Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Add this one to your "POW escape stories" collection.
A gripping yarn that provides a smjorgasbord of Colditz escape stories. The events portrayed are generally accurate, the acting is first-class (well, just look at the cast!) and the viewer is left with a feeling of "Well done, chaps! That's one on the nose for Jerry!"
Although I had seen this movie when it was a theatre release, this was purchased after...
Published on 26 May 2000 by brucek@tpg.com.au

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars view on video
Very good movie i hadnt seen it since i was a kid well packed and it was a true story which ii am interested
Published 5 months ago by laurence


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Add this one to your "POW escape stories" collection., 26 May 2000
By 
brucek@tpg.com.au (Canberra, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Colditz Story [VHS] (VHS Tape)
A gripping yarn that provides a smjorgasbord of Colditz escape stories. The events portrayed are generally accurate, the acting is first-class (well, just look at the cast!) and the viewer is left with a feeling of "Well done, chaps! That's one on the nose for Jerry!"
Although I had seen this movie when it was a theatre release, this was purchased after I watched the recent TV "mini-series" on Colditz done by the BBC. The film is as enjoyable now as it was all those many years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film,good blu ray., 28 Dec 2012
This is a very good film,and very faithfull to the book that was written by Pat Ried.The blu ray transfer is excellent considering the age of this movie 1955.The director Guy Hamilton does a great job with this,by the way he went on to do Goldfinger and Live and let die to name but a few.The documentary on this is also excellent,plus you get a comparrison of before and after HD upgrade.All in all a very good blu ray,well worth adding to your collection,may i also recommend the definative colditz series the BBC did that series is amazingly good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars British pluck, resourcefulness and courage, exemplified by John Mills, 12 Jun 2007
By 
C. O. DeRiemer (San Antonio, Texas, USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
The Colditz Story was one of a number of movies the British made during the Fifties which relived the victories and bravery of their armed services during WWII. Often these movies starred John Mills. The Colditz Story is based on fact. Colditz Castle in Germany was used to imprison the most incorrigible prisoners-of-war, those who persistently made escape attempts. British, French, Polish and Dutch officers were sent there. Unfortunately for the Germans, they wound up trying to keep inside men dedicated to escaping, and who had skills they now could share. The result was that more prisoners of war escaped from Colditz than from any other prisoner of war camp in either the First or Second World Wars.

The movie is based on the memoirs of Pat Reid (John Mills), who served as an escape officer at Colditz and then was one of the first to break out and make it back to England. While the movie is a bit dated, it also is a dramatic and efficient telling of escape attempts, ruses played against the German captors and, of course, of the unfailing courage and good spirits of the British officers. Take the film for what it is, a demonstration for British audiences of the pluck and courage of their military during a horrendously threatening war which they won, and you won't be disappointed.

If you're fond of old British movies, you'll recognize, among others, Eric Portman, Lionel Jeffries, Bryan Forbes and Ian Carmichael. The DVD I saw has a picture and audio in very good shape considering the age of the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A classic film, 4 Sep 2014
By 
Rachel Senhurst (Peterhead, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought to replace a long deceased VHS version, this DVD is still as good to watch as the film ever was.
I might have preferred it on Blu Ray but one cannot have everything.
This story works as a war film and as a prison story even though the liberties taken with history were frankly unnecessary.
All in all, well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a must have for any war film collection, showing ..., 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a must have for any war film collection, showing the lighter side of trying to escape a prison camp, with a couple of laughs know as "goon baiting".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars view on video, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good movie i hadnt seen it since i was a kid well packed and it was a true story which ii am interested
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Colditz Story (DVD), 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This DVD arrived within a couple of days. Having just been to visit Colditz wanted to see the film again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, 14 Oct 2013
By 
Margaret Fox (Bucks, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having recently visited Colditz Castle, I wanted to see the film again, so bought the DVD.
Excellent film, arrived promptly too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good movie but a bit dated, 29 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good movie which, for those that know, squeezes alot of escape attempts into a mere 90 minutes - so, all is a bit rushed. The acting however is good if a bit dated. This is a classic in the order of the Dambusters and Battle of Britain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars exciting, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Colditz Story [DVD] (DVD)
have just returned from Colditz castle myself so bought this a s interested to hear the full story and now can imagine when and where it all took place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Colditz Story [VHS]
The Colditz Story [VHS] by Guy Hamilton (VHS Tape - 2001)
6.77
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews