Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full of magic and mystery
A young man Robert Graves(played by a fresh faced Tim Curry), arrives at a cricket match in the grounds of a mental hospital where he is to be the scorer. A doctor(Robert Stephens), introduces him to a man called Crossley, who is to score the match alongside him. Graves then listens as Crossley recounts a tale of how he met a man called Anthony Fielding(John Hurt),who is...
Published on 10 Oct 2008 by Mr. Jonathon T. Beckett

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars dvd
weird but enjoyable film, watched it twice now and still seeing bits missed 1st time around
Published on 30 Mar 2010 by R. Angus


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full of magic and mystery, 10 Oct 2008
By 
Mr. Jonathon T. Beckett "vampire lover" (Dracula's Crypt) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shout [DVD] [1978] (DVD)
A young man Robert Graves(played by a fresh faced Tim Curry), arrives at a cricket match in the grounds of a mental hospital where he is to be the scorer. A doctor(Robert Stephens), introduces him to a man called Crossley, who is to score the match alongside him. Graves then listens as Crossley recounts a tale of how he met a man called Anthony Fielding(John Hurt),who is one of the players on the pitch, and how he became a part of Fielding's life, and from then on the film drifts back and forth from the cricket match to the story Crossley is telling.
This film has a haunting, dreamlike quality to it, and is pretty unique in its approach. Their is no cohesive narrative, and leaves the viewer with as many questions as answers. Thats a good thing in my opinion. The lines between fantasy and reality are constantly blurred, and after watching this your senses will be reeling.
Jerzy Skolimowski directs with great visual flair and Alan Bates is great as the charismatic Crossley.
A real treat. 5 out of 5. The DVD release by Prism has no extras, but the picture and sound quality are excellent, which is especially important in the case of this film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Whats going on in film buff land", 22 April 2008
This review is from: The Shout [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
I cant believe that I'm the first person to review this film.Maybe it has slipped under a lot of radars as I first saw it on Australian T.V.about twelve years ago.A diliberately obtuse film that forces the viewer into increasingly strange frames of thought.great cast,great director.Stands utterly on its own cinamatically and philisophically.A plot synopsis would be completely pointless.An eerie,disturbing,resonant near masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For crying out loud..., 26 Aug 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shout [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
I'm not sure how this quite fantastic film has slipped under my radar for so long (probably the horrible marketing and cover...)
Wonderful cast including John Hurt as a BBC Radiophonic-type Foley artist and his slightly strained marriage to Susannah York. The appearance of a stranger (the ever-dependable, fearsome Alan Bates) creates a cryptic tale of mystery, magic, symbolism, seduction, fact and fiction all blurring in the mind of a 'madman' relating the tale at a surreal cricket match. The titular 'shout' is beautifully understated and the whole film plays out as a classy, subtle piece not a million miles from 'Don't Look Now' in feel (as the cover blurb suggests).
Highly recommended and I'm sure will become more rewarding with repeat viewings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Shout 1978, 9 Feb 2004
By 
Gary B (York , England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Shout [DVD] [1978] (DVD)
Alan Bates , John Hurt , Tim Curry , Suzannah York. Shot on location in North Devon. Bates is the crazy traveller who terrifies musician John Hurt whilst magically seducing his wife. Can he really kill just by the power of his 'shout'? This film may not be for all tastes. Very surreal but intelligent and with some great visuals - many bizarre images are juxtaposed together, creating a great atmosphere. Director Skolimowski ( Moonlighting , The Lightship) knows his stuff and paces the film well. Essentially a fantasy yet hard to categorize...this is truly a cult film and I for one was entranced by it. One of my personal all time favourites...."I'll shout you dead!" Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Here, here, Brutus, 16 July 2008
This review is from: The Shout [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
The Shout is a scandalously under-rated, under-exposed film, but given the awful state of contemporary cinema, particularly fantastic cinema, I'm not surprised. The film harks from the days when audiences had a certain cultural literacy, an expectation of at least some intellectual rigour in a screenplay, and - a quality wholly and worryingly lacking in today's tragic young audiences - patience. Patience to let a curious story unfold; patience to allow the complex, unconscious themes of a drama exert themselves viscerally; patience to be entertained by something beautifully paced, extremely well-crafted and flawlessly acted. But, hey! "Where are the CGIs??" I hear the lost ones cry; shove 'em where the sun don't shine. This is a REAL fantasy film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent movie, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shout [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
Not everyones cup of tea, but a great story & excellent performances by many now very famous actors when they were younger.
Worth watching for the opening scene at the cricket match alone, but it just gets better & better.

Highly recommended psychological thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unique British Oddity., 23 Oct 2012
By 
PETER FINCH (AYLESBURY, BUCKS.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Shout [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
I'm sure I'm not the only one who has fallen in love with the Wicker Man, spent years trying to find more films like the Wicker Man, only to have to resign myself to the fact that there are NO films like the Wicker Man. The bizarre idiosyncrasies are what make it such a classic. As some sort of consolation, here's a great film that certainly stands shoulder-to-shoulder with the Wicker Man in terms of tone, atmosphere and bizarre idiosyncrasies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Shout, 29 April 2010
This review is from: The Shout [DVD] [1978] (DVD)
A quirky film, with an ending so loud it brought the children down from upstairs to see what was going on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars dvd, 30 Mar 2010
By 
R. Angus - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shout [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
weird but enjoyable film, watched it twice now and still seeing bits missed 1st time around
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars '70s style, 26 Feb 2010
By 
D. Parry "longbarrow" (Dorset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Shout [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
I was interested to see how the Robert Graves short story would be interpreted into an hour and a half movie. It was the 1970s and using the classic art movie techniques of the time made that no problem. A mix of humour, thriller and the bizarre makes this a memorable, if not brilliant, film. The cast is excellent, Alan Bates perfect as the stranger with a killer voice. A low key role for Tim Curry as Robert Graves, coming just a couple of years after his Rocky Horror.

A period study of primeval sexual tensions.

Oh, and a game of crazy cricket.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Shout [DVD] [1978]
The Shout [DVD] [1978] by Jerzy Skolimowski (DVD - 2003)
Used & New from: 5.64
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews