Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The original, the best., 27 July 2010
I don't care what anyone says, you can't beat the original Postman Pat series.
I prefer the man's voice doing all the characters' voices rather than the added female voice of later episodes.
The characters in the original series seemed more gentle and calm and quieter, and not so much manic rushing around as you get in today's Postman Pat with too many new characters as though the makers are trying to make it more 'modern' with lots of children and different ethnic groups in what looks like an obvious attempt to make it more 'politically correct'. - Not that there's anything wrong with different ethnic groups of course, but the original Postman Pat didn't have such a diversity probably because it was set (and still is meant to be) in a very small out of the way village or hamlet.
It's about time these original series were all put together on one DVD! I'd be one of the first to purchse if they did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Ideal Childs Gift, 29 Dec. 2003
By 
J G Reid (Falkirk, Central Region United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
My son, although only 19 months, is a huge fan (much like myself) of the old Postman Pat animations of the '80s so you can imagine his delight when he opened his presents on Christmas to find out he had a video with two all-new episodes of the classic show. I was wary at purchasing this at first, apprehensive that updating Postman Pat would lead to it losing the simplicity that made the Tv show such a favourite with young children. Happily though, all the original elements of Postman pat remain; the catchy theme tune; the lovely design of the village; the overriding sense of friendliness are all here in these new shows.
There have been some changes, however. For example, the animation has been greatly improved. The movement of the characters is much 'smoother' and the detail of the sets is more in-depth than before. As for storylines, there is a lot greater emphasis on Pat's homelife. For instance, there is loads of attention focused on Julian (Pat's son) and his friends. The plots of the two new episodes still retain that cosy, happy warm feeling and the modernisation that does occur is actually welcome (for example, the introduction of an Asian family to Greendale). Also, I'm glad to say, Jess is up to his old tricks.
Postman Pat is one of those rare shows for pre-schoolers that does not immediately bore adults thanks to it's wonderful animation, familiar characters and plot-lines ideal for a wet afternoon in front of the TV with the kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Magical All-Year Hit, 14 Jun. 2005
By 
Ginan Tonic (Shenfield, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This video is definitely not just for Christmas! The two feature-length stories on here are wonderfully entertaining. Jess the Cat adds the usual dose of impish fun to the antics of Postman Pat and his friends as they re-discover the lost train, the Greendale Rocket, and welcome Santa incognito to Greendale after he seems to have mislaid his sleigh.
This is the most frequently requested video in our house still, and it's now the month of June!! Good stories, great characters, catchy music and enough going on to make it interesting again and again for both you and your pre-schoolers. A definite asset to your collection that your youngster will love. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Prepare to have to watch this again and again, 23 Aug. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Very Best of Postman Pat [VHS] [1981] (VHS Tape)
My children (aged 5,3 and 1)all love Postman Pat videos,audio tapes and books. The Very Best of Postman Pat may not quite be that (there are some very amusing moments in some stories not featured here), but it is certainly a good introduction to the world of Greendale. The stories give a rather picturesque view of rural English life, but are also informative and amusing. They are old fashioned in flavour - do not expect any fast action or visual gimmicks, but rather a minimal tale, catchy music, and a lot of gentle humour. My older children particularly enjoy the idiomatic language and such puns as (in Pat's Windy Day) "Time to BLOW home". Incidentally, my eldest child was recently in hospital and Postman Pat videos were by far and away the most popular choice amongst the young patients there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars autism can be a joy, 23 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought these for my autistic son. Used to have them when videos were popular. Then lost them. Having located a new vhs machine I needed a few things to watch. Pat is ideal. My son has fallen in love with the simple stories. So much more calming and innocent than some current child's offerings I really enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Children love it, 26 July 2000
By 
P. Wheeler "XXX" (Dettenhausen, BW) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
My children love this - I only bought another, different one because the repetitive re-watching children like drove me crazy !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great condition thankyou
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Kids love the video
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As described
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Very Best of Postman Pat [VHS] [1981]
The Very Best of Postman Pat [VHS] [1981] by Ivor Wood (VHS Tape - 1992)
£7.38
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews