Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The pen is mightier than the boxing glove.
Eddie Willis was once a top sports writer, but now he is down on his luck and searching for work. He gets a proposition from dodgy promoter Nick Benko, he is to write up sensationalist press for Benko's new discovery, the gigantic Toro Moreno. Trouble is is that Moreno is a poor boxer, powder puff punches and a glass jaw. But each fight is fixed by Benko and along with...
Published on 25 Nov 2010 by Spike Owen

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Bigger they are.......
Primo Carnera, a giant heavyweight with nothing but his size to commend him, was naturally upset to discover that a film, loosely based on his career, had been presented to the general public. Mike Lane, a giant strongman, plays the part of the parvenu Toro Moreno 'The Wild Bull of the Andes, who is mercilessly exploited by Rod Steiger. The boxing impressario is fully...
Published 16 months ago by lycidas


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The pen is mightier than the boxing glove., 25 Nov 2010
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Eddie Willis was once a top sports writer, but now he is down on his luck and searching for work. He gets a proposition from dodgy promoter Nick Benko, he is to write up sensationalist press for Benko's new discovery, the gigantic Toro Moreno. Trouble is is that Moreno is a poor boxer, powder puff punches and a glass jaw. But each fight is fixed by Benko and along with Eddie's press writings, this propels Moreno to being a household name, thus a crack at the heavyweight title is in the offering. However, Eddie starts to feel conflicted the more the story unfolds and just around the corner is a tragedy that will shape the destinies of everyone who is involved.

This was sadly to be the last film from the great Humphrey Bogart. He would pass away the following year, but thankfully this Mark Robson directed piece proves to be a fitting swansong. He puts depth to his portrayal of Willis and his face off scenes with Rod Steiger's Benko are a real acting joy to observe. The film itself {great scripting from Phillip Yordan} is a scathing and critical look at the boxing circuit, corruption, greed and a scant care for human life come bubbling to the surface, with Burnett Guffey's stark black & white photography adding grime to the nasty underbelly. Real life {and one time heavyweight champion of the world} boxer Primo Carnera sued {and lost} Columbia because The Harder They Fall's story was close enough to his own life story, that in itself makes this film's core story all the more interesting. 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Bigger they are......., 7 May 2013
Primo Carnera, a giant heavyweight with nothing but his size to commend him, was naturally upset to discover that a film, loosely based on his career, had been presented to the general public. Mike Lane, a giant strongman, plays the part of the parvenu Toro Moreno 'The Wild Bull of the Andes, who is mercilessly exploited by Rod Steiger. The boxing impressario is fully aware that his protege is totally useless, a massive lump of flesh with a glass jaw. Toro is both physically and mentally thick and doesn't realise that he is being 'taken for a ride'. Humphrey Bogart, the boxing journalist, watches the situation develop, the glitz, the gaudy advertising, and eventually is won over to sympathise with the victim of such a cynical system. Mike Lane is superb as the pitiful heavyweight. The scene where Bogart hands the battered boxer a substantial paypacket instead of the miserable $48.50 which the loser is left with after the leeches have taken their cut, is wonderful. Forget Sylvester Stallone. Mike Lane may be a loser in the ring, but he wins our sympathy with this performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The bigger they come- the harder they fall, 6 May 2009
By 
Peter Wade (Colchester England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I am a fan of film noir. They all seem to have been made in the late forties and early fifties.This is a late one at 1956.

I remember watching these films when I was young and apart from the glossy version of Hollywood this seemed to me a truer depiction of what America was really like in the 1950s. Written by the same writer who did On the Waterfront. It covers the same sort of area, corruption.

We never had hard fhitting films about corruption in Britain so we had to view the US version.

The idea of promoting a poor amateur fighter to become the heavy weight champion of the world by fixing fights is on the first loook a little far fetched but I was reading an article about people who have either won or were runners up in recent reality telvision shows such as X factor. They are taken on by the pormoters get top billing maybe a number one record then are dropped.

It is the same sort of idea. the promotors can almost make anything happen and the public believe anything.

Rod Steiger is great as the crooked promoter and Humphhrey Bogart is remarkable as the down at heel writer who provides all the words and people believe it.

Poor old Toro Moreno from Argentina he has no idea what is going on but Bogart has a conscience in the end.

I am sure it is going on somewhere as we speak. A great film and very realistic.I am not a sports fan but this is one of the best sports films I have ever seen.

Great film unmissable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bogart's last film, 10 April 2004
By 
This 1956 picture was screen legend Humprhey Bogart's last. Playing a sports journalist Bogart watches the rise and fall of a boxfigther used by unscrepoulous managers and promoters.
Humphrey Bogart plays a great caracther in this picture, very much in the mold of his famous screen persona, but this time with a gentelness that was not always so obvious in other pictures.
Filmed in widescreen with b/w photography, the dvd presents a good copy of the film with lots of subtitles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fitting finale for Bogie, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was the great Humphrey Bogart’s last film, shot in late 1955 and early 1956 when he was already seriously ill with throat cancer. He nonetheless turns in a convincing performance as cynical yet ultimately compassionate sports journalist Eddie Willis. He hypes up no hoper Toro Moreno as a credible contender for the world championship and when the likeable but naive young boxer is cheated out of his winnings by crooked promoter Nick Benko (a young Rod Steiger is very good as the bent manager) he selflessly gives the big Argentinian (played by Mike Lane) his own share of the take and sends him home and out of the reach of the mob.

There is good support from Jan Sterling as Bogart’s wife and real life boxers Max Baer, Jersey Joe Walcott (both ex-heavyweight champions) and Pat Comiskey who actually fought Max Baer for the title in 1940 but lost.

I think this was one of Bogie’s best and despite fighting cancer I thought he did not look particularly old or particularly ill, a tribute to his professionalism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Harder they Fall, 9 May 2009
By 
Mr. G. Dearden "geoffdearden" (Widnes, Cheshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A film I've seen before, but wanted to see again. Two superb actors, Bogart and Steiger make it a classic, revealing professional boxing as a dirty game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Tired Bogey, 23 Mar 2013
By 
Kilrymont (Somewhere in Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
About corruption in boxing and how corruption in journalism helps it along. Weary performance from HB, not surprising really since he died soon after this was made, of cancer. It's a dreary story with a predictable outcome. If you must have every flick HB made then you'll need this one to compete things but for the rest of us, it's not one of his better films. Giving it only two stars seemed pretty mean, hence the third added for the sake of conscience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Last hurrah, 26 Feb 2013
By 
J. Davies (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Last Humphrey film and its on of his. It's about corruption in boxing basically. I didn't think this be any good but I was wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A classic, 27 May 2013
By 
Mr. A. Seigal (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great film with a frightening insight into the corrupt world of boxing at that time. Chilling Based, I believe, on the story of Primo Carnera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars not watched but sure to be great., 27 Aug 2014
not watched but sure to be great .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Harder They Fall [VHS]
The Harder They Fall [VHS] by Mark Robson (VHS Tape - 2003)
9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews