Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ALBERT FINNEY'S SCROOGE
Long underestimated, this 1970 version of 'A Christmas Carol' mixes a fine feast of popular songs (by Leslie Bricusse) and a vintage performance of the old miser by Albert Finney.The latter manages to achieve what only Sim has done before or since in making the transition from crotchety old humbug to reformed philanthropist believable.One of the few actors to play himself...
Published on 14 Dec. 2004 by N. Clark

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars OK but not great
I love the story of A Christmas Carol and have a few different DVD versions. I don't think I will watch this one again though, purely because all the singing got on my nerves! It just doesn't work as a musical for me.
Published 4 months ago by Magmac


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ALBERT FINNEY'S SCROOGE, 14 Dec. 2004
By 
N. Clark - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scrooge [DVD] (DVD)
Long underestimated, this 1970 version of 'A Christmas Carol' mixes a fine feast of popular songs (by Leslie Bricusse) and a vintage performance of the old miser by Albert Finney.The latter manages to achieve what only Sim has done before or since in making the transition from crotchety old humbug to reformed philanthropist believable.One of the few actors to play himself as a young man as well, this is vintage Finney in a lavish spectacular as well-proportioned as Pinewood's previous epic 'Oliver' There's a great suporting cast as well - Kenneth More as the Ghost of Christmas Present, the great Edith Evans as Christmas Past and a truly frightening Alec Guinness as Marley. Laurence Naismith and a young Anton Rodgers also appear in a couple of notable numbers 'December 25th' and the popular 'Thank You Very Much'.
Grossly under-rated by reviewers for years this musical has spawned two great stage shows with Anthony Newley and Tommy Steele following in Albert's footsteps. Both have played to packed houses, the latter continues to do so.The audience, as usual, has the last laugh ! If you buy no other version of Christmas Carol, you should make this one yours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Favorite Flawed Hero, 8 Sept. 2005
By 
J. H. Sweet - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scrooge [DVD] (DVD)
I have read A Christmas Carol several times; and though this is a musical, I do not think it takes away at all from Dickens' classic story. Rather, I believe it is a wonderful tribute to it. Ebenezer Scrooge is one of my favorite literary characters of all time; and Albert Finney brings him to life perfectly, making the miser loveable and sympathetic throughout. As in the written work, I love Scrooge both before and after his epiphany. I was especially touched by his feelings of abandonment at being left at school for Christmas in his youth, and the deep regret he experiences over the breaking of his engagement to Fezziwig's daughter.
Tiny Tim is well cast in this movie. He has a beautiful voice and touching expressions, and is perfect in size, tiny, which is not the case in some other film versions.

Leslie Bricusse's song lyrics are every bit as wonderful as those written for Willie Wonka and the Chocolate Factory. The costuming, scenery, and props are very lavish and beautiful, adding to the richness of the story. The DVD version is perfect in this respect with good color and clarity.
The story is wonderfully staged in five acts (Introduction, Past, Present, Future, Conclusion), the first four building perfectly to the final, which is every bit as heartwarming as the conclusions of It's a Wonderful Life and Miracle on 34th Street. It is impossible not to smile as Scrooge buys out the toy store, purchases other gifts, wipes the slate clean for his debtors, and makes charitable contributions. His transformation from miser and loan shark to a genuine Father Christmas is absolutely beautiful.
When I was growing up, we always decorated our tree on Christmas Eve; and I remember watching this movie many years in a row during that family tradition. I recommend this as a yearly family Christmastime movie, but it is also wonderful to watch at other times of the year, especially to cure a blue funk because it has the power to warm viewers all the way down to their toes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well About Time! Thank You Very Much, Thank You Very Much.., 12 Dec. 2003
By 
Mr R Winson (Gillingham, Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
OK so the Amazon review didn't rate it but I truly love this film. It's not the best film ever made and never will be but it really gives you a feel good factor.
Albert Finney is excellent (isn't he always?) as are Edith Evans, Kenneth More, Anton Rodgers, Alec Gunness and the chap that plays Bob Cratchitt (sorry, can't think of his name off hand!)
Everyone harps on about the Alastair Sim version but I truly prefer this one. The perfect film to watch late on Christmas Eve. It really gets you into the Christmas spirit (pardon the pun!)
Why on Earth is it only available on region 1??????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas wouldn't be the same without it!, 14 Dec. 2006
By 
Ms. V. Stevens (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scrooge [DVD] (DVD)
This 1970 Albert Finney film is quite simply the best version of A Christmas Carol ever made - in my humble opinion. My family has a long-standing tradition of watching this film together on Christmas Eve. Even though we've all grown up now and have homes of our own, if we can't be together at Christmas we each play our copies of the film simultaneously. Christmas wouldn't be the same without this great movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scrooge is no MEAN movie!, 30 Nov. 2004
This review is from: Scrooge [DVD] (DVD)
I have been looking forward to this being released on DVD for years and now it is happening fantastic. One of the best adaptations I have ever seen this is a musical version with a star studded cast such as Albert Finney (Scrooge), Alec Guinness (Jacob Marley) & Kenneth More. Look out for a great performance by Anton Rodgers as well as many other great stars. In the words of one of the songs from the movie:
"Thank you very much, it's the nicest thing anyone has done for me"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best. The very best!, 22 Dec. 2006
By 
This review is from: Scrooge [DVD] (DVD)
As far as I am concerned, and it appears several others reviewers agree with me, this is the definitive version of the classic Christmas Carol tale. The additional benefit being, apart from the excellent cast of course, is the fact that it is set to music! And what excellent songs!

From the opener "I Hate People" through to the reprise of the classic "Thank You Very Much" (in my opinion one of the best movie songs of all time!), the songs are of a superb quality and adhere to the story as well as hastening it along too. The vocal harmonies and coreography involved are second to none and even those not blessed with the greatest of singing voices (Kenneth More for example) do themselves proud due to the quality of the tunes themselves.

This film is one of my favourite films of all time and gets watched regularly all through the year.

Buy it. Love it. It's that simple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Scrooge film by far, 5 Dec. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Scrooge [DVD] (DVD)
I can't believe some reviews for this film, where the reviewer says the singing is not that good (such as Amazon's review above. Just goes to show how wrong reviewers can be).
I don't normally like films with singing in but the singing in this film makes it the film it is.
If you haven't seen this film you are surely to enjoy it (I might be wrong in that) and enjoy the singing aswell.
It will bring a tear to your eye.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars region 2, 6 Dec. 2003
when is the region 2 dvd coming out it is a british film after all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 11 Nov. 2014
By 
Aletheuon (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Scrooge [DVD] (DVD)
I have watched this brilliant film many times and never get tired of the wonderful acting and glorious music and dance. It is my favourite of the various versions of Charles Dickens' famous novel, although less well-known than the 1950 version starring Alastair Sim. Albert Finney is just marvellous [I'm running out of superlatives!] as Scrooge, making him a three-dimensional character with whom we can't help sympathising. He was only 34 when the film was made and had to age convincingly from youth to old age. There are lots of great names in supporting roles. Alec Guinness plays Jacob Marley , Scrooge's dead partner in another compelling performance [getting a double hernia from the harness that enabled him to fly]; and who knew that Anton Rodgers could sing and dance in the way he does as Tom Jenkins dancing on Scrooge's coffin? Edith Evans and Kenneth More play the ghosts of Christmas Past and Christmas Present. Laurence Naismith is Fezziwig, Scrooge's kindly mentor. Look out for Michael Medwin and Gordon Jackson, too.
The film just fizzles with energy and emotion, everything from wild joy to tenderness to pathos to tragedy to terror and regret. Leslie Bricusse's music is memorable, just right to reflect the sentiments of the story. [His achievement is the more impressive because he could not write music notation but sang tunes he made up in his head to Ian Fraser, the film's music superviser, who wrote it down and did the musical arrangements.] The choreographer was Paddy Stone; she did a great job. There is much to enjoy in this beautifully made film.
Perhaps what I love most is the way the movie delivers the moral framework of Dicken's story, as Scrooge learns life lessons that will transform and bring him to repentance and redemption. The film was nominated for four academy awards and I can understand why!
The screenplay was written by Leslie Bricusse, as well as the music and song lyrics. The huge studio set recreated Victorian England in the snow using epsom salts and fireman's foam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Minister's Cat, 5 Dec. 2008
By 
Guy reid-brown "GRB" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scrooge [DVD] (DVD)
After watching the terribly earnest 1984 George C Scott 'A Christmas Carol' (where only Liz Smith in the tiny role of Mrs. Dilber captured the spirit) it was a joy to go back to 1970 when they still knew how to do these things. Apart from anything else, Dickens' story is a tumult of energy and unrestrained joy, adjective piled on adjective - 'going over the top' is simply not a concept that applies here, and the Director understands this completely. The film's magic, colour and exuberance provides the perfect visual metaphor for Dickens' glittering prose and all here serves the one purpose - Art Direction, individual performances and choreographed crowd scenes coalesce to provide the Victorian Christmas of our dreams.

Albert Finney leads from the front: he understands full well that even the pre-conversion Scrooge is funny, albeit in a thoroughly misanthropic way, but then he handles all the subsequent transitions with a wondrous palette of vocal and facial expression (his scenes with Kenneth More's properly no-nonsense, jovial Spirit of Christmas Present contrast tellingly with the rancorous exchanges between George C Scott & Edward Woodward in the 1984) More is just one of an excellent cast that gets unforced jollity down to a tee - for example, the Fezziwig here pulls off the 'Hilli-hi, Chirrup' lines with total conviction. There is a just-right Nephew Fred, a pitch perfect Bob & Mrs. Cratchit and so on down the line. For once the changes and additions to the story (including a magical toy shop and toy shop owner but EXCLUDING a dreadfully misconceived scene in Hell) keep the spirit of the book.

It says something of the quality of the cast that by far the worst turn is Alec Guinness's humourless hamming as Marley's Ghost.

Hell and Guinness aside, this is the film I would recommend people watch in the run up to Christmas - not on the Day itself, of course, because you should then be trying to capture the spirit as best you can on your own 25th!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scrooge [VHS]
Scrooge [VHS] by Ronald Neame (VHS Tape - 1997)
£4.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews