Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not that bad
The film itself is great, there are some really funny pieces in there, although there is no particular plot line as such.

Everyone seems to complain about the image quality, but i really don't think its as bad as people make out. I've included some screenshots so you can make your own mind up. Yes it is a bit grainy, and the contrast/brightness seems too high...
Published on 28 Jan. 2010 by C. Davis

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear! Review of 2004 Edition (Mainly).
How could this have been allowed to get to the market? The quality of the picture is abysmal. I used to get better pictures on my old VHS and from tapes that had been recorded over and over. It does look like a pirate.
As for the film itself...It pains me to say it, being a massive Beatles fan, but it's fairly dreadful. There are a couple of good sequences, I Am The...
Published on 7 Jan. 2010 by John W. Edelman


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear! Review of 2004 Edition (Mainly)., 7 Jan. 2010
By 
John W. Edelman (Middlesex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
How could this have been allowed to get to the market? The quality of the picture is abysmal. I used to get better pictures on my old VHS and from tapes that had been recorded over and over. It does look like a pirate.
As for the film itself...It pains me to say it, being a massive Beatles fan, but it's fairly dreadful. There are a couple of good sequences, I Am The Walrus and The Fool On The Hill, for example but in the main it's not a pleasant viewing experience.I have a feeling it's the kind of thing that my 14 year old son and his mates might come up with if they had unlimited amounts of cash at their disposal.
If Apple / EMI ever release a cleaned up edition, with extras (maybe the 1967 promo films?) I would buy it again, of course. But if you're not a complete Beatles nut my advice would be: Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not that bad, 28 Jan. 2010
By 
C. Davis "Carl" (Burton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The film itself is great, there are some really funny pieces in there, although there is no particular plot line as such.

Everyone seems to complain about the image quality, but i really don't think its as bad as people make out. I've included some screenshots so you can make your own mind up. Yes it is a bit grainy, and the contrast/brightness seems too high at times, but it really didn't hinder my enjoyment of the film.

The sound is a bit dodgy, especially during quiet parts when there's a bit of a hiss, but this is barely noticeable when the songs are playing.

This is the best available on DVD until Apple finally pull their fingers out and release an official, remastered version, hopefully along with 'Let It Be', which they must know fans have been waiting years for!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


95 of 106 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing DVD presentation, 19 July 2005
By 
Michel Couzijn (Hillegom, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
What do you expect when a DVD publisher writes "Digitally Remastered (From Original Print)" THREE TIMES on the DVD cover? Not such a vague and grainy film as this is. The colours are at times vague and at least uneven. Particularly in the beginning of the movie the picture quality is hardly bearable. Besides, the audio quality is thin.
"Avenue One" can hardly offer 'old age' of the source material as an excuse for this disappointing re-issue of 'Magical Mystery Tour'. This movie was shot using professional camera's and films - and other movies from the late sixties have aged *much* better.
The movie itself is entertaining (though not great), particularly for long-time Beatle fans. (Admitted, they will swallow everything Beatle - Every Little Thing). I particular like the performances of 'I am the Walrus' and 'Fool on the hill' (Paul with the plainest face possible).
My advice: buy this if you can get this cheap. Don't let those responsible for this release earn to much from it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish quality, but worth having if you don't have VHS, 29 Dec. 2007
I bought this from a Beatles memorabilia shop in London, and I kind of guessed it would be a substandard copy, as everything about the cover screams 'unofficial, unsanctioned, badly packaged rubbish'.

So of course, I bought it. Well, I had never seen the film before, and no longer have a VCR, so for the time being this is my only chance to see it.

The blurred picture quality and hissy sound betray its roots - this was copied to digital from a VHS tape. Remastered, my @rse! There is also a nasty humming sound that pervades the entire film.

OK, what about the film?

To Beatles fans such as me, this film is very enjoyable. There's no real plot to speak of - I don't even think they started out with any kind of script - it's mainly four lads having a bit of fun with a film camera. It looks like it was made up as it went along. But the humour and weirdness and creativity of these lads is still fun to watch.

But most importantly, it contains some fantastic music, as taken from the 1967 Magical Mystery Tour EP (and the compilation album of the same name, which pulled together all the singles/EPs from 1967 and was dreadfully packaged by their American label, Capitol).

As with the Help and A Hard Day's Night films, Magical Mystery Tour's song sections are forerunners to the pop video (only, much better in many cases). I Am The Walrus is an example of a fine song with an enjoyable and creative visual sequence to accompany it.

So, I would still recommend for Beatles Fans who do not have - or cannot obtain - the VHS version, to get this, if only to whet their appetites until the official DVD release comes out (who knows when).

Casual buyers should probably not bother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 81 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pretty awful!, 23 April 2006
By 
R. D. Butler (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This so called 're-mastered' version is no such thing, it has to have been copied from VHS Video to DVD using a cheap recorder and poor quality discs! The film itself should have been heavily edited years ago, but there are some good bits; I am The Walrus and Fool on the Hill segments stand out particularly well. Does not compare favourably with A Hard Days Night, Help or Let it Be. Think of it as a kind of lengthy pop promo video. This grainy, poor quality version is to be avoided at all costs....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


71 of 80 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid at all costs-2004 Edition Review, 5 Nov. 2006
By 
Kenneth Melville (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was seduced by the "digitally remastered" note on the cover.

For any serious Beatles fan i would say to avoid at all costs. The picture quality is truly awful.It has obviously been copied from VHS. The

film itself is a mixed bag. Very much of it's time..and the poor picture and sound on the DVD do not make for a pleasurable experience.Wait for the official release i would say. NOTE - A new restored version is coming out in October 2012. This is NOT a review of that product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars are they on drugs?, 26 Sept. 2003
This review is from: The Beatles - Magical Mystery Tour [1967] [VHS] (VHS Tape)
To be honest there was not much chance of me disliking this film. I'm not a beatlemaniac, I just love the beatles. I don't think you nessecerily have to be a 'beatle' fan to enjoy this film.
To me, the fact that for the most part, this film was not received well and is fairly unknown, makes it more interesting. Help was nowhere near as good as this (in completely different ballparks).
This was one of two films the beatles made during their 'psychedelic' period,(along with yellow submarine). The film does have quite an eerie undercurrent (the beatles dress up as annoying gay wizards). John lennons narration is good especially at the beginning of the film. Theres a scene where Ringo's fat auntie, falls asleep and starts dreaming about food. John lennon dressed up as a waiter is shovelling slop on to the table whilst she is eating it and crying her eyes out! very strange. The scene looks a lot like one from monty pythons 'the meaning of life'.
There is a funny scene with victor spinetti, he plays the babbeling army sergeant who shouts at cows and midgets. Parts of this film are boring but it makes for good viewing when Ringo shouts "I cant stand it anymore! I'm getting off."
I really liked the circus organ version of 'she loves you'. Also there are the videos for 'I am the walrus'(humourous, slightly scary) a classic, 'fool on the hill', which features paul mccartney pratting about in a field looking like something from a dr seuss book, and 'blue jay way'(quite scary) by which time, you know the trip has taken a turn for the worst (although after the song, everyone stands up and claps enthusiastically like a bunch of jolly zombies).
The film ends with John saying "I told you it was gonna be a magical mystical tour.." in his trademark bigheaded way. whilst most of ya will be thinking "What you on about mate? that wasn't magical?"
A worthwhile film in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unwatchable, 1 Oct. 2005
The `quality` of this DVD is appalling. It looks like an old VHS tape that`s been copied a thousand times. It states `Digitally Remastered` on the cover but from what? The clips of Magical Mystery Tour on the Anthology DVD are crystal clear with sharp sound. This is dull and grainy with muffled and hissy sound and looks like a pirate copy made in someones bedroom. Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Beatles - Magical Mystery Tour DVD, 7 Jan. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nostalgic Christmas present was a big let down. This digital rendering from the original film version was poor in terms of very blurred, over-exposed and washed-out colour. The original was seen on a 20" B & W television back in the 60's. I do not remember the picture quality being so bad. Perhaps somewhere, there is a better version!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars There is a better quality version out there!, 9 Oct. 2010
By 
SeaWasp (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
Under no circumstances should you buy this Avenue One dvd, Avenue One are notorious here in Australia for their poor quality product and none of it is "remastered". I know the clown who owns the company. It is in your best interests to stay away.

Having said that, if you really want a copy of this movie, MPI Home Video had one on the market some years ago that was superior quality and with extra features. I used to own a copy but I sold it because I found the movie a little lack-lustre. ..but the picture quality and sound was marvelous. MPI also originally released "The Beatles First U.S. Visit", "Help" and "The Making Of A Hard Days Night" at the same time..all in excellent quality. MPI is an American company, so the dvds were in NTSC but played ALL regions.

So yeah, if you want a GOOD copy of Magical Mystery Tour, it does exist...but you may have to look to the USA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Beatles - Magical Mystery Tour [1967] [VHS]
The Beatles - Magical Mystery Tour [1967] [VHS] by Bernard Knowles (VHS Tape - 1996)
£6.93
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews