Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'RESISTANCE IS FUTILE'
RESISTANCE IS FUTILE.............
those of us that faithfully followed 'Star-Trek' down the years will
no doubt not be a stranger to this two-part 'TV' classic.
our heroes 'Captain Picard' 'Commander Riker' 'Data' 'La Forge'
'Worf' and the crew of the 'Enterprise' again encounter the 'Borg'
'Commander Shelby' who has knowledge of the enemy joins...
Published 14 months ago by rbmusicman

versus
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its OK.
As a fan of Patrick Stewart & TNG, I bought this to save mucking around hunting for both volumes of the TNG boxsets.

I know The Best Of Both Worlds episodes very well and so when I got this it was just great to see these episodes run back to back without interruption; However I still feel very neutral towards the remastering of old TV series like ST:TNG when...
Published 13 months ago by Mr. Warren Gill


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'RESISTANCE IS FUTILE', 2 May 2013
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
RESISTANCE IS FUTILE.............
those of us that faithfully followed 'Star-Trek' down the years will
no doubt not be a stranger to this two-part 'TV' classic.
our heroes 'Captain Picard' 'Commander Riker' 'Data' 'La Forge'
'Worf' and the crew of the 'Enterprise' again encounter the 'Borg'
'Commander Shelby' who has knowledge of the enemy joins the team on
board hoping to replace 'Riker' should he accept promotion.
in this memorable double episode 'Borg' clones board the 'Enterprise'
snatching 'Captain Jean Luc Picard' with the intention of using his
knowledge and presence to persuade the Federation' to succumb to
their 'will'
'William Riker' takes command of the 'Enterprise'
after a failed attempt to snatch the now 'Borg' 'Jean Luc'
now 'Riker' and the crew try to buy the Federation' the time to
prepare the fleet to do battle with the 'Borg' vessel.
a terrific way to spend around an hour and a half bringing back
the memories of this iconic 'Sci-Fi' series.
'Make it So'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent remastering, 20 May 2013
By 
Mr. C. Hoskin (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This looks fantastic.
Some people complain it's not as nice as it could be, or not widescreen, but this was TV in 1990!! What do you expect!?
The job they've done is fantastic. The detail and colours really come out and create a very immersive viewing experience.
5.1 sound is the icing on the cake too.
I'm also pleased they've not gone overboard when redoing the effects, like star wars remakes, as it's all similiar looking to how it was originally, just nicer and more detailed.
Top marks to the team behind this work. Can't fault it.

If you're a fan of Star Trek, you owe it to yourself to own this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Resistance is futile, 19 Oct 2006
This was such an important episode for Star Trek TNG and is a very significant episode for Picard. A alien race known as the Borg invade the federation intent on assmiliating the technology and people of the federation into their collective. Their extremely powerful ship, (a single cube) engages the federation fleet and the Enterprise providing plently of action.

What this episode captures very well and convinces, is the real dread that humanity is in serious danger as the Borg seem to be totally unstoppable and relentless. There are subplots interwoven in this episode with the introduction of the highly ambitious commander Shelby character who causes some tension between herself the "seasoned" commander Riker, a little bit of character development there, as Riker questions his career choice.

The acting is to a high standard and so is the main storyline which unfolds perfectly to produce tension and suspense. The episode is also accompanied by an eerie musical score which again compliments the storytelling perfectly, although maybe a touch dated these days.

I can't finish without saying Part 1 of this episode is ended brilliantly, with probably the best cliff hanger in TV history. It leaves you desperately wanting to see the second half, and it was this that made everyone talk about the show asking themselves "what will happen to Picard?"

If you have not seen this then all i can say is it is a must see for any self respecting sci-fi fan, it does help too if you watch the episode "Q who?" before hand :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "TNG" at its pinnacle!, 4 Sep 2012
This review is from: Star Trek The Next Generation: The Best Of Both Worlds [VHS] [1990] (VHS Tape)
This is simply one of the best pieces of Sci-fi entertainment, i have ever seen. "The Best of Both Worlds" is in the top ten stories of the next generation (easily) and arguably in the top ten stories of "TREK" ever!

The story is great - about a borg invasion of the federation. Patrick Stuart is fantastic as usual as cpt picard and this episode really makes Riker shine. And he is no longer the boring plain old simple "Riker" Everyone has a good part to play in this two-part next generation story that is effectively like a movie. This is also, for hardcore "Trek" fans, leads on to the stunning top-notch masterpiece "First Contact"

This episode also features some great special effects and the twists and turns will make you fixed to the T.V and wonder how things will turn out right. I must have watched this episode more than a dosen times and it still blows my mind every time. This is one "TNG" episode I will never get bored of or forget, 10/10

This is a must for any "Trek" fan and prepare to be assimilated by the T.V! Resistance is Futile..............
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The saviour and launcher of TNG and Star trek, 25 Nov 2004
By 
Joe Dickens "joe_dickens" (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I can safely say that without a doubt, star trek would not be what it is today without this episode. At the time of its realise TNG was losing its grip with the older original series fans with it simply not having the new concept or simplicity of TOS. This episode finally puts the Borg into the picture, after they are briefly introduced in Q-Who? This episode basically pits an entire federation fleet against a single borg vessel - a sort of wake of call for starfleet to get their act together. I wont spoil it anymore, just watch it and if you have seen or heard references to 'wolf 359' that are mentioned in both DS9 and VOY, you will finally know what it means.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best of the TNG none movie movies., 24 Jun 2014
By 
R Dutton (Warrington, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This show toyed with these cliff hanger plots a little to often for me, but when put together as a movie it works well. Of the TNG 2 parters released as a single movie this is my favorite and forms the basis of many future episodes and movies. By this stage in the series the actors had really begun to become comfortable with their characters making the show feel a lot better to watch.

The appearance of this as a Bluray made me curious as to any increase in quality over the DVDs I already have of the series. I have to admit that there is a substantial increase in quality, although this may be because I have always been disappointed with the DVD releases of TNG as lacking in colour saturation and excess graininess. The Bluray gets rid of the worst of this and has an excellent soundtrack, all be it that they seem incapable of re-framing in to 16:9 retaining the 4:3 ratio. I had my doubts if it was worth buying the Bluray version but having waited until the price had fallen I think overall it was a good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Star Trek TNG episodes in HD, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Best of Both Worlds was a turning point in the TNG series and now its in stunning HD. The packaging of the set is also great and there are some good special features too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Super fast deliver, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Blu-ray arrived on time, was in good condition and was well packaged. I have not watched it yet but as the disk is free from damage I'm sure it will be fine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great HD version of one of the best TV shows, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although this first two-parter in the history the Star Trek:TNG can also be purchased as part of the season boxes 3 and 4, I prefer this stand-alone release.
The quality of the picture and sound are really good for such an old tv movie, very good transfer to real HD, completed with some new behind the scenes extras and a nice packaging.
A must for every fan of Star Trek: TNG.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Your resistance is hopeless number one", 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having been a fan of star trek all my life I remember these episodes over 20 years ago and was gripped and now in blue ray the visual improvements make it even better. I must have for ever fan of the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Trek The Next Generation: The Best Of Both Worlds [VHS] [1990]
6.92
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews