Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great start to series VII
The start of series VII. Looks fantastic, apart from a few dodgy, bright CGI shots, great acting, set design and effects etc. But are the episodes any good...
Tikka To Ride-
The cliffhanger is concluded logically. This episode is really quite serious. Not since 'Holoship' have I seen such an acomplished mix of comedy and drama. This is a commendable step...
Published on 5 Dec 2001

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Weak with some bright moments.
The second installment of Red Dwarf VII. Probably the weakest video available, but worth it for the Munchkin Song and some nice character moments.
Duct Soup-
A charming little character-driven episode. A contrived plot, but that is neccessary - we can delve deeper and find out more about Kochanski's character. This episode contains some wonderful stories that,...
Published on 4 Dec 2001


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great start to series VII, 5 Dec 2001
By A Customer
The start of series VII. Looks fantastic, apart from a few dodgy, bright CGI shots, great acting, set design and effects etc. But are the episodes any good...
Tikka To Ride-
The cliffhanger is concluded logically. This episode is really quite serious. Not since 'Holoship' have I seen such an acomplished mix of comedy and drama. This is a commendable step forward. The 'time-travel save JFK's life' plot is inventive and thought provoking. The story is truly on a par with 'Gunmen Of The Apocalypse'. Funny in all the right places, and some lovely, character based subtle humour is injected too. Very, very nice. A great start. 4/4
Stoke Me A Clipper-
Series VII continues in sparkling form. This is a fantasically funny and poignant farewell to Red Dwarf's best character - Rimmer. The script is pure series 11 vintage, mixing hilarious gags with charming character study. Not since 'Thank's For The Memory' have the characters been this noble to each other. I like it very much. A fantastic pre-credits Ace Rimmer action sequence and CGI funeral scene highlight this absolutely incredible episode. 4/4
Ouroboros-
With Rimmer gone, for the most part, this episode was under close scrutiny. I'm pleased to say that it more than holds its own. Kochanski is a fine character, seemingly taking Kryten's straightman role while the robot takes up Rimmer's mantle as funniest guy on ship. The show needs a straightman, so this shift doesn't bother me. Very inventive plot, if a little wierd. Funny too, Rimmer's one scene is the best. There's a great Starbug chase sequence in this episode and also some nice character moments once again. Kryten's jealousy is very funny. So what if he whines - he's done it before - 'Polymorph' etc. Ultimately though, this episode proves that Red Dwarf can survive without Rimmer. 2.5/4
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Weak with some bright moments., 4 Dec 2001
By A Customer
The second installment of Red Dwarf VII. Probably the weakest video available, but worth it for the Munchkin Song and some nice character moments.
Duct Soup-
A charming little character-driven episode. A contrived plot, but that is neccessary - we can delve deeper and find out more about Kochanski's character. This episode contains some wonderful stories that, while not as funny as those in 'Marooned' are very charming. It's such a pity the 'Squeaky Gibson Story' was left off. Some really funny lines in this episode. Negatives: the whole pipes thing at the start is irritating and certainly not genius comedy, the conclusion is also less than satisfying. 2/4
Blue-
An episode that suffers from some weak dialogue. However, the character scenes, including the Rimmer flashback sequences are delightful. The fantastic kiss scene being the best of them. Yes, The Munchkin Song is incredible and one of the highlights of the whole series. 3/4
Beyond A Joke-
Robert Llewellyn's episode is, sad to say, rather weak. A pathetic plot with gelfs etc. Are there no other monsters in the Red Dwarf universe? Some totally unsuitable music and poor dialogue. That Able guy is just sooo irritating. Some good lines however and the Tank sequence is funny, at least there's some action. There's also a fantastic scene in the middle between Kryten and Lister where they discuss the robot's creator. Good special effects and a nice turn by Don Henderson. 1.5/4
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly updated from the 80's, 25 Oct 2000
By A Customer
Well. The first time I saw this series I loved it. The brilliant story-line, it had me splitting my sides with laughter. But with all the new re-mastered scenes it turns the poor 80's blue screens into the fantastic computerised space and ship graphics. Even though some scenes are cut out to make room for the effects it's still brilliant. The episode "Parallel Universe" is one of my all time favourites. With Holly's "hop drive" the crew are sent in to a female-equivilent universe were Nelle Armstrong was the first person to walk on the moon and Wilma Shakespear was a famous playwrite. Also, can you imagine the horror of a female Rimmer and pregnant Lister? When Holly is replaced by Queeg 500 the crew are made to work for food ad it drives them insane. But can you have an April fool in July? Stasis Leak is another side-splitting episode when the crew manage to go back in time 3 million years before the Red Dwarf crew were wiped out. With a plan to bring Kochanski into the future and Rimmer trying to save his life to keep for Sunday best it's a must see video!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious Sci-fi comedy: a masterpiece!, 4 July 2000
By A Customer
This set is for all those who didn't get the chance to share the cult following of the first three series of Red Dwarf. Fifteen hours of non-stop laughs following Lister, Rimmer, Holly and all the others that tag along throughout their voyage through space. Okay, so Red Dwarf's come along way since Lister was trapped in Stasis (you'll know what I'm talking about when you see it) , but it hasn't changed that much from the superb scripts and storylines of the first three series. I'm fifteen now but I was too young to appreciate Red Dwarf when it was first on. Only now do I realise what I was missing. Watching it just makes you proud to be British! This is definately a fantastic buy from our folks at Amazon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars New big budget Red Dwarf series 7, 19 Aug 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For 6 years Red Dwarf was one of the most consistently funny TV shows in TV history.
Perhaps Red Dwarf series 6 was beginning to show signs of running out of steam - too many repeating old gags (Dwayne Dibley and Polymorphs) and the same old space core directives over and over. Still funny though. After a long gap and the loss of one of the writers we finally got the return of Red Dwarf series 7. We can clearly see the difference in the two writers in the Red Dwarf books the writers wrote on their own. Doug Naylor's "Last Human" is a good story but not very funny. Rob Grant's "Backwards" is quite amusing but just recycles old TV episodes. Red Dwarf 7 is written by Doug Naylor on his own. Together the writers work very well but they seem to stumble when left alone.
The first things we notice about Red Dwarf 7 are the new computer generated effects and lack of canned laughter. It's even filmed on cinema film rather than video tape for bright colors and an expensive look. The new effects were mildly shocking at first - a lot of the charm of the old series was that it was obviously filmed in the BBC canteen and the props were painted cycle helmets and old computers they found dumped in skips. It a whole new big budget Red Dwarf and a lot of fans remain unsure if it works. It's so different it's almost a different show altogether. It does look very good. Once you get over the shock of the new look the first episode Tika To Ride is quite interesting. We get a very good time travelling story with some funny moments. There are some amusing moments but it is not as funny as before. The story is the main focus rather than the humour which is strange for a so-called comedy show.
In series 7 we lose the character Rimmer and with him we lost both the funniest character, the whole group dynamic and all the relationships that the show was based on. Lister no longer had anyone to wind up and bounce off, Kryten didn't have anyone to belittle him, the Cat had no one to make fun of. The introduction of Kochanski as a regular character was another huge blow. Chole Annet (not the original Kochanski either) plays the character far too seriously and politically correctly and it was just no longer funny. How could the crew be funny slobs as before when they had a women to impress and fawn over?
On this video the actual episode where Rimmer leaves ("Smoke Me a Clipper") is missing!! To leave such an important episode off is bizarre to say the least. Unless you've seen it on TV you will have no idea where he's gone because it's just not mentioned. The second episode on this video (third in the series) is the introduction of Kochanski which is fairly good, with a great performance from Robert Llewellen and some interesting revelations about Lister's past.
The third episode "Duct Soup" is the first without Rimmer and with Kochanski in his place and it's not too great. The extras on this "Xtended" video are quite interesting, especially the hilarious Rimmer Munchkin song from "Blue". But it would have made more sense to put it on the video with the episode "Blue" on it... It seems to me that the running order of this video is wrong. Missing off "Smoke Me a Clipper" and replacing it with "Duct Soup" is stupid because when you buy the Byte Two video of series 7 then you'll have "Duct Soup" twice but not "Smoke me a Clipper" at all.
This video is OK. A lot of things that made the show great were now missing towards the end, but series 7 made up for it in part with some decent stories, especially towards the start. It is not nearly as bad as people say it is and it still has some funny moments. The first few episodes shown here on this video still hold the attention. However I recommend buying the standard video of Byte One of series 7 instead of this Xtended version. It makes for a more complete collection. The extras are not worth losing such an important episode as "Smoke Me a Clipper" for. I have no idea why they left that episode off this video. Maybe it's to make people buy both videos? Anyway, this video is not bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It dwarfs all others, 28 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Red Dwarf - Series 3 - Episodes 1-3 [VHS] [1988] (VHS Tape)
This tape contains the first three episodes of series three...which are among the best red dwarfs ever made. Episode 1 is the classic where the crew land on a parrell earth where evrything happens backwards, there are some particulary hilarious scenes. Number two sees rimmer and lister marroned togther with limited food and heating, neither wants to sacrifice their belongings to the fire, but does Lister value his life enough to burn his guitar? Episode three is worth buying the tape for alone, it is called polymorth and will have you in stitches throughout the whole of this alien esque episode...but I will say no more to what happens. Buy this series, buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A welcome return..., 16 Sep 2000
By A Customer
For a long time, us Dwarfers have been wondering what Red Dwarf would look like in CGI, and now we have our answer - she looks excellent.
Not only does this video contain the precious first three episodes of the series, which some have called the best, but "extra wooshy bits", inproved sound and picture also come along with the deal. The best part about the tape is that you can watch it and/or buy it for three main reasons:
1- For the great episodes and dialogue 2- For the amazingly, excellently, astronomically good CGI sequences 3- All of the above
If you don't have this video already, GET IT NOW!
Believe me, you will not be wasting your money.
Reign on you Dwarfers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smeggin Hell The Post Pods Arrived!!!!!!!!!!!, 3 Dec 2000
This is easily one of the best red dwarf videos you will ever find.....ever!On this video you get to see Kryten fo the first time, you get to see rimmers reaction to his fathers death, also Rimmer gets his second girlfriend eber with the help of Lister. Kryten - Kryten is possibly on of the greatest characters ever written. With his cleaning skills and comedy value. If they hadn't have found Kryten in this particular episode I don't think Red Dwarf would have been the same. Kryten seems to hold the crew together by being the clever one although he has quite scary loving feelings for Mister Lister ua dwarfers wouldn't be without him. Better Than Life- On of my personal favourite episodes. THe post pod has arrived, finally after it has been tracking them for 3 million year but Holly thinks thats just about average for second class post. In the post pod they find many AI Computer Games, Rimmer gets a letter from his mother explaing that his father passed away peacefully in his jeep (sleep) and he also gets a unfortuneate suprise from the inland revenue. The crew go into a computer game. Lister takes up golf and get a lepord skin waterbed in the shape of a guitar, cat gets off with a mermaid and Rimmer becomes succesful for a very, very short period time. Thanks For The Memory- It's rimmers death day and the crew celebrate by eating sausages and drinking a lot on a moon. Rimmer ends up telling Lister that he has had sex once, only once. Yvonne McGrunder, 16th of March 7:31pm till 7:43pm, 12 minutes and that includes the time it took to eat the pizza. Anyway lister gives rimmer one of his old girlfriends and it ends up in a pile of confusion. SMEGGING FANTASTIC! If you aren't a red dwarf fan this is a great video to try out, it is a fab example of what red dwarf is about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfection, 14 Dec 2001
By A Customer
Red Dwarf 11 starts here. Alongside series 3, the best Red Dwarf series - mixing hilarious gags with action and character dialogue - bliss. This tape takes a wonderful look at the relationships between men when they are forced to live together.
Kryten-
The tremendous episode where we first meet the loveable droid, Kryten. Extremely funny and entertaining. The boys are just on the pull! It feels like a boys night out. Great! Holly is fantastic in this episode, as is David Ross who plays the robot. Top stuff. 4/4
Better Than Life-
A fantastic premise - a computer game where your wildest dreams come true! Very funny and very entertaining. Once again, the boys look like they're having a lot of fun in this episode. There's a delightful emotional stance, where we feel sorry for Rimmer. Very believable and utterly charming. Superb romp. 4/4
Thanks For The Memory-
Starts with a wonderful birthday party for Rimmer. Feels like a stag night! A very touching story of friendship between Lister and Rimmer. These two DO care about each other. Rimmer is to be loved rather than loathed. The episode mixes comedy and drama superbly. An inventive plot. Nice. 4/4
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A satisfying conclusion to series VII, 5 Dec 2001
By A Customer
Epideme-
This is the first episode for a while that feels like the old show again ie. series 1-VI. It is an action show, utilising the old 'looks can be decieving' plot. Easily one of the best episodes of the series. Funny and sinister. That Epideme guy is sooo funny. A great character. A really good cliffhanger, not that it was really needed. Still. 3/4
Nanarchy-
A thouroughly enjoyable conclusion to the series. This show certainly has an end of series feel about it. Sort of a party atmosphere if you get my meaning. Funny and some great characterisation again. Some of the character moments in this series have been simply delightful. The Cat has a lovely speech in this episode. The only poor bit is the 'pick up the ball' part. This sort of inconsistency has been a problem in series VII, but fortunately this episode has enough fine elements to enjoy. Other highlights: the mention of the Esperanto and despair squid (Lovely continuity), the return of a male Holly and Red Dwarf in all its glory (with series 1 and 2 music - bliss). What a cliffhanger! 3/4
This video ends with an entertaining selection of clips and interviews etc from the anniversary special. Worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Red Dwarf - Series 3 - Episodes 1-3 [VHS] [1988]
2.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews