Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hot stuff
An excellent 80's slasher; better than Friday the 13th in my opinion. Poor Cropsy a teen camp caretaker gets horribly burnt in a cruel prank by a group of campers, survives but spends 5 years suffering in hospital subjected to unsuccessful skin grafts etc before leaving terribly disfigured and more than a bit peeved to lash out at all and sundry though gravitates back...
Published on 31 Dec 2010 by All of them Witches

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Simplistic slasher delivers the gory goods
THE BURNING

(USA - 1980)

Aspect ratio: 1.85:1
Theatrical soundtrack: Mono

An abusive caretaker at a lonely summer camp is disfigured by fire during a prank which goes horribly wrong. Five years later, he returns to the area to take revenge against one of his former persecutors (now a camp counsellor) and the kids in his charge...
Published on 1 April 2003 by Libretio


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hot stuff, 31 Dec 2010
By 
All of them Witches (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Burning [DVD] (DVD)
An excellent 80's slasher; better than Friday the 13th in my opinion. Poor Cropsy a teen camp caretaker gets horribly burnt in a cruel prank by a group of campers, survives but spends 5 years suffering in hospital subjected to unsuccessful skin grafts etc before leaving terribly disfigured and more than a bit peeved to lash out at all and sundry though gravitates back towards 'Blackfoot Camp' to wreak his vengeance against the soon to be unhappy campers who reside there.
A bit of a slow burner, there is only one slaying within the first half of the film but then all hell is set loose and Cropsy really goes to work with his garden shears. Featuring a good protagonist in Cropsy, good killings with one stand out set piece of slaughter in particular, great special effects by Savini, nudity, and a nice straight-forward story The Burning has lots to recommend though is unlikely to convert those who just don't like slasher type films. Hadn't seen it for 20 years and was really impressed with how the effects still looked great, a so much better time for horrors before the advent of CGI. Excellent all round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant 80s Horror Movie, 26 Oct 2010
This review is from: The Burning [DVD] (DVD)
Any fan of the genre of 80's horror will love this movie, but beneath the norm of gory deaths, naked teens and campfire stories there lies a truly great movie behind the surface. The storytelling is great, the build up and character development is sensational for a slasher movie, and if the wonderfully gruesome special effects aren't enough to keep you hooked the magnificent plot will. Apart from a great story this movie does what many other in it's genre fail to do - scare you! There are many edge-of-your-seat moments and genuinely frightening scenes. Overall it is a great movie which is underrated by many, I would put it up there with the likes of Friday 13th and Halloween, it's a shame it doesn't get recognized in popular culture like the two aforementioned do because it's really a top drawer horror movie. It's refreshing that an 80's slasher movie can have such an original plot and back-story, but it doesn't stray too far from it's roots leaving both hardcore horror fans and casual movie watchers satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An above average slasher movie., 16 Nov 2002
By 
L. Andrews "jointhepartyuk" (Newport, South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Burning (Uncut) [DVD] (DVD)
For a slasher film belonging to the Vipco horror label this film is actually very good. Of course, only fans of the genre will truly like it, as people who don't like these type of films will probably detest it.
THE BURNING has some notoriety as being one of the goriest slasher movies ever made, and it is easy to see why it has built this reputation in this new uncut version of the film. Tom Savini, the make-up artist best known for his work on the latter two of Romero's zombie trilogy (he also directed the 1990 remake), was responsible for the impressive gore effects, and they are indeed very gory.
The story is familiar: a group of kids play a prank on someone, it goes wrong, then the person comes back and takes his revenge. In THE BURNING, the sadistic caretaker of a summer camp is burnt practically beyond recognition in a prank gone wrong, and after five years of unsuccessful recovery in hospital, ventures out to exact his revenge on the teenage population of various summer camps.
Where this film rises above such trash as FRIDAY THE 13TH is its inclusion of some actual sub-plots. A teenager is constantly bullied, there are various relationships taking place, things like that. On taking a canoe trip the teenagers later find that their canoes have been taken, and have to deal with being stranded in the woods as well as being terrorised by a disfigured serial killer (whose face we get to see in all its gory detail at the end of the film).
The acting is good for a slasher flick, and there are some actors in the film that have gone on to make names for themselves today (look out for a young Holly Hunter; believe me, I couldn't spot her until I read the filmographies on the DVD).
While not a patch on HALLOWEEN, this is really an above average horror film, with its fair share of humour, shocks and gore. Definetly one of the few good Vipco horror films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Burn baby burn, 13 July 2014
By 
Naomi_B (southport,england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Burning (Amazon Instant Video)
Growing up I always enjoyed a good old horror movie and sadly this was one I never got to see but had heard it managed to scare back in the day mostly due to the lack of music as it approached a sudden scene that made you jump and so the lack of warning that most other slasher flicks gave you was used well in 'The burning'. Determined to see the movie I noticed it was quite hard to get a hold of for a decent price and so I was very happy to see it available on Amazon Prime. To be fair I think its censorship was undeserved back in the day, I don't feel it was any worse then movies like Friday the 13th .Speaking of which I feel having just seen both movies again that 'The Burning' is actually the more superior of the two with action happening a lot quicker than in Friday the 13th and genuine scares compared to voorhees first outing. Acting is not great but its not terrible either. All in all a really enjoyable 80s horror flick that deserved a lot more recognition then just the fact that it was one of the many victims of the 'video nasties' list
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original Summer Camp Slayer, 23 Oct 2009
By 
Lark (North Coast of Ireland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Burning [DVD] (DVD)
This movie I think gets a mention in the commentary on the Simpsons Tree House of Horror in which grounds keeper Willy becomes a Freddy Kreuger style killer and I think also in the humour section How To Survive A Horror Movie. The character of Cropsy, the hell bent for revenge killer, is a lot like the "Scissorman" featured in the Clocktower games for the playstation too.

This is one of the original summer camp slayer movies and there are lot of people who act in the movie who will be familiar to viewers from elsewhere, having gone on to other movies or appearing in TV series.

Thematically this movie is like a lot of the clones that have appeared since, kids at a summer camp like to tell tales of a sinister quasi-supernatural, disfigured personage from the camp's past who will one day return to exact horrible vengence upon camp counsellors and campers for past wrongs suffered at their hands. The serious shame is that were you to describe that theme and ask anyone what film you are talking about you are most likely to hear them say you are talking about the Friday The Thirteenth movies, which are very, very poor by comparison.

This movie is vastly superior, not simply for it being original, but also for its working on a number of levels. It didnt feel like a straight forward stalker horror where bodycount fills in for a plot or storyline. Instead its not just a tale about Cropsy, hell bent for revenge killer, but a more interesting story about the incident which serves as the genesis for this character, those involved and how it effected their lives later. It'll no doubt sound strange but it works as a summer camp movie too.

This is highly recommended as a superior horror movie, far superior to its imitators. I'd hope that simply by watching it viewers could come away with a changed point of view about how awful a lot of the hack and slash movies are by comparison.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Simplistic slasher delivers the gory goods, 1 April 2003
By 
Libretio - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Burning (Uncut) [DVD] (DVD)
THE BURNING

(USA - 1980)

Aspect ratio: 1.85:1
Theatrical soundtrack: Mono

An abusive caretaker at a lonely summer camp is disfigured by fire during a prank which goes horribly wrong. Five years later, he returns to the area to take revenge against one of his former persecutors (now a camp counsellor) and the kids in his charge.

Makeup artist Tom Savini turned down the opportunity to work on FRIDAY THE 13th PART 2 (1981) in order to create effects for Tony Maylam's THE BURNING, yet another in the assembly line of low-budget horror movies which emerged in the wake of HALLOWEEN (1978). Savini warned the film's producers - including a fledgling Harvey Weinstein! - that the script for THE BURNING shared uncomfortable similarities with the 'Friday' sequel, though fans may have been too dazzled by the gruesome set-pieces to either notice or care. In truth, THE BURNING shares only a handful of superficial details with 'Friday 2', including a late night campfire episode in which the villain is dismissed as an urban legend, culminating in a false 'scare' which today's audiences will probably see coming a mile off. Despite a couple of groan-inducing incidentals ("Oh, I forgot my vitamins - I'll have to go back to my cabin through the dark, creepy woods!"), the narrative develops organically from one scene to the next, and characters react believably to the unfolding scenario. Unfortunately, the climax - set mostly within an abandoned mineshaft - is a disappointment, staged and executed with little flair or suspense.

Of course, the main point of interest (besides seeing some familiar faces in early roles, including Jason Alexander [TV's "Seinfeld"], Fisher Stevens [SHORT CIRCUIT] and an unrecognisable Holly Hunter) is Savini's horrific makeup effects, all of which are presented here uncut for the first time on home video in the UK. Victims are slashed, stabbed, punctured and poked in graphic detail, and blood flows copiously from some horribly convincing wounds. The film reaches a high-point of absolute horror during a notorious sequence involving an 'abandoned' canoe, which I'll leave first-time viewers to discover for themselves. Briskly paced, and scored with a series of electronic doodles by no less than Rick Wakeman (!), THE BURNING may seem awfully simplistic to modern viewers, but it delivers the goods in spades and will satisfy gore-hounds everywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uncut and in widescreen - cheap price too, 15 Nov 2007
By 
David (SPECTRE Island) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
At last one of the best of the so called "video nasties" gets released on dvd. You will be relieved to know that the print is uncut with the notorious finger cut shot intact. The print is excellent and is in 1.85 widescreen and puts the fullscreen UK Vipco dvd release to shame. There is also a very insightfull audio commentry by the directer and a short featurette on Tom Savini who did the special effects.

The film was originally released on Thorn EMI video back in the 1980's, but the print they released was accidently uncut. As a result they had to withdraw all videos and get them replaced with the BBFC certified version. This didn't stop is being banned. As a result the uncut video release is highly collectable nowdays.

The plot is not the most original - a vengefull caretaker who was badly burned kills a number of campers in various graphic ways. It's rather like Friday The 13th with all the gore effects intact. This shows why Tom Savini is number 1 for special effects. No CGI in those days.

This is an excellent release and is very cheap on Amazon. So what are you waiting for ? Buy this dvd now is you enjoy a good slasher film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A CLONE SLASHER FILM THAT SURPASSES THE ORIGINAL, 12 April 2008
By 
John Knight "SplatterGore Fan" (UK, Lowestoft) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Burning (Uncut) [DVD] (DVD)
I LOVE this movie- I was lucky enough to see the film when it first came out as a kid. Full uncut. Before it was added to the Banned list in the U.K and taken off the shelves. I have enjoyed it ever since- It is better than most of the Friday the 13th series if not all (personal opinion of course). The story is excellent- (remember this was still quite original at the time) 1981!! and the acting is top notch.The opening burning scene is cool as the caretaker already looks creepy without being burnt, then when he is released from hospital after failed surgery months later,(see pic to right!--->) the gore starts- Tom Savini's (surely i don't need to introduce him?!) FX work on this film is some of his best, and the scissors pushed into the prostitutes stomach skin is great- especially as you can see him twisting it in as the blood spurts. Yummy. It then gives you time to get to know the Characters at camp blackfoot, this is still entertaining in a Porky's (old school American Pie kids!) kind of way. Then Cropsy (the caretaker- starts to 'take care' of business- see what i did there! lol) - usual (now cliched) midnight swims at the lake- shower scenes etc- but with attractive babes- bullying hunks and dweeby nerd type (still likeable) mix with the camp staff for a trip down river for some camping in tents- this is when the real guts hit the fan so to speak. awesome gore slasher attack, throat slits, impalings, shears in throat (Cropsy's cool weapon of choice) fingers cut off, head chops, picked up by shears in throat and pinned to a tree.- (now) obligatory death whilst having sex in a sleeping bag scene. Axe in face- shears in back- this movie has it (especially the shocking raft scene which is difficult to beat)- and if you haven't ever seen it- you have missed out on a real classic- it still stands the test of time to this day. And one of my favorite all time slasher movies. (as you may have noticed) But don't trust me- go out and see it yourself- i'll be surprised if you don't enjoy it. You can get the uncut version easily now a days- also has a young Jason Alexander (Sienfeld) in it. for you comedy fans- also Holly Hunters first role-- . .no disguising the fact that 'The Burning' is a rip off of 'Friday the 13th' so I won't bother arguing about it. The most important thing is that 'The Burning' has more likeable characters and they are killed off in gorier and more flamboyant ways. This makes it one of the few knock offs that I can think of that surpasses the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars He's alive!, 20 Dec 2000
By 
Cassio A Francisco (São Paulo, Brazil) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Burning [DVD] (DVD)
It's impossible not to love scary stories when they are told the old-fashioned way: before the fire, people listening and a teller performing it with a respectable whispered voice. This is the case of "The Burning", the story of a man called Cropsy, burnt alive by a bunch of five irresponsible teens. As he survived, he came back, terrorizing a group of teenagers who just wanted to have fun... I just loved it when I first see it, in 1986, and loved even more reviewing it a couple of days ago, this time paying attention to other delicious details missed the other time. For example, Rick Wakeman's soundtrack. It's a classic, a style that turned out to be model for horror movies. The presence of today famous actors debuting in their careers: Holly Hunter (I couldn't see her among so many camp girls) and Jason Alexander (George of television series "Seinfeld"). In other words, "The Burning" is the kind of movie that take you into the story, as you truly were there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Better than everyone tells you!, 28 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Burning (1981) [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This film was released in 1981, and was banned until 1992, where you can buy the cut version. Still, even though it misses some very violent scenes, it is a strong movie, taking the well-known campsite scenario a step further. Cropsy, a difigured maniac, shears teens to death in a must for any F13 fan. Not reccomended for the squeamish! Music by Rick Wakeman, and screen debut for Holly Hunter (The Piano) and Fisher Stevens (Hackers).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Burning (1981) [VHS]
The Burning (1981) [VHS] by Tony Maylam (VHS Tape - 2000)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews