Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars23
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: VHS Tape|Change
Price:£19.99+ £2.80 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 March 2000
Nanni Moretti provides an incredibly amusing and quirky look at Italy, Italians and above all film making today. This film is really a piece of art which is full of beautiful shots, a wonderful soundtrack and a whole new way of presenting cinema. Moretti comes across with an incredible zest for life and even in the more serious third part of the film, still manages to laugh at himself, at Italy and at the world. This film really is a must-see, not least because it opens up a whole new world of cinema - often unexplored in the majority of other films. It really is a breath of fresh air in which you can join the idiosyncratic Nanni as he joy-rides down the rarely seen backroads of the Eternal City on his ever Vespa. Once you have seen this film you will be buying his sequel 'Aprile' - I guarantee.
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2011
This is my all-time favourite film, and until recently unavailable on DVD in the UK. I had to buy my copy from Amazon in Germany! Nanni Moretti captures the mood of Rome in the summer like a dream and in the second chapter, the different island cultures. For me, it is the view that Nanni Moretti has of the world which really captivates the viewer, put together with an amazing soundtrack including Khaled's Didi (very famous in France, sadly not here in the UK) to Leonard Cohen. I can watch this film again and again, a timeless classic, full of humour and sensitivity.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2010
I first saw this film a few years after it came out, on television. Seems like a century ago, but my awe and wonder remain the same. A few minutes into it and from a reclining position in an armchair you have to sit on edge, taut and upright: in disbelief -
because just when you thought you'd never see anything good, unique and new, ever again, but only the same predictable, proscribed Hollywood productions, you're awakened out of your megrims with an intimation, a hope that here, right at the very moment of watching it, before your eyes, a true gem, an incredible work of art is unfolding. And it never disappoints. Moretti discovered a mother lode and followed it to its end, the gold never deviates into dross. After watching it you will for a time yet feel mesmerized, as if on drugs, in ecstasy of thankfulness that there are still films being made that are worth seeing. And what a wonder too that it is an Italian film. Italian films always put one off because they dub their own films and that lip movement is always out of sync. I did not notice this in Moretti's films. For all their faults Italian films have one redeeming quality, they have some of the most renowned cinematographers, and while cinematography here doesn't carry the film, the story does, it must be mentioned that the man behind the camera is the master craftsman: Giuseppe Lanci of Tarkovsky's Nostalghia.
This film is seminal, a true work of art.
The only bad thing about this dvd has to do with Arrow Films who released it: they dared to embed the subtitles into the film! This is inexcusable under any supposition - indefensible.
11 comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2012
This made me smile and I'll definately watch it again. As other people have said, it's such a refeshing change from the usual films we see which have a familiar plot projectory. If this film has a plot, I didn't notice it - and I still liked it. Great cinematography, good soundtrack and some fun moments but I'm still left feeling "I don't get it". Therefore only 4 stars.
22 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2014
Great film, almost a documentary film gives you a great insight into Rome from a locals perspective... Amazing Director, highly recommended.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2013
If you love cinema buy this dvd. Moretti is a master of the minimal and the honesty of social conscience. His melancholic regard for a world in intellectual and sensory meltdown is expressed well here. Everyone can empathise with his character in the film.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2014
Saw this at the cinema when it first came out, watched it DVD and it's fascinating, recommended for all Italophiles, required viewing, especially for life on the islands
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2015
Wasn't nearly as funny as I expected. A bit self-absorbed, section 2 (the islands) was the only one that made me laugh. The first chapter was perhaps interesting for those who knew Rome and its suburbs, and the last was dedicated to the progress of diagnosis of the subject's illness (sorry, if that a spoiler?) and of only marginal interest - many of us have health problems and have suffered from misdiagnosis, but we don't feel the need to share them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2016
A rather strange little film about Moretti himself. Interesting enough for the places he visits with his friend but a bit ego-centric. I wondered as I watched it whether he had run out of ideas for films and had decided this might do the trick. Of moderate interest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2016
Moretti just drives around the greater Rome area, sometimes stopping to ask surprised people, going about their daily life, the most philosofical questions. Very boring until he hops to each of the Eolean islands off the Sicilian northern coast.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)