Customer Reviews


127 Reviews
5 star:
 (98)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Disney greats coming to DVD!
For the young, or simply the young at heart, the coming of Disney classics to DVD is something that is eagerly anticipated - and in this respect Hercules is no exception. In the spirit of Disney, the typical inaccuracies can be overlooked during an action-packed adventure. This movie is worth it alone for the hilarious antics of Pain and Panic, along with the stylish...
Published on 8 July 2002 by Bunnyshed

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Recommended
Classic
Published 8 days ago by Jamie Trump


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Disney greats coming to DVD!, 8 July 2002
This review is from: Hercules [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
For the young, or simply the young at heart, the coming of Disney classics to DVD is something that is eagerly anticipated - and in this respect Hercules is no exception. In the spirit of Disney, the typical inaccuracies can be overlooked during an action-packed adventure. This movie is worth it alone for the hilarious antics of Pain and Panic, along with the stylish villany of Hades. A not-your-typical Disney heroine is also to be celebrated in the form of Meg. All this coupled with the usual Disney package of great tunes and brilliant animation makes this a classic to make any Disney fans' collection complete!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At Least Out Loud I Won't Say I'm In Love..., 21 April 2002
By 
Mr. J. P. Fry "jonathanshiver" (Bournemouth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hercules (Disney) [VHS] [1997] (VHS Tape)
The suspect animation in this Disney movie is soon forgotten as you start to believe that slapstick is the order of the day - or so critics would have you believe.
Having produced film after film of 'classics' like Beauty and the Beast and The Little Mermaid, Disney dared to be different with this installment and it has clearly paid off. The film launches into song, in a colourful introduction by the feisty Fates, who guide you throughout the story, providing helpful and sardonically amusing recaps at times when you're just about to lose the plot.
The villian, Hades, is a sarcastic, Hollywood-style baddie, a role that would be out of place in Disney films normally but which fits in a treat here.
The story is a touch optimistic, stretching to the boundaries of credibility to accommodate a group of nasty giants to add a punch at the end, and a family of pink and purple Gods living on Mount Olympus.
The music is the movie's jewel in the crown - every song is a winner, every lyric is memorable, and they carry an energy to them that propels the film along and makes the characters even more interesting.
Where Disney really pulls no punches, however, is in the heart of this film. The story, from start to finish, is a touching, often moving one, a mixture of fantasy action and love, which never becomes too sentimental or sickly sweet...though they might try and paint over it with trendy animation and upbeat characters, Disney's well earned success is still with the kind of stories which touch the heart, and this one does just that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing..., 3 Jun 2006
By 
Caleb Williams (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Hercules [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
And That's The Gospel Truth.

I'm a big fan of all the Disney movies. The Disney Corporation has for just under a century, entertained generations with their loveable, funny and downright memorable characters and films. Historically, most people will prefer the old Disney film to the modern movies, but there's no doubting they still have their place.

Hercules was released during the rebirth of Disney ignited by the entirely computer animated Toy Story thanks to its collaboration with Pixar. You will be forgiven for thinking that Disney may have taken a bit of a step back reverting to the traditional hand drawn animation, but I'm sure there's a reason for that and it isn't entirely in 2D drawn animation. This particular movie was part of the Disney renaissance in which Disney reverted back to its classic ways of making movies based on classic characters and stories. Along with Hercules, other films in the Disney Renaissance were The Lion King, Beauty and the Beast and Mulan amongst others.

The plot tells of the ancient Greek myth of son of Zeus, Hercules, half God and half mortal. On his birth, the bitter and evil brother of Zeus, Hades lord of the Underworld is forging a plan to become ruler of all the Gods. He is approached by the fates who tell him that he will win in his plan as long as Hercules does not interfere. Because of this, Hades sends his stupid minions, pain and panic, to kidnap baby Hercules and feed him a potion that will turn him mortal, once he's mortal the plan is then to kill him. All does not go according to plan as Hercules doesn't drink every last drop of the potion and playfully disposes of pain and panic. Alone and stranded on Earth, Hercules is adopted to be brought up as a mortal.

We fast forward to his teenage years and Hercules is a klutz struggling with his own sense of identity and due to his god like strength, he simply doesn't fit in. He is told by his adoptive parents about his relation to the Gods and Hercules goes on a quest to find his true calling and become a true hero. Along the way, he meets his trainer, Philoctetes, a feisty girl by the name of Megara and fights the harrowing Hydra. These people all shape the man he eventually becomes to create a magnificent Disney classic about self discovery.

The animation is very unique in terms of drawing style and the flowing of lines and the brightness of the colours. It is drawn in the style of the paintings on the side of an Ancient Greek vase. The introduction of the Muses to sing in particular scenes add a musical individuality not seen before in a Disney movie. There is a combination of CG animation and 2D animation to make the experience more realistic and immersive, especially in the case of the fight between Hercules and the Hydra. The voice casting is absolutely perfect, with the exception of Hercules himself as I wasn't crazy about whoever voiced him. James Woods as Hades is almost perfect in him putting across the touchy lord of the Underworld prone to unpredictable outbursts of anger. Susan Egan as Megara is also a perfect match even though I'm not familiar with Egan's past or even current work. Of course, the real voicing legend is Danny DeVito is perfect for the touchy, down on his luck Philoctetes.

It's overall an absolutely amazing film and I was 11 years old when I first saw it. I'm now 22 and I reminisce about the first time I saw it and how much I appreciate it. If you're a parent, then this is a good film to introduce to your kids as although it's not in the slightest bit historically accurate, it's still a great way to introduce a new generation to Greek Mythology. The messages conveyed within are that of discovering ones own identity and remaining true to yourself and those you care about. It conveys this message with such subtlety that an adult can watch it and just enjoy the odd sly adult joke without feeling a bit patronised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Entertainment for All, 1 Aug 2003
This review is from: Hercules [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
As a family of five, there are few films which we all really enjoy, but this is one of them. It has excellent songs & music throughout, a good storyline & excellent humour (from slapstick for the little ones, to more subtle lines for the sophisticated amongst us). Our 8 year old daughter hates most Disney films on the basis that they are far too girly & slushy, but loves Hercules. Our 5 year old daughter lives in a pink haze of Disney princess magic, and loves Meg & the muses & laughs a lot while watching this film. Our 2 year old daughter loves Lord of the Rings, Monsters inc & this ! I have to say, my husband & I are always very happy when this film is selected, as we particulaly love both the humour & the music. All in all, I can't fault it - we think it's GREAT !!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From Zero 2 Hero, 31 July 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Hercules [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
Hercules is a brill disney film for all ages, my friends and I are all 17 and we all love singing along to the groovy songs from this film. Also as classics students we love the greek mythological undertones present throughout the film! A must have in any disney collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greek, Gospel, Great !!, 21 Oct 2003
This review is from: Hercules [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
The Greeks are responsible for some of the most heroic and magical stories ever made, and who better than one of the greatest storytellers ever to help bring their most famous hero back to life...
According to the film, Hercules is the new born son of Zeus and Hera (king and queen of the Gods), he gets kidnapped by order of his uncle who plans to overthrow Zeus and thus rule all… Why? Because according to a prophecy, Hercules is the only person that could ruin his plan, so after he is brought to earth, he was supposed to be eliminated… obviously he wasn’t…
The catchiest gospel tunes will hook you to the screen from beginning to end, during which you will see not the mighty hero performing his twelve famous tasks, but Hercules behind the scenes of the public eye… the insecure teenager who’s left out because he can’t control his freakish strength, the painstaking training he had to go through and his climb to fame. Keeping with tradition with the Lion King, Disney also provides yet another perfect villain: Voiced by James Woods, the hilarious God of the Underworld ‘Hades’ provides a brilliant counterweight to mister goody two shoes Herc. (P.S. Scar actually makes a cameo appearance in the film, see if you can spot him…)
Of course the film doesn’t come without a variety of sidekicks, each contributing their own bit of comedy to the film. In other words, their will be laughs galore when watching this feature.
The film doesn’t come without it’s soft spots either, due mostly to the beautiful and seducing female heroine Megara, the warm relationship between trainer Philoctetes and apprentice and the desire for a young boy to find out where he belongs.
Of course you’ll have loads of inaccuracies concerning the true mythology, and practically all the creatures from the other famous stories are thrown into the mix, but as far as cocktails go, this is one of the most delicious of all. I wouldn’t recommend this feature as a documentary for your history lessons, but certainly as good all-round family entertainment, well done again Disney!!
Extra’s are quite good, some behind the scenes stuff and the usual variety of games and picture books for the kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost Perfect Blu-ray, 24 Oct 2013
By 
Pantheon (Boston, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Considering buying the blu-ray? DO IT! This is a brilliant restoration for blu-ray. The picture and sound are both incredible and the film has never looked this good.

Extras: Making of (approx. 9 mins) and Ricky Martin's 'Go the Distance' Music video (in Spanish).

Sound options:
English DTS-HD Master 5.1
French and German DTS-HD High Resolution 5.1
Dutch, Portuguese, Castilian Spanish Dolby Digital 5.1
Catalan Spanish Dolby 2.0

Subtitles: English, Dutch, German, Portuguese, Spanish and French
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disney bad guy steals the show again!, 3 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hercules (Disney) [VHS] [1997] (VHS Tape)
Hades - in my opinion one of the better disney villans of late. Evil, yet hilariously funny at times. At the end, you kind of feel sorry for the poor guy. James Woods voices him perfectly. And besides, how can you resist someone who has flames for hair! The rest of the cast are just as good. Hercules isn't quite as annoying as most Disney heros, and neither is Meg (the female lead, who has a very refreshing attitude - especially when dealing with Hades) In all, this movie is great, and I recommend it to everyone! It's just a shame that it's so under-rated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars James Woods makes this movie, 4 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Hercules [DVD] [Import] (DVD)
This movie becomes better and better with each watch. It is as entertaining for children as it is for adults (maybe more entertaining for adults?). I find myself humming the music and repeating the lines as I go through my day. It is certainly one way to spice up the delivery of a lecture on economic development.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A more recent Walt Disney classic, 21 Jan 2013
By 
ReviewBlog51 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hercules [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
Feeling nostalgic, I decided to buy a few of the Walt Disney films that I loved as a kid, including 'Hercules'. If anything, I found myself enjoying it even more now that I'm older.

This is a film that can appeal to both children and adults alike. A witty and charming tale set in Greek Mythology (it may not always stay true to it but who cares?), it follows the life of Hercules, the son of Zeuz who is kidnapped as a baby by his evil uncle Hades' minions Pain and Panic who feed him a drink to turn him mortal. He is taken in by an older farming couple who raise him as their own, when he is older, he discovers who his real father is and sets out to prove himself a hero so he can regain his god-hood and join his family. Although he is trained by Phil, a goat who is famed for training heroes of the past, Hades' schemes ensure that it won't be an easy ride.

There is much to love about this film, most of the characters (even the villains) are likable and entertaining, the songs are all catchy and memorable and the ending is quite emotional. I regard this as one of the best Walt Disney's films of the last twenty years, and is sure worth having in any DVD collection.

Now, how long do we have to wait for the 'Hercules' TV series that I also loved as a kid to be released on DVD?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hercules (Disney) [VHS] [1997]
Hercules (Disney) [VHS] [1997] by Ron Clements (VHS Tape - 1999)
3.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews