Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yep thats time team alright!
Having been desperatly searching for time team on DVD for a long while, i was overjoyed to see this coming out and bought it straight away!

Its got some classic episodes on and if you're a fan, you'll know them all and why each individual teamer chose them. There is a bit of 'round the pub table' chat with Tony, Phil and Mick after each episode although I think...
Published on 7 Sep 2006 by L. Triggs

versus
40 of 45 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but bitty
I've only seen a few full episodes of Time Team so buying this DVD was a bit of a gamble, but one that's paid out - although I don't think I've hit the jackpot.
The format is excellent, neatly dividing the digs into time periods, the Bronze Age, the Iron Age, the Romans and so on, and the sites they're investigating are certainly worthy...
Published on 31 Dec 2005 by James Dominic Cheesman


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yep thats time team alright!, 7 Sep 2006
By 
L. Triggs "Crowdpleaser" (Milton Keynes, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Time Team - Best Of [DVD] (DVD)
Having been desperatly searching for time team on DVD for a long while, i was overjoyed to see this coming out and bought it straight away!

Its got some classic episodes on and if you're a fan, you'll know them all and why each individual teamer chose them. There is a bit of 'round the pub table' chat with Tony, Phil and Mick after each episode although I think this could've been substituted for a 'behind the scenes' featurette on each episode.

All in all, a good all rounder! Now please, channel 4, we would like to see all time team episodes made on DVD, this is just a tickler!

A great buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value for money!!!, 10 Mar 2005
By 
Mark Wightman "mjw737" (Birmingham, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Apparently there has been over 140 Time Time programmes made so it must've been quite a task to decide what did and did not make this dvd. However, a job has been well done and the digs have been divided up by time period; Bronze Age, Roman, Medieval etc and it works very well. While some people might argue a lot has been missed out they must be realistic, it was always going to be, but what is on the dvd package is excellent. There is around 10 hours of content and all of the best parts have made the cut along with a few extras which haven't been seen before. If you enjoy Time Team buy it, if you don't buy it anyway as it's educational value is well worth it alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time Team - Best Yet, 29 Aug 2006
By 
Paul Jones (Sturbridge, MA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time Team - Best Of [DVD] (DVD)
Once again, a first class release highlighting the teams favourite episodes. I love the LLgadwy show(probably spelt that wrong)on disc one showing that all is not what it seems. Just wish the powers that be started releasing these wonderful shows as season box sets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Archaeologists as Actors, 12 Mar 2012
By 
Nicholas Casley (Plymouth, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This set of Time Team programmes was first aired in 2005. The disc contains all eight programmes, lasting six hours and forty minutes. The extensive extras account for an additional three hours and twenty minutes. Consequently, this DVD set is a very generous package.

This is not a series as such about the history of Britain, but, as is made clear by the DVD set's title, using Time Team digs to illustrate various aspects. It is cemented together by Tony Robinson's commentary and by his talking to one expert per programme to fill in the gaps and give a wider context. This does not really work, and this is most easily manifested in the last episode which addresses such disparate topics as a Tudor palace, the Armada, the Civil War, and the Industrial Revolution.

In his introduction Mick Aston remarks that at that point the team had produced 144 programmes over ten years. The subsequent episodes use some of these programmes as a means to try to explain more about the periods involved: the eight episodes therefore address 1. the Bronze Age; 2. the Iron Age; 3. the Roman invasion; 4. Roman Britain; 5. the Dark Ages; 6. the Norman Conquest ; 7. Medieval England; and 8. The Modern Age.

It is notable that there is no episode addressing the Neolithic or earlier eras (but there is some mention of these in the first programme on the Bronze Age). Also, the episode on the Norman Conquest is more concerned about its results rather than the conquest itself.

One complaint about Time Team as a series is the lack of a wider context on both regional and national levels. This set might have provided just such a context, but, alas, I felt this expectation was not met. On the one hand there is often an assumption that was is said applies on a national level with no distinctions made from what was happening in Orkney to what was happening in Cornwall; on the other hand there is very little extrapolation of what is found in one dig as to what might be discovered in any one period generally. Sometimes an effort is made in this direction, for example reference is made to banjo enclosures being restricted largely to Wessex.

Finally, a word about the extras. These comprise two Christmas Specials (1997 in Much Wenlock, 1999 in York); a twenty-five-minute `behind the scenes' feature; an extract from a lecture jointly-given by Mick Aston and Tony Robinson at the Cheltenham Book Festival in 2002; and a ten-minute interview with Tony Robinson in which he defends the series against the criticisms of professional archaeologists.

Another complaint about Time Team is its staging and the false and/or excessive enthusiasm of its participants, so it is good to see Mick Worthington address this issue in one of the Christmas specials: "Everything has to be done twice for the camera". This aspect of `archaeologists as actors' is mentioned too in the lecture clip: the digs are not rigged but TV demands retakes.

To recap, the attempt of this series to illustrate the history of Britain ultimately fails. But having said that, there is much to learn from each dig featured in each episode, and despite the annoying attempts of the presenters to find everything "absolutely amazing", the series itself provides not only good entertainment but much inspiration too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 45 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but bitty, 31 Dec 2005
I've only seen a few full episodes of Time Team so buying this DVD was a bit of a gamble, but one that's paid out - although I don't think I've hit the jackpot.
The format is excellent, neatly dividing the digs into time periods, the Bronze Age, the Iron Age, the Romans and so on, and the sites they're investigating are certainly worthy. That, perhaps, leads to the first problem with this DVD - there's no suspense. These are highlights, so you just know that the team is going to find something of interest, and that Tony Robinson is going to run over to the trench and be enthusiastic about it. Being highlights, Tony is forced to summarise each dig before showing more, which is the second fault - it's repetitive.
But it's the third fault that really lets this DVD down - with only 5-10 minutes for each programme you really lose out on the detail and the background information.
Still, if you like Time Team it's worth watching, and the serious light hearted approach to archeology is certainly entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hours of pleasure, 12 Sep 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time Team - Best Of [DVD] (DVD)
Great collection of complete Time Team episodes, each of which is topped and tailed with some discussion about why the person in question chose it. There are also some interesting extras, particularly the explanation about how geophysics works and the "geofizz shocker" (which i thought was very funny). Although my own favourite episodes aren't included i found the ones they'd chosen were interesting and what's more the discussion around the choices made me look again at the episodes from a new perspective. More please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing really good, 8 Mar 2007
I bought this video because i just love time team. I think it is great but thisvideo is one of the best with twists into what they find and what the time is expecting to find. I feel it is a must for anyone who likes time team as it is one of the most imformative programmes on tv and this video shows that. The town of Much Wenlock unveals is secrets on this video and althought hte slightly bad hairstyles of Tony and Phil it is an all round good programme. May there be lots more to come out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, 16 Aug 2009
By 
Mr. Thomas D. Powell (BRIDGEND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Time Team - Best Of [DVD] (DVD)
I love this DVD and recommend it to any fan of Time Team. I just wish Channel 4 would DVD all the episodes, I'd be broke but very happy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What's there not to love?, 16 July 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time Team - Best Of [DVD] (DVD)
This is television at it's best. Educational, dramatic, great people doing what they love. Can't think of a better way to spend Saturday night than with a few beers and Time Team!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 1 Jun 2009
By 
C. J. Hunter "CJ-UK" (Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Time Team - Best Of [DVD] (DVD)
Big fan of Time Team - very well done ... hope they're thinking of issuing more of them soon ! Always interesting, sometimes a lot more ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Time Team: On The Edge Of The Empire [VHS]
Time Team: On The Edge Of The Empire [VHS] by Tony Robinson (VHS Tape - 1997)
Used & New from: 34.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews