Customer Reviews


146 Reviews
5 star:
 (126)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


93 of 96 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of laughs
Ok, so maybe this show has a bad reputation for not being PC, but it was still funny. Was it racist for a man born and raised in India, who spoke Hindi as his first language, to put on face paint and the mannerisms of the poeple his childhood? I don't know... but isn't racism all about intending insult or injury?

Was it more or less racist for men born in...
Published on 6 Nov 2011 by Brian Damage

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Did not rekindle the affinity with the series.
When the T.V series first came out we watched it and found it funny; but then re-living the experiences of It Ain't Half Hot Mum not so funny .The first and second CD's very humerous but sadly became some what predictable and slow. Windsor Davies's chant of 'shut up' - practically every sentence became more and more annoying. Sorry this did not rekindle the affinity we...
Published 7 days ago by Diana


‹ Previous | 1 2 315 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It ain't half hot mum, dvd, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant to watch and a good Saturday night filler when there is nothing on the box - as usual. Good old fashioned humour, sadly lost in this day and age now all the good script writer have gone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For serious laughter, 20 Dec 2012
By 
Mr. & Mrs. D (Santa Monica, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As much as we enjoy and replay the other Perry and Croft series, this is the one for belly laughs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blast from the past, 3 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought I would be hiding behind the sofa because, along with the laughs, would be the guilt at racism. Not a bit of it. The humour stands up fabulously and the laughs at the expense of the Brits whose rule is coming to an end are spot on. As well as being funny and full of wonderfully talented actors it is worth watching as a an historical document.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Side Splitting Comedy., 2 Oct 2011
By 
Amazon Customer "A Likely Lad" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This is one of the finest comedies ever to be screened on British television, it is also the most neglected. This series is screaming out for a rerun on the BBC but because of all that political correctness rubbish it isn't likely to get one. Thankfully the BBC have released this wonderful series on DVD for everyone to enjoy.

This comes from the pen of David Croft and Jimmy Perry of Dad's Army fame and it's every bit as good as that well regarded show. I loved it when I was a kid in the 70's and would audio tape every episode to enjoy over and over again.

Perry and Croft had a genius for setting comedies in and around World War 2, their three greatest show's are set there and draw upon their own experiences in that conflict to give us unending laughs and enjoyment but in a tasteful and respectful manner.

Windsor Davies is the real star of this programme and there has always been something about the man that creases me up when I see him, the rest of the cast are a superb ensemble group and complement each other perfectly but Davies is the driving force.

The episodes look clean and fresh and the two lost episodes are presented as extras, they are of poorer quality having come from a VHS recording and are slightly edited but it's marvellous that we have some record of them.

The other extra of note is the Top of the Pops Christmas 1975 edition featuring Don Estelle and Windsor Davies singing their number one hit of that year, Whispering Grass.

This is a true classic and a gem and as it's likely never to be repeated this set becomes a priceless and must have item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sergeant Major shut up, 2 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the funniest comedy series I have ever seen.All of the actors looked like they were having a good time.The stories were hilarious without any exceptions.Windsor Davies is a star theres no denying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aint Half Hot Mum, 25 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This collection is absolutley great
What a pity the BBC are so wrapped up in the silliness of polictical correctness that they will not re-run this top comedy show
It is good clean fun no bad language no shock tactics just family comedy at it's best
By not repeating it the BBC are depriving so many people of one of comedy greats
But this collection is well worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic BBC Comedy- now cursed by the dreaded PC brigade, 17 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this after xmas 2012, as my two boys had seen a clip on tv and loved it, laughing like drains. I need not have worried- they got the jokes and the whole poking fun at various types (officers ,indians, educated people)... it is a real crime that this is never repeated on tv anymore, thanks to the political correctness brigade, and that generations are missing out on a real classic of a comedy. As a 8 yr old child, my aunt in Bridgend lived upstairs in a block of flats from Windsor Davies' mum and I met him on several occasions with him greeting me as "shoulders back lovely boy"- brilliant and making me star struck!!
The boxset itself is sturdy with 8 disc supplied with 1 series per disc. Series 4 appears a little short on episodes- I assume this is down to the BBC's policy in the early 70's of overwriting tapes to save space (series 4 has only 4 episodes). The quality is excellent, considering the show's age. Sticking in the first disc transported me back to my childhood and sunday evening (when it was shown, I think?).... Is it worth buying/funny - Oh yes!- ok it uses language and phrases that aren't used today, but LAUGH AT IT and take it for what it is- a classic timeless 70s comedy that will make your sides ache from laughing!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy now never to be seen again on TV ., 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Highly entertaining series , purchased because of stupid ban on re- showing by the tv network . Recommended to all ex service men / women . Great Cast , Worth the money to hear Don Estell sing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it!, 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Got this set as a 'funny' little stocking filler gift for my hubby, but he loved it, we had forgotton how good it was, its years old and it still makes us laugh, even our 24yr old kids laughed! Good clean 'cheeky' fun not much language and a little inuendo but no 'rude' bits like you see/get these days. The characters played in it are such a bunch of missfits it works brilliantly, great fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All the old catch phrases....Brill., 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All the old catch phrases, over the top campness and loads of classic one liners.
A comedy nostalgic trip back in time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 315 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews