Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good ....
This is one of the best films created...
It contains quality whoopass from the beginning and hardcore knuckle pie at the end.
Basically, its about this guy ,Ken, who's pissed at his friend-cum-brother for stealing his girlfriend. Ken wanders about the place beating the crap out of punks, bikers and other scum who want it.
Grand fight scenes, good...
Published on 5 July 2000

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, was pleasantly surprised
My friends bought me this for christmas since we're all into anime and I've been collecting the longest. See, this is the first video released on Manga Video's label (Akira was on another label).
I wasn't expecting it to be that good, and at first it's quite slow and the animation can be a bit crappy, but stick with it as it is quite entertaining (From about the car...
Published on 26 Dec 2001 by E Parry


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, was pleasantly surprised, 26 Dec 2001
By 
E Parry (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fist Of The North Star [VHS] (VHS Tape)
My friends bought me this for christmas since we're all into anime and I've been collecting the longest. See, this is the first video released on Manga Video's label (Akira was on another label).
I wasn't expecting it to be that good, and at first it's quite slow and the animation can be a bit crappy, but stick with it as it is quite entertaining (From about the car chase with the cheesy chase music it starts to pick up). It's very violent and sometimes unpleasant; I like a good fight scene but I always feel a bit uncomfortable watching innocent people getting excessively slaughtered.
The story isn't bad, although they missed out the main point of Ken's fighting style; he uses pressure points (like in acupuncture) to make peoples' heads explode and so on, he can also use it to heal and probably loads of other things. This is explained in the series but not in the film, so it's very confusing if you don't know that.
The ending was a dissapointment, I didn't really understand what happened and it was quite abrupt. Perhaps it's a translation issue (it was the first ManVid release after all), or someone earlier said it's continued in the series. The trouble is, the series is terrible, appaling animation, re-using the same bits of footage to pad out scenes, slow story line, awful artwork. Fortunately the film is better.
In a nutshell then: A good action film if you stay with it, worth a look, but avoid the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good ...., 5 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Fist Of The North Star [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is one of the best films created...
It contains quality whoopass from the beginning and hardcore knuckle pie at the end.
Basically, its about this guy ,Ken, who's pissed at his friend-cum-brother for stealing his girlfriend. Ken wanders about the place beating the crap out of punks, bikers and other scum who want it.
Grand fight scenes, good animation, likable characters and lucky hands all the way through.
If you are into nutterish and stupid amounts of violence then watch it. If you appreciate a good story line then buy it anyway and get into nutterish, psychotic and ridiculous amounts of fat guys dying and punks with no heads.
ya da da da da da da da da da .....pop
thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ' waah' da da da da da da da da da da da da da daaaaahhhh!!!!, 10 Aug 2009
By 
M. J. Passley "star" (england uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This anime movie of fist of the north star was my introduction to the world of manga and anime years ago, set in the apocalyptic future where there are few survivors after a nuclear war, kenshiro is a wandering mad max type of character who possess's the 'hokuto shinken' martial art that is all powerful, coming to the aid of people who are terrorised by biker gangs, man monsters, army gangs and the like, the fighting is violent and funny at the same time especially when the bad guys explode, it's over the top, plot is simple but so what! i have volumes 1-5 consisting of 36 episodes (r1) and it's one of my favs, one thing to add is the drum'n'bass soundtrack (tv series) imho is an absolute gem, it's not your headbanging nonsense, it's quality done by reinforced records ( similar style to goldie, roni size) it complements the anime perfectly buy the series and you'll understand, mad mental fantastic fun, a must buy!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh the Violence, 18 July 2001
If you can't understand why this is an 18 certificate and some of the others aren't. It could very well be that at one particular moment on this video Ken manages to kill over a hundred memebers of the biker gangs. The excitement in this video is kept fast and furious as well you can imagine, but thats not the only reason I gave it five stars. The main reason is as I sat there as the video ended i had the burning desire to watch the next video. Just everything about Fist of the Norht Star made me want to just watch it over and over again because it may not be the height of intellectual debate, but it never set out to be. It set out to be a love traingle between the two most powerful men left in this post nuclear world, and one of the most beautiful women there, with perhaps a bit of marshall arts thrown in for good measure. And when looked at it in that way it succeeds totally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an excellent manga film packed with great fight scenes, 18 Nov 2000
This review is from: Fist Of The North Star [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Ever since I bought this film, I have been crazy about it, I started to watch the ones on 4later then a week ago I've started to buy the series videos from amazon too. This cartoon is not for the faint hearted and contains several gory but spectacular fight scenes with head and stomachs blowing up after a single punch from the master of the technique 'hotuko shinken' which allows the master of it to use 100% of his strength instead of the normal persons 30%. And its amazing to think that Fist of the North Star was created in the 80's yet it still beats todays cartoons. This is a must buy for manga fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the manga title, 19 April 2000
This review is from: Fist Of The North Star [VHS] (VHS Tape)
the film that first got me into anime and if you watched you'll understand why.this film was one of the first anime titles to get over here with akira anothre classic.the film center around a man named ken[hokuto no ken]as he wanders the land in search of his girl friend julia to get to julia he has to kill kill kill even fighting his best friend shin who wants julia for himself.this film has it all blood gore a classic style of animation an amasing story line brilliant characters and more if your looking to get into jap anime this film is great to start with an all time classic.sadly thought it was ruined by trying to carry on the story with the animated series with is terrible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A movie of an Epic mix of Violence and Eastern Philosiphy, 26 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Fist Of The North Star [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Fist of The North star is a Japanese anime loosely based on the Japanese philosiphy of Ying and Yang; good and evil.
It stars the all powerful Hokuto No Ken (North Star Ken), a man who can kill with a touch of a finger, and his battles against evil men who think they are greater than him, while trying to rescue his girlfriend.
Fist of the North star contains explicit graphic violence, and will thrill any hardcore Manga Fan. It doesn't have any cheesy american gimmicks (even though the dubbing is in american) and is a delightful alternative.
Overall, an absolute classic with brilliant animation. Buy it Now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Instant Classic Story That Overcomes Its Own Flaws, 22 April 2003
This review is from: Fist Of The North Star [VHS] (VHS Tape)
An absolute classic; shamelessly violent yet staunchly idealistic. As you would expect it to be in a post apocalyptic future as codes of honour fall apart and a world of thuggish and brutish intimidation and backstabbing run riot through the remnants of this world. Throw in the textbook stories of jealousy between brothers in a battle for their fathers title, a love triangle of two closest friends, and a struggle for hope. You’ve got the makings of a classic only let down by the often ambitious style and the seemingly lacking animation.
Yet as with our man in the story, this film still prevails as in the end you still have a great story even if the ending seemed a little disappointing and feel left with a slightly unfinished tale. However the part we have got is the far greater side of the tale and one that I recommend watching and there is now an animated series for a more in depth story, but for a quick movie length version this is most certainly the one. And although I can tell you now all the faults of the film, personally I did not take much notice during it and at the end was left quite satisfied. So despite potential for a lot more, there is still a great deal achieved which should not go unnoticed and I cannot deny that criticising this film for what could have been more is simply petty and there is enough here to be a thoroughly enjoyable film, so buy, enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars What's the deal?, 2 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Fist Of The North Star [VHS] (VHS Tape)
In my opinion Fist of the North Star is a very poor movie with a lame story. The whole look of it is disappointing: the drawings are not very good and the movie seems very static due to lazy animations. The only aspect of the film that its producers paid attention to is probably its violence, which is very gory and has been taken too far - even for a manga movie. The story is boring and predictable except for the ending which still has me puzzled. Conclusion: Unless you want to see pointless violence, stay clear of this movie and get something like 'Ninja Scroll' or 'Akira' instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cult anime still packs a punch, 5 Jan 2005
This series itself retains something of a cult following - not least because of its distinctive tone and setting, which packages pounding martial arts action, a deconstruction of the family, as well as interesting homo-erotic undertones - all set in a Mad Max style post-catastrophe landscape. After a devastating global war, we are told, life for mankind has turned into a nightmarish struggle, not only because of the barren environment but through the depredations of mentally deranged, mutated savages.
Ranged against them, and all evildoers, is Kenshiro, master of a particular fighting technique, Hokuto Shinken, a virtually unbeatable martial skill that works on manipulating the secret power points of opponent's bodies, destroying them from within. Ken was trained up with his evil half-brother Shin, the Fist of the South Star, and who represents a polar opposite from him. He practices Nanto Seiken, a martial art that destroys from without. But Shin stole Ken's beloved Julia, this after fighting our hero, marking his chest with the seven distinctive scars which echo the sign of the Big Dipper and leaving him for dead. The narrative of Fist Of The North Star primarily consists of Ken's attempts to regain Julia and overcoming various champions of Shin.
The series makes almost no concessions to reality - not least of which are the sheer number of Shin's followers, duly met and thrashed on each occasion by Ken (or come to that, the amount of thin T-shirts which the hero destroys, then replaces unseen, with each encounter). His opponents are generally the mutants, who as a group are unsympathetic, grotesque and brutish. Many viewers have commented on the surreal arrogance of these killers, their bodies often drawn ridiculously out of proportion, towering over hero Ken and the regular humans. But mutation is just as it suggests, although the animators feel free to add to the macho incongruity of it all by adding Mohican haircuts, outrageous outfits and snarling dialogue. In comparison Ken is a model of sobriety, often warning his opponents to cease their activities before he strikes.
On his travels Ken is accompanied by two youthful helpers, both acquired in the first few episodes. One is the orphan girl Lynn and her puppy. The other is Bart, Ken's self styled 'business manager' as he makes clear in an earlier episode always, ostensibly on the fighters behalf, always looking for the main chance to profit from Ken's unique skills. Together with a repeated emphasis on Ken's lost love Julia, this group makes up a peculiarly fractured family, with normal relationships distorted by the world in which they find themselves. From this point of view, Ken's repeated attempts to get his woman back, as well as his repeated rescuing of social groupings (the mutants never have kin), equates a drive for regular familial balance.
The twist is North Star's visual insistence at the same time on butch body display and the repeated physical contact between the vaguely camp males making up the greatest number of dominant characters each week. (My favourite is the handlebar-moustached and splendidly named Colonel Mad, who fights with his blades dipped in scorpion venom.) In fact Ken faces no villainesses at all, at least until well into the second DVD volume. This is a series where the exaggerated torsos of the combatants is a hallmark, only equalled by their swollen braggadocio, itself suggestive of sexual taunting. Blood in the show is never the common red; rather it assumes a weird milky colour, exploding into the air at the climax of each encounter, while Ken's characteristic chest scarring was symbolically produced by the slow penetration of his skin by Shin's powerful fingers - a moment echoed later in the series. The result of all this imagery is thematic psychosis, arguably as pronounced as that enjoyed by the mutants who populate the landscape of future Earth: heterosexual Ken has a lady love and two children in tow; 'other' Ken with his body builder physique, has an intense relationship with his half brother, wears tight T-shirts and sleeveless jackets, and spills all that uniquely coloured blood in one casual encounter after another...
The distinctive 1980s' animation style is an advantage when depicting such a barren landscape, the desolation of which also reflecting Ken's emotional emptiness, deprived of Julia's presumed humanising contact. Manga's box set offers generally excellent picture quality. Opinion has been divided over the relative merits of the two soundtracks on offer; the original Japanese suffers from its mono origins while the re-release English dub offers a more visceral techno musical score, which more easily conveys the urgent brutality of it all. However this reviewer, at least, prefers the original with its far more sympathetic voicing of Ken's young followers - his modern voice in particular makes of Bart an irritating brat - while the score, although less monolithic, has a contemporary charm. Most especially, each episode is interrupted for an on-screen announcement of the baroque martial technique Ken has selected for the current fight ('Spinning Wheel Explosive Punch', 'The Hundred Crack Fist', 'Mountain Splitting Wave', etc). The modern version does its best, but the original intonation makes such moments highlights in themselves.
Fist Of The North Star is full of such ritualistic moments: the repeated (and failed) attempts of Shin to woe Julia for instance, or the rending of Ken's red shirt; the various exploding heads, or the fighter's famous pronouncement over those opponents whom, it appears, he has just touched, and who continue their arrogance yet: "You are already dead." In addition, each of the episodes is named in vengeful, declamatory fashion: Villains! Ready Your One Way Ticket To Hell!; Stormy Times, Titanic Battles, Is Battle All That Awaits Me?; Sinners! Thy Name Is Fang! etc. It's a characteristic that seems bizarre to western eyes, but the self-awareness reveals something about the original, local deliberation behind the series. Seen today, despite - or because of - its extremes, and curious undertones, it remains strangely addictive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fist Of The North Star [VHS]
Fist Of The North Star [VHS] by Masamitsu Sasaki (VHS Tape - 1999)
Used & New from: 3.15
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews