Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars68
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: VHS Tape|Change
Price:£6.38+ £2.80 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 November 2003
Any one who has ever dreamed - anyone who has ever truly been in love - anyone who has lost - anyone who has been fearful will love this film!
Throw off the cynicism of the 21st century - forget where you live and the job you work hard at and emerse yourself in a film that will fuel your imagination, awaken the child within you and breathe life back into your dreams.
Camelot IS a beautiful film if you allow it to be. Yes it is old fashioned - but that is it's charm - it throws itself into it's own realm of fantasy without apology or embarrasment. The main cast revel in their characters and could not have done a greater job. Women will fall in love with Arthur - men will know of his torment. You will be swept along by Guenevere and Lancelot both loving them and condeming them for their destructive but beautiful love for each other.
You will laugh and you will cry at the sheer wonder of this film.
I feel sorry for anyone who watches Camelot and doesn't get swept away by it. It is a testament to the unfading talent of Richard Harris, Vanessa Redgrave and Franco Nero and everyone else involved.
0Comment|40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2005
I enjoyed "Camelot" from the very moment the title came onscreen, in big red lettering. The focus of the musical is on the destructive love triangle between Arthur, Guinevere and Lancelot, and on the idealized and idyllic lost world that was once Camelot. Despite the sense of loss, it ends on a hopeful note, that one day, Camelot may rise again. Pay attention to the little boy at the end of the movie: his name is Tom, he is from Warwickshire, and he is knighted by Arthur. I'm pretty sure this is an allusion to Sir Thomas Malory, on whose work "Camelot" is based, and who was also a knight and from Warwickshire. Moreover, Malory wrote "Le Morte Darthur" out of a nostalgic and idealistic vision of knighthood, so the idealistic little boy, who still believes in Camelot, almost certainly represents him. Malory, of course, lived in the fifteenth century, so could by no means have been a historical Arthur's contemporary,yet I'm sure Tom is brought in in deference to him.
Much of the story is told through the songs. The songs are wonderful, and I enjoyed all of them, but "The simple joys of Maidenhood," "I loved you once in silence," "The Lusty Month of May," "Then You May Take Me to the Fair" and of course "Camelot," (including its reprise at the close of the film, with different lyrics), are simply amazing. And it's not just the music. The lyrics are marvelous.
One reviewer writes that he is disappointed with the singing. I can imagine that after seeing the play with Julie Andrews in New York, one has every right to feel that way. Vanessa Redgrave is not Julie Andrews, to be sure, but she looks beautiful on screen, and her singing is more than OK, as is the singing of Richard Harris (Arthur) and Franco Nero (Lancelot). It could have been better, but it is enjoyable as it is, and I like the idea that the actors playing the parts are also the ones who sing. Incidentally, both Richard Harris and the young blue-eyed Franco Nero look very good, each in his own way.
This DVD has been digitally remastered, and as a result, the image is simply superb! The settings are splendid and almost overwhelming.
"Camelot" is so good, and so enchanting, that after watching it for the first time till the late hours of the night, I decided to watch some of it again for a while, I just couldn't part with it. Give yourself a treat and buy this DVD, you couln't go wrong with it!
33 comments|51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2014
Crisp, clear sound. Heard every word. Music never conflicts with the dialogue.

No digital special effects. Not needed. Simple settings that add rather than distract from the story.

Beautiful clothes. Vanessa Redgrave's dresses are superb.

Richard Harris is brilliant.

The music and lyrics are touching and excellently delivered.

'Where are the Simple Joys of Maidenhood?' "Gone Forever", I thought.

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed this film. If you like musicals of a certain type and have not seen this - Buy it. If you saw it many years ago, as we did, then buy it.

Modern film makers should watch this and learn that clear dialogue, excellent direction, great acting and editing make for a film that we enjoy rather than try to understand.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Camelot, winner of 3 Academy Awards, special edition DVD.

Camelot, the musical, is based upon the legend of King Arthur, Richard Harris, who lives in the idyllic Camelot while awaiting his new bride Guenevere, Vanessa Redgrave. Little does Arthur realise that his new bride will shortly fall in love with the bravest of his knights Sir Lancelot, Franco Nero, a love affair that will tear his beloved kingdom apart.

For me, just a personal opinion, there has never been a better King Arthur than Richard Harris on stage. His musical performance might not be perfect but he brings so much soul and passion to the music I never tire of listening and watching. This is a real treat for fans of musical theatre and I'm more than happy to recommend.

This is a remastered version of the original packaged inside a cardboard sleeve with a scene index printed inside the front cover. Has an opening and locking black, plastic hinge to the side.

The details:

Camelot is contained on one DVD with a running time of approx. 173 minutes.
Certificate U - suitable for all.
Special Features; Interactive menus, Scene Access.
Language in Dolby Digital 5.1; English.
Subtitles in English/Arabic/English for the hearing impaired.

Director; Moss Hart.
Starring; Richard Harris, Vanessa Redgrave, Franco Nero, David Hemmings, Lionel Jeffries and Laurence Naismith.
Music by Frederick Loewe with screenplay and lyrics by Alan Jay Lerner.

One more thing to add; sit back and enjoy!.
review image
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2003
A stunning, magical, wonderful film. A beautiful story with quality acting and memorable songs. There's a reason it got 3 oscars!
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2014
The film looks and sounds fantastic however it's not what I expected after reading reviews from other sites which listed a booklet and free CD as being included and this had neither otherwise I would have given 5 stars.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2007
First off I must confess to being a fan of most thing Arthurian (although I hated "King Arthur The True Story"). That said, on to the review;

I have liked this film from the first time I saw it some 20 or so years ago on TV. The story centres on the love triangle between Arthur, Guinevere and Lancelot so misses out a lot of the other legends. It is a bit twee at times and the setting is definitely middle age rather than dark age (lots of plate armour and knights on horseback) but the sets, lighting and cinematography are superb.

Richard Harris is a superb Arthur (in role he seemed to make his own in several stage versions and this film version), Vanessa Redgrave is a passable Guinevere although she looks too old for the role, and Franco Nero is a dashing (and dubbed) Lancelot. The support cast is excellent and the songs by Lerner and Leowe are memorable (I'm sure you'll be singing bits of them for days after watching).

I won't give too much away but at times this an uplifting film at at others you will really feel for all three main characters as the tragic love triangle unfolds, all told in one long flash back as Arthur reminises about his life from the day he met Guinevere to the morning of his final(?) battle with Lancelot (it starts and ends here). Neither of them want to fight, but events take over and are apparently unstoppable. Arthur has tried all his life to be a good and just king and now, at the end he sees everything he has worked for falling apart, except on that fateful morning before the battle he finds it is not all for nothing in the form of... sorry, giving too much away.

Suffice it to say, a tissue might be needed at the end, if not sooner.

For modern Arthurians, there's no big battle only some tame jousting, and some even tamer mock fights inside camelot itself (lead of course by Mordred), but that makes for an even better film which concentrates on the love story.

I cannot recommend this film more highly... simply superb escapism for around three hours and at a bargain price. GET IT.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2013
I love everything about (and regarding) our legendary King Arthur and this DVD doesn't let me down.
It depicts the greatness of British acting and I love the fun and the drama in this story. Yes there is singing but its not constant and it can be really funny in places.
Its also a fun surprise for any Dumbledore fan to see the original actor who played the wizard, play a young king. Oh and Merlin does resemble the wizard too. Makes me think Dumbledore must of been a fan too lol.
It's an old favourite of mine and I'm delighted to have it once again on DVD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2000
once in a while a classic arrives and will never be beaten. reguardless of age this fits the bill perfectly. If you are looking for magesty and true musical excellance you can look no further. There maybe no computer graphics, no gladiator style fight sequences or even the explosions Die hard fans seek today to even consider a film worth watching but it has so much more. For those to young to remember when this was either first released or shown on tele this video will allow you a unique oppotunity to relieve films that occasionally get labelled classics and even more rarely deserve the title. Sit back, relax and enjoy a film at it's original best.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2016
SUCH A LOVELY FILM ,I HAVE JUST WATCHED IT THREE DAYS IN A ROW ,WONDERFUL LOVE STORY BUT SAD AS WELL .I WOULD NEVER HAVE THOUGHT THAT RICHARD HARRIS COULD PLAY SUCH A SENSITIVE PART AND HE PLAYS IT MAGNIFICENTLY ,I HAVE NEVER BEEN A FAN OF HIS BUT HIS PERFOMANCE IN THIS FILM WON ME OVER. WONDERFUL ACTING.AND THE FACT THAT VANESSA REDGRAVE AND FRANCO NERO FELL IN LOVE WHILE MAKING THE FILM MAKES IT EVEN MORE SPECIAL. WONDERFUL MUSIC WONDERFUL LYRICS I COULD GO ON AND ON.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)