Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars28
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 May 2009
I would put this on one of the top 100 videos to see before you die. The sets and costumes are great, the acting is fantastic and it is a heartwarming tale. So, the effects are a little tacky but it was made in 1988 so what can you expect? I would reccomend this to anyone who likes a good story or is into fantasy. Just watch it and see how wonderful it is for yourself.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2000
The BBC worked magic when they put this on TV. It has introduced countless children to the world of Narnia and is often what is brought to mind (before the books) when C.S Lewis is mentioned. A brilliant adaptation which hit the nail on the head. Even modern technology couldn't improve this film which was excellent sunday afternoon wataching and an enchanting video!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2000
C S Lewis's tale of good versus evil comes alive in this innocent children's fantasy in a fashion rarely seen in today's world of violence. His Christian message of trusting in Jesus (portrayed by Aslan) gives hope to a society dominated by oppression and evil. Like all good children's stories the goodies win!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2004
i just got this vid for my nan but i rewatched it i remember it from being young and it is still great . the kids of today will not relate to it prefering all the new films but im 24 and love it too bits i used to ( and still do) cry when aslan is "killed" its a must have for anyone like me enjoy all !!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2002
First class BBC damatisation of one of the most popular children's stories of all time. This video provides a great evening for the whole family. Not only is it terrific fun but it also communicates good, wholesome values through its Biblical symbolism. In comparison with so much children's TV today, this video is full of light. Unreservedly recommended.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2002
Has anyone ever been as scary as Barbara Kellerman? In the BBC adaptation of the classic novel, Kellerman plays the White Witch, who holds Narnia under eternal winter, to perfection.
Having remembered this show from my youth, I was glad to see that it was still as fantastic as I remembered it, with all the actors (children & adults) having been superbly cast and entirely believable in their roles.
One small gripe though... don't expect to be dazzled by wonderous CGI mythical beasts, they're all cartoons. The special effects budget was clearly spent entirely on Aslan, who does look fantastic, and the costumes. But never mind, it was the 80's and for anyone who remembers this fondly, then you're not going to be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2004
Evacuated to the country for their protection (during World War 2), Lucy, Peter, Susan and Edmund begin to explore the big house that is their new home. In a back room is a large wardrobe filled with old coats and things, but stepping through the wardrobe, the children find something fantastic, another world! But this new world is not a happy place; it is locked in the grip of perpetual winter by the magic of an evil queen (played by Barbara Kellerman).
The children learn that Aslan, the lion king of this world of Narnia, is back and can help them against the witch. But when they learn that Peter (Richard Dempsey) was actually in the witch's service they need even more help. Aslan is as good as he is powerful, and with him all things are possible. [Color, originally aired in 1988, with a running time of 3 hours.]
This movie (actually three television episodes) is a based quite closely on C.S. Lewis's book of the same title. Some of the acting is a little overdone, and the cartoon creatures look awfully two-dimensional, but the story is nothing short of excellent and the lion Aslan is surprisingly well done. Also, I do think that the creators of this movie did an excellent job of capturing the mood of the book and bringing the viewer through the story without too much cutting. (Books made into movies are often butchered!)
My eleven-year-old daughter read the book recently, while I read it a long time ago. My whole family enjoyed this movie immensely, and I enjoyed the lessons that it taught. My wife and I tried to explain the Christian symbols as the story moved along. We loved this movie, and highly recommend it to you.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2000
This story is about two girls and two boys who are brothers and sisters. They get sent away by their parent to a big, old mannor. Lucy (the youngest) finds a wardrobe while playing hide and seek with the others. I t turns out it is not any old wardrobe. The wardrobe leads her into a majical word of a lion, a white witch and many more fancinating people.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2001
C.S Lewis' fantastic story comes to life in this entertaining film. The film has great costumes and great backgrounds that it feels almost real. If you liked reading the lion, the witch and the wardrobe then you will love this film, and even if you haven't read it, you will still love it just as much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2003
This is the most magical and echanting film I have ever seen, For young children this film is one they will be watching again and again because its a fantastic adaptation of C.S Lewis'classic book. A must see for any fan of the book or for anyone that believes in magic! :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse