Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars214
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: VHS Tape|Change
Price:£3.95+ £2.80 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 August 2012
people say this is/looks dated but whenever i watch this it always reminds me of the things i wanted to do at school :- like plan the 1 day when nothing or noone would spoil my perfect day

and that is where ferris come in, he has almost an answer for everything

the supporting cast is also great mia sara as the beautiful girlfriend that most of would love to have around our arm

cameron the always sick best friend who can never see the wood for the trees and tags along just because he is made to rather then wants to

and jennifer gray in what was her best role before dirty dancing

like 1 reviewer says watch and watch over again ( but do leave a few weeks in between)
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2010
I can still remember to this day, my mum introducing me to Ferris Bueller's Day Off, back in the day when I was about six years old and remember that it's one of the best movies of the eighties.

Matthew Broderick plays the popular Ferris Bueller, who decides to ditch school, and spend the day in Chicago. Along the way he takes Alan Ruck who is Ferris Bueller's best friend and he also drags along his girlfriend Sloane, played by the lovely Mia Sara. We also have Ferris Bueller's sister Jeanie played by Jennifer Gray, who hates the way, that her brother is getting more attention and we have Mr Edward Rooney played by Jeffery Jones who is out to catch Ferris.

The film itself is funny and entertaining to watch from start to finish, with some scenes that feature a lovely Ferrari 250 GT California, which does get the attention of Ferris, who wants to take the Ferrari out for a spin.

I do recommend this film to anybody aged from 13 onwards, it's a film that I could watch everyday and the people casted in this film, were the right choices, especially the selection of Matthew Broderick for the role of Ferris Bueller.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2002
This is a film that will lift your spirits every time. A real feel good movie, it delivers with a great story and first rate comedy. Matthew Broderick is perfect as Ferris, as is Mia Sara - his gorgeous girlfriend. Some reviewers have said it looks dated in places, personally I would say its a timeless classic. Has great music too.
You can go into the plot in some detail, which reveals holes - but the film isn't about an intricate plot. Just trust me when I say it all comes together at the end!
This film is well worth buying, because I gaurantee you will watch it again.....and again...and again....Just leave a few weeks in between or you'll kill its charm.
DVD version: great quality picture. Commentary by director. Not much else, but its not a hi-tec film. It gives you a great film with easy scene access - useful as some scenes you will want to watch over and over again.
The essence of the story: Life moves pretty fast, if you don't stop and look around once in a while - you could miss it.
0Comment|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2012
Ferris Bueller's Day Off is a very good film about one student's amazing day off. It is well-acted, fast-paced, clever,witty and very funny with Matthew Broderick giving an excellent and iconic performance. Overall, a very good film.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2003
The film has a simple plot. The hero takes a day off school and, with two of his friends, he 'does' Chicago. They have a lovely day, with many close encounters of the hair raising kind and they get away with it. Well, his friend Cameron doesn't entirely get away with it because the day out results in the destruction of his cold-hearted father's beloved car. Even that is positive though as it causes Cameron suddenly to sprout a back-bone and resolve to face his father, who's been an object of fear all his life - so very therapeutic for him.
Ferris Bueller's Day Off has been well loved and repeatedly watched by a huge number of people (including me) for a lot of years. Why is it so popular still? It travels well and (in my opinion) it's stood the test of time. It's easy for most people to identify with at least one of the three truants. Everyone wants to have a good time, be clever, funny, talented, popular, admired, confident, fearless and lucky - like Ferris. He's obviously accustomed to being lucky and expects the odds to be permanently stacked in his favour. Both his parents have plenty of chances to spot him while he's awol - but they don't. He has the amazing good luck to have parents who only see what they expect to see and if the unexpected (Ferris anywhere he's not supposed to be) appears under their nose, it fails to register. That and the fact that they adore the rascal, are bound to have influenced the development of such an irrepressibly optimistic personality. So everyone loves Ferris and they all want to be his friend and to be like him. And he also seems to shelter his friends under the umbrella of his good fortune so they get away with whatever he draws them into. Under the circumstance, it must be inevitable that anyone wishing Ferris ill or trying to harm him, is bound to come a cropper - as Rooney (the figure of authority from school) does.
Oh yes, and Ferris can sing and dance too. I wonder how many people watching the DVD get up to twist and shout with him. I do. The film makes you feel good. If you haven't watched it, I recommend that you do.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I am afraid I can not go into too much detail as the movie counts on surprise and anticipation.

Three high school comrades Ferris Bueller (Mattew Brodrick), Cameron Frye (Alan Ruck), and Sloane Peterson (Mia Sara) take the day off. They have several adventures which take them to many fun locations among which are a parade, restaurant, and just skirt being detected. Even though this is a teenage fantasy everyone can enjoy it.

Ben Stein gives the performance of his life as the enthusiastic economics teacher. "Anybody...anybody?"

Meanwhile the principal Ed Rooney (Jeffrey Jones), which knows of Ferris' devious ways, investigates and is foiled at every turn.

Ferris' jealous sister Jeanie (Jennifer Grey) has a few adventures of her own which include meeting a boy in the police station (Charlie Sheen.) She eventually comes to appreciate Ferris' ways.

Naive parents Katie (Cindy Pickett) and Tom (Lyman Ward) move blissfully through the movie only wanting what is best for their under the weather son.

For those musically inclined the movie is packed with great tunes.

Want a gummy bear Mr. Rooney?
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2012
got this for my mum for her birthday as its her favourite film. after she watched it every time it was on tv, thought i might as well get it for her. she loved it. great price and great quality. thank you.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2011
I remeber watching this many years ago and loving it's charm, wit and humour.Unlike many movies from the 80's this hasn't dated one bit, still as funny as ever.
Only negative is the commentary by the late John Hughes, which is not here but was on older dvd copies.
If you remeber this the first time round take a trip down memory lane, if you've never seen it before, you must watch it, you will not be disappointed.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2007
The infectious joy of John Hughes's 1986 film ushered in a new genre of slacker comedy. Matthew Broderick with Mia Sara and Alan Ruck, is Ferris, the charismatic teenage hero who drags his best friend on a day-long road trip to introduce him to a few illicit pleasures before adult responsibilities lay claim to his soul. There are few more perfect illustrations of the teenage itch. In a previous decade, the happy-go-lucky Ferris would be a insufferable geek. Here he is the most enduring high-school clown in 1980s cinema.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2013
Firstly, I would like to suggest that the numerous bad or mediocre reviews for the blu-ray of Ferris Bueller's Day Off are as a result of comparisons between this and the previous release of the Bueller....Bueller...Edition on DVD.
I bought Ferris when it was originally released to DVD in 2000 (EAN: 5014437801234). When compared to that release this blu-ray is an absolute joy to behold. The image is clean and sharp, the audio is clear and rousing. This has always been one of my favourite of John Hughes' films and to see it looking this good nearly brought a tear to my eye.
Maybe, those with a later release really didn't see a difference; probably because the transfer on this blu-ray is the same. But to me, with my older un-restored/remastered DVD this blu-ray is everything I'd hoped the blu-ray would be. I just wish I'd ordered it before and ignored all the reviews.
I'm also very glad that I've taken the plunge and bought Sixteen Candles, Planes Trains & Automobiles and Uncle Buck - if they're even a fraction as good I will be a very happy John Hughes fan. Also, for anyone who's interested: Weird Science has been released on blu-ray in Sweden.
I should also note that my DVD only had a commentary track; so to get the featurettes and other extras as a great bonus.
22 comments|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)