Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Splendid!
I enjoyed "Camelot" from the very moment the title came onscreen, in big red lettering. The focus of the musical is on the destructive love triangle between Arthur, Guinevere and Lancelot, and on the idealized and idyllic lost world that was once Camelot. Despite the sense of loss, it ends on a hopeful note, that one day, Camelot may rise again. Pay attention to the...
Published on 13 April 2005 by Dorie

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing Blu Ray
A disappointment!
The transfer may be as good as they can do but the reality is a dark image which often has little definition and is occasionally so soft it looks totally out of focus. Those who have given me negative votes for saying this should refer to the bluray dot com sites etc which say exactly the same.Add to this a far from substantial audio track which...
Published on 5 Jun 2012 by Adrian Drew


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Splendid!, 13 April 2005
I enjoyed "Camelot" from the very moment the title came onscreen, in big red lettering. The focus of the musical is on the destructive love triangle between Arthur, Guinevere and Lancelot, and on the idealized and idyllic lost world that was once Camelot. Despite the sense of loss, it ends on a hopeful note, that one day, Camelot may rise again. Pay attention to the little boy at the end of the movie: his name is Tom, he is from Warwickshire, and he is knighted by Arthur. I'm pretty sure this is an allusion to Sir Thomas Malory, on whose work "Camelot" is based, and who was also a knight and from Warwickshire. Moreover, Malory wrote "Le Morte Darthur" out of a nostalgic and idealistic vision of knighthood, so the idealistic little boy, who still believes in Camelot, almost certainly represents him. Malory, of course, lived in the fifteenth century, so could by no means have been a historical Arthur's contemporary,yet I'm sure Tom is brought in in deference to him.
Much of the story is told through the songs. The songs are wonderful, and I enjoyed all of them, but "The simple joys of Maidenhood," "I loved you once in silence," "The Lusty Month of May," "Then You May Take Me to the Fair" and of course "Camelot," (including its reprise at the close of the film, with different lyrics), are simply amazing. And it's not just the music. The lyrics are marvelous.
One reviewer writes that he is disappointed with the singing. I can imagine that after seeing the play with Julie Andrews in New York, one has every right to feel that way. Vanessa Redgrave is not Julie Andrews, to be sure, but she looks beautiful on screen, and her singing is more than OK, as is the singing of Richard Harris (Arthur) and Franco Nero (Lancelot). It could have been better, but it is enjoyable as it is, and I like the idea that the actors playing the parts are also the ones who sing. Incidentally, both Richard Harris and the young blue-eyed Franco Nero look very good, each in his own way.
This DVD has been digitally remastered, and as a result, the image is simply superb! The settings are splendid and almost overwhelming.
"Camelot" is so good, and so enchanting, that after watching it for the first time till the late hours of the night, I decided to watch some of it again for a while, I just couldn't part with it. Give yourself a treat and buy this DVD, you couln't go wrong with it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IT IS A CLASSIC!!!!, 2 Nov 2003
By 
J. Besser - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Any one who has ever dreamed - anyone who has ever truly been in love - anyone who has lost - anyone who has been fearful will love this film!
Throw off the cynicism of the 21st century - forget where you live and the job you work hard at and emerse yourself in a film that will fuel your imagination, awaken the child within you and breathe life back into your dreams.
Camelot IS a beautiful film if you allow it to be. Yes it is old fashioned - but that is it's charm - it throws itself into it's own realm of fantasy without apology or embarrasment. The main cast revel in their characters and could not have done a greater job. Women will fall in love with Arthur - men will know of his torment. You will be swept along by Guenevere and Lancelot both loving them and condeming them for their destructive but beautiful love for each other.
You will laugh and you will cry at the sheer wonder of this film.
I feel sorry for anyone who watches Camelot and doesn't get swept away by it. It is a testament to the unfading talent of Richard Harris, Vanessa Redgrave and Franco Nero and everyone else involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic!, 15 Nov 2003
By 
S Naylor (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
A stunning, magical, wonderful film. A beautiful story with quality acting and memorable songs. There's a reason it got 3 oscars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars classical brilliance, 19 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Camelot [VHS] (VHS Tape)
once in a while a classic arrives and will never be beaten. reguardless of age this fits the bill perfectly. If you are looking for magesty and true musical excellance you can look no further. There maybe no computer graphics, no gladiator style fight sequences or even the explosions Die hard fans seek today to even consider a film worth watching but it has so much more. For those to young to remember when this was either first released or shown on tele this video will allow you a unique oppotunity to relieve films that occasionally get labelled classics and even more rarely deserve the title. Sit back, relax and enjoy a film at it's original best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Magical, 29 Jan 2007
By 
Mr. Andrew Moore "lord derfel cadarn" (Worcestershire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
First off I must confess to being a fan of most thing Arthurian (although I hated "King Arthur The True Story"). That said, on to the review;

I have liked this film from the first time I saw it some 20 or so years ago on TV. The story centres on the love triangle between Arthur, Guinevere and Lancelot so misses out a lot of the other legends. It is a bit twee at times and the setting is definitely middle age rather than dark age (lots of plate armour and knights on horseback) but the sets, lighting and cinematography are superb.

Richard Harris is a superb Arthur (in role he seemed to make his own in several stage versions and this film version), Vanessa Redgrave is a passable Guinevere although she looks too old for the role, and Franco Nero is a dashing (and dubbed) Lancelot. The support cast is excellent and the songs by Lerner and Leowe are memorable (I'm sure you'll be singing bits of them for days after watching).

I won't give too much away but at times this an uplifting film at at others you will really feel for all three main characters as the tragic love triangle unfolds, all told in one long flash back as Arthur reminises about his life from the day he met Guinevere to the morning of his final(?) battle with Lancelot (it starts and ends here). Neither of them want to fight, but events take over and are apparently unstoppable. Arthur has tried all his life to be a good and just king and now, at the end he sees everything he has worked for falling apart, except on that fateful morning before the battle he finds it is not all for nothing in the form of... sorry, giving too much away.

Suffice it to say, a tissue might be needed at the end, if not sooner.

For modern Arthurians, there's no big battle only some tame jousting, and some even tamer mock fights inside camelot itself (lead of course by Mordred), but that makes for an even better film which concentrates on the love story.

I cannot recommend this film more highly... simply superb escapism for around three hours and at a bargain price. GET IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful reminder of how a good film should entertain., 2 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Crisp, clear sound. Heard every word. Music never conflicts with the dialogue.

No digital special effects. Not needed. Simple settings that add rather than distract from the story.

Beautiful clothes. Vanessa Redgrave's dresses are superb.

Richard Harris is brilliant.

The music and lyrics are touching and excellently delivered.

'Where are the Simple Joys of Maidenhood?' "Gone Forever", I thought.

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed this film. If you like musicals of a certain type and have not seen this - Buy it. If you saw it many years ago, as we did, then buy it.

Modern film makers should watch this and learn that clear dialogue, excellent direction, great acting and editing make for a film that we enjoy rather than try to understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Camelot Blu-ray, 11 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. G. C. Johnson "G Johnson" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The film looks and sounds fantastic however it's not what I expected after reading reviews from other sites which listed a booklet and free CD as being included and this had neither otherwise I would have given 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good historical explanation, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Camelot [VHS] (VHS Tape)
A good record of the terms in establishing a constuitiional monarchy in Britian-by the rule of law-in democratic terms-of law
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Camelot, 7 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really good film, in good condition and a very enjoyable movie, Richard Harris played a very good part and so did the rest of the cast
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My favorite musical, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Being a true romantic .......that is why it is my very favorite....I use to have the music track on vinyl think I may have spelt that wrong...but know the words by heart to every song.....If ever I would leave you.---------
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Camelot [VHS]
Camelot [VHS] by Joshua Logan (VHS Tape - 2000)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews