Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent picture quality
I won't use this review to discuss the plot, direction, or performances in this film - I'm sure you know all about that by now. However, what I will say is that within my ever expanding collection of Blu Ray films, this was one of the first I bought and it is easily one of the best in terms of the picture detail and quality. The upscaling of the original footage has lead...
Published 20 months ago by R. Forse

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Dulan - Crimson Tide
This film is not as gripping as I hoped it would be but quite enjoyable never the less.

Passes an evening in the cinema room - That is all.
Published 14 months ago by An Dulan


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent picture quality, 27 Nov 2012
By 
R. Forse (Taunton, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crimson Tide [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I won't use this review to discuss the plot, direction, or performances in this film - I'm sure you know all about that by now. However, what I will say is that within my ever expanding collection of Blu Ray films, this was one of the first I bought and it is easily one of the best in terms of the picture detail and quality. The upscaling of the original footage has lead to an incredible viewing experience and it still remains my 'go to film' when I want to show friends and family the kind of experience that they can expect from Blu Ray.

I bought it on Blu Ray because at the time there was not much difference is cost between this and the regular DVD version and what I got was a real gem and an unexpected visual treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In the nuclear world, the true enemy is war itself, 25 Aug 2007
By 
Mr. Stephen Kennedy "skenn1701a" (Doha, Qatar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After the 80's unthinking testosterone action movies, the 90's marked a real change in action ouput, even from the Bruckheimer / Simpson producing team - and so came about this unusually intelligent war movie.
Following in the tradition of classic submarine movies like `The Hunt for Red Octobe' or `Das Boot', there are all the traditional action notes you would expect - torpedo attack, flooding compartments, sinking towards crush depth etc., all done with the technical and editorial perfection you would expect from Tony `Top Gun' Scott. However, all the action is merely a backdrop for a real character study and moral dilemna.
Hackman's veteran Captain is of the old school, `I like things simple' approach. When unrest in Russia becomes critical enough for them to receive orders to launch their nuclear payload, he sets out to perform his duty. However, a second message is received - and it is incomplete, therefore can not be verified. The radio goes down, and the sub is now out of touch with the rest of the world. The `new school' Executive Officer played by Denzel Washington feels strongly enough that they should not follow through with the launch until the message is verified, leading him into direct conflict with the Captain and a tense, riveting and exciting showdown ensues.
The action is note perfect, but it is the acting that makes the movie stand out. Seeing Washington and Hackman `mano-a-mano', cannot fail to knock your socks off with its intensity. Indeed, all the actors have their moments to shine, including a pre-Lord of the Rings Viggo Mortensen, and an excellent George Dzundza playing `Chief of the Boat'.
One early scene encapsulates all that is good about the movie - in the officers mess, a philosophical debate occurs around the launching of the atomic bomb on Japan. Hackman defends the bombing, but Washington at the end of a verbal cat and mouse interplay, replies that `In the age of nuclear weapons, the true enemy is war itself. It is this conflict of ideas that haunts the movie, and the viewer, long after the movie is over. There are no out and out bad guys - just two principled men with different world views -surely there can be no greater drama.
The extended cut offers no substantial difference to the original, and seems to have little reason for existing. The scenes reinstated are almost all minor character moments, giving the minor characters in the movie more time to shine, and helping consolidate the feeling of camaraderie in the submarine, which makes the eventual schism that much more shattering. Other than that, there is a small documentary about the movie which is more promotional than educational. If you have not seen the movie, do so immediately. If you have, and wonder if the extended cut is worth getting? I say don't waste your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Languages and Subtitles, 29 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crimson Tide [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Blu-ray all zone

Ratio of the feature film:
2.35:1

Languages of the feature film:
PCM 48 kHz, 24 bits, 5.1: English
DTS 5.1: European French, Castilian Spanish
Dolby 5.1: English, European French, Castilian Spanish

Subtitles for all the videos:
Spanish, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, French, Norwegian, Swedish, Icelandic, English and English for the hearing impaired

Verdict:
An outstanding picture and sound quality but with only a few extras (3 deleted scenes plus 2 documentaries).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Blu-ray, 10 Sep 2009
By 
Gary Howard (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crimson Tide [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
If you have seen this movie on dvd and liked it then you will love this version. The sound and picture quality are really good.Well worth the upgrade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'A TRULY INTENSE DRAMA', 8 Jun 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Crimson Tide [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The film is packed with genuine 'tension' the world is on the brink of a nuclear holocaust,the sub's Captain 'Frank Ramsey' (Gene Hackman) is convinced the last order recieved gives authority for a devestating 'strike' ....but comunication is down, the number 'two' 'Lt Commander Ron Hunter' wants to wait for further communication which causes a serious split in the command chain.
Taking over the heavily armed vessel becomes the only option left for the number 'two' and those that feel the same way.
Both men have a point, but who's decision will turn out to be the right one ?
'Denzel Washington' and 'Gene Hackman' afford you some compelling viewing, this is such a good film, i've seen it several times before, but still wanted to watch it again on the 'Blu-ray' format,...........
The picture and sound quality is good throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In the top three films of all time..., 5 April 2014
By 
Mr. D Bailey (Huddersfield, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crimson Tide [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This film had the strapline: "tension you can chew" and that description is spot on. Hackman and Washington are perfectly cast as opposites in the claustrophobic and tense environment of a nuclear submarine. Not sure that the Blu-Ray is much better quality than the DVD, though...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars mostly superb but huge plot hole..... great HD..., 2 Nov 2013
This review is from: Crimson Tide [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
the film is almost perfect... HD transfer and sound are incredible given the age of the film but there is a huge plot hole [ !!!! SPOILER !!!! ] A captain who threatened to shoot a random rating in the head with his pistol to get information from another crew member would be prosecuted and jailed , not given early retirement [ !!!! SPOILER !!!! ] this oversight is so absurd it sticks out like a sore thumb. This film should not have had a happy ending.... simples..... but the rest of the film is as tight as a but so 4 stars easily if you can ignore that one plot-bomb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Blu Ray of an Epic Film, 26 Jun 2013
By 
Calum I. MacLeod "ciml" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crimson Tide [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
And to think so many people wasted their time watching The Hunt for Red October. This is the better film by a country mile.

Denzel Washington is good, Gene Hackman is awesome and at times quite frightening. Hans Zimmer's score fits this epic film perfectly. Tony Scott's (RIP) direction is tight and he keeps momentum at all times.

The Blu Ray is significantly better than most 1990s films, with a surprisingly clean picture during the many dark scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most excellent, 30 Dec 2009
By 
M. JACKSON "Overlord" (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the best film I have seen in a long time. Gripping from start to finish, I did not know until the very end what was going to happen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TENSE TUBS, 19 Dec 2009
By 
D. Lambert-leitchy (GEORDIE LAND, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crimson Tide [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
A GOOD FILM WITH SOME VERY TENSE SCENES, OUR LIVES IN OTHER PEOPLES HANDS, SCAREY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crimson Tide [VHS] [1995]
Crimson Tide [VHS] [1995] by Tony Scott (VHS Tape - 2000)
0.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews