Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Royal rumble 1997
Well,this rumble was an absolute classic and i can watch it over and over again without getting bored.
The first match,Hunter hearst helmsley VS Goldust
This match was slow,technical but good all the same.
Starting off goldust accompanied by "Marlena" (Terri Runnels) played a various amount of mind games with HHH by posing and blowing kisses etc.This...
Published on 20 Jun 2004 by michelle nimmo

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit boring but the royal rumble match it's self was wicked
It was a very good ppv over all but the first 4 matches were boring The Rock v Mankind match was ok The Royal Rumble was excellent and the Austin v Mcmhaon thing in the match and when the Corporation ambused him was wicked The end bit when the rock makes an apperance and distractes austin and vince wins
Published on 19 Mar 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Royal rumble 1997, 20 Jun 2004
By 
michelle nimmo (johnstone, renfrewshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Well,this rumble was an absolute classic and i can watch it over and over again without getting bored.
The first match,Hunter hearst helmsley VS Goldust
This match was slow,technical but good all the same.
Starting off goldust accompanied by "Marlena" (Terri Runnels) played a various amount of mind games with HHH by posing and blowing kisses etc.This however didnt stop hunter giving goldust a greenwich style beating.The match came to an end and i wont spoil it by saying the victor.
Second match,farroq and ahmed Johnson,these two had a long rivalry,inluding ahmed being beat down by the Nation of Domination.Ahmed had his chance to beat down farooq so to speak,at this rumble.A great match i give it 9/10
Third match of this card,Undertaker,the Phenom and Vader,a powerful newcomer to the WWF at that time,and had a lot of potential being backed by Jim cornet,a respected WWF man.This match was gruelling,both men giving it their all,a battle for the ages,involving a long sotryline between the two.Who out of these two Titans will win?
Fourth match,a six man tag team match including spanish and mexican superstars such as Perro Aguayo,Hecotr garza and El cankey,taking on Heavy metal ,Fuerza Guererro-one of the great guererro wrestling family and jerry estrada,A good outcome
And now to the royal rumble.This royal rumble was great,a pure classic.A lot of newcomers including luchadors such as M'il Masqueras.A lot of other superstars with a lot of possible realistic outcomes,including the late great owen hart,Bret Hart,Diesel(kevin nash),mankind mick foley,Vader,Rocky Maiva,davie boy smith the british bulldog,razor ramon,flash funk,undertaker,steve austin and much much more.A more difficult outcome in this rumblemwith one of these men feeling let down and "Screwed" by the WWF ringside staff,i wont give anything away.
Last match,WWF championship.Shawn michaels,the heart break kid.Sid Justice,the physcho,the man.Everything to play for in this match,with a raging storyline and a great match.Brilliant lead up and a brilliant Climax,Great outcome also.10/10 for this match.
I claim that this video is one of the greatest royal rumbles in history.DO NOT BUY IF YOU ARE NOT INTO OLD SCHOOL WWF WRESTLING.
But if you are,you will be delighted with this buy,well worth the money id say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage WWF Rumble action, 8 Sep 2001
By A Customer
The '94 Royal Rumble is just pure quality...the Rumble itself is great with an interesting twist towards the end. However the best part of the Rumble is the Yokozuna vs. The Undertaker casket match, with the 'old skool' Undertaker who is much better than his present day image.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Amazing Royal Rumble By Dave Pitfield, 7 May 2000
By A Customer
This tape is amazing. It is worth every single star in it's five-star rating.
There are as-per-usual a list of matches with the huge 30-man battle royal for WWF title shot at Wrestlemania.
The winner of the Royal Rumble was the showstopper, the icon, the main-event the Heart Break Kid Shawn Michaels!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars McMahon and Austin Finally Do Battle!, 20 April 2000
By A Customer
This video has an appallingly boring mid card, which includes Tori's WWF debut, but the main event matches are nothing short of excellent. The Rock and Mankind have a brutually entertaining 'I Quit' match, and Austin and McMahon are the first two competitors in the best Royal Rumble match I've ever seen. Chyna also takes part, and Austin gets sent to hospital by a corporate ambush, but returns to the arena later on driving the ambulance! A must see for any true WWF fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Royal Rumble 1998, 20 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WWF: Royal Rumble 1998 [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Match 1:
Goldust vs. Vader

Not a bad start, not a great start. There were good spells in this match and Vader always gets the crowd going. Devastating finish to the match.

Match 2:
Six Man Tag Team Match
Max Mini, Nova & Mosaic vs. El Torino, Battalion & Tarantula

A somewhat unique match, in which all of these competitors are all...shall we say, vertically challenged? (midgets). However, I really enjoyed watching these little guys go at it. Max Mini is the world's smallest ever athlete yet his abilities know no bounds. All 6 guys seize the opportunity at the rumble. Very enjoyable.

Match 3:
Intercontinental Championship
The Rock (c) vs. Ken Shamrock

These guys have definitely had better matches than this one. Not terrible, but their match at Wrestlemania XIV is strides above. Controversial ending.

Match 4:
Tag Team Championships
New Age Outlaws (c) vs. Legion of Doom

Again, not a terrible match but nothing too exciting. LOD dominate throughout most of this one. Yet again, another controversial ending.

Match 5:
The Royal Rumble Match

Not bad at all. Great entertainment in this one and it's always good to see some of the midcard superstars getting some decent ringtime in a rumble match unlike the present day rumbles. Definitely worth a watch. Only flaw in this one is the predictable ending.

Match 6:
Casket Match for WWF Championship
Shawn Michaels (c) vs. Undertaker

Thoroughly enjoyable match. Both men can be credited for their wide range of skills in all departments making this a very open, balanced and unpredictable match. Another surprise ending which in my opinion, spoils this match a little. But still, a highly entertaining match, a must watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "No Chance in Hell", 5 Aug 2011
By 
WWF Royal Rumble 1999 MR:

1. Road Dogg vs Big Boss Man 3/5

Nice little opener to the pay-per-view and the fans were really interacting with this one. I have to admit that both Road Dogg and the Big Boss Man put on a good opening match.

2. Badd Ass Billy Gunn vs Ken Shamrock (WWF Intercontinental Championship) 3/5

Pretty good match here for the WWF Intercontinental Championship, despite Bad Ass Billy Gunn having an injured ankle. The match was very good and featured a lot of close pin falls.

3. Gangrel vs X-Pac (WWF European Championship) 3/5

Not a long match, but certainly well done to both Gangrel and X-Pac putting on a good match for us the fans.

4. Luna vs Sable (Strap Match for WWF Women's Championship) 3/5

good to see Sable looking lovely and a great divas match, though it involved a strap and was very well put together and the ending did seem kind of familiar to another strap match from 2010.

5. The Rock vs Mankind ( I Quit Match for WWF Championship) 4/5

This by far was match of the night and was brutal from the ringing of the bell, till the moment where a superstar did utter the humiliating words " I Quit". This match had everything from brutal in ring action, to brutal out ring action. Mankind as usual did some death defying stunts, where he did actually fall onto an electric circuit board, which did knock out some lighting within the arena and he took some nasty chair shots from the Rock, who handcuffed Mankind. As I say again by far the match of the night and a brutal I Quit Match.

6. The 1999 Royal Rumble Match 4/5

I have to admit that was a good Royal Rumble Match from start to finish, and liked how it started with Stone Cold and Mr McMahon, till the very end, where it featured yet again Stone Cold and Mr McMahon. A lot of quality superstars were featured in this Royal Rumble Match and a lot of them came close to eliminating Stone Cold Steve Austin. Will not give away the winner of the Royal Rumble Match to those who haven't seen it, but all I can say is that you will be shocked on the outcome, but overall a true classic of a Royal Rumble Match up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 1999 Royal Rumble, 19 Jun 2010
By 
J. Jenkins (Dudley Port, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The way Amazon allocates reviews to VHS Royal Rumbles is absolute nightmare, so I just wanted to post making clear the correct card with the correct Rumble, for anyone like me looking to pick up a few old PPVs cheap on VHS. The card is:

The Road Dogg vs The Big Boss Man
Ken Shamrock vs Billy Gunn
X-Pac vs Gangrel
Sable vs Luna Vachon (Strap Match)
The Rock vs Mankind (I Quit match)
The Royal Rumble (participants inc. Steve Austin, Mr. McMahon, Chyna, Kane, Triple H).

For me the first four matches are a little forgettable, although Boss Man still makes for a very watchable heel and the X-Pac vs Gangrel Match has some exciting high risk maneuvers. The Rumble itself is entertaining but seems a little gimmicky, with more time spent watching what's going on outside the ring than in it.

The undoubted highlight is the I Quit Match between The Rock and Mankind, both of whom have more charisma in their little fingers than most of other participants here put together. Mick Foley's sheer disregard for his own safety takes your breath away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Rumble, 1 Aug 2007
By 
I. Brimelow - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Tatanka vs Bam Bam Bigelow (with Luna Vachon)

Good, solid match seeing the speed and agility of the Native American superstar taking on the size and strength of The Beast from The East.

Owen Hart and Bret Hart vs The Quebecers for the tag team gold

A lenghty match seeing Owen once again turning on his brother, the beginning of their long and gruelling feud.

Razor Ramon vs IRS for the Intercontinental championship

Will Razor retain his belt against the tax man?-good match with a surprise ending.

Yokuzuna vs Undertaker for the WWF championship

The big one-the casket match, which pits the Phenom against the 600-pound champion. A match which ends when Mr Fuji's men intefere, and the Undertaker is put in the casket, leaving a daunting message to viewers-HE WILL NOT REST IN PEACE.

The 30-men royal rumble

This is probably the best Rumble match there is, with superstars such as Bret Hart, Shawn Michels, Lex luger, Macho Man Randy Savage, Diesel, Crush, and even Doink the Clown.

The ending is a big surprise!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Royal Rumble 1995, 8 July 2007
By 
Wendy Hughes (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Match 1

Intercontinental Title Match#

Razor Ramon v.s Double J

7/10 Good Opening

Match 2

Undertaker v.s IRS

6/10 Not Bad ... annoying interruptions during the match

Match 3

WWF Championship Match#

Diesel v.s Bret Hart

9/10 - Great championship match .. fans were really into it

WWF tag team Championship#

123 kid and Bob Holly v.s Bam bam Bigalow and tatanka

7/10 - Finals of the Tag team tittle tournament

Royal Rumble Match#

10/10 - Brilliant. Great entertainment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Wow" what an incrediable event., 3 Jan 2007
I remember viewing this event for the first time and I have to say it was spectacular, stunning tremendous, excellent, fantastc and compelling to say the least. The event two months before the highly anticipated wrestlemania and it defenitly did not dissapoint.

My favourite and highly recommended matches are WWF championship I Quit match. Mankind v. the rock. An absaloute brutal, savage, sadistic masochistic, very very violent match. The most disturbing part was not the violence. But the sheer horror of mick foleys family wittnessing there dad getting beaten to a bloody barbaric pulp. They truly must have been concerned and terrified and desensitised by the carnage. I know I was. Definetly not for the faint heart. However an incrediable event. one of the best the wwf has ever produced. Purchase while you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

WWF: Royal Rumble 1998 [VHS]
WWF: Royal Rumble 1998 [VHS] by Kevin Dunn (VHS Tape - 1999)
Used & New from: 3.65
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews