Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the king of music videos!!!!!, 22 Nov 2004
By 
Steven Tillsley "rtillsley" (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
let me just start by saying that michael jackson is not only the king of pop, but also the king of making music videos....no one has ever, or will ever come close to his greatness in this area!!
therefore, this dvd is great, and well worth buying....however, there are some negative aspects that i should mention first!
first of all this dvd is cut compared to the vhs, which has a megamix of songs and dances on it...this dvd does not have that!
secondly, this dvd contains both thriller and beat it on it...this could never actually be a negative thing as they are superb videos, however, both of these are included on the first history dvd, and as such, those who are not die hard fans may not wish to be buying the same things over again!
thirdly, since this dvd contains a relativly obscure video on it(liberian girl) i think it should also include leave me alone, whcih is one of mj's most popular and well known videos!
now that that is out of the way i can concentrate on what is great about this dvd.....
smooth criminal...the full, and excellent version! it is worth the money for that alone, since it is bizarely not included on the number ones dvd and amongst die hard fans like myself, it is often considered to be his very best video ever!!
the motown 25 live version of billie jean is also great, and while is is not the best ever performance of billie jean, it is the most meorable as it was the very first showcase of the moonwalk, and is always great to see!!! the live mtv performance is also one of the truely classic mj moments, and it is great that it has been captured on film for all to see!
the videos on the second side of the disc taken form the history album are also great...scream and erath song are both superb, and both 2 of his most popular videos ever...both must haves! also the fact that this dvd contains the remixed version of blood on the dancefloor is good, because altho the original is far better, that is contained on number ones, and so it is nice to have a different version!
they dont care about us is also a good video, althjo it would have been much better to include the prison version of this as well, as this i feel is better than the brazil version...stil, a good video all the same!!
all in all inspite of a few things i feel could have improved this dvd, it is still superb, and a must have for all mj fans, as well as for people who appreciate great music videos!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For those who would like a track listing..., 18 Nov 2001
By A Customer
HIStory on Film, Volume II
Teaser
Billie Jean from Motown 25: Yesterday, Today And Forever
Beat It
Liberian Girl
Smooth Criminal
1995 MTV Video Music Awards Performance
Thriller
Scream
Childhood (Theme From "Free Willy 2")
You Are Not Alone
Earth Song
They Don't Care About Us
Stranger In Moscow
Blood On The Dance Floor (Refugee Camp Mix)
Brace Yourself
A fantastic collection of videos that will create more memorable moments of his life in music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The King Of Pop Lives On!, 23 April 2005
This is one of these DVD's where you have to flip sides of the disc. So you know what's on which side, here is the tracklisting:
SIDE 1:
Teaser
Billie Jean (from Motown 25: Yesterday, Today and Forever)
Beat It
Liberian Girl
Smooth Criminal
1995 MTV Video Music Awards Performance
Thriller
SIDE 2:
Scream (Vocal Duet with Michael Jackson, and Janet Jackson)
Childhood (Theme from "Free Willy 2")
You Are Not Alone
Earth Song
They Don't Care About Us
Stranger In Moscow
Blood On The Dance Floor (Refugee Camp Mix)
Brace Yourself
Credits
The best side is Side 1. The MTV performance is great but I don't know why everyone calls it the Dangerous performance. I don't like the way they have replaced Blood On The Dance Floor with a Refugee Camp Mix of it. Also, the orginal video has the MJ Megaremix while the DVD doesn't and I like the Megaremix better than any of the songs on this DVD. Also, I would have liked the prison version of They Don't Care About Us & the Tony Moran Remix of HIStory on the DVD. If you like the King of Pop or his music videos, buy this DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Re-discover Michael Jackson! Incredible sound and picture!, 16 Jan 2007
By 
Film Buff (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This DVD is great! The sound is superb whether you're listening via sorround sound or on a normal TV. The videos are timeless. With a new album out this year there's never been a better time to re-discover his music! The opening is a 4 min video where soldiers and the public run towards a huge statue of Michael. It's a great video, the crowd is so large it makes me wonder how they shot it. Then one video after another, including the uncut version of Thriller (like the first History DVD) and the most expensive music video of all time Scream. The MTV performamce is mostly the song Dangerous but it's a great piece of music history. The performance is over 12 mins long and it does include alot of Michaels famous songs. The Billie Jean opener is amazing, the first time the world saw the moonwalk. I stopped likeing Michael jackson for years and ordered this on a whim. Jermaine (Michael's brother)was in the big brother house, within a few minutes I was a fan again. These videos draw you in and keep you coming back to them.

I won't list the videos as they're already listed elsewhere but this is

Highly Recommended (as is part one) You won't be disapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Love This So Much!!!, 18 Dec 2004
Well, this is so much better than HIStory Vol. 1!!! I love the teaser (must see) where everyone goes to see the History statue and Michael with the military people, in my opinion it's the best non-music video Michael's ever done! Also, another highlight is Billie Jean (Motown 25)where he premiered the moonwalk and tripped!!! Oh, and don't forget the MTV performance, oh my God, that is so cool!!! I love the Scream video and the Childhood video as well! But there's 2 disadvanteges...
1. On the original VHS there was the MJ Megaremix but it's not on the DVD!!!
2. They replaced Blood On The Dance Floor with some crap Refugee Camp Mix!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The king that rocked the pop world, 1 Dec 2004
By 
Well...what can you say about Michael Jackson that could do him justice. Whether you do or do not respect Michael as a person is not a factor here. What is unquestionnable is Michael's musical and performing capabilities making him (in my opinion) one of the most influential artists the world has ever seen...and why not! with the amount of pure brilliance that shines out of him it is easy to see how this has happened and why so many people around the world are devoted to his music.
This selection of video tracks show Michael doing what he does best, performing, each with there own origionality but all holding that same Michael style and curisma that no-one could ever match.
From start to finish you'll be holding your breath with amazment and excitment of the pure genious that is Michael Jackson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MJ Is the king and always will be., 18 Jan 2003
By 
Leila Holyoake (Victoria ,Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Michael Jackson: History On Film - Volume II [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This video is a great one to add to your collection. It contains great dancing and is entertaining for the whole family, It really shows Michael's amazing talent and craftmanship. The film begins with "Teaser" An extrodinary intro where the huge statue of MJ is made and also shows teh army etc. Incredible beggining. Then comes Billie Jean, it's a good performance from the 80's but not one of his best.
Next comes Beat it, an original classic, then Liberian girl, kind of boring movie with just film stars in it talking about Michael.
Smooth Criminal, it's almost worth getting the video just to see this clip. You probably hear every MJ fan go on about it, and you think what's the big deal? But I have to be honest, it's an astonishing clip where Michael dances Magically. my fav video of all. Then the MTV 1995 AWARDS performance. It's brilliant! A must see! Especially when he performs dangerous.
Then there's Thriller which has all these monsters and graveyards in it, personally I don't think it's that good,
but that's just me. earth song is impressive, Brace yourself showing all the fanatical fans around the world and yeah that's it really. It's a good vid, personally I wouldv'e liked to have seen Black or white on there and Jam, the full videos but still If your a fan you'll like it a lot, better than Volume 1.
In conclusion Michael Jackson is the best and biggest talented performer ever in the world, here's a man who deserves to be that famous and big, He's a phenomenan and no one comes close to him. MJ RULES FOREVER.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than you can imagine, 13 July 2009
By 
L. Power "nlp trainer" (San Francisco) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I bought both this and his History dvd (greatest hits on dvd).

It's probably the best way to get a pretty complete collection. If you must only get one though, get History Volume 2. It's about 25 minutes longer.

Not only does it have Thriller (full length), Beat it, Smooth Criminal,
it also has the live version of Billie Jean at the Motown 25 celebration in 1993, when he debuted the moonwalk. Definitely, one of Michael's best performances, in my opinion probably the best. A must own performance.

It also contains the 1995 MTV awards live performance of Black and White, with Slash going crazy with his guitar solo. You wonder if it's part of the act, or if he is genuinely possessed.

Scream with Janet, not a particular fan of the song, love the video. Janet brings the attitude, an amazing video really.

You are not alone: with Lisa Marie Presley. She brings the sexy in a very artful way, absolutely stunning. I have never seen Lisa Marie this way before. Hmmm.. In this video, Michael goes from being with her, to portraying an asexual angel half clad almost waist deep in water. Perhaps Freud or Jung might be able to shed some light on this.

Childhood. A Peter Pan type ballad with children passing by overhead in a boat, no doubt a representation of his childhood passing by. Have you seen my childhood...

Earthsong. Quite a spectacular movie filmed over several continents. Obviously, Michael was very serious about respecting life on the planet, and shows images of restoring life. Outstanding.

Blood on the Dance Floor. I can't explain why I like this so much. It's totally new to me, it has a great vibe. I just love it.

There is also a starstudded Hollywood video. I was surpised to see both John Travolta, and Olivia Newton John among many others.

Now, if you are considering getting the first dvd as well, it shows Billie Jean in the video version, so not a duplication.

Highlights of that dvd include: Bad, the 18 minute version directed by Martin Scorsese, Remember The Time -the Pharaoh video with Eddie Murphy, Imam, and Magic Johnson, Black or White with the infamous Panther Dance, The Way you make me feel with the model and the car, and the destruction sequence at the end. It's about 20 minutes shorter.

If you are like me and you cannot decide which one to get, get both. I don't think you can get such a comprehensive collection any other way.
It seems like the best way to get most of the best videos of probably the greatest entertainer who definitely made the best videos at this price.

It's easy to imagine watching this video over and over, and maybe trying out a few move, as compared to other dvd's you only watch twice at most. So, it's not just another dvd.

I hope you find this review helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars History rocks!!!, 2 May 2004
By 
georege allen (London, England) - See all my reviews
I got this double sided DVD for my 9th birthday. It features 2 stage performances which u will love; billy jean [motown 25: yesterday, today & forever) that started the world moonwalking and the 1995 MTV music awards performance which includes dangerous.
There is also much more cool stuff on this DVD to look forward to. I especially enjoyed smooth criminal except it doesn't feature the little film from monwalker.
Blood on the dance floor uses the horrible refuge camp mix version which i don't like.
This dvd is worth the money & u won`t be able to stop watching it. If u liked this, try also michael jackson history on film vol 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you're an MJ fan don't hesitate get this, 18 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Michael Jackson: History On Film - Volume II [VHS] (VHS Tape)
A comprehensive display of Michael's talent, covering everything from Thriller to Blood On The Dancefloor. My favourite MJ vid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaed07fe4)

This product

Michael Jackson: History On Film - Volume II [VHS]
Michael Jackson: History On Film - Volume II [VHS] by Nicholas Brandt (VHS Tape - 1999)
3.58
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews