Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Blu-Ray & Uncut
As a huge fan of this film i have owned almost every incarnation. I first purchased the VHS then the DVD but after noticing various cuts (the counterfiet bust at the beginning and the attack at the bank tellers house) i subsequently purchased the Region 1 DVD as this was uncut.
I took a leap of faith and purchased the Blu-Ray and am so glad i did. The picture & sound...
Published on 25 Dec. 2011 by Cb1306

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Censored!!!!!!
Can you believe the censors have tampered with this film? The sequence in which Malkovich breaks the neck of a very likeable character is entirely cut from the film. It's a key moment that director Wolfgang Peterson included to show the level of callousness of Malkovich's character who otherwise gains some of our sympathy. Unforgiveable!
Published on 27 Dec. 2012 by Craig Martin


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Blu-Ray & Uncut, 25 Dec. 2011
By 
Cb1306 "CJB" (South Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
As a huge fan of this film i have owned almost every incarnation. I first purchased the VHS then the DVD but after noticing various cuts (the counterfiet bust at the beginning and the attack at the bank tellers house) i subsequently purchased the Region 1 DVD as this was uncut.
I took a leap of faith and purchased the Blu-Ray and am so glad i did. The picture & sound on this are nothing short of brilliant (another example of an old film far outshining some newer releases). Extra's are the same as the Special Edition DVD but most importantly the film is totally uncut. Enjoy this modern classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Censored!!!!!!, 27 Dec. 2012
By 
Craig Martin (Melbourne, VIC AUS) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Can you believe the censors have tampered with this film? The sequence in which Malkovich breaks the neck of a very likeable character is entirely cut from the film. It's a key moment that director Wolfgang Peterson included to show the level of callousness of Malkovich's character who otherwise gains some of our sympathy. Unforgiveable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A great film spoiled by bad editing (Collectors Edition!!), 3 Aug. 2002
By A Customer
This is one of my favourite films, - a 5 star film, but this is not what I saw in the cinema - the DVD (UK region) is a version that has been edited presumably to fit within the 15 certificate bracket. There are a couple of annoying mistakes - such as when Clint shoots a bad guy and the gun does not make a sound (all we see is the bad guy clutching himsself and falling to the ground). Also, the villain has been sanitised by severely cutting the scene where he murders some innocent people - so he seems no where near as threatening. This edition is supposed to have extra footage, I am not sure where it is, but it does not make up for the footage that has been cut out.
I still love the film, it is one of Eastwood's best and Malkovich is outstanding, but I will be trying to get hold of an earlier release on VHS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clint Eastwood and John Malkovich!!! What can go wrong?, 9 Sept. 2012
By 
Benn Parsons (spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great blu ray transfer, great sound and great extras.
Its an old film, but on this blu ray it doesn't seem like it, with a HD 2.40:1 ratio transfer it is spot on.
Obviously, the extras aren't in the same ratio (I don't understand why people complain about extras not being a perfect transfer, enjoy the film experience and just watch the extras) but they include loads of interesting features.
The sound is perfect (TrueHD 5.1).
The only complaint (and the reason for the four stars) is the English subtitles. I enjoy watching films with subtitles so I don't miss any dialogue, but the subtitles on this blu ray differ quite a lot from what the actors are actually saying, and on top of that there are some sentences that are skipped altogether, not happy!
Apart from that, Highly recommended for your blu ray collection.
Also, one more thing, I loved the menu screen and set up options, with a shooting target of each section and a gun fires when you choose and option, after which the option that you have chosen rises up and is moved quickly to the front of the list, a great touch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars He Sets Out To Fix What He Can't, 13 April 2009
By 
DL Productions UK (Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Clint Eastwood is ageing Secret Service Agent Frank Horrigan - a guy who still holds bad memories when John F Kennedy was assassinated. He feels he let everyone down that day, but when a young man calling himself Mitch Leary announces he wants to kill the current president, Frank makes himself available and tries everything to stop history repeating.

This is a good film, well told by Jeff Maguire and well directed by Wolfgang Petersen, better known for his work on The Perfect Storm and Air Force One, and has worked with Hollywood's elite for quite some time now. This film flows well, and is in no hurry to tell the story, which is nice. Plus Clint Eastwood is a legend, everything he does is successful and his powerful presence in front or behind the camera has always been well received. Renee Russo is also good in this, but top marks has to go to John Malkovich who I feel has been far underrated in the Hollywood system for too long. Ripley's Game has to be one of his best.

This Blu-Ray is good - full BD50 disk with a decent bitrate, and the colours are wonderful and remind me of when I saw this at the cinema. The audio is punchy and clear and worth checking out if you love this film. Bit disappointed with the extras as they're still in SD, really this could have done with an upscale. Really I would only suggest this BD to people who love this movie and must see it in HD, as this is a splendid transfer, it's vibrant and does justice to the original.

Rent if you don't know this movie, buy if you're a big fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "All we have is the game. I'm on offence, you're on defence.", 30 Jan. 2008
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Warner Bros.' favourite son's first film outside the studio since the mid-seventies (also the first scored by Morricone in even longer) resulted in one of the best thrillers of the Nineties. The premise is simple, offering Eastwood's ageing secret service agent, who failed to save JFK, the chance for redemption by stopping Malkovich's assassin, who latches on to his guilt in an engrossing cat-and-mouse game. The idea of the criminal and his pursuer forging a bond has been done many times before, but seldom as well as here.

What really makes it work is the strength of the characterisation, giving the audience a stake in the protagonists that adds to the tension. As a result, Eastwood and Malkovich's confrontations (filmed simultaneously rather than separately to give an edge to the performances) are as electrifying as the edge-of-seat action sequences. Even the use of CGi is subtle and well integrated into the story rather than drawing constantly attention to themselves.

Self-deprecating, self-doubting, the kinder, gentler Eastwood on show here gives his most likeable performance to date, while the beautifully underplayed and surprisingly moving scene where he describes the events of that fateful day in Dallas is one of the finest moments in his career. The erratic John Malkovich is more than a match for him, contributing his best screen work to date, with a good supporting cast also on strong form, while Wolfgang Petersen's direction, Maguire's script and John Bailey's outstanding photography all make strong impressions.

While this special edition does offer some good special features (it had previously been available as a barebones edition), it loses a star by keeping 8 seconds of cuts made by the BBFC for the film's theatrical release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid Eastwood Blu-ray, 21 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I recently got Dirty Harry on Blu-ray and was stunned by it. Fancying a companion Clint film from towards the end of his (acting) career I thought I'd get this. It's a very good transfer (and a great film of course!). However I think 4 stars is fair because the sharpness and depth of field does vary from shot to shot. Some close-ups are great, with plenty of detail visible in the faces and eyes. Others are a bit fuzzy. Some of the famous changed history CGI stands out a bit more too. Can't fault the film though and this is probably the best version there is...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eastwood and Malkovich At Their Best!, 26 Jan. 2011
When I first saw this in the cinema in 1993 I thought this was one of the best thrillers in decades, with Eastwood playing an ageing secret service agent Frank Horrigan on the trail of a killer intent on murdering the President of the USA. Horrigan having failed in 1963 to protect JFK and is riddled by guilt.
His co-star Malkovich went into overdrive in his role as Mitch Leary the assasin bent on carrying out his deed.

The movie was very intense and a great cat and mouse game between Eastwood and Malkovich ensues, as the villan taunts our hero Horrigan, of mistakes made in the past. A great supporting cast, Rene Russo, Dylan McDermott, John Mahoney.
I really thought the performance by Malkovich richly deserved the best supporting actor for his role as Mitch Leary..but alas.

The DVD release of this great thriller was sadly disappointing due to the slashing and re edits of some scenes all to get a 15 cert, but at the expense of a more intense movie. The movie is still an exciting piece of filmwork with all the cast and director Wolfgang Peterson in fine form. Its just not the movie I originally saw..... spoiled by interferring editors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!, 10 Jan. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a brilliant film and a brilliant blu-ray! Clint Eastwood is his usual excellent self and John Malkovich is superb. The picture is very sharp and very clear and the sound was pretty good too. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling, tense and full of suspense., 11 April 2001
By 
Jenny (Dukinfield, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: In The Line Of Fire [VHS] [1993] (VHS Tape)
The teaming up of Clint Eastwood and John Malkovich was the idea of, what can I say, a mad genius! The two along side each other convey a bitter and chilling relationship that keeps you in suspense all throughout the movie. Though I must say Malkovich, as always conveys the most noticeable character and acheives it well as the sick and twisted but clever assassin Mitch Leary, who attempts to ruin the life of the American President's bodyguard - Frank Horrigan (Eastwood). Horrigan is determined to protect the President's life no matter what - even if it means being In The Line of Fire for him, because of his fail at protecting John F. Kennedy's life thirty years before hand. With the odd funny moment and sparks of romance this film is great entertainment for those who like fast, hot action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In The Line Of Fire [VHS] [1993]
In The Line Of Fire [VHS] [1993] by Wolfgang Petersen (VHS Tape - 2002)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews