Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern classic!
Even though this film is over 50 years old, the emotions and story are equally applicable today.
Rita Hayworth & Glen Ford both give one of the most mesmerizing performances I have ever seen - even by todays outstanding standards.
This film makes you want to know "what happened" all the way through.
One of the previous reviewers mentioned that some of the...
Published on 8 Jan 2011 by Passion Flower

versus
36 of 47 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A badly cut version of a superb classic movie
I first saw "Gilda" when I was a child. I was taken to see it by my parents and it has remained a favourite of mine ever since. A cousin of mine had told me that she went to see if every time it came to town and I could easily understand why. It is a perfect example of the romantic film noir of the 40s, with a terrific atmosphere of the exotic and the erotic.
The...
Published on 2 Mar 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern classic!, 8 Jan 2011
This review is from: Gilda [DVD] (DVD)
Even though this film is over 50 years old, the emotions and story are equally applicable today.
Rita Hayworth & Glen Ford both give one of the most mesmerizing performances I have ever seen - even by todays outstanding standards.
This film makes you want to know "what happened" all the way through.
One of the previous reviewers mentioned that some of the night club scenes have been cut on the dvd - which is shocking!! I saw this on the TV not long ago and recorded it... I didn't watch straight away, but needed space on the hard drive so thought, Ï'll just have a quick watch for 10 mins to see if I can delete this.... but I was captivated from start to finish - and now its in my top favourite films of all time, and I will definitely be keeping it.
Enough said. I'm not a film crit - but watch it and judge for yourself.... I'm confident you will be pleased you did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT, JUST BRILLIANT!! (period), 15 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gilda [DVD] (DVD)
This film is still AMAZINGLY AWESOME!! A really evergreen movie, with such a class that nowadays you can't find so easily...I've seen lots of old movies because of a college class, european and american, but this one has really hit me! I mean that the way the very intricated plot evolves is just stunning...like Rita Hayworth who's amazing in this role: she literally breaks through the screen, plus the story is so rich in cliffhangers, twists and surprises that when you think you're done, there's something else up your sleeve.

The male actors are very good too, I loved Gilda's partner in his awesome cat&mouse game of "I hate you/love you so much", here it works so perfectly well for their chemestry, what a pity that for the old rules they had to be very chaste, but it doesn't matter 'cause their sex tension was worth millions of pseudo-soft-porn movies of our days...
Wonderfully portrayed also the cold-as-ice deadly husband of Gilda, and watch out for the nice old employee at the casino, because is part is more important than the first impression you might have...

Overall, it's a fabulous noir, you don't want to miss it for sure! BRAVO! (plus the extras are nice for being an old film: a documentary of the diva from the time she was a dancer )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars (Like a inverted Casablanca) Gilt edged - tungsten hard, 27 Mar 2012
This review is from: Gilda [DVD] (DVD)
This is wonderful entertainment Melodramatic but quick and sparse noir.My brief comments may suggest that this is somehow inferior, for me this is up with the best movies and transcends the genre. A classic like Chinatown, the Killers and Out of the Past.
Plot is subsumed in atmosphere and character (possibly the closest parallel is the Killers- albeit that plot is not so holey), Raymond Chandler might appreciate the non closed off elements. The (nearly) overt mutual attraction between Johnny and his saviour, the subversion of hate/love, the glamour of the underworld... and then how they photographed Gilda...
Johnny (Glenn Ford) may appear (to some) too naive to have a history with Gilda (Rita), for me this justs adds to the frisson betweeen the major players.
I hope you enjoy Gilda as much as I do. Once you have seen a few of the "noir classics" - have fun with Steve Martin in Carl Reiners beautiful pastiche Dead Men dont wear Plaid (does for noir what Mel Brooks Young Frankenstein did for the classic Universal creature).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gilda is ELECTRIC!, 29 Mar 2012
By 
Tim Kidner "Hucklebrook Hound" (Salisbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gilda [DVD] (DVD)
There is no doubting, Gilda is a Classic. Everything about it is quite superb - casting, story, direction, the sets, dialogue. The Buenos Aries backdrop and carnival.

Rita Hayworth, is, of course the glorious, devious diva. Yes, it's her picture but the supporting men (are there any other women in the film?) all work around her, whilst Glenn Ford is coolly reticent as Johnny.

Other reviewers have explored the subplots and the psychiatry of it all. I prefer to simply watch it and soak it all in. The restored print is sumptuously rich (deep blacks, sparkling whites) and the soundtrack clear as a bell, with no hiss.

Whichever way you watch it - it's on Sky Movies currently quite a bit - make sure you do. I'm on my fourth viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 4 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Gilda [DVD] (DVD)
...Not only has nothing been cut here, but the version presented on this DVD is the recently restored one, with some glaring defects that spoil the VHS edition conspicuously and thankfully absent. The running time is 106 minutes, that is exactly the full length of the film as it should be in PAL, at 25 frames per second (it would be 4 minutes longer in NTSC, at 24 fps). The quality of the picture is marvellous, and especially considering that the zone 1 DVD release seems to have been cancelled, this one is not to be missed. Of course, one wishes for more bonus materials, but you can't have everything, and any one of Rita's dance numbers here is worth the 20 quid anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gilda [DVD] (DVD)
A fantastic film and well worth the money. Picture quality is excellent and the content is well put together.
The film itself is an absolute gem and I am very happy to add it to my modest collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a thouroughly enjoyable film, 22 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gilda [DVD] (DVD)
i have never before seen a Rita Hayworth film, but did so after spending some hours in a little Spanish bar with a film poster for Gilda. Don't be expecting anything too challenging or deep, but do expect to spend a hugely enjoyable couple of hours on a sunday afternoon. Rita is quite mesmerising and that dance....well, i wish i could have done it! If you like old films, you'll love this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GILDA, 5 May 2011
This review is from: Gilda [DVD] (DVD)
GILDA. Growing up I heard a lot of this movie, especially the scene where she takes her gloves off; then it disappeared from the radar. It still a good movie and unlike some of them it has aged well. Rita Hayworth was truly a magnificent woman. Being a woman myself, it is a objective statement. She is more seductive with her clothes on then nowadays actresses naked. Also, in view of the year the film was made what one sees is real. No plastic surgery, yet! All by all I am glad I bought the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars rita is worth every penny, 22 July 2008
This review is from: Gilda [DVD] (DVD)
The newly restored print is just sparkling as is Hayworth as Gilda in one of the most fascinating female portrayals of all times .

The noir story is similar to both 'CASABLANCA &NOTORIOUS' ,but thanks to the electrifying chemistry between Rita and Glenn Ford as the American sailor in Buenos Aires involved in a gambling racket and illegal cartels,the love affair becomes fascinating to watch,the dialogue is so good ,it can be called great at times like the quote ,'i hate you so much it is almost exciting' ,
add to it the moody atmosphere with great B&W photography and the magical noir will just whisk you away with it's force of a cinematic typhoon.

The director has staged some great songs and dances with Rita lipsynching to Anita Ellis and the song -'blame it on mame' -is an all-time great both in visuals and the sensuous Hayworth magic .

When you watch HaywoRth you comprehend why everyone from PriNce ALI to Orson WELLES were crazy about this dame -as she is the greatest dame of them all and this is one of her best.

Rita is for some strange reason under-rated as an actress ,that might be the cost to pay for having the most glamourous face and figure in a bevy of beauties in Hollywood's golden era .

her acting in gilda is attributed by some to having been elicited by the director -VIDOR ,who has done a great job on the movie but than the same can be said about all great interactions between actors and makers -why make an exception of Rita .

Must see for the songs and dances and the deadly sizzling love scenes between Ford and Rita with the memorable almost literary script that blows your mind away ,a fascinating woman and movie too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Menage a trois as Hayworth sizzles in erotic drama., 20 Nov 2013
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Gilda [DVD] (DVD)
Johnny Farrell is a crafty goon hired by casino boss Ballin Mundson to use his muscle around the place to keep it in ship shape, but then his duties move on to another level when Mundson takes a bride in the form of the gorgeous Gilda. Trouble is, Gilda & Johnny have a history that is sure to rear its ugly head, and thus a steady pot boiling menage a trois is formed.

It's an odd sort of film because its core fabric is cloaked in sado-masochism and latent homosexuality, a pretty daring combination in the prissy production code time of 1946. Reviews at the time were very divisive, and it took many by surprise when the film became a hit, which was mainly down to servicemen who had lusted for Hayworth during the war. Viewing it today brings about many feelings, but chiefly it's the feeling of hate being as powerful a weapon on the emotional front as love is, and it's that heartbeat that drives the film to its delightful finale.

The film boasts a great turn from Rita Hayworth as Gilda, her performance is what holds the film together, whilst Glenn Ford as Farrell is perfectly rugged without overstating the character. The songs and dances fit perfectly to the tone of the film, and director Charles Vidor knows exactly what it takes to steer this film onto safe waters. 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gilda [VHS] [1946]
Gilda [VHS] [1946] by Charles Vidor (VHS Tape - 2003)
£3.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews