Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good ....
This is one of the best films created...
It contains quality whoopass from the beginning and hardcore knuckle pie at the end.
Basically, its about this guy ,Ken, who's pissed at his friend-cum-brother for stealing his girlfriend. Ken wanders about the place beating the crap out of punks, bikers and other scum who want it.
Grand fight scenes, good...
Published on 5 July 2000

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, was pleasantly surprised
My friends bought me this for christmas since we're all into anime and I've been collecting the longest. See, this is the first video released on Manga Video's label (Akira was on another label).
I wasn't expecting it to be that good, and at first it's quite slow and the animation can be a bit crappy, but stick with it as it is quite entertaining (From about the car...
Published on 26 Dec 2001 by E Parry


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Classic anime, 26 Nov 2010
This review is from: Fist Of The North Star [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is classic anime from the first batch of films released in the UK by Manga Video. Along with Akira this was always one of my favourites. The artwork is superb, not your typical anime style, it's very reminiscent of the Hong Kong Kung Fu comic book style, which I like very much, and the animation is of a high quality for it's time. Extremely violent and gory with crunching bones, severed limbs and exploding heads galore but at the same time there is a moral to the story and the hero, Ken, who is the Fist of the North Star, is a stand up guy and only fights to protect the helpless and innocent from the ruthless tyrants and bullies he comes across on his travels and to fight for his true love. What a guy. When he does fight he knows how to kick some serious animated ass. One strange thing about the anime is the way characters change size from one minute to the next, one minute they are just large, beefy guys, the next minute they are vast giants towering above the other characters. This can be forgiven due to the fact that this anime is not about realism, it is about action, imagination, style and artistic flair, and a moral storyline. Set in a post-apocalyptic world very reminiscent of Mad Max, there is also a strong Eastern flavour with all the crazy martial arts involved and Ken himself does a good Bruce Lee impression. Also, although the violence is martial arts based, with no guns involved, there is a slight cowboy feel to it, Ken's character is a bit of a Clint Eastwood type who doesn't talk much, he tends to let his fists do the talking. Recommended highly to fans of anime, particularly if you like martial arts as well. Great story, great characters, great fights, great art and animation. Classic. Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A dis-jointed compilation of an excellent manga series, 18 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Fist Of The North Star [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I saw this cartoon in this format about 10 years ago. I loved it then but was not happy with the ending and expected a sequal which never did, to come along. How ever I was lucky enough to see the series recently (so far 3 series of about 20-30, half hour episodes). I now know the movie is a compilation, from the 1st series (and not even the whole of that series). This results in a slightly muddled story line and the unfinished, puzzling ending. The series makes a lot more senses(if that can be said about any manga cartoons) and it is infinately better. It's just a shame the series is not shown in England. How ever in the absence of the series, this version is still worth watching. I myself have a copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, gory anime, 27 April 2001
By 
MRS YVONNE M SMITH (Whitstable, Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I saw most of these in the series years ago. Even though it's old it's very entertaining. It's about a man named Kenshiro who can use Hokoto shin-ken (acupunture with with the complete opposite effect). If you've seen Shadow Skill you should know the violence level is similar. The animation style is a little annoying at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fist and Furious, 20 April 2001
By 
This review is from: Fist Of The North Star [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is a Japanese Manga animation that takes place after mankind has turned the once-fertile land into a barren desert, so everyone is literally killing each other, if not to become the king of wherever, but to survive. One man that stands in the way of such injustice is Ken, the title's Fist of the North Star, who is trying to free the world and spread the seeds that will make it fertile again. Ken is so powerful that one punch from him can result in the recipient's head exploding in a rather nasty manner.
As you may expect, partly by the description in the end of that last paragraph, plus the 18 certificate, this is not suitable for children due to its violence and high gore content.
Fist Of The North Star is not exactly bad, but it does suffer from a draggy pace and time-wasting scenery-watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 16 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Crap
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Manga that consistently amazes, 5 Oct 2000
By 
Matt (Plumstead, Norwich United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Fist Of The North Star is the best manga series i've seen. and it's better than the feature length animation. the voice overs are hilarious ("they tied him to a truck and drug him up the street!") and the fights are mind blowing. all the secondary characters start off irritating and become less irritating. in each successive episode, there is more detailed animation on the fights and more crazy special moves like the "extreme air-current dance" or "five finger explosive burst" and many a "hundred crack fist of the north star". a must-buy for anyone who loves street fighter II or anything good really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars cool manga film, 18 Dec 2000
By 
Masar (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
this 3rd part of the film is ok NOT REALLY really good......however the cool bits are when he touches people with his fingers and wierd things happen to them like they blow up. It's funny feels like u want to be him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fist Of The North Star [VHS]
Fist Of The North Star [VHS] by Masamitsu Sasaki (VHS Tape - 1999)
Used & New from: £3.15
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews