Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars On the Town - the movie
On the Town - the movie

This is a story of three sailors (Gene Kelly, Frank Sinatra and Jules Munchin) and their escapades while on shore leave for 24 hours in New York - a much worked Hollywood theme! It was originally a Broadway hit with music by Leonard Bernstein and lyrics by Betty Comden and Adolph Green, itself a reworking of a Jerome Robbins ballet...
Published on 22 Dec. 2009 by Dr. H. A. Jones

versus
8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie Poor Transfer
A great Hollywood classic musical with superb songs and dancing. Vera Ellen is at her best in this movie.

However, the whole experience is marred by a transfer that should have been better.

When compared to the excerpt from 'On The Town' that appears in the DVD of 'That's Entertainment' you can see that this is a very mediocre transfer and Warner...
Published on 6 Feb. 2010 by Musical Fan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars On the Town - the movie, 22 Dec. 2009
By 
Dr. H. A. Jones "Howard Jones" (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On The Town [DVD] [1949] (DVD)
On the Town - the movie

This is a story of three sailors (Gene Kelly, Frank Sinatra and Jules Munchin) and their escapades while on shore leave for 24 hours in New York - a much worked Hollywood theme! It was originally a Broadway hit with music by Leonard Bernstein and lyrics by Betty Comden and Adolph Green, itself a reworking of a Jerome Robbins ballet called Fancy Free. Gene Kelly directed and choreographed the film with Stanley Donen. Some of the Bernstein tunes were dropped in the film to be replaced by others composed by Roger Edens, Conrad Salinger and Lennie Hayton. But the rousing opening number, `New York, New York, It's a wonderful town' was retained as were some of the ballet sequences. In fact, the whole film was very balletic, which reflects its origins. The girls after whom the sailors chased were Vera-Ellen (`Miss Turnstiles'), Ann Miller (an anthropologist, would you believe), and Betty Garrett (as a lady cab driver). Though the storyline is somewhat overworked, the film as a whole is thoroughly entertaining for most of its 98 minutes. It was released in 1949 and is in Technicolor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They don't make them like this any more!, 11 Mar. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: On The Town [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Forget 'Singing in the Rain' for one moment and see Kelly and Sinatra at their freshest. Location filming for a musical for the first time blends fiction with reality and songs that will make you wonder why they don't make films like this any more. A Perfect cast in a perfect musical. Don't miss it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars mesmerising, 17 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I remember seeing this film as a child. The impression it made on me then still dominates today. My DVD is an import from South Korea. The quality is first-class and the sub-titles may be erased by using the menu on the remote. A good film is timeless and this mesmerising musical has all the ingredients to make it eminently watchable. The cast is superb. The only weak links are Jules Munshin whose attempts at comedy are somewhat dated by today's standards and Betty Garrett whose impersonation of a taxi-driver is an insult to all yellow-cab drivers in the Big Apple. But watch the dancing of Gene Kelly, Vera-Ellen and Ann Miller and listen to 'Old Blue-eyes' singing. Whether sailors on leave in New York would be as congenial and well-behaved as this trio is questionable. As for the plot, forget it. 'Singin' in the Rain' and 'Showboat' are the only MGM musicals with a decent plot. The rest, such as 'Du Barry was a Lady' and 'Take me out to the Ball-Game' are merely vehicles for talented dancers and singers. But that is why we watch musicals. We like the music and the dancing. We want something that appeals to our senses, not to our brains.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FRANKIE, 25 Aug. 2004
This review is from: On The Town [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I love this movie! frank and Gene are a great combo! Great songs, great stars and great story!! Buy it! I also recommend Take Me Out To The Ball Game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the very best, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A complete musical triumph. The undoubted highlight for me is the reunion of top of the Empire State and the climax of New York, New York. The bursting out of the elevator at ground level is one of the greatest climaxes of any musical I know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A gift so Just OK for me, 7 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The movie was actually a gift for someone so was ok for me as It was not actually for me. However, I have seen the film and it is one of the classic films that we no longer see on TV or around these days, hence the import version. Still a good film to while away a wet afternoon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can't wait for Christmas, 11 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On The Town [DVD] [1949] (DVD)
I've always loved this film and bought it as a film that all the family can watch over Christmas - including 96 year old mother and 6 year old, tap-dancing mad, grandson. Very quick delivery and well packaged. Can't wait to all sit down and watch it on Christmas Eve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely copy and works great. This is a foreign subtitle version, 15 Jan. 2015
By 
R. Houghton (West Midlands England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lovely copy and works great. This is a foreign subtitle version, but the subtitles can soon be removed, and as for some reason this film isn't available from anywhere else, it's the only way to get your hands on such an iconic and landmark movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie Poor Transfer, 6 Feb. 2010
By 
Musical Fan (Hertfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great Hollywood classic musical with superb songs and dancing. Vera Ellen is at her best in this movie.

However, the whole experience is marred by a transfer that should have been better.

When compared to the excerpt from 'On The Town' that appears in the DVD of 'That's Entertainment' you can see that this is a very mediocre transfer and Warner Brothers clearly haven't tried too hard on this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars My rate and a question, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I could not rate Dance With Me because I chose the wrong areacode by accident.
I need region 2 in stead of 1.
Is it possible to excange the dvd?

On The Town was good, very nice film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

On The Town [VHS]
On The Town [VHS] by Stanley Donen (VHS Tape - 2000)
£4.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews