Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars58
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

RESISTANCE IS FUTILE.............
those of us that faithfully followed 'Star-Trek' down the years will
no doubt not be a stranger to this two-part 'TV' classic.
our heroes 'Captain Picard' 'Commander Riker' 'Data' 'La Forge'
'Worf' and the crew of the 'Enterprise' again encounter the 'Borg'
'Commander Shelby' who has knowledge of the enemy joins the team on
board hoping to replace 'Riker' should he accept promotion.
in this memorable double episode 'Borg' clones board the 'Enterprise'
snatching 'Captain Jean Luc Picard' with the intention of using his
knowledge and presence to persuade the Federation' to succumb to
their 'will'
'William Riker' takes command of the 'Enterprise'
after a failed attempt to snatch the now 'Borg' 'Jean Luc'
now 'Riker' and the crew try to buy the Federation' the time to
prepare the fleet to do battle with the 'Borg' vessel.
a terrific way to spend around an hour and a half bringing back
the memories of this iconic 'Sci-Fi' series.
'Make it So'
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2013
This looks fantastic.
Some people complain it's not as nice as it could be, or not widescreen, but this was TV in 1990!! What do you expect!?
The job they've done is fantastic. The detail and colours really come out and create a very immersive viewing experience.
5.1 sound is the icing on the cake too.
I'm also pleased they've not gone overboard when redoing the effects, like star wars remakes, as it's all similiar looking to how it was originally, just nicer and more detailed.
Top marks to the team behind this work. Can't fault it.

If you're a fan of Star Trek, you owe it to yourself to own this!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2013
This is the famous 2 episodes of ST TNG that brought it racing forward as a must-see programme, rather than the stodgy, slow and sometimes boring episodes of seasons 1 and 2. The blu-ray edition of this leaves you saying 'Wow' at the upgraded effects - did you know it said 'Enterprise' on the side of the ship? As well as sharper images of the ship itself especially during warp. The interesting thing about the blu-ray edition is that the filming is definitely designed for the now, low-tech, cameras and the soft glow that surrounded everyone and everything on set has disappeared, which makes it sometimes seem more like you're watching a live play.

The chances are you've seen these episodes before, so why buy it? The clarity of the images and the story-telling really leaves you to be able to escape, this is something you will be giving your full attention to. The storyline and conflict is excellent throughout and keeps you very absorbed. At £8 it is expensive - but the additional features of interviews and a gag reel I had never seen before (and in HD also!) where great value and just about makes it worth it.

All in all, an excellent buy and it made me immediately order Season 3 on Blu-ray. And no doubt I'll be buying seasons 4, 5,....

(One minorly interesting thing is that for some weird reason, they lost 3 seconds of the original and could only include it in SD. Boy do you notice the difference. Look out for it at around the hour mark.)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2004
I can safely say that without a doubt, star trek would not be what it is today without this episode. At the time of its realise TNG was losing its grip with the older original series fans with it simply not having the new concept or simplicity of TOS. This episode finally puts the Borg into the picture, after they are briefly introduced in Q-Who? This episode basically pits an entire federation fleet against a single borg vessel - a sort of wake of call for starfleet to get their act together. I wont spoil it anymore, just watch it and if you have seen or heard references to 'wolf 359' that are mentioned in both DS9 and VOY, you will finally know what it means.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2015
What can i say? This has always for me been the best story of TNG and even though some say that the 2nd part was not up to scratch it still filled the story with good action, great lines "I am Locutus of Borg, resistance is futile, your life as it has been is over, from this time forward you will service.........Us" and just all around great story.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2014
The story itself tends to be a bit slow if you compare it to modern TV but you should avoid doing that. Imagine watching it for the first time in the 1980s/90's. It is an interesting take on the Borg and how the crew try to rescue him. Brilliantly edited into a single longer episode and the special effects look like they could have been done this year!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2015
Worth getting even if you already own the individual season sets - if only for the fabulous documentary included only on this disc. As with the season sets, the picture quality is jaw-dropping and the sound quality is fabulous. If only DS9 and Voyager could be given the same treatment...
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2013
Never wrote a review before, but thought I would this time, as nobody was providing the information that I wanted, and as a result, I put off buying this for quite some time. I won't lapse into any review of the actual episode, as everybody knows this is the best TNG ever.
The picture is 4:3 aspect ratio; that is it completely fills the screen from top to bottom, but not side to side, and has vertical black bars, pillar boxes at each end. The HD picture itself is very good but not jaw dropping. It is not reference material, but still a massive improvement on an up-scaled DVD. It is completely worth buying though, as this transfer does do justice and enhances an already excellent episode. I have owned it on all formats. The sound is also fantastic, the music has never sounded better. I would recommend buying it 100 percent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2013
It was a long long time ago, but I remember first watching this as a small child, perhaps it was a repeat I cant remember it sure was a long time ago. However I certainly remember these two episodes. Since then I've grown up a lot (the Borg no longer scare me) and so having not seen this since (somehow) I reluctantly brought this blu ray. i was reluctant because I didn't want to blemish my memories. When It arrived I immediately put it on... and wow. its even better than I remember. the episodes themselves are fantastic but the quality is even more impressive. its super sharp and sounds great. my only gripe as with everyone else I believe is the 4:3 ratio. But honestly after a while i stopped noticing it. I wont spoil anything but bottom line if you like star trek you need this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2012
This is simply one of the best pieces of Sci-fi entertainment, i have ever seen. "The Best of Both Worlds" is in the top ten stories of the next generation (easily) and arguably in the top ten stories of "TREK" ever!

The story is great - about a borg invasion of the federation. Patrick Stuart is fantastic as usual as cpt picard and this episode really makes Riker shine. And he is no longer the boring plain old simple "Riker" Everyone has a good part to play in this two-part next generation story that is effectively like a movie. This is also, for hardcore "Trek" fans, leads on to the stunning top-notch masterpiece "First Contact"

This episode also features some great special effects and the twists and turns will make you fixed to the T.V and wonder how things will turn out right. I must have watched this episode more than a dosen times and it still blows my mind every time. This is one "TNG" episode I will never get bored of or forget, 10/10

This is a must for any "Trek" fan and prepare to be assimilated by the T.V! Resistance is Futile..............
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.