Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heroic Bloodshed at its finest
Hard Boiled was John Woo's final Hong Kong film before he jumped ship and started making mediocre Hollywood films. Considering the fact that it was his last HK film, it's certainly a great leaving present.
Hard Boiled is one of the greatest action films I have ever had the pleasure of seeing - it just pips Woo's other masterpiece "The Killer" to the title of best HK...
Published on 2 Jun 2004 by lordvegeta_1

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I hate to diss the release,...
I was really excited when I heard that "Hrad Boiled" was finally being released in an uncut widescreen version on DVD. Before I had seen some fairly bad versions of the film, including a horribly cur German version, and I was looking forward to finally getting a pristine copy with all the action, all the blood and all the dialogue that the director intended. However, when...
Published on 30 April 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heroic Bloodshed at its finest, 2 Jun 2004
This review is from: Hard Boiled [DVD] (DVD)
Hard Boiled was John Woo's final Hong Kong film before he jumped ship and started making mediocre Hollywood films. Considering the fact that it was his last HK film, it's certainly a great leaving present.
Hard Boiled is one of the greatest action films I have ever had the pleasure of seeing - it just pips Woo's other masterpiece "The Killer" to the title of best HK Heroic Bloodshed movie. There is little to fault about this film - The Story is solid, if a bit formulaic while Chow Yun Fat and Tony Leung make convincing leads and needless to say the action is stunning - it would be fair to say that alot of stuff gets blown up in this film and a lot of people get shot - the hospital finale is action film making at its very best.
Get Hard Boiled - it really is a 5* effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest action flicks, 17 Feb 2004
By 
Mo "f1mo" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard Boiled [DVD] (DVD)
It does not matter whether one understands Cantonese or not to enjoy this movie. This movie is easily one of John Woo's & Chow Yun Fats best.
The story is about a hard working, hard-ass CID cop who wants to bring down a Triad gang. Chow Yun Fat gets close to an undercover cop, who is also working as an informer and on his last case. Anyway, the story flows fast due to explosive action scenes.
In typical Woo style there are plenty of slow-mo gun splurting dives. The gun battles are endless. And the protrayal of the ruthlessness of the triads is enough to scare one in the living room.
This flick is a classic and deserves a shelf space to be shared with the Godfather, Goodfellas, The Killer, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An action fan's dream, 9 Feb 2004
By 
Ranvir S. Panesar "reckless_life" (Slough, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hard Boiled [DVD] (DVD)
If you're fed up by the tame action films pumped out by hollywood, then you must check this film out. The action is amazing and at times way over the top and made me laugh at some points, its amazing how Tony can take a shotgun bullet to his back and still carry on shooting, running and even swimming. The body count is extremely high in this movie (especially in the arms depot and hospital scenes), not even innocent bystanders are safe. So if you're into action films involving guns you'd be crazy to miss this title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ANOTHER SHOOT-EM UP CLASSIC, 22 Oct 2002
By 
kaysixone (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hard Boiled [DVD] (DVD)
Although "The killer" has to be my favourite John Woo film, this one comes a very close second. It also stars Chow Yun Fat playing an almost identical character, except that this time he's on the right side of the law - a cop named Tequila. Ruthless but with a sensitive side (renegade cop by day, musician by night) he's soon on the trail of a gang of gun smugglers. It's a fairly simple story, with just enough of a plot to sustain the viewer in between the epic gun fights and action sequences which are stunning enough to eclipse even those in "The killer".
When Tequila's partner is killed during the first of many spectacular shoot-outs, he vows revenge. And after that there's so much action you soon lose count of the exploding cars, never mind the bodies and bullets. Again the film features an alliance between the main character and somebody who first appears as an enemy (a gangster who turns out to be an undercover cop) and you won't be disappointed by the apocalyptic showdown at the end.
Another shoot-em up classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John Woo's High water mark, 4 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Hard Boiled [VHS] (VHS Tape)
The film that gave Woo and Yun- Fat their tickets to Hollywood, has yet to be surpassed. This film is the pinnacle of Hong Kong Cinema and shows us John Woo before he sold his soul to Mr Cruise. With credit going to Woo pyrotechnics and imagery (you should know it by now - guns in both hands, the obligatory tooth pick etc). Chow Yun Fat shows us why he was the best actor outside Hollywood, while Tony Leung matches Yun-Fat scene for scene in their two - handers. The simple storyline that is soaked with Woo's favorite themes of Loyalty, Betrayal and kinship is as gripping as the pyrotechnic wizardry.The opening set piece is mind blowing, as is the use of the stairs by Yun - Fat! The final shootout has to be seen to be believed. The jazz soundtrack is a nice surprise to the noises of Smith and Wesson's. So buy it now, as I'm off to pick my teeth and practise being as cool as Chow Yun Fat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hard Case, 24 Nov 2005
By 
Donald Thompson "waldo357" (Belfast N Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hard Boiled [DVD] (DVD)
Chow Yun Fat and Tony Leung deliver the goods in a staggeringly violent movie. The body count is incredible. But the movie never fails to grip and involve you, unlike so many other actioners. Directed by John Woo when he was at the peak of his powers, for once Tarantino was right, this is a must see film. Undercover cop Leung must battle his own dark side and Chow Yun Fat to stay alive. Chow is only interested in getting revenge on Johnny Wong. With a few lighter asides involving love interest "Madam". A brilliant performance from both stars makes this a top notch slice of Hong Kong crime drama. Buy it or rent it, but don't miss it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOO'S WOO ?, 18 Jan 2003
By 
Daniel S. "Daniel" (Geneva, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hard Boiled [DVD] (DVD)
HARD BOILED is the last movie directed by John Woo in Hong-Kong, his native country. And the movie is a dazzling testament of this director who did more for the recognition of the cinema of Asia than Akira Kurosawa, Satiajit Ray and Kenji Mizoguchi together. Like these masters, John Woo is a writer-director, like these masters, John Woo explores the particular moral codes of his people in his films but unlike these masters, he specialized in a genre that is usually not the cup of tea of the intelligentsia : the action movie.
The Cinema of John Woo is the cinema of the last frontier. John Woo's movies are modern westerns without deserts or glorious landscapes, his movies are claustrophobic : there are more guns, more bad guys, more policemen stuck in Woo's saloons than in the whole movie production of John Ford and Howard Hawks. And when all these guys begin to shoot, John Wayne or Gary Cooper wouldn't have had the slightest chance against them. Because the John Woo hero, in order to survive, needs more than a star on his chest or God's benediction. He must cross the frontier.
He must cross a frontier, Law, Honor, Self-respect, Friendship, make your choice. The character of Allan, played by a great Tony Leung, is the perfect example of the impersonation of a John Woo hero ; he's working for the Hong-Kong police, he's an insider and should follow the moral codes, written or not, of his employer. But, in order to survive, he will have to kill in cold blood his aging boss. He has crossed the frontier but in the same time saved his own life. For the time being.
A DVD zone essential stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I hate to diss the release,..., 30 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Hard Boiled [DVD] (DVD)
I was really excited when I heard that "Hrad Boiled" was finally being released in an uncut widescreen version on DVD. Before I had seen some fairly bad versions of the film, including a horribly cur German version, and I was looking forward to finally getting a pristine copy with all the action, all the blood and all the dialogue that the director intended. However, when I finally got round to buying it, I felt a bit let down. I still love the film, but on a technical level, this release is pretty terrible.
The picture quality is pretty terrible. showing all the flickers, scratches and traces of torn film (!) of the master, the sound-quality is hardly using the Stereo and there is only a minimum of chapter stops. All this could be relatively easily forgiven, but it does come in addition to the fact that you have no choice but to live with some burned-in subtitles of dubious translation and a pretty bad picture format.
A retranslation and proper digital subtitles would have been nicer and the possibility to choose between original and dubbed version.
However, this is still the best version of the film available in Britain and the film as such remains one of Woo's best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Woo. Uncut. Undubbed. Widescreen., 26 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hard Boiled [DVD] (DVD)
Finally, Woo's masterpiece Hardboiled uncut, orig language and widescreen like it is meant to be seen. Forget all the Hollywood dreck Woo has been directing lately. This is REAL Woo at his finest.
Superb action all the way and beautiful cinematography.
This DVD is a classic for all movie lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Superb film...okay DVD, 21 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Hard Boiled [DVD] (DVD)
Dont get me wrong I love this film (It would get 5 stars) but the DVD is missing one crucial thing, which it says it features. Foreign language with subtitles. Instead we get the dubbed version, which ultimately spoils the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hard Boiled [VHS]
Hard Boiled [VHS] by John Woo (VHS Tape - 1995)
7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews