Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Monroe Glows!
The story is little to write home about...The Prince Regent of an imaginary Ruritanian country meets a showgirl whilst in
London for the 1911 coronation of George V. Laurence Olivier is the Prince Regent and Marilyn Monroe is the showgirl he encounters.
Photographed by legendary cinematographer Jack Cardiff who also worked on Black Narcissus (amongst many many...
Published on 21 Nov 2010 by Mr. Mark K. Hughes

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DVD "The Prince and the Showgirl"
I bought this in conjunction with my purchase of the DVD of the film "My week with Marylin" as this was the film that resulted in the latter. It is OK but nothing remarkable. If you do buy "My week with etc" then I do suggest you buy this film and, to round things off, buy the book as well about "My week with Marylin"
Published on 16 May 2012 by Mr. Michael Fuller


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Monroe Glows!, 21 Nov 2010
By 
Mr. Mark K. Hughes "Mark Karl" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The story is little to write home about...The Prince Regent of an imaginary Ruritanian country meets a showgirl whilst in
London for the 1911 coronation of George V. Laurence Olivier is the Prince Regent and Marilyn Monroe is the showgirl he encounters.
Photographed by legendary cinematographer Jack Cardiff who also worked on Black Narcissus (amongst many many others) The affair here is between Monroe and the camera. She has never been more lovingly photographed. At 30 years old she is at the peak of her amazing beauty. Her comic timing is pretty good too. In fact she blows Olivier off the screen. Others along for the ride include Dame Sybil Thorndike as the dotty Queen Dowager, Richard Wattis and Jeremy Spenser as the Young King. The sets are extremely plush and the production values are excellent. Monroe wears the same white evening dress throughout and did I mention how ravishing she is? I did! Okay well if you are a Monroe fan you need to see this film. It is not as Laugh out Loud funny as Some Like it Hot or as Raw as Bus Stop but it does have charm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A feast for the eyes - and very funny., 11 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I cannot believe how wide of the mark are so many of the reviews for this highly entertaining and funny movie. I have watched it several times over the years, still watch it occasionally and am amazed that it continues to entertain and amuse - it just refuses to date.

The funny, sparkling script by Terence Rattigan is leavened with the yeast of telling social commentary, as relevant today as it is to the Edwardian setting. It is full of perceptive one-liners that still make us chuckle. The basic story of how a street-wise, but romantic young girl not only survives, but succeeds in the rarified class-conscious world of royalty and ossified convention is one that enchants us and has us rooting for her.

Visually, it is a feast of riotous colour - stunning interiors, beautiful women in gorgeous dresses and men in either impressive uniforms or the masculine elegance of Edwardian menswear. What's not to like? Jack Cardiff, the cinematographer, yet again demonstrates his unique painterly skill as the finest Technicolor camaraman ever. He displays Marilyn Monroe's beauty better than any other cinematographer has ever done.

The comments that Olivier's acting is "wooden" and that Monroe acts him off the screen are just ridiculous. Olivier is an actor, for heaven's sake, and is playing a Balkan prince of no charm and sombre character. The first five minutes alone - where he thanks the line of actors - is memorably funny with Olivier's subtle interpretation of a bored royal's public relations ritual. He brilliantly contrasts the prince's distant, embarrassed, response to forward yoicks to his attempts at flirtatious conversation with attractive young and not-so-young women. And the carriage scene, in which his ferocious demeanour melts into a wintry smile at the young, impressionable girl's evident excited enjoyment of the occasion is Olivier at his best. Watch his impeccable timing as he delivers his comic lines - it looks just so easy and natural, until we try to do it ourselves! Superb acting. This film also demonstrates that he was an excellent director, as good as any. The pacing, the characterisation, the way in which the story is played out to us, the precise timing of the many comic situation set-pieces, show directorial skills of the highest order.

Anyone who believes that Monroe could not act should be made to watch this movie. She clearly demonstrates here that she was a naturally talented actress with a particular skill for comedy. Unfortunately, in her personal life she was surrounded by hangers-on, some of whom had only their own interests at heart, and some who were plain nutters. Between them they destroyed her self-confidence and suppressed her own natural talent. Here, with first-class, sympathetic direction from Olivier, she was permitted to shine and show what she could do. She was no puppet, however. Her facial expressions and body language, throughout the film, display natural acting talent of a high order, far beyond anything that could be achieved by blind responses to a directorial Svengali. Watch her, for instance, during the Coronation scene, as the rituals of an Old World society begin to impress her New World instincts. The stories that Olivier was driven to the edge by her frustrating behaviour during shooting only emphasises more strongly his directorial talents - nothing of this shows in the movie we see.

One comment from another reviewer that I cannot disagree with is the attraction of the "Monroe ass", though personally, I would simply prefer to say that never has the archetypal Edwardian bottom been more provocatively wiggled or more attractively presented in a knock-out design of a dress.

Watch out for excellent supporting performances from two British stage stalwarts: Sybil Thorndike as a delightfully dotty Balkan Dowager Queen and a wonderful characterisation of a, perhaps, not-so-stuffy man from the Foreign Office by Richard Wattis. Skilled actors like these make us believe in the worlds created by the stars and are a delight to watch.

Some movies are made not as great art, but just to entertain. That it does, brilliantly well. Sit back, enjoy and best of all, laugh.

PS - after several years viewing, always enjoyable, this is one of the best seven quids worth I have had from Amazon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old, but not that old, 3 Jan 2012
I bought the price and the showgirl just after having seen 'a week with Marilyn' as I had not seen the original film with Marilyn and Lawrence. Had thought it would be OK however I really enjoyed it, so much so I now need to see 'a week with Marilyn' again as I think I will get even more pleasure from that film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delectable, 19 Sep 2011
By 
M. Williams - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This delicious - and unusually intelligent - comic confection took me completely by surprise when I happened to catch a Sunday night screening on the BBC last month. I've seldom been so captivated by any film, classic or otherwise, and hastened to order a copy of the DVD as soon as the credits rolled.

From first to last, Monroe lights up the screen with her performance as the eponymous showgirl, Elsie Marina. Her warmth and vitality, to say nothing of her radiant beauty, offer the perfect foil to Olivier's flintily Teutonic Prince Regent. A majestic Sybil Thorndike is Oscar-worthy as a laugh-out-loud Queen Dowager and veteran British actor Richard Wattis excels as the starchy Foreign Office representative, Northbrook. Costumes and set designs are positively Beatonesque - which is to say, absolutely magnificent - and Addinsell's light-hearted score is completely charming. I've been humming the waltz theme for weeks now!

As an interesting aside, the scenes in Westminster Abbey incorporate actual footage from the Coronations of George VI and Elizabeth II. Whilst adding considerable verisimilitude to the proceedings, these moving and powerful sequences help 'round out' the film's otherwise irreverent, if always affectionate, portrait of the mores and idiosyncracies of pre-WW1 European royalty.

An enchanting movie. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Prince AND the Showgirl...both very good!, 15 May 2012
We all have our personal opinions of course but I feel I must put on record my high opinion of the
performance of Laurence Olivier in this film.
It is subtle in a way that to some has obviously been overlooked.
Possibly for the reason that Marilyn Monroe shines so brightly in her role. I have seen the film many times but after reading some comments on L O I decided to concentrate on him rather than Marilyn. Difficult......This is a very fine performance. Full of shades of interest and variety of expression. In fact to repeat....subtlety.
When this film is enjoyed for what it is ....a light comedy romance...it is so hard to imagine that there were ever any worries in the making of it.
If ever a film needs to be re appraised this is surely the one.
In my view a top class film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A film every Marilyn fan or indeed those who love cinematic history should see, 8 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A film every Marilyn fan or indeed those who love cinematic history should see. This film is perhaps better known for the stories off screen than within the film itself. This is very well documented, and has of course been the basis of a film 'My Week with Marilyn'. I would recommend seeing this film without being too knowledgeable about the back story, which I was the opposite of. Nonetheless I enjoyed both Marilyn Monroe and Laurence Olivier's performances, both among the great icons of cinema for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DVD "The Prince and the Showgirl", 16 May 2012
By 
Mr. Michael Fuller (Yorkshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this in conjunction with my purchase of the DVD of the film "My week with Marylin" as this was the film that resulted in the latter. It is OK but nothing remarkable. If you do buy "My week with etc" then I do suggest you buy this film and, to round things off, buy the book as well about "My week with Marylin"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The World is a Stage, 2 Mar 2012
By 
You have to have a little bit of respect for the TV schedulers in the way that they place movies. Some famous actor just died; lo and behold a film from their archive appears on the Beeb. Oscar nominated film based on a Marylyn Monroe film coming out - super fast turnaround onto TV? Nope, but you do get the film that `A Week with Marylyn' is based around, `The Prince and the Showgirl'. I'm not someone who is particularly impressed with the seemingly vacant styling's of Miss Monroe (or Mrs as she was during the filming), but would `Showgirl' be the film to change my mind? TBH, it did a bit.

Monroe plays a showgirl, Elsie, who catches the eye of Laurence Olivier's fictional leader. She knows what's what when he invites her over to his stunning abode, but she won't give in easily. Over the next couple of days a series of misadventures will lead Elsie to a very royal occasion and perhaps a way of thawing The Regent's cold heart. `Showgirl' is a very stagy film, mostly set in one or two rooms. Although little is done to belie its theatre origins the negatives of tight locations are made up for by the similar tightness of the script. There are plenty of zingers in this film for fans of fast and pithy dialogue.

Monroe impresses as the empty headed Elsie who is actually a little deeper than she seems, whilst Olivier is also good as the uptight Prince. There is little real chemistry between them, but Monroe oozes enough of the stuff on her own, that the film still works. It is not the actors or the dialogue that fail the film, but the very theatrical origins of the film. Once the film leaves the confines of the theatre or Embassy it is a sea of cheap effects, blue screen and stock footage. All of a sudden you are dragged from a tight world of few characters into a world full of fakery. The final third is magical in a way, but executed so poorly that it undermines the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars effervescent delight, 21 Jan 2012
Having seen My Week with Marilyn was intrigued to see this film, which apparently was a huge hit in its time. Monroe is extraordinary: luminous innocence, wordly womanliness and cheeky monkey all at once. Olivier is impeccable (as usual), but beneath that stiff comic Mittel Europa character he really smoulders. Au contraire Amazon review - the onscreen chemistry is definitely there! It's all exuberant froth but the plot, with a delicious satirical undercurrent, unfolds masterfully and there's some great lines, and the supporting cast provide solid back-up to the two wayward protagonists. Now am wondering whether the slightly unhinged feel about it is because Olivier and Monroe were driving each other bonkers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Prince and the Showgirl, 10 May 2010
By 
Derek Vernon-morris (Greater Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Marylin produced this with Laurence Olivier, for her own very short lived company in 1957.Marylin goes classic, with a Kathryn Grayson type of song when she woos the Prince of Carpathia (Oivier)after a cold supper in his suite in London.It is the time of the Coronation of George 5th and Queen Mary just a few years before World War One.He is a diplomatic guest and she is an American Showgirl. After an 'oops broken dress strap' moment he is attracted to her during his visit back stage to meet the cast of a show.Richard Wattis plays the government Aid trying to keep diplomatic relations sweet (and funny),and Sybill Thorndike plays a typical Dowager Queen.Annie (Marylin)is treated like a charming little chattle at first, but turns the tables later in a smart cookie way, and becomes the peacemaker between the Prince and his Son, the comming of age Heir to the Carpathian (fictional) Throne. Wonderfull scences of Westminster Abbey, horse drawn carriages, stately music, and marble interiors with Olivier's formal drama and subtle humour, make a classic framework through which Marylin parades like a rare jewel.A Queenly vision in white.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Prince And The Showgirl [VHS]
The Prince And The Showgirl [VHS] by Laurence Olivier (VHS Tape - 2001)
£4.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews