Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars REVENGE OF THE CYBERMEN
This action-packed story wraps up season twelve and the space station, Nerva, story arc. I remember watching this cybermen story as a child and being utterly enthralled. Now, so many years down the line, I am still in love with it. Tom Baker,my favourite Doctor,Sarah-Jane Smith and Harry Sullivan, my two favourite companions, arrive on the Beacon by way of the Time-Ring...
Published on 7 Sep 2003 by Mr. D. Blenkin

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars See the Cybermen in their 1970s glory
This story was one of the very first to be issued by the BBC on video (I have the original release!). The effects are a little basic and the ships look like those of Blakes 7. That said, the music is well composed and the underground caves (Chiselhurst?) are put to good use.
The acting looks incredibly dated as the actors appear to used to performing Shakespeare at...
Published on 26 Jun 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars REVENGE OF THE CYBERMEN, 7 Sep 2003
This review is from: Doctor Who: Revenge of the Cybermen [VHS] [1963] (VHS Tape)
This action-packed story wraps up season twelve and the space station, Nerva, story arc. I remember watching this cybermen story as a child and being utterly enthralled. Now, so many years down the line, I am still in love with it. Tom Baker,my favourite Doctor,Sarah-Jane Smith and Harry Sullivan, my two favourite companions, arrive on the Beacon by way of the Time-Ring. Hoping to rendezvous with the TARDIS, the trio find Nerva in the past and later discover Cybermats poisoning the crew. Voga, the planet of gold, is the target of annihilation by the Cybermen.
Overall, this is the weakest of the five stories making up this season. But, apart from some risible effects and the odd duff performance,(no Oscar winners here), Revenge Of The Cybermen has some great sets and location work. A welcome return of Doctor Who's 2nd best monster! By the way, my three children love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Underrated and enjoyable., 29 April 2007
By 
Ms. G. Lenaerts "glenaerts" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Revenge of the Cybermen [VHS] [1963] (VHS Tape)
I will confess that this story is not as good as I thought it would be but as time passes it does grow on me.

The cybermen themselves are back on track after their underused performance in 'The Invasion' and are seen to be a lot more cunning and manipulative. E.g. using human greed to aquire the services of a human agent. However I am disapointed that they don't have much involvement in the story until episode 3 but their performance makes up for that.

Tom Baker is excellent as the Doctor, as usual. His banter with the Cyberleader during episode three is a mixture of seriousness and silliness and thats what makes it so good.

Companions Harry and Sarah are seen to have their own mini adventure in this story trying to avoid capture by the Vogans which in by view is a very good subplot.

On first viewing the vogans arn't very impressive but like the story they do grow on you and the idea of the vogan civil war is another excellent subplot.

Weak points of this story include: quite a slow plot, missing cybermen from most of parts one and two and finally the american accent the Cyberleader appears to have picked up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 22 Aug 2000
By 
ian Rowlandson (Blind River, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doctor Who: Revenge of the Cybermen [VHS] [1963] (VHS Tape)
Even though BBC online says Revenge of The Cybermen has a weak plot, and is not all that great, I disagree with them. Revenge of The Cybermen is one of my favorite episodes of Tom Baker, and the Cybermen are a great improvement from there previous appearances. I admit though I think some things in the show could have been better, Revenge of The Cybermen is a great movie, and is not as bad as some viewers describe it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars better than daleks?, 6 Feb 2010
By 
Mrs. D. Wilson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Revenge of the Cybermen [VHS] [1963] (VHS Tape)
i first brought this in 2006 and i was a fan of the daleks. but when i saw this i thought what a good story to the daleks i think the scene is a brilliant idea and the cybermen and cybermats but the downfall of the cybermen is that the voices are naff and the guns in the head but go for it its good for the family
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars See the Cybermen in their 1970s glory, 26 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Doctor Who: Revenge of the Cybermen [VHS] [1963] (VHS Tape)
This story was one of the very first to be issued by the BBC on video (I have the original release!). The effects are a little basic and the ships look like those of Blakes 7. That said, the music is well composed and the underground caves (Chiselhurst?) are put to good use.
The acting looks incredibly dated as the actors appear to used to performing Shakespeare at the National - there is some serious overacting!
Although the cybermen appear to have strange firecracker guns on their heads, there is some good cybermat action that make a reappearance from the 3rd doctor. Tom Baker does look a little bored but certainly comes into his own when he delivers lines that he appears to have written himself.
Not the best episode but quite fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not Exactly Vintage, 26 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Doctor Who: Revenge of the Cybermen [VHS] [1963] (VHS Tape)
The Doc, Sarah + Harry return to the Nerva Beacon, only to find that virtually all the crew have bitten the dust because of a lethal virus. The Doc investigates as usual, and learns that Kellman has masterminded the massacre, using Cybermats in league with the Cybermen. Sarah and Harry travel to Voga, an asteroid composed of gold, via a transmat link, only to find themselves faced with a corrupt society and a band of Cybermen exterminating the natives.....
A flawed tale. Gerry Davis has obviously tried to cram as many cliches as possible into his convoluted and badly structured script, Baker just looks bored as he is given nothing to do, and Micheal E. Briant's direction is rather flat and run-of-the-mill. However, the story has one saving grace - the excellent location work in Wookey Hole (Voga). The whole of Voga seems eerie and atmospheric, proving that Doctor Who's usual plastic caves are no match for the real thing. Overall, this could have been worse, but look elsewhere if you're after some top-notch Tom.
James
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant return for the Cybermen, 16 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Doctor Who: Revenge of the Cybermen [VHS] [1963] (VHS Tape)
Despite the feature of the Cybermen, this story is not one of the best Tom Baker episodes, although it is very enjoyable. The Vogans are strange characters, but not bad creations. The Cybermen look far better than in their previous episode. The Cybermen don't feature too much in this story. Overall a great story, but not a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Cybermen On DVD", 28 May 2010
By 
J. Roughley "'JEFF'" (Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Revenge of the Cybermen [VHS] [1963] (VHS Tape)
For many months now I have wanted to see Revenge Of The Cybermen become available on DVD. It appears that a majority of the good episodes are still unavailable on DVD anyway. Oh well all I can do is be patient & await for them to be released onto DVD, by the way I'd love to also see Terror Of The Zygons, Planet Of The Spiders etc released onto DVD as well. Stupidly enough in the future I wonder whether some DVD company will be crazy enough to release a huge 26 season DVD Box Set of the complete old series, It'd probably cost a big fortune hehehehe...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, really., 18 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Doctor Who: Revenge of the Cybermen [VHS] [1963] (VHS Tape)
This story followed one of the finest Doctor Who stories ever, Genesis of the Daleks, and it doesn't really live up to that. In fact, it is one of the poorer stories of its era in that the Cybermen don't seem particularly threatening and the Cyber Leader in this story is a bit of a joke really. The characters on the whole are quite boring and this story cannot be ranked as one of the best Cybermen stories. It's no surprise why they disappeared from the series for such a long time after this. Tom Baker is not his usual, imposing self in this story either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Period Cybermen in dreary Baker caper, 4 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Doctor Who: Revenge of the Cybermen [VHS] [1963] (VHS Tape)
I'm not sure why the BBC have decided to re-release this adventure as it is a definite low point in what is otherwise a classic season.
The genrally-forgiven Doctor Who flaws of a paper-thin plot and plodding direction are present here, and the infamous second-most-famous monsters are too boring to be scary. However, despite stirling work from the regulars and an accomplished guest cast, what really sticks in the memory is the frequent unintentional humour - the Cybermens' wobbly heads and flares, the Cyberleader's accent and Sarah's combat gear being a few priceless moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: Revenge of the Cybermen [VHS] [1963]
£10.87
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews