This review is from: Jumanji [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Adapted from a short story, this family fantasy film is imaginative and great fun throughout. Released to great acclaim in 1995, the film begins in 1969 where a bullied child, Alan, is dragged into the game after finding it lying half-buried at a building site. Flashing forward to 1995, two children move to Alan's old house and the game begins once more...

On its release, Jumanji successfully rode the wave of movies to feature fantastic special effects, one that had begun a couple of years earlier with the ground-breaking Jurassic Park. Featuring a young but precocious Kirsten Dunst, and starring Robin Williams, the movie revolves around a supernatural board game that draws players into a magical - and dangerous - world that also results in lions, crocodiles, murderous game hunters, a monsoon, and an earthquake escaping from the game and becoming real.

Basically a popcorn movie that is all about its effects, the film is mindless but great fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful jungle adventure, 27 Jan 2008
By 
Robin Williams (Good Will Hunting, Mrs Doubtfire) stars as Alan Parish, a man who comes back from being trapped inside a board game, to find his home town in ruins, and the only way to bring it back, is if he finishes the game.

This is a great fantasy adventure from director Joe Johnston who combines stunning and exciting visual effects with a gripping and mysterious plot.

The imagination about the board game makes the film amazing with various typical jungle elements encoded to anchor the plot and combine excitement and suspense to the narrative and characters.

Robin Williams is fantastic as Alan Parish, an uncomfortable soul who has had a difficult childhood, one which audiences can sympathize with.

Bonnie Hunt (Cars) is also an interesting character to watch. Juxtaposed with Williams, the two have good on screen chemistry as they hurtle through a remarkable adventure involving everything the jungle can bring.

The film encodes the semantic field of jungle life, with all the exotic surroundings used as dangerous and deadly elements. The use of animals is also a brilliant motive to get the film up and running in excitement.

Jumanji, as well as being well written and visually stunning, is also very funny. Kirsten Dunst (Spiderman) and Bradley Pierce (The Borrowers) along with Williams provide the most laughs in an enjoyable fantasy adventure for the whole family.

worth watching
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic adventure!, 8 Sep 2006
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Jumanji [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Another fantastic performance from Robin Williams, and the rest of the cast make excellent appearances too. The plot is strong, the effects are marvellous still, and the directing still leaves you feeling quite emotional at the end. There are some fantastic moments that are clever and indeed well done, but its the strong plot for me that makes the movie. A true classic film for the family!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A blast from the past!, 29 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I seen this for sale on Blu-ray and I wanted it straight away.

This was one of my favourite films as a child.

I always owned it on VHS but I had to to add to my Blu-ray collection.

The picture is great and it fills out the entire screen which I love. Although, I do think it could have been better. The picture seemed to lack contrast for me. The colour just wasn't as prominent and the picture wasn't as crisp as Blu-rays of older movies usually make them.

That's not to say the quality was bad, it was great! But I've seen better.

Also, I love the interactive Jumanji game you can play in the special features. The Jumanji game could have been slightly better but I really did enjoy it even though my brother hated it.

So overall this is a great Blu-ray to add in your collection but don't be expecting something phenomenal. And for €5, you can't beat that price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I want to play this game!, 10 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Crisp clear images and crystal clear sound on this Blu-ray version of the movie far surpass both the VHS and std dvd versions I have of this movie which makes for a most enjoyable viewing.
For anyone who hasn't seen this movie or even for those that have and are considering buying it I can recommend this fun adventurous movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jumanji [1995] [DVD] [1996]
Jumanji [1995] [DVD] [1996] by Joe Johnston|Robin Williams|Jonathan Hyde|Kirsten Dunst (DVD - 1999)
£12.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews