Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bare Naked Pleasure
A brightly coloured, sexy violent pleasure is how I describe this film. The female cast is too die for....visually I mean. This film is beautifully coloured, frantically paced, and soooooo damn sexy. If you are with your partner, but not planning children just yet, DO NOT WATCH THIS FILM. Sure, the more prude out there may be a tad concerned about the mixing of violent...
Published on 2 May 2000 by 10166794@scholar.nepean.uws.edu.au

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Different, but good.
This film is an interesting title, as although is is extremely violent and immoral, its central love story still manages to be quaint and at times, touching.
But to clear this up, if you have seen the lavishly decorated front cover and were thinking of buying this, expecting it to be 90 minutes of ultra-violence and naked women, then you will be disappointed. Yes...
Published on 28 April 2002 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Different, but good., 28 April 2002
This review is from: Naked Killer [DVD] (DVD)
This film is an interesting title, as although is is extremely violent and immoral, its central love story still manages to be quaint and at times, touching.
But to clear this up, if you have seen the lavishly decorated front cover and were thinking of buying this, expecting it to be 90 minutes of ultra-violence and naked women, then you will be disappointed. Yes the film is violent and it does contain some sex, but it is in scarce quantity when compared to the amount of time the film spends focussing on conversation between the film's main characters. But this is a good thing.
The basic plot premise is a love story with a difference, where a maverick cop (Simon Yam), who is emotionally disturbed after having accidentally shot and killed his brother on a bust, falls for a beautiful female assassin named Kitty (Chingamy Yau) whom he has been tracking for a speight of murders. Their relationship is interrupted when Kitty is headhunted by Sister Cindy, a kind of assassin's pimp and is forced to go on a number of hits against her will. Also thrown into this is another beautiful female assassin, Princess who teams up with her lesbian lover, Baby, to kill Kitty.
The majority of the film revolves around the activities of Kitty and her escapades with sister Cindy, with the doomed love story holding the central theme. The film is speeded along by some excellent John Woo-esque action sequences which feature heavy gunplay and an unhealthy fascination with knives. But unfortunately, the action sequences are far too infrequent and the story is confusing to say the least, never quite explaining why a previously straight cop falls for such a morally bankrupt killer and is willing to die for her. The sex scenes are not even worth mentioning.
As the supposedly "most infamous category 3 film of all time", Naked Killer unfortunately does not live up to the hype, being not nearly balanced enough to be classed as an action film and featuring less violence than Hard Boiled. However, it is understandable as to why the BBFC felt that it should not be released uncut previously, as a lot of the subject matter, particularly the films overtly feminist attitude toward men and the resultant dismemberment of certain parts of the male anatomy by the films female killers can provide uneasy viewing in certain parts.
But on the whole, Naked Killer is a curious title, as it is mostly enjoyable, being both funny and thought provoking as well as exciting. But to sum it up in one sentence, it is not what you will be expecting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bare Naked Pleasure, 2 May 2000
By 
10166794@scholar.nepean.uws.edu.au (australia - a long way from France) - See all my reviews
A brightly coloured, sexy violent pleasure is how I describe this film. The female cast is too die for....visually I mean. This film is beautifully coloured, frantically paced, and soooooo damn sexy. If you are with your partner, but not planning children just yet, DO NOT WATCH THIS FILM. Sure, the more prude out there may be a tad concerned about the mixing of violent and sexy imagery, but I don't think they would watch a film called Naked Killer if they were prudish....would they? Beware of cut prints, the first time I watched this film it was a wopping fifteen minutes shorter than the full cut, and I couldn't understand what all the fuss was about. I'll just finish my ramblings by saying "all hail Carrie Ng, Madoka Sugawara, Kelly Yao & Chingmy Yau".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars misleading title, 31 May 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Naked Killer [DVD] (DVD)
ok so the general gist of this is that a lesbian hit woman recruits a new girl who is entangled with a bent copper then another lesbian hit woman shows up and takes an interest in the first girl
in between all of this confusing love triangle there is alot of shooting and stabbing and a little lesbian messing about
if you want 90 minutes of guns and nudity then look elsewhere as the focus here is the connection between the characters and the action is more of a distraction from the story
but it is still very entertaining
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Feb. 2015
By 
jean paul PIERRE (Carpentras, France.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Naked Killer [DVD] (DVD)
perfection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Naked Killer [DVD] (DVD)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I *do* want more logic than this, 25 April 2001
Apparently I am not the target audience, I couldn't follow the plot and the much-spoken-of gun scenes were dark and hard to follow. (And there was really no nudity in it.)
Also, my copy was dubbed and while well done, I still prefer actors that speak in their own language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Naked Killer - Limited Edition Box Set [VHS] [1992]
Naked Killer - Limited Edition Box Set [VHS] [1992] by Clarence Fok Yiu-leung (VHS Tape - 2000)
Used & New from: £8.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews