Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the masterpiece the hype would have you believe, but still very good
The Killer was so over-hyped when I first saw it that it left me distinctly unimpressed, but revisiting it years later it's so much better than I gave it credit for (although by comparison to recent John Woo turkeys like MI:2 and Windtalkers, almost anything would look good). The first couple of reels are still a bit ropey but once it gets into the swing of its...
Published on 7 Feb 2007 by Trevor Willsmer

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DeAgostini version
WARNING: The DeAgostini version has NO EXTRAS.

So if you want them do NOT buy that version.

For me it means buying another copy!! Well you live and learn.

Only three stars due to no extras.
Published on 7 Sep 2007 by Driverdriver


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Woo at his pre-Hollywood best..., 5 July 2000
By 
MR T CHISNELL (Living room, his house) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Killer [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Before the rest of the world were introduced to John Woo via Hard Target, Face/Off and, ahem, Broken Arrow, there were a few films he made in Hong Kong which nobody had ever heard of. The Killer is one of these, and if everyone was to watch this film it would most certainly be mentioned in the same sentence as Die Hard and The Matrix. Though sometimes brutal and over explicit on the bloodshed, The Killer is a fabulous and perfectly shot film which shows you that not all assassins live by themselves, have no life, and love a green pot plant like it was their only friend... The one thing I did notice with the balletic gun scenes flawlessly executed by the brilliant Chow Yun Fat, was that he very rarely reloads his weapons. Whereas this is in no way important to the plot, it caught me as strange to see that, in the scene near the beginning of the film, he reloads about once, whilst managing to shoot multiple enemies with 11+ bullets in the most exquisite manner (surely a head-shot would do for each and save time...?) This aside, when compared to many Hollywood action films of recent times (Steven Segal please step forward) it is unbelievable to think this film goes unseen. Along with Face/Off and the shockingly brutal Bullit in the Head, The Killer ranks as John Woo at his absolute best. Big up yourself, John.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shock horror: An action film with a good story!, 15 Jun 2007
By 
M. JONES "mj1001" (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Killer [DVD] (DVD)
When John Woo arrived on the Hollywood scene, we were all quickly wowed by the bombastic action of films like 'Broken Arrow' and 'Face Off'. Then his output became a little bit mundane with the so-so 'M:I2' and 'Paycheck'. But alot of people forget that John Woo made films before Hollywood and his best works are from that time. One of them... 'The Killer'.

It's the story of an assassin named John (Chow Yun Fat) who accidently blinds a nightclub singer, Jennie, during a hit. Feeling tremendous guilt and shame, John approaches her as a stranger and offers to pay for a cornea transplant. But to pay for it, he needs to do one last job... but when has 'one last job' ever been an easy one?

Meanwhile, a determined cop on John's case also tries gets close to Jennie in order to catch him. But he soon realises that John is an honourable man and the pair team up to fight John's treacherous Triad employers.

'The Killer' is a great film for two reasons. Firsly, it stages some fantastic action sequences complete with Woo's classic trademarks. Also, it has an excellent storyline with strong themes of honour, redemption and brotherhood. The two lead characters are played extremely well and make a good team but there is also a good turn from the actor playing John's friend, a retired assassin who needs a chance to prove himself. The central romance is also rather touching and the ending will certain have an effect on you long after seeing the film.

While the action may not be as relentless, creative or as full-on as Woo's later film 'Hard Boiled', it still gets the adrenaline going and throws in one or two inspired moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John Woo's best film to date, a slice of cinematic hypercool, 29 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Killer [VHS] (VHS Tape)
A basic storyline plays second fiddle here to ballistic all out action and some superbly choreographed, violent shootouts. Good, solid performances from both Chow Yun Fat and Danny Lee but the only downfall to this action masterpiece is the lashings of mawkish sentimentality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MAGNIFICENT ACTION THRILLER, 14 Oct 2002
By 
kaysixone (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Killer [DVD] (DVD)
It's great to get my hands on a dvd of this movie. Although John Woo's Hollywood films are good, this shining example of the Chinese action thriller genre (out of over 20 from his Hong Kong days) is something else.
However, if you don't like guns then I have to say that this movie is not for you. Because John Woo definitely does like guns - lots of guns - firing incalculable numbers of bullets in all directions at every opportunity. Not surprisingly it's a violent film, but not an especially gory one. Although the body count is high, "The killer" definitely oozes more style than blood and its many action sequences are all filmed with tastefully impeccable attention to detail.
It's essentially a film about redemption. Chow Yun Fat stars as a hit man with a heart. Hired to kill a gangster in a nightclub, during the shoot-out which follows he fires his gun too close to the face of the club singer who is blinded by the blast. Haunted by what he has done he keeps returning to the club, gets to know the singer (without revealing his guilty secret) and sets about raising enough money to pay for an operation which will restore her sight.
After his next job he finds himself double-crossed and pursued by deadly killers from both sides of the law and eventually forms an uneasy alliance with the cop who is initially out to nail him. The final showdown takes place, somewhat symbolically, in a church whose pristine white interior is systematically defiled and destroyed during the ensuing carnage.
"The killer" is a shoot-em up classic which I've watched hundreds of times and I cannot recommend it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellence is a hail of bullets!, 25 May 2003
This review is from: The Killer [DVD] (DVD)
If you’re new to the work of John Woo, or think his career begins and ends with his Hollywood films (Mission Impossible 2, Face/Off, etc), you should see this film without delay. You’ll be in for a treat. Featuring the Hong Kong legend and regular Woo colaborator Chow Yun Fat, The Killer is a story about a nice-guy assassin trying to pay for an operation to restore the sight of a young woman he accidentally blinded whilst carrying out a hit. He teams up with the cop trying to catch him, and together they take on the Triads. To be honest, though, this does not really matter one bit. What does matter is the gunplay, and lots of it. Although the story is a good one and the performances are decent, the point of a John Woo film are the beautifully filmed and choreographed gunfights. On this score, The Killer delivers in spades. The two men deliver carnage that even Arnold Schwarzenegger at his peak couldn’t match. In the finale to this film, the bodycount probably reaches three figures. And these guys don’t shoot their enemies once when shooting them eleven times will do. Their guns must hold about fifty rounds each. Apart from this lapse in reality, though, this is as good an action film as you will ever see, a perfect introduction to the Hong Kong action genre, and far better than anything of its type from America.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nobody does it better, 24 Sep 2004
By 
Amazon Customer "fact275" (California United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Killer [DVD] (DVD)
All you need to know about John Woo and The Killer is one scene: the scene where the bad guys converge on the Killer in cars. Guys with submachineguns do aikido rolls out of the passenger doors onto the ground and begin firing. There's no reason for them to do the rolls other than it looked cool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid gunfight actioner, 14 Jun 2007
This review is from: The Killer [DVD] (DVD)
Hi..
I bought 4 movies from Amazon UK in one shipment, they included (Road house 2), (Naked weapon), (The Killer) and (Series 7 - The Contenders).
I have commented on and reviewed all 4 movies, so to check out the rest of the movies reviews check them out individually.
As for The Killer, i've been in a buying spree for action movies latley, and the killer was a movie recommended by some as a solid action movie, so i got it and started watching, pretty good, had a good dramatic plot with good acting from cho yun fat, it did drag for 10-20 minutes midway through the movie.
As for the action scenese, i must say that it had one of the best gunfight scenes in movies, very good work from jhon woo, pretty impressive and nice, it did however had some setbacks like having plenty of scenes with zoomed in footage where it is difficult to see what is going on.
I give it 4 stars, the minus 1 star because the plot gets a little slow in the middle of the movie and because of the zoomed in scenes.
In summary, a pretty good solid actioner, but not better than the (Die Hard) triology or (The Matrix) triology, and has a good, sometimes slow, plot with very cool gunfight scenes.
Out of the 4 movies i bought in the shipment, i would recommend (the Killer) and (Road house 2), and i advice u guys to stay away from (Naked weapon) and (Series 7 - The Contenders).
Another cool action flik i would recommend is (Hard Target) with vann damme..!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DeAgostini version, 7 Sep 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Killer [DVD] (DVD)
WARNING: The DeAgostini version has NO EXTRAS.

So if you want them do NOT buy that version.

For me it means buying another copy!! Well you live and learn.

Only three stars due to no extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Character and Action Movie, 4 Dec 2001
This review is from: The Killer [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Even though I have to see this film with subtitles this is still one of my favourite all time films. I was very lucky to pick this as the first ever Hong Kong film I decided to buy and very few films have come near it in sheer enjoyment and character building.
I would very definitely recommend this film, but would have to say that you should be prepared for OTT gun fighting scenes and should suspend your disbelief on the number of bullets you can fire without reloading.
Anyway it is always nice to watch a film remembering that you are allowed to really enjoy a film and still have a sense of humour!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest action movies ever made, 30 Sep 2001
This review is from: The Killer [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is John Woo's masterpiece, an all-action tale of honour, betrayal and redemption through violence. Chow Yun Fat and Danny Lee are brilliant as two characters on opposite sides of the law who find themselves drawn together to fight a common enemy. The film contains numerous memorable gunfights, although the most explosive is the climactic shootout in a church. The cinematography is truly mind-blowing, and the body-count ridiculous! An exceptional film, and John Woo's finest to date. Matchless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Killer [VHS]
The Killer [VHS] by John Woo (VHS Tape - 1999)
9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews