Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another great film
Edward Burns had a hard act to follow after the success of "The Brothers McMullen" and I personally think he did a great job. This film was funny and touching and never fails to make me smile. I was glad to see some of the faces that appeared in his first film show up again in this one, along with people that everyone has already heard of like Cameron Diaz. A...
Published on 15 Dec 2000

versus
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars She's The One
“She’s the One” is a clever and intelligent film that is written, directed, produced and also “starred in” by Edward Burns. It’s a story of two Irish American brothers, Mickey and Francis Fitzpatrick and their own personal issue and problems with relationships.
Mickey Fitzpatrick is the elder of the brother but he’s become...
Published on 15 Jan 2006 by Rich Milligan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars She's The One, 15 Jan 2006
By 
Rich Milligan (Thatcham, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: She's The One [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
“She’s the One” is a clever and intelligent film that is written, directed, produced and also “starred in” by Edward Burns. It’s a story of two Irish American brothers, Mickey and Francis Fitzpatrick and their own personal issue and problems with relationships.
Mickey Fitzpatrick is the elder of the brother but he’s become something of an underachiever and a drifter. He’s currently working as a taxi driver, a job that doesn’t impress he father and certainly doesn’t impress his younger brother Francis who is something a young whiz kid hot-shot on Wall Street.
One day Mickey picks up a fare, a young beautiful girl, who’s going to JFK and in an unlikely but wholly enjoyable turn of events ends up driving the fare New Orleans and then marrying her only days after meeting. This doesn’t impress Frances one bit and he accuses Mickey of being irresponsible. Frances’ problem with Mickey’s new found love might have something to do with the fact that he is currently going through a marriage crisis with his wife, Renee, and is currently cheating on her with a beautiful girl of dubious morals called Heather.
To further complicate matters Heather is actually an ex of Mickey’s and is someone he still holds something of a candle for. As Mickey finds that living with his new love in a pokey flat and being constantly broke isn’t so much fun as it once seemed, and Frances has to decide between the two women in his life the two brothers will need to sort their own issues out and the issues that exist between themselves. Can the blunt advice dished out periodically by their father provide any sort of solution, or is he having relationship problems of his own.
This is a completely dialogue orientated film and in the main the interaction between the characters works very well. The three surprise endings work very well and for me at least they were completely disguised. The performances are solid and the cast does contain some big names. Probably star performer is Cameron Diaz who simply out-acts her contemporaries.
The only area where I felt there was room for improvement was in the characterisation of the two brothers. Although the film goes to great length to point out their differences, at the end of the day they are exactly the same. They are both selfish, arrogant (ok, one more than the other) unable to accept any sort of responsibility, unable to move on in their lives etc etc. There was more than one point in the film where listening to one or other of them moaning and moaning about “how my wife doesn’t understand me” was tiresome.
Luckily there are some delightful scenes that more than makes up for this. The sequence of snippets when Francis must explain his heterosexuality is particularly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another great film, 15 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: She's The One [VHS] [1997] (VHS Tape)
Edward Burns had a hard act to follow after the success of "The Brothers McMullen" and I personally think he did a great job. This film was funny and touching and never fails to make me smile. I was glad to see some of the faces that appeared in his first film show up again in this one, along with people that everyone has already heard of like Cameron Diaz. A beautifully put together film, with a good script and solid cast. I love this man's work and hope he goes on to make many more films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nothing special, 22 May 2011
This review is from: She's The One [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
Got bored and turned this film off 10 minutes into first viewing. Decided to give it another go and found it okay but not funny as it suggests. Not one I'd bother watching again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars She is the one!!, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this film after seeing it on TV late one night, the upgrade to blu-ray is worth it and the music by Tom Petty still sounds good. Great cast and story line, if you like Jennifer Aniston then you will love this, I purchased the US import as it was uncut and region free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars worth watching, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: She's The One [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
Not the best movie ever made but is worth watching, if you like chic flics then give this a go
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Dull, 23 Mar 2014
This review is from: She's The One (DVD)
I'm sorry I'd love to give an in depth analysis into this film, but I quite simply didnt get it. Not funny, not romantic, no suspense, no action, uninspiring characters, no plot, no twist. I'm sorry but I can't think of a positive thing to say about this film other than there was a bit of eye candy for my husband (alas none for me!! )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 18 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought as a replacement for DVD. US import, will play on region 2 locked machines. Excellent picture, sound and extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Yawn squared, 10 July 2013
By 
Kilrymont (Somewhere in Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: She's The One [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
Aniston is a reasonable actress, with a way of making junk film since Friends ended. This one is below average for her, and since her movies are below average, that sets the levels for you.

She has very little screen time for someone of her renown, but this dire script/plot with its over laid back star and his overacting "brother" entirely fails to come to life.

The story is of unbelievable characters doing the stupidest things, with timorous direction that doesn't help one bit.

It's boring too.

But it has a good point. It's good for not being any longer than it is. I surprised myself by sticking with it to the end, hoping that something would happen to surprise me.

Nope, it ran its formulaic course. The best bit was the credits.

Watch something else, life's too short to waste on pap like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not the best movie I've ever seen,, 4 Jan 2013
This review is from: She's The One [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
Not my favourite movie I have to be honest, it's a shame that in this movie Aniston plays a VERRRY backseat role and is featured in it hardly at all. Not the best but good overall. 4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nice little film, 28 Nov 2009
This review is from: She's The One [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
A nice little film but as has already been said the storyline is not altogether believable and as such mildly irritating in places. This is not a movie that I will re-watch many more times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

She's The One [VHS] [1997]
She's The One [VHS] [1997] by Edward Burns (VHS Tape - 1999)
14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews