Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE 'BORG' MAY BE MESSING WITH THE WRONG CREW THIS TIME ?
RESISTANCE IS FUTILE.............
those of us that faithfully followed 'Star-Trek' down the years will
no doubt not be a stranger to this two-part 'TV' classic.
our heroes 'Captain Picard' 'Commander Riker' 'Data' 'La Forge'
'Worf' and the crew of the 'Enterprise' again encounter the 'Borg'
'Commander Shelby' who has knowledge of the enemy joins...
Published 22 months ago by rbmusicman

versus
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its OK.
As a fan of Patrick Stewart & TNG, I bought this to save mucking around hunting for both volumes of the TNG boxsets.

I know The Best Of Both Worlds episodes very well and so when I got this it was just great to see these episodes run back to back without interruption; However I still feel very neutral towards the remastering of old TV series like ST:TNG when...
Published 21 months ago by Mr. Warren Gill


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great HD version of one of the best TV shows, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although this first two-parter in the history the Star Trek:TNG can also be purchased as part of the season boxes 3 and 4, I prefer this stand-alone release.
The quality of the picture and sound are really good for such an old tv movie, very good transfer to real HD, completed with some new behind the scenes extras and a nice packaging.
A must for every fan of Star Trek: TNG.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Your resistance is hopeless number one", 6 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having been a fan of star trek all my life I remember these episodes over 20 years ago and was gripped and now in blue ray the visual improvements make it even better. I must have for ever fan of the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Looks and sounds great!, 21 Aug. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have seen TNG on SD tv, VHS, DVD and now blu ray - well worth it if you don't want to spend loads on a whole series. Great double episode too. Classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really the best of both worlds!!!, 18 July 2013
The most thrilling episode of TNG on the best format it should be watched on. Highly recommended for Trekkies n scifi fans alike!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Star Trek - Next Gen - at its best, 9 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you have never seen Star Trek before - this is something that you have to get and add to your collection. It is a good transference to Blu Ray - although again as with all movies - it is interesting to see how far special effects have progressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing update - buy, 23 Jun. 2013
By 
Paul (Lincoln, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the famous 2 episodes of ST TNG that brought it racing forward as a must-see programme, rather than the stodgy, slow and sometimes boring episodes of seasons 1 and 2. The blu-ray edition of this leaves you saying 'Wow' at the upgraded effects - did you know it said 'Enterprise' on the side of the ship? As well as sharper images of the ship itself especially during warp. The interesting thing about the blu-ray edition is that the filming is definitely designed for the now, low-tech, cameras and the soft glow that surrounded everyone and everything on set has disappeared, which makes it sometimes seem more like you're watching a live play.

The chances are you've seen these episodes before, so why buy it? The clarity of the images and the story-telling really leaves you to be able to escape, this is something you will be giving your full attention to. The storyline and conflict is excellent throughout and keeps you very absorbed. At £8 it is expensive - but the additional features of interviews and a gag reel I had never seen before (and in HD also!) where great value and just about makes it worth it.

All in all, an excellent buy and it made me immediately order Season 3 on Blu-ray. And no doubt I'll be buying seasons 4, 5,....

(One minorly interesting thing is that for some weird reason, they lost 3 seconds of the original and could only include it in SD. Boy do you notice the difference. Look out for it at around the hour mark.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a classic revisited, 16 Jun. 2013
By 
Ange (Oakura, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great story , and the blue ray upgrade was awsome , very happy with dvd. recomended vewing for sci fi fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Epic TNG episode, 15 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a fantastic 2-part episode. Although the product cover features Picard and the episode events with him are the most remembered by viewers, I am more touched by Riker journey developed in this episode.

It develops very well the Riker character and it deliver us a great guest star (Shelby). Very touching scenes between Riker and Guinan, Riker and Shelby, Riker and Picard.

The visual effects are great and they stand very well in HD, with CGI improvements when required. Ron Jones score to this episode is a classic. Piller screenplay manages very well the balance between action sequences and character development scenes.

The extras on the Star Trek - The Next Generation: The Best Of Both Worlds blu-ray release are great and unfortunately not available in the season 3 blu-ray set. The audio commentary is quite interesting, worth listening and its format is a really strange in the beginning, with the Okudas interviewing Bole and Dennehy, but the Okudas manages very well to focus on interesting questions and provided enjoyable trivia information. The documentary with this release delivers interviews with people involved in visual effects, production and music. The gag reel addition is very welcome to TNG long time fans.

I do really recommend it for long time fans of TNG, because it contains exclusive bonus content (and a nice package, at least in the release, with great slipcover). Also recommended for fans of this 2-part episode that cannot afford the season 3 and season 4 blu-ray sets. I do not recommend it for casual viewers not interested in the bonus features and owners of season 3 and 4 blu-ray sets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars you must get this - truly remarkable to watch!!, 8 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent hi def version of ST TNG's greatest episode ever..the Borg using starfleet's own against them..how can riker and the enterprise crew hope to defeat one who knows then better than they know themselves.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best TNG ever, even better!, 7 Jun. 2013
Never wrote a review before, but thought I would this time, as nobody was providing the information that I wanted, and as a result, I put off buying this for quite some time. I won't lapse into any review of the actual episode, as everybody knows this is the best TNG ever.
The picture is 4:3 aspect ratio; that is it completely fills the screen from top to bottom, but not side to side, and has vertical black bars, pillar boxes at each end. The HD picture itself is very good but not jaw dropping. It is not reference material, but still a massive improvement on an up-scaled DVD. It is completely worth buying though, as this transfer does do justice and enhances an already excellent episode. I have owned it on all formats. The sound is also fantastic, the music has never sounded better. I would recommend buying it 100 percent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Trek The Next Generation: The Best Of Both Worlds [VHS] [1990]
Used & New from: £1.50
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews