Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will Smith and Martin Lawrence are a Dynamite Team
I agree with all the other reviews Bad Boys rocks.This Film has comedy you havnen't seen since Dumb and Dumber and contains action that hasen't been seen since Die Hard.The Language might be quite explicit but never mind about that you just go and see it.
I Cannot wait for the sequel.
Published on 27 Oct. 2003 by P. Woods

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You forgot your boarding pass...
Marcus Burnett is a hen-pecked family man. Mike Lowrey is more of a loose cannon. They are partners on the Miami Police Department, and they are about to take on a highly dangerous case.

100 million dollars in heroin, from the biggest drug bust of their careers, is stolen from police headquarters....

A few years before this movie was made, the buddy...
Published 12 months ago by Corey Newcombe


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You forgot your boarding pass..., 14 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Bad Boys [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Marcus Burnett is a hen-pecked family man. Mike Lowrey is more of a loose cannon. They are partners on the Miami Police Department, and they are about to take on a highly dangerous case.

100 million dollars in heroin, from the biggest drug bust of their careers, is stolen from police headquarters....

A few years before this movie was made, the buddy cop genre was drying up. We only had Riggs and Murtaugh for company, but they were getting to family friendly, and rather than killing the bad guys, they were subliminally telling us to give up smoking and not to eat tuna.

This movie is groundbreaking for many reasons.

It made Smith a bona-fide Hollywood star.

It gave us Michael Bay and his editing.

It's Lethal Weapon for generation X.

It made Martin Lawrence endearing.

Other than that, it's nothing new, but the chemistry between the two leads, and the fantastic, stupendous set pieces, make this stand head and shoulders above other, formulaic action movies.

The story is nothing new, the sub-characters are straight out of 'last Action Hero', and despite Tea Leoni doing nothing but strange leg exercise, it never fails to entertain.

It may have dated a little in nineteen years, and Smith is a little annoying now, but you can watch this movie through rose tinted specs, and enjoy the most orange action movie you will ever see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will Smith and Martin Lawrence are a Dynamite Team, 27 Oct. 2003
By 
P. Woods (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bad Boys [VHS] [1995] (VHS Tape)
I agree with all the other reviews Bad Boys rocks.This Film has comedy you havnen't seen since Dumb and Dumber and contains action that hasen't been seen since Die Hard.The Language might be quite explicit but never mind about that you just go and see it.
I Cannot wait for the sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 15 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Boys [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Great classic cop film. Tia is fit as on here.A must watch film at a great price.you'll watch it over & over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bruckheimer and Simpson's best action-comedy-thriller since 84's Beverly Hills Cop!., 16 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Bad Boys [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
In the mould of "action-comedy-thrillers", this is as good as it gets : two mismatched wisecracking cop partners, Marcus Burnett (Martin Lawrence) and Michael "Mike" Lowrey (Will Smith), are teamed up together when a consignment of contraband along with $100 million is stolen from Miami PD.

The two lawmen are up against a criminal mastermind, Fouchet (Tcheky Karyo - Nikita, GoldenEye) and his gang : they won't hesitate to kill anyone who hinders their criminal activities - even a colleague.

The said gang are confronted and defeated by the Miami PD, this film did for the 90's, what Beverly Hills Cop (and 2) did for their respective decades - they're both full of action/adventures and comedy, 1995's original certainly beats it's 2003 sequel almost on every level!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really good!, 7 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Bad Boys [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
This in my opinion is one of Will Smith's best films, along with "Wild Wild West" and "Independence Day", it took me a while to actually sit down and watch it mainly because I didn't actually think it would be something I'd be into, but I was really wrong, I couldn't believe how long I had waited to watch it. It's a fantastic action movie, with lots of witty comments from Martin Laurence and Will Smith. Action packed from start to finish. Defiantly worth a watch if you are a Martin Laurence or Will smith fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One movie you'll watch again and again and again and again.., 22 May 2003
By 
D. Sammut (Attard, Malta) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Boys [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I had first watched this movie when I worked as an ushette in a local cinema and was smitten. If you love action-packed cop movies, Bad Boys is for you! Martin Lawrence and Will Smith complement each other perfectly, much like Glover and Gibson in Lethal Weapon. If you liked the genre, you should like this movie. It is as explosive as the LW series. The soundtrack is fantastic extremely catchy so watch it! The DVD version includes three music videos as bonus material - enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, Even Very Good, but not Great!, 4 Dec. 2002
This review is from: Bad Boys [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
This film is a film that fits nicely into the police comedy genre that includes films like Lethal Weapon and Naked Gun. It is up against some pretty hot competition, and it manages to hold its own.
The action sequences are well made and exciting, and there are enough of them to keep the movie going. The comedy scenes are funny and typical of the humour you would expect from Martin Lawrence and Will Smith. The plot is good, although at times slightly implausable, but it is an action film that goes with the territory and it needs something on which to build the comedy element. Will Smith and Martin Lawrence play their respective parts well, especially as this was quite an early outing in the film career of Will Smith.
Overall the film was very enjoyable. However, for no particular reason I don't think it was quite as good as the lethal weapon series, towards the end of its run the chemistry between Mel Gibson and Danny Glover was just so. Martin Lawrence and Will Smith had some chemistry, but the whole movie seemed too forced, un-natural. That, and the fact that every scene change in the first half an hour is accompanied by the same pleasant but, after half an hour, very irritating piece of music, is why I give this film 4 out of 5.
I suppose I'm being too fussy. I would recommend this movie to anyone (obviously over the age of 18) and it is well worth having!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice Steelbook for this must have Blockbuster, 18 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Taken for it's the only steel available for this must have action buddy movie with Mr Will Smith. Quite a nice transfer. Image is pretty clean and sound blasts from everywere. The steelbook is cool enough the inside artworw is shiny gold and sober. It's Ok, for the outside a glossy finish would have been better and more classy. To my point of view they should have added a picture of the bad guy in some place ( Tcheky Karyo ), but hey I'm french so see what I mean.

To resume a good purchase for who wants a really great edition of this awesome movie. Besides it's suitable for everyone for it's region free and with plenty of languages except our spanish buddies to bad for them. Anyway it's more convenient to see it in english original soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bad boys. Fun film, 17 Mar. 2014
By 
Albatross "Never argue with idiots" (Suburbia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bad Boys (DVD)
Back in the nineties there was one name that was becoming synonymous with big, loud action movies. And that name was Michael Bay. How times change!

However, don’t be put off by seeing the man responsible for Megan Fox and Transformers’ name in the credits. ‘Bad Boys’ is actually quite a fun film.

It’s nothing new, i.e. two bickering cops do their best to protect a material witness while fending off various attempts on everyone’s lives courtesy of ‘the mob.’ But it’s fun and its two stars (Martin Lawrence and Will Smith – believe it or not, back then Martin Lawrence was the ‘star’ and Will Smith just the supporting cast member. Again, how times change!) play off each other nicely. They shoot, they playfully berate each other, while watching each other’s backs at all times. There are car chases and shoot-outs, plus a load of wise-cracks to keep you entertained.

I would almost say this is the perfect loud, dumb action movie. However, the only downside (in my opinion) is the film’s length. It doesn’t really need to be nearly two hours. The ‘extra’ plotlines revolve around the witness to the murder believing that Martin Lawrence’s character is really Will Smith and vice versa. A lot goes into this plotline and I couldn’t see the need for any of it (it almost degenerates into ‘farce’ at some stages). I’d rather the writers had played the film – a little – straighter and had more serious stuff with just the odd one-liner to keep things a little happy.

But that’s a minor gripe. The film is still fun and should be enjoyed with a big (bad) bag of popcorn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bad boys, 25 Nov. 2003
This review is from: Bad Boys [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Oh yes! What a turn up for the books eh? Martin lawrence and will smith star in an all action police blockbuster, with a great dose of comedy added too.
I heard about this not so long ago, and pondered about whether to get it on DVD or not. I just didn't think comedy could combine with action very well. After careful delibiration, I bought a copy, and sat back, ready to see what it had to offer.
It turned out to work brilliantly! The plots are amazing and well thought out, the stunts are stunning, the comedy is hillarious....what more can I say...?
EVERYONE and I mean EVERYONE will not regret getting this film. A must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bad Boys [VHS] [1995]
Bad Boys [VHS] [1995] by Michael Bay (VHS Tape - 2002)
£1.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews