Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best 'regeneration episode' since Troughton to Jon Pertwee, 14 Feb 2001
By 
Matthew Lidbury (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doctor Who - Castrovalva [VHS] [1982] [1963] (VHS Tape)
After the distressing demise of the Fourth Doctor (Tom Baker)in Logopolis, this story is just what the Doctor ordered! Peter Davison plays the role for the first time with warmth and integrity - his disorientation after regeneration is very well acted. Castrovalva has the added bonus of being the second story in a row to feature the marvellously evil Master, and is one of the stongest stories of the Doctor's Fifth incarnation. I particularly liked the idea of the harmonious and peaceful society being infiltrated by evil, similar to THE KEEPER OF TRAKEN from Tom Baker's 7th season, while the Doctor's companions; Nyssa, Tegan and Adric really begin to develop as characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5th Doctor First, 5 Aug 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For those who are not so familiar with Doctor Who, or at least the earlier Doctors, this is the episode where the 4th Doctor regenerates into the 5th. Taking up the role of the Doctor after Tom Baker had been playing the part for some years could not have been an easy task for Peter Davison and to give him a chance to create the new Doctor's image and character, Castrovalva was filmed after two or three episodes which would appear later in the series.

The new Doctor is very vulnerable because the regeneration has not gone well, but the faithful companions work together and help him through this difficult time. Quite a contrast to "Four to Doomsday", which was actually filmed before Castrovalva, where the same companions behave like squabbling siblings.

His costume, that of an Edwardian cricketer, is perfect and suits Peter Davison very nicely, although it may have been better without the hat. If anything it was distracting as he spent a lot of time putting it on and taking it off rather than actually wearing it.

The 5th Doctor is the youngest of all the Doctors and as such he acts with a lot of energy and enthusiasm as he runs and jumps as if he feels that he finally has a body that matches his mercurial mind. Also he appears to be nearer to the age of his companions and thus is more of a friend to them although he is still the aged Time Lord. In fact Peter Davison does an excellent job of portraying the old man in a young body which makes his Doctor one of the best.

Castrovalva is the name of a lithograph by Abruzzi of a mysterious mountain city. In this story it is a small town on an unnamed planet in the Andromeda Galaxy. The mystery is there as in the lithograph, and as the Doctor endeavours to recover from his regeneration sickness he must also unravel the incongruity of the history of the town. Can the character known as the Port reeve help save the day or is he not who he says he is! Only one way to find out.

These episodes were made about 1980 so don't expect great visual effects or sets as you would see in today's Doctor Who. This was the low budget period for Doctor Who so if you don't expect too much you will find the DVD very enjoyable and certainly entertaining.

The extras are plenty, with Peter Davison and others commenting on the making of the episode and even having a laugh at themselves. There are also interviews and a photo gallery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peter Davison is the greatest Doctor of them all!, 15 Jun 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Doctor Who - Castrovalva [VHS] [1982] [1963] (VHS Tape)
A lot of people think it's cool to disrespect the Fifth these days. I spent the last 20 years (not all of it, obviously) rewatching a few stories about Mr. Davison's Doctor (Earthshock, Five Doctors, Resurrection of the Daleks and caves of Androzani) and so I'm left with the impression he was damn fine. I recently started to collect the rest of his era and while he had his ebbs and flows (like all the Doctors) he just never ceases to impress with that cool, charming, dashing Cricketer who has a vulnerable side and yet a hard edge as well. When I got round to Castrovalva, his debt story, I found it one of the most entertaining and well crafted stories of the lot, a real gem, and endlessly rewatchable. I especially love the way the Doctor goes all eccentric after regenerating and starts to behave like his former selves. When he's in a wheel chair and points skyward like a general ordering the troops to charge and cries, "Go softly on!" it cracks me up every time. And his first Doctor impression is a hoot. The Master is used to a bare minmum which makes his much more effective here, but despite his presence, a mere reminder that this is still the same series depite Tom Baker's absense, the rest is strikingly original. First a close encounter with the creation of the Galaxy which produces a very tense dramatic moment of Russian Roulette with the Tardis. Then a phantom city which seems to be a paradise but harbours a dark secret. Overall, this is superior TV SF and Davison does his thing brilliantly. He deserves to be recognised as one of the greats if not the best Doctor of them all. This leaves many other Doctor Who stories standing still. Overall: A true 80s masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 23 Aug 2000
By 
ian Rowlandson (Blind River, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doctor Who - Castrovalva [VHS] [1982] [1963] (VHS Tape)
After Logopolis I was anxoius to see Castrovalva. Castrovalva is a pretty good episode although I wasd expecting more from what I herd, Castrovalva is my seocnd favourite of Peter Davison. It was a great way to introduce Peter Davison into Doctor Who.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb Doctoring!, 4 Nov 2000
This review is from: Doctor Who - Castrovalva [VHS] [1982] [1963] (VHS Tape)
One of the best episodes of Doctor Who that I have seen. Peter Davidson to me was the best Doctor, he had charm, wit and a soft side. I have seen this episde many times, it is great the way they get locked in a loop of infinity, a simple and easy episode to produce but never the less one of the best. The Master plays a very cunning part in this episode disguising himself in different ways. He is my favourite enemy of the Doctors. Anyway, not to give too much away - watch it,you will not be disapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Peter Davidson is my favourite doctor!, 26 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Doctor Who - Castrovalva [VHS] [1982] [1963] (VHS Tape)
Although some people think he was soppy, I think that he is a really good Doctor. He plays the part well and gives his best. This video is quite a light hearted one being that the Doctor had just regenarated. I liked it. By Jack
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The moment has been prepared for..., 8 Jun 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Doctor Who - Castrovalva [VHS] [1982] [1963] (VHS Tape)
Although I watched this over 20 years after its broadcast, I felt compelled to watch it after years and years of growing up with a copy of Logopolis.
The story starts with Tom Baker's demise from the previous story - Logopolis - and the regeneration prior to the starting titles. Does anyone else feel a slight betrayal in the titles showing Peter Davison's face??
The story focuses on the Doctor's recovery from regeneration, while the Master is bent on his destruction.
Problems with the story are Adric, the writers love of jetisoning parts of the TARDIS, and some slightly ropey acting or characterisation of the Master.
It is a good story, but works best watched in order from Keeper of Traken, to Logopolis, to Castrovalva.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Video of tranquility, 30 May 2001
By 
This review is from: Doctor Who - Castrovalva [VHS] [1982] [1963] (VHS Tape)
Working brilliantly together, as an unintentional trilogy, the three consecutive stories of Keeper of Traken, Logopolis and Castrovalva firmly establish Anthony Ainley as the new master, even if his performance here and in later stories does descend a little into pantomime territory.
The plot is as deliciously intricate as the artwork of Escher which Castrovalva was based on, with the Doctor's problematic regeneration and two ingenius traps set by the Master for him and his companions. Logopolis introduced the Tardis's Cloister Room, and here more of the police box's architecture is revealed - the gorgeous pinkish-grey Zero Room. As in Keeper of Traken and Logopolis, the costumes and incidental music are also a delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Castrovalva (DVD)
Exactly what I wanted and delivered within the stated time frame
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Castrovalva (DVD)
Fantastic series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who - Castrovalva [VHS] [1982] [1963]
Doctor Who - Castrovalva [VHS] [1982] [1963] by Peter Davison (VHS Tape - 2000)
Used & New from: £1.40
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews