Customer Reviews


109 Reviews
5 star:
 (86)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute classic
I am a great movie fan and a tough critic, but this is without doubt one of the best films I have ever seen. It is a real British classic. Julie Walters and Michael Caine produce excellent performances and a great on screen chemistry. Parts of the film made me howl with laughter. Julie Walters character is so witty and lovable. If you're any sort of movie fan then this is...
Published on 28 Dec 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good movie
I liked it. We discussed it in our sociology class and it was very suited for that purpose. The movie has great acting and it's not cliche. It also has you thinking about choices in life and education. Recommended!
Published 13 months ago by The Monkey


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute classic, 28 Dec 2001
By A Customer
I am a great movie fan and a tough critic, but this is without doubt one of the best films I have ever seen. It is a real British classic. Julie Walters and Michael Caine produce excellent performances and a great on screen chemistry. Parts of the film made me howl with laughter. Julie Walters character is so witty and lovable. If you're any sort of movie fan then this is a film that you just HAVE to see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Michael Caine & Julie Walters 5 Star Performance, 23 Mar 2012
By 
Rita White (Julie Walters) is a 26-year old working class woman who enrols for an Open University class where she meets Frank (Michael Caine), who is assigned to be her tutor. He is a self-confessed alcoholic, who takes a shine to the outspoken Rita. It swings from highs to lows throughout and for every high comes the payback of an even greater low. At times it is amusing (without being silly) and sadness creeps in when you least expect it. There is so much more going on but I will not spoil the tension any more for the benefit of those who haven't seen it yet.
Both actors are just brilliant in their roles and were rightly nominated for best acting Oscars. There is an obvious chemistry between the unlikely odd couple, and you just wish for a happy ending. The transformation of both characters throughout the film is not only smooth but is enlightening. It is a real gem of a film and a rarity in that it does not contain a single kiss for the romantically engaged couple. There are some realy moving scenes, that almost bring me to tears. The dialogue, acting, sets and soundtrack all play their part in a highly entertaining adaptation of Pigmalion. I never tire of this and have watched it so many times, I almost know it word for word. If you don't believe me then try it for yourself. It's simply great value for money (no gimmicks, it doesn't need them) and is a valued addition to any film collector's library (I have several editions). Get it when you can - I highly recommended this English gem to all true movie fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Have Seen This Movie 5 Times. And LOVED it Each Time, 25 Oct 2003
This review is from: Educating Rita [VHS] (VHS Tape)
An incredible love story where the two main characters never kiss. They love each other in different ways. It's also a tragedy. One of the characters has a fatal flaw, and you can see throughout the movie how the flaw will keep him from what he wants. He wants many things. Poetry. Love. Youth. Hope. The movie is also about choice, and about life. It is a laugh-out-loud comedy too. You Must See This Movie! What the heck. Just go ahead and buy it, like I did. It's well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captures the 1980s well and is amusing along the way, 1 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
How I loved this film when I saw it about 25 years ago - but would it stand the test of time? Well, for me it did. It captures the determination and struggle needed by Rita in the 1980's to get an education through the OU and to find herself, before committing to starting a family. Julie Walters (Rita) and Michael Caine (Frank, the professor) act wonderfully in the main roles. Some of the secondary roles are rather stereotypical but this threw the personalities of Rita and Frank into sharper relief.

I thought maybe that modern girls might dismiss the idea that anyone these days needs to struggle to find themselves and so the film would be irrelevant, but seemingly this is not so. The best selling book "Eat, Pray and Love", recently released as a film, sounds like it has a very similar theme with a married woman not wanting to have a baby (just now or maybe never) and needing to find herself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Woman's Struggle To Better Herself Against All The Odds, 3 Mar 2000
By A Customer
By far one of my favourite films this superbly written and performed film, based on the stage play, really does make a sharp point about society, class and self-worth. Walters is terrific as jaunty Rita, an unfulfilled hairdresser who finally decides to go for the education she so desperately yearns for. And the somewhat underrated actor Michael Caine does wonderfully as her depressed, alcoholic tutor jaded and disappointed by life and also longing for a breath of fresh air. Together, they strike up a friendship and through eachother learn to live again. The way we see Rita develop as she goes through the course compliments the change going on inside her and her struggle to co-ordinate her growth with her already established life is superbly displayed. Match that with a comic sub-story of Caine's partner having an affair with his friend, a dazzling cameo by Maureen Lipman and Caine's portrayal of a man growing increasingly fond of his protegee and you have a very good film indeed. I also loved the way Russell didn't take advantage of the fact that his protagonists were of the opposite sex and make them a couple like so many playwrites fall into the trap of doing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a masterpiece!, 26 Mar 2010
By 
Jasmine Grant (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This has got to be my all time favourite movie. Perhaps as i'm guilty of seeing it from a subjective point of view. As a working class woman i can relate to the way 'rita' feels so inadequate and out of her depth in the world of literary scholars. This film is one of those that you can watch time and again and still learn from. i think the basic message behind the film is that whoever we are wherever we come from in terms of class, we're all human. 'Frank' the middle class proffessor is on the surface a cultured man with artistic taste and intelligence. Rita , on the other hand is working class, naive and eager to explore a world she doesn't know. As the plot unfolds, you see how literature, which means so much to Rita, so much so that she is willing to relinquish her lifestyle for, means absolutely nothing to Frank. What the film really displays is that when you get something freely without effort you become cynical and find it a bore. Its also about what you think is good might not be good for you and that you should follow your heart and not what you're peers tell you. Sorry if this review sounds really amateur.. its my favourite film ever and means so much to me, just got blocked whilst writing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "...to sing a better song...", 25 Jun 2010
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Rita White (Julie Walters) is a spunky, 26-year old working class woman who wants to improve her lot. She enrolls in a special Open University class and meets with her tutor, Frank (Michael Caine) once a week to study great literature. Frank, who spends his days in an alcoholic haze, is at first intrigued and later enthralled with the outspoken Rita.

This is a wonderful showcase for the talented Julie Walters, who carries the film on her young and petite shoulders. She is dazzling and thoroughly likeable and every word spoken in her thick Liverpool accent rings honest and true. Caine lets her shine by downplaying Frank, who is hopelessly morose and more than a bit lazy. Both actors were rightly nominated for best acting Oscars.

The inevitable transformation/ improvement of both characters is sweet and uplifting without being overly-sentimental. Walters, best known these days as the matronly Mrs. Weasley, is quite young and attractive and lights up the screen with her charisma. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Educating Rita Inspires, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Rita reminds us to listen to the whispers of dreams in our hearts, our passion because they suggest directions for living a bigger, more satisfying life. You can also enjoy early, vintage Julie Walters shining performance foreshadowing the star she was to become, and Michael Caine turns in a performance to match.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 23 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Educating Rita [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I love this film. It gave me confidence to study with the Open University. My study with them had ups, but initially a down. My own tutor was not like Frank in the film. He had a very abrupt manner. Later, after obtaining a B.A degree I carried on with the Open University. My tutors were wonderful people.
Thanks to the supplier because there was no problems in obtaining this video.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... such a film inspired me to try and achieve good grades when at school university, 13 Sep 2014
Never before has such a film inspired me to try and achieve good grades when at school university.

Rita lives in the North West of England and is from a blue collar working class family. Rita wants to go to university to study literature but feels slightly over whelmed as she thinks this is a middle class privilege. However, her professor, Frank, slowly pushes her to achieve the best she can. However, it's Rita determination to do well that really warms your heart.

Coming from a working class area/background, this film really inspired me to go and undertake a Masters. It's a wonderful film to show young people who may under estimate their abilities.

Truly a great film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Educating Rita [VHS]
Educating Rita [VHS] by Lewis Gilbert (VHS Tape - 2000)
£9.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews