Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truely gripping video of a man who was a phenomenon
This video truely has a lot of personal insights in the life of Ayrton Senna.
Vivian Senna talks about Senna when he was a child, his adult life as a racing driver, the difficulties he experienced and the objectives of the Ayrton Senna Foundation.
Interviews with close friends, his manager (Julian Jacobi), his cousin and people working at the foundation outline...
Published on 9 Jan 2001 by sc2198@soton.ac.uk

versus
0 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too much of it is not in English!
I am surprised that so many people rate this video so highly!? I was very disappointed when I saw it for the first time, because I thought it would be far more interesting and I didn't expect so much of the interviews to be in Brazilian!
There are not that many F1 highlights on it and the commentary is fairly bland in my opinion.
It is OK if you love Senna, but...
Published on 14 July 2004


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truely gripping video of a man who was a phenomenon, 9 Jan 2001
This review is from: A Star Named Ayrton Senna[VHS] (VHS Tape)
This video truely has a lot of personal insights in the life of Ayrton Senna.
Vivian Senna talks about Senna when he was a child, his adult life as a racing driver, the difficulties he experienced and the objectives of the Ayrton Senna Foundation.
Interviews with close friends, his manager (Julian Jacobi), his cousin and people working at the foundation outline the tremendous character and joyful personality of the great man. While interviews with work collegues/friends (Prost, Alesi, Brundle, Ron Dennis and Jo Ramirez) give an insight into Senna as a driver...The hard working and dedicated life he had devoted himself to.
Senna himself talks about many subjects, his life inside and outside of motor racing, death, his most memorable races, the importance of training and health, relaxation, problems and so on, which really gives you an idea of Senna's way of thinking.
The video is also packed with coverage of races in F1, F3, FFords, karts and whole laps of in-car footage from Monaco 90, Donnington 93 and Brands Hatch 85.
Overall.... A compeling video. Not to be missed by fans of Senna, or people who mis-understood him. This video brings you closer to the phenomena, man, driver and philosopher, that was Ayrton Senna.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing! This video is a REAL must! Believe me !, 29 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: A Star Named Ayrton Senna[VHS] (VHS Tape)
Of all the Ayrton Senna video biographies I have viewed this one is the one to have. Not only does it show how incredible a driver he was but also what he was like out of the car, there is much more to this great man then racing. Hearing Senna saying how that 'In one moment you can be gone - just like that' still sends shivers down my spine no matter how many times I view the footage. To appreiciate and enjoy this video you don't need to be an avid fan of F1 or Ayrton because you can see an insight into how this great man worked and lived.
Whatever you do buy this video, you won't regret it I promise you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best video ever about Senna's life..., 1 Aug 2000
By 
fgeorgieff@lineone.net (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Star Named Ayrton Senna[VHS] (VHS Tape)
This video covers Ayrton's life inside and outside Formula 1. Complete biography, including his best time at McLaren, one to one with Prost, last races with Williams and his other passions...This is definitely the best video of Senna so far...A must in your colection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Senna speaks!, 18 Nov 2003
This review is from: A Star Named Ayrton Senna[VHS] (VHS Tape)
I recently bought this video for my mum's birthday knowing she was a Senna fan. I've always supported this guy and I was pretty upset when he died becuase he would have gone on to be the all time great (not that he wasn't anyway!!).
In the video Senna talks frankly about his life, his beliefs, his skills, his hobbies and his wish to help the children of Brazil. Other drivers including Prost and Brundle talk of Senna the driver and his Sister talks of Senna the man.
All in all an excellent video on a real hero, who will never be forgotten. Definately a must-have for all F1 fans and Senna supporters!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best F1 video I own..., 16 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: A Star Named Ayrton Senna[VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is an absolute must buy... This video shows so much about Ayrton that no other video has ever shown. It includes interviews with his old school friends, his sister and also old karting rivals. The video shows how dedicated Ayrton was to his profession and just how much effort he put into it. It also shows the relaxed giving side of Ayrton and even includes his own thoughts on death and the risks associated with his passion... motor racing. If I could give this video more stars I would! As I said before, a must buy... no F1 fan should be without it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As Good as Senna The Movie!!, 14 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Star Named Ayrton Senna[VHS] (VHS Tape)
If you are a fan of Senna and F1 then this is a must buy! It's a shame this has'nt been reproduced on DVD as it one of the best F1 documentarys i've seen!

At nearly 2 hours long, it has so much footage of Senna all through his life. In some ways this is better than Senna the movie, although it is filmed in a traditional documentary style, where as Senna had more of a movie feel to it, there is more footage of Senna in his early days in karting and when he moved to Europe to race in the lower formulas. The ammount of early footage is excellent with interviews of Senna and some of his early competitors such as Terry Fullerton and Martin Brundle. There's more detail and footage from his Lotus days with interviews from Peter Warr, Lotus engineers and the Renault engine engineers talking about Sennas intensity with which he worked, wanting to know how everything worked in the engine and how he would check the Turbo's, how he would be able to tell them exactly how the engine was behaving over a lap. Then there's obviously his dominant Mclaren years and his rivalry with Prost. There's plenty of footage, onboard shots etc through all this. There's interviews with his sister, brother, mother old friends, Ron Dennis, Frank Williams (speaking Portuguese), Alain Prost, Alessi etc etc. An interview with his fitness coach and footage of Senna training, many peaople think it was Schumacher who was the first driver to train like an elite athlete, but it was actualy Senna. There's to much to mention in this Video and although there is some pretty dodgy music in places this does'nt distract from the quality footage and depth to which A Star Named Ayrton Senna has been made.

In a nut shell this is a must buy if you can find it on Amazon or anywhere else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too much of it is not in English!, 14 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: A Star Named Ayrton Senna[VHS] (VHS Tape)
I am surprised that so many people rate this video so highly!? I was very disappointed when I saw it for the first time, because I thought it would be far more interesting and I didn't expect so much of the interviews to be in Brazilian!
There are not that many F1 highlights on it and the commentary is fairly bland in my opinion.
It is OK if you love Senna, but for a modern day f1 fan like myself there is nothing gripping about it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Star Named Ayrton Senna[VHS]
A Star Named Ayrton Senna[VHS] by Duke (VHS Tape - 1998)
19.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews