Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
this DVD is an excellent buy! A very touching improvisation of Anna Sewells novel. You can see the tragedy and the hope. Sad, Sad ending! would recomend for horse fans over the age of 10!
Published on 6 Oct 2007 by Horse riding addict

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Black Beauty...and the similarities end there!
After watching this film, I actually had to go back and check the novel to make sure I had read it properly. The DVD cover says, 'the faithful adaptation of Anna Sewell's classic novel'. I'd really like to know which copy they read!

The entire story is different; it's almost as if someone flicked through the book, picked out the character names and then made...
Published on 8 Oct 2006 by Ms. J. A. Jacobs


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 6 Oct 2007
this DVD is an excellent buy! A very touching improvisation of Anna Sewells novel. You can see the tragedy and the hope. Sad, Sad ending! would recomend for horse fans over the age of 10!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true classic with the saddist ending ever devised, 24 Mar 2001
This review is from: Black Beauty [VHS] [1971] (VHS Tape)
What can you say. One of the classic pieces of literature about the companionship shared between a group of young friends and the most beautiful horse ever seen in a film. This is a timeless piece of work beautifully constructed and superbly directed this is a heart warming tale that will appeal to young and old alike. It is impossible to see this film and not be moved by the deep relationship formed between the horse and the children. Be warned though this film has the saddest ending I have ever seen. I won't give it away but have a box of tissues on standby. Maybe not a film that will appeal to everyone but a film that will appeal to a large enough majority to warrent the rating I have given it. See this film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mark Lester shines in this one, 17 Jan 2007
By 
Mr. David Rayner "David Rayner" (STOKE-ON-TRENT, STAFFORDSHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Beauty (1971) [DVD] (DVD)
I agree with the comments of Ms J.A.Jacobs about this film bearing little resemblance to its source material, the novel, but it does have a few fine things going for it. Firstly, there is the angelic and totally beautiful Mark Lester, who was 12 years old when he made this film in 1970 (it was released in 1971) and he dominates the film, even though, despite being the main star of it, he's only in the film for the first 26 minutes and is glimpsed again briefly as the end cast plays. He is fascinating to watch and his facial expressions and the look in his eyes when he is watching Black Beauty being born are a joy to behold and are complemented superbly by the music score composed by Lionel Bart and John Cameron.

After Mark leaves the film, it changes atmosphere and tone considerably and seems to be another film entirely, only picking up again towards the end when Black Beauty is rescued from a cruel coal merchant and is reunited with Mark Lester's character, Joe, now a much older young man. The young Mark is then glimpsed briefly as the film ends.

The music score is often very haunting in the first 26 minutes or so and the scenery, set in England, but filmed in Ireland, is beautifully picturesque. Locations in Spain double for the film's other locations, such as India.

As for the DVD, the picture and sound quality are excellent, much better than on the old VHS video release and it's worth every penny of its very reasonable price. Extras include a stills gallery, which include a couple of colour stills from the film's British Front-of-House set (something I am lucky enough to have in my collection) and the original two and a half minute trailer from 1971. Even if you really only want to watch the first half an hour of the film, while Mark Lester is in it, I doubt that you'll be disappointed in this DVD. Go for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Black Beauty...and the similarities end there!, 8 Oct 2006
By 
Ms. J. A. Jacobs (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Black Beauty (1971) [DVD] (DVD)
After watching this film, I actually had to go back and check the novel to make sure I had read it properly. The DVD cover says, 'the faithful adaptation of Anna Sewell's classic novel'. I'd really like to know which copy they read!

The entire story is different; it's almost as if someone flicked through the book, picked out the character names and then made the rest of it up. Black Beauty has the same name, but Joe Green is now Joe something-or-other and lives on the farm where he is born, Ginger is now a gelding, and the local squire dies, his son takes over, is cruel to Beauty and then perishes a la Reuben Smith in the novel. There is also a peculiar scene where Beauty is ridden by a gypsy in a drunken race.

Having never watched the series, I can't say if it's based on the television programme as opposed to the novel. Needless to say, being a fan of the book I was rather disappointed. The young (at the time) actor from Oliver features as the young boy, and unfortunately the emphasis is on the human characters; Black Beauty is rather a background catalyst for the various social observations. The film also tiptoes around many of the original author's points, for instance the hunt scene, one of the few scenes that actually comes from the book, is modified so that it is the cruel squire mistreating his horse that makes it unpleasant, as opposed to Sewell's opinion that it is a cruel and dangerous practice for all involved.

This version of Black Beauty, if it can be named as such,is perhaps the least faithful adaptation I have ever seen. That is not to say that it is unwatchable; it's a family slice of nostalgia if nothing else. Adults can identify with the various human struggles, as children can with the friendship between Joe and the horse. I just got the feeling that someone had a rather average idea for a horse story and decided to label it as Black Beauty to attract more attention. Disappointing, but only if you are a fan of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We like this version very much, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Beauty (1971) [DVD] (DVD)
I thank you for another good product at very reasonable price, keep up the good work.
We are very pleased with your service and good quality dvd's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watch from behind a cushion, 13 Dec 2012
By 
Mrs. Jane T. Mansfield (Walsall, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Beauty [1971] [DVD] (DVD)
My daughter loves this film - but anything with cruelty to horses and it sends me to a dark place. Typical 1970's film. Oliver Reed is menacing as usual. Has a happy ending... but only just. Watch it at your peril.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good copy happy with purchase lovely film ideal for kids ..., 4 July 2014
This review is from: Black Beauty (1971) [DVD] (DVD)
good copy happy with purchase lovely film ideal for kids and a story that they will remember arrived on time packed well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for horse loving children, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Beauty [DVD] (1971) (DVD)
She loved it and even shared it with her younger sister, parents enjoyed the quiet interlude from both children [aged 5 & 7]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Oldie but goodie, 8 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Beauty (1971) [DVD] (DVD)
I ordered this for my horse-crazy 7 year old. She loved it. I grew up on this version and loved the book. I know there is a newer version but
I have never seen it. This DVD occasionally had little red spots flicker quickly on the screen, like old movies, but it wasn't a problem. The story is great and I think today's kids need to see what things looked like in the past! Good, clean story and the horses are gorgeous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Birthday Present, 21 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Beauty [DVD] (1971) (DVD)
The dvd arrived on time and was just what was wanted for the birhday present. The packaging was correct and there are no complaints
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Black Beauty [VHS] [1971]
Black Beauty [VHS] [1971] by James Hill (VHS Tape - 2002)
8.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews