Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
this DVD is an excellent buy! A very touching improvisation of Anna Sewells novel. You can see the tragedy and the hope. Sad, Sad ending! would recomend for horse fans over the age of 10!
Published on 6 Oct. 2007 by Horse riding addict

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Black Beauty...and the similarities end there!
After watching this film, I actually had to go back and check the novel to make sure I had read it properly. The DVD cover says, 'the faithful adaptation of Anna Sewell's classic novel'. I'd really like to know which copy they read!

The entire story is different; it's almost as if someone flicked through the book, picked out the character names and then made...
Published on 8 Oct. 2006 by Ms. J. A. Jacobs


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 6 Oct. 2007
this DVD is an excellent buy! A very touching improvisation of Anna Sewells novel. You can see the tragedy and the hope. Sad, Sad ending! would recomend for horse fans over the age of 10!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true classic with the saddist ending ever devised, 24 Mar. 2001
This review is from: Black Beauty [VHS] [1971] (VHS Tape)
What can you say. One of the classic pieces of literature about the companionship shared between a group of young friends and the most beautiful horse ever seen in a film. This is a timeless piece of work beautifully constructed and superbly directed this is a heart warming tale that will appeal to young and old alike. It is impossible to see this film and not be moved by the deep relationship formed between the horse and the children. Be warned though this film has the saddest ending I have ever seen. I won't give it away but have a box of tissues on standby. Maybe not a film that will appeal to everyone but a film that will appeal to a large enough majority to warrent the rating I have given it. See this film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mark Lester shines in this one, 17 Jan. 2007
By 
Mr. David Rayner "David Rayner" (STOKE-ON-TRENT, STAFFORDSHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Beauty (1971) [DVD] (DVD)
I agree with the comments of Ms J.A.Jacobs about this film bearing little resemblance to its source material, the novel, but it does have a few fine things going for it. Firstly, there is the angelic and totally beautiful Mark Lester, who was 12 years old when he made this film in 1970 (it was released in 1971) and he dominates the film, even though, despite being the main star of it, he's only in the film for the first 26 minutes and is glimpsed again briefly as the end cast plays. He is fascinating to watch and his facial expressions and the look in his eyes when he is watching Black Beauty being born are a joy to behold and are complemented superbly by the music score composed by Lionel Bart and John Cameron.

After Mark leaves the film, it changes atmosphere and tone considerably and seems to be another film entirely, only picking up again towards the end when Black Beauty is rescued from a cruel coal merchant and is reunited with Mark Lester's character, Joe, now a much older young man. The young Mark is then glimpsed briefly as the film ends.

The music score is often very haunting in the first 26 minutes or so and the scenery, set in England, but filmed in Ireland, is beautifully picturesque. Locations in Spain double for the film's other locations, such as India.

As for the DVD, the picture and sound quality are excellent, much better than on the old VHS video release and it's worth every penny of its very reasonable price. Extras include a stills gallery, which include a couple of colour stills from the film's British Front-of-House set (something I am lucky enough to have in my collection) and the original two and a half minute trailer from 1971. Even if you really only want to watch the first half an hour of the film, while Mark Lester is in it, I doubt that you'll be disappointed in this DVD. Go for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Black Beauty...and the similarities end there!, 8 Oct. 2006
By 
Ms. J. A. Jacobs (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Black Beauty (1971) [DVD] (DVD)
After watching this film, I actually had to go back and check the novel to make sure I had read it properly. The DVD cover says, 'the faithful adaptation of Anna Sewell's classic novel'. I'd really like to know which copy they read!

The entire story is different; it's almost as if someone flicked through the book, picked out the character names and then made the rest of it up. Black Beauty has the same name, but Joe Green is now Joe something-or-other and lives on the farm where he is born, Ginger is now a gelding, and the local squire dies, his son takes over, is cruel to Beauty and then perishes a la Reuben Smith in the novel. There is also a peculiar scene where Beauty is ridden by a gypsy in a drunken race.

Having never watched the series, I can't say if it's based on the television programme as opposed to the novel. Needless to say, being a fan of the book I was rather disappointed. The young (at the time) actor from Oliver features as the young boy, and unfortunately the emphasis is on the human characters; Black Beauty is rather a background catalyst for the various social observations. The film also tiptoes around many of the original author's points, for instance the hunt scene, one of the few scenes that actually comes from the book, is modified so that it is the cruel squire mistreating his horse that makes it unpleasant, as opposed to Sewell's opinion that it is a cruel and dangerous practice for all involved.

This version of Black Beauty, if it can be named as such,is perhaps the least faithful adaptation I have ever seen. That is not to say that it is unwatchable; it's a family slice of nostalgia if nothing else. Adults can identify with the various human struggles, as children can with the friendship between Joe and the horse. I just got the feeling that someone had a rather average idea for a horse story and decided to label it as Black Beauty to attract more attention. Disappointing, but only if you are a fan of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars nice enough movie, but poor adaptation......, 7 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Black Beauty [1971] [DVD] (DVD)
In itself this is not a bad movie, but the only thing it really shares with the book is Black Beauty himself and the most basic bare bones of the storyline. Like the book its about a beautiful and gentle black horse that gets passed from home to home, but most events which happen in the book are excluded, and completely new situations are thrown in (Beauty as a circus horse anyone?)

Also all the other main horse characters in the book (except Duchess)are either completely (or mostly) ignored. For example, Ginger, probably the most memorable horse in the book besides Beauty himself is only briefly glimpsed twice, and for some reason she is now a he. I know no film can include everything or be 100% faithful all the time, but it felt to me like they didn't even try, and it was disappointing they didn't even get the details right.
Also this adaptation often focuses far more on the lives of the people who own Beauty than on Beauty himself - at times it even feels like the title character is positively shoved into the background to make way for the human stars.

That said this film does have its good points, the friendship between Beauty & Joe shines through fairly well, and despite the changes and omissions, at least some of the message Anna Sewell was trying to get across is still there. Even though I personally think the 1994 remake is a far better adaptation, this movie is still enjoyable if you like horses.

Overall its a fairly good horse movie, just a disappointing adaptation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watch from behind a cushion, 13 Dec. 2012
By 
Mrs. Jane T. Mansfield (Walsall, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Beauty [1971] [DVD] (DVD)
My daughter loves this film - but anything with cruelty to horses and it sends me to a dark place. Typical 1970's film. Oliver Reed is menacing as usual. Has a happy ending... but only just. Watch it at your peril.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We like this version very much, 2 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Beauty (1971) [DVD] (DVD)
I thank you for another good product at very reasonable price, keep up the good work.
We are very pleased with your service and good quality dvd's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for horse loving children, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Beauty [DVD] (1971) (DVD)
She loved it and even shared it with her younger sister, parents enjoyed the quiet interlude from both children [aged 5 & 7]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Oldie but goodie, 8 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Beauty (1971) [DVD] (DVD)
I ordered this for my horse-crazy 7 year old. She loved it. I grew up on this version and loved the book. I know there is a newer version but
I have never seen it. This DVD occasionally had little red spots flicker quickly on the screen, like old movies, but it wasn't a problem. The story is great and I think today's kids need to see what things looked like in the past! Good, clean story and the horses are gorgeous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars all excellent. Thanks Amazon, 7 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Beauty [1971] [DVD] (DVD)
Quite an old version but still lovely to watch. Children seem to want different formats these days, but I cried all through it and will watch again. Price, quality, service...all excellent. Thanks Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Black Beauty [VHS] [1971]
Black Beauty [VHS] [1971] by James Hill (VHS Tape - 2002)
£8.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews