Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars68
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: VHS Tape|Change
Price:£14.00+ £2.80 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 September 2005
The Visitation is in my opinion a much underrated story. Peter Davisons fifth doctor tries to take Tegan back to Heathrow in order for her to return to the flight she was supposed to be on before joining the Doctor. The TARDIS however ends up in 1666. 300 years before Heathrow was built. The Doctor and his companions then get caught up in a plot by three fugitive tereliptils and their 'grim reaper' android.
This is an enjoyable adventure with convincing monsters [apart from the tights they wear] and top performances particuarly from Davison and Michael Robbins who plays out of work actor Richard Mace.
This is worth a DVD despite what many may say and despite its flaws it is a good DOCTOR WHO adventure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2000
Both these adventures are set in history and both are from the Peter Davison era. In 'The Visitation', the Terileptils have arrived in 17th century England and plan to wipe out the human race. These are really rubbery monsters and are not remembered very fondly, but this is still an enjoyable yarn. The second adventure, 'Black Orchid', is similar to a Miss Marple episode. The Doctor arrives with his companions in 1920s England and they acquaint themselves with an upper crust family. During their stay at the family's luxurious mansion, a murderer strikes and the Doctor and his companions are held responsible.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 June 2005
In my opinion this story is the classic example of a romp, ie not excellent and not rubbish yet its a shade above average and very watchable. Watching this story its easy to see it has a lot going for it, the historic period, very good guest character, good villian/monster and a Doctor in Peter Davison on very good form. In fact watching it he bounds around the story clearly enjoying himself - the story is after reading the script he was really up for this, in fact if it wasn't for the quite frankly dull directing this story could be one of the great Who stories. I'm not going to go into the extra's in detail as bar the highly enjoyable commentary they are rather dull (focussing on the director ironically). In saying that this is an example of Who doing what it does well and is worth watching for The Doctors interaction with Richard Mace (guest character) alone. The descriptions best aimed for it are charming and enjoyable, it gets 4 stars from me but don't expect to see anything special in this one.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2014
it a great one but they sould bring out the Peter Davison box set out with the Davison Years
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2016
Well I enjoyed this. Another one to add to my increasing Dr Who collection. This, to my mind, is one of Peter Davidson's best. Peter, Janet, and Matthew work well together. I particularly like the ending, when the Doctor accidently starts the Great Fire of Pudding Lane. Subtitles very helpful. Quality of picture-excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 August 2004
First off, compared to the average Who story The Visitation is very well made - the direction is good, the design work is fantastic (the only serial this designer worked on - did he overspend I wonder?) - the two main supporting guest stars - Richard Mace as the wonderfully over the top thespian highwayman and Michael Melia acting his socks off as the Tereleptil leader - are excellent, and the design of the Tereleptil leader's head, complete with animatronic lips and moving gills, is one of the best realised monster costumes in the series history.
Where the story fails to come alive is the script. It's functional, and there are no gaping plot holes, but it's a very basic and formulaic story. Writer Eric Saward himself admits as much on the supplementary DVD extra material, explaining that he was working from memories of old Doctor Who TV stories he'd seen as a kid and was simply trying to replicate them. The Tereleptils are magnificently designed, but beyond being lizards there's nothing particularly interesting about them in the script - and if it comes to 'stranded aliens decide to take over the Earth' stories it's hard to see anybody choosing this above the likes of Terror of the Zygons (for example). Saward also struggles with the over-populated TARDIS - Tegan and Adric just about get enough things to do, but Nyssa gets pushed aside into a terribly basic and undramatic weapons building exercise that takes up nearly two episodes. Thank god for Richard Mace - while it becomes clear on the audio commentary that the regulars didn't think much of his performance he at least injects some life and comedy into an otherwise functional but dull story.
On the extras front the audio commentary is the most entertaining, with Peter Davison, Sarah Sutton, Matthew Waterhouse & Janet Fielding typically taking the mickey out of the show and each other. Mini features on the director, author and incidental music composer are also typical of the care that the BBC lavish on even the most average of stories.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2012
Travel back to 1666 - the great fire of London was started by aliens! A great story, good acting and the historic theme makes this outing with Peter Davison very interesting. The Grim Reaper robot is impressive and the suspense of the real aliens - the Terdaptils, works well. One to watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2012
I love this story, the main four characters Peter, Matthew, Janet and Sarah play their roles remarkably as always. The enemy is dark but quite funny at the same time and the androids bring a great twist to the story. The ending is brilliant and overall this story is one of Peters greatest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2004
You must have seen this episode years ago or, like me, have a copy recorded off uk gold.
So what motivation is there to upgrade to the shiny dvd disc.
Much improved transfer makes the show look better than my hazy hildhood memory. Picture gallerys, deleted scenes add a little to the package. BUT!
Full cast commentary!
Gives you the delightful excuse after having sat and watched the whole story once
You can then sit back and enjoy watching the whole thing again!
Close your eyes and imagine that the cast and director are sitting in your lounge and chatting about the show, and quite frankly, having a great time.
Despite the stories quirks enjoying a couple of hours with the cast really enjoying themselves is worth the money alone
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2009
I am going to be mildly controversial here and support this DOCTOR WHO release!
As a long-term fan I am naturally nostalgic and wear 'rose-tinted spectacles' whenever watching Dctor Who; what genuine fanboy wouldn't? Tom Baker was my first (and favourite) Doctor and Peter Davison comes second - mainly due to his tenure being during my adolescent and formative years. I remember this story clearly and fondly: The Visitation works well as a historical story - bearing in mind the limited budget of the early 80s the BBC always produced great sets and imagery when producing period pieces for Doctor Who. Carefree actor Richard Mace lends a lighthertedness to the proceedings, the Terileptils (whilst fairly rubbery!) form distracting villains and their colourful android is well realised.
Overall a solid story sees Peter Davison getting into his stride as The Doctor and hints at the sad, yet somehow welcome, impending demise of the tiresome Adric...
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.