Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it!!
Being from the US and pretty much hating everything on television today I have been looking elsewhere for good decent programming. As a huge long time fan of Red Dwarf and Chris Barrie in particular, I stumbled across Brittas Empire on youtube one day. At first I wasn't sure if I would like it, but after viewing all the way through the first season I was hooked. "The...
Published on 6 April 2009 by Andruff

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great family comedy, bargain price!
Given that I was just six years old when this series began and have only vague recollections of watching repeats on the TV, I was pleased to see I could watch The Brittas Empire Series 1 in its entirety for a bargain price.

The great thing about this series is you don't need an ounce of intelligence or maturity to `get it.' I'm not, of course, saying you're...
Published on 26 Dec 2007 by Lucy Felthouse


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it!!, 6 April 2009
By 
Being from the US and pretty much hating everything on television today I have been looking elsewhere for good decent programming. As a huge long time fan of Red Dwarf and Chris Barrie in particular, I stumbled across Brittas Empire on youtube one day. At first I wasn't sure if I would like it, but after viewing all the way through the first season I was hooked. "The Brittas Empire" is hilarious warm hearted show, with characters that grow on you. It also gets better and better with each show. It's a breath of fresh air to see a show that isn't full of obscene and indecent subject matter. The humor is always good without being offensive. One of my top 5 all time favorite shows.

Each disc has a whole season of episodes on it and good extras that will keep you entertained for quite sometime. If you like good funny sitcoms, you will not regret picking up this great series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Barrie Strikes Again, 3 Nov 2003
It is wonderful to see this completely underrated comedy finally hitting the shelves on everyones favourite format, DVD. This is a must have for everybody, and if you don't already own season 1, then buy them both. Chris Barrie's performance is not to be matched, but when supported by the rest of the cast, it truly is comedy dynamite.
This series contains such highlights as the fire / bomb / everything else feasibly possible drill, the Russian Recital, and the end of Brittas - at the beginning :oS
As well as the highlights, the constant laughs, and misunderstandings, make this one of the most amusing, light hearted, and wholly entertaining comedies.
The only minor downfall is a lack of special features but this is more than made up for in the entertainment of the series itself, bring on season 3, and enjoy seasons 1 & 2, a must for the collection :o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "eeeeeexcellent", 24 Aug 2003
By A Customer
The Brittas Empire is, as the man himself, Gordon Brittas, would say, "eeeeeexcellent".
Gordon brittas is brillantly played by Chris Barrie, who is more well known for his role as Rimmer in the sitcom Red Dwarf. Barrie grew and developed the role of Brittas enormously and is beyond imagination making Gordon brittas, in my opinion, one of the most memorable characters in history.
Everyting about this show was always funny because it had a good script and had a good lead actor which made it a great sitcom to watch.
The Brittas Empire is a terrific show which I am glad to see that it has been released on DVD for its fans to enjoy again and again.
I would highly recommend this show to anyone who has not yet seen it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent!!! totally fab!!1, 14 April 2001
This review is from: Brittas Empire: Laying the Foundations [VHS] [1991] (VHS Tape)
i think that the story lines are brilliant and i think that the actors playing these characters are perfectionist - they make it great. i particulary like mrs Brittas played by Pippa Haywood! she has a totally different attitude from others. i think that this is a good video to buy as it is totally different from any other -i wish more was available!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leisure management is just like this!, 26 Nov 2009
By 
Rover (ST.ASAPH, Denbighshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I worked as Attendant, Supervisor and Deputy Manager in and then Managed a leisure centre for over twenty years and Oh brother is this series accurate. A caricature of life in a leisure centre but one that is so near the underlying truths of so much that happens in the job, albeit exaggerated,that I for one weep with laughter. Just call me Brittas - some of my staff and users used to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT! THE GREATEST SHOW IN THE WORLD!, 20 Feb 2006
A great start to a great series. The Brittas Empire is PACKED-FULL of great characters, jokes and wonderful ideas!. This first series features some of the funniest episodes, but remember, the first series is where the cast are just getting use to there roles, and in fact come series two the character Angie was replaced with Julie, a much stronger character. This first series see's Brittas less likable, but very funny. You'll soon warm to him and all the great characters, but Brittas in more of a likable character series 2 onwards. You can't compare The Brittas Empire to any exsisting Sitcom, it's a star in it's own league. It's Unique, and combines a mixture of dark edgy moments, with fine humour with a hint of darkness, can you think of any other Sitcom that is packed full of explosions, fires, floods electrocutions, cows giving birth and falling water tanks, along with great characters, great jokes and throw in hilerous situations, comedy wit, and superb acting and you've got yourself a winner, and the show is packed full of plenty more great ideas to!. The series is however generally better series two onwards, but this first installment is still GREAT and one of the funniest out of the seven!. Worth getting, but Series 5 is by far the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic comedy!, 27 Mar 2004
By A Customer
In series 1, Gordan Brittas was a bit of a David Brent type character. ie, the boss from hell. In series 2, it's a lot clearer that Brittas is actually a very caring guy and is much more likeable. Some moments in this show are very moving. Like when Carole looses everything and opens her heart up to Brittas. A different side to him is shown which made me pity him. He tries so hard and is very considerate, but is never successful. He tries to please everyone and doesn't put himself first. I found his general character a lot more likeable in this series.
Each 'sentimental' bit in this series is cut short but a classic comedy scene however, and it's this which makes it so unique. The entire series also focusses around a cliffhanger which begins in the first episode but isn't resolved to the final scene of the last episode. We know Carole is pregnant (again). She doesn't know who the father is. Through a series of bizarre occurrences we find out who the unlikely dad is. The dad knows nothing about it until the end of episode 7.
The acting is as we would expect from the brilliant Chris Barrie. He's top notch in every episode. His supporting cast also fulfill their duty and makes each charcater their own. Especially the hilarious Colin with his sceptic hand. And his boils. And his weak bladder. And his 'loose' muscles.....
This show is another classic British comedy and like Red Dwarf, it deserves far more attention on 'best sitcom/comedy' polls that it receives. It seems as though The Office's David Brent may have taken a few pointers from Gordon Brittas. Brent is funny, but makes us uncomfortable. Brittas is hilarious, and a charcter which I warmed towards.
If you like the Office, you'll love it's predecessor. The Brittas Empire is an exccceeeelleeennnnttt show made all the better by Barrie's comic genious. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent entertainment - why aren't more available?, 23 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Brittas Empire: Laying the Foundations [VHS] [1991] (VHS Tape)
The selection provides 5 very, very funny episodes from a truly great series. It gives a good idea of how the characters progressed and grew, starting with (I think) the very first episode and showing some from later series. It would have helped if the dates first shown or at least which series the episodes came from were shown on the cover.
The acting is high class and the story lines clever and interesting. Each story has so many strands that it seems impossible for them all to unravel - but they always do.
Please, please make more available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brittas never never will be enslaved!, 18 Feb 2005
By 
Louise Stanley (Reading, Berkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This series is one of my childhood favourites; along with Red Dwarf, it marked Chris Barrie's (entirely inaccurate) typecasting as the archetypal...well...uptight git.
The first series is interesting to watch, as it deals with the opening of the Fawlty Towers-esque Whitbury leisure centre and is more of a mini-series than what I remember of the other series. Like the first series of Red Dwarf, it is more concerned with character interaction and development than formulaic slapstick (if only Fawlty Towers itself could have been more like this!). Indeed the end of the series raises a question mark over its whole future - perhaps the writers weren't confident of a second series - and made it an excellent example of Britcom writing at its best, and a good programme for aspiring comedy writers to learn from.
One star off for the irritating theme music which pervades every inch of the DVD outside the episodes, though...not one of the Beeb's finest, unlike the AbFab "Wheels on Fire" or Red Dwarf's hymn to nonsense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Sitcom--About Time It's Appeared on DVD, 23 July 2003
Finally, DVD for one of the best comedic series I have seen. I am huge anglophile when it comes to britcoms, and I have waited and waited for this to appear (shortly after Red Dwarf, etc). And here it is! Well, don't even think twice, get the DVD. Though bereft of special effects and such, if you are a Chris Barrie fan, there is no thought required to make this purchase. If you have never had the good fortune to watch this britcom, sit down and relax and enjoy. You won't be sorry and will be looking forward to Series 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Brittas Empire: Laying the Foundations [VHS] [1991]
Brittas Empire: Laying the Foundations [VHS] [1991] by Chris Barrie (VHS Tape - 1997)
9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews