Customer Reviews


96 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 64 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dig the Mosquito!!
This was one of my fave films ever when I was 11, along with the Dambusters and Battle of Britain. I didn't notice the fairly naff special effects or at times bad acting, but I was taken with the Mosquito and the the ending where 633 Squadron fly up the fjord and try to blow up the V2 rocket fuel factory.
Seeing it 10 years later, I still very much enjoy it, but...
Published on 4 Oct. 2004 by Mr. B. K. Taylor

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "You can't kill a squadron."
From the days when the Mirisch Corporation could do no wrong and when James Clavell was still a screenwriter rather than a bestselling novelist, 633 Squadron is a well crafted, unpretentious and enjoyable boys own adventure about a Mosquito squadron (led by imported American star Cliff Robertson) on a suicide mission against a Nazi factory located in a...
Published on 11 Jan. 2009 by Trevor Willsmer


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "You can't kill a squadron.", 11 Jan. 2009
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 633 Squadron [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
From the days when the Mirisch Corporation could do no wrong and when James Clavell was still a screenwriter rather than a bestselling novelist, 633 Squadron is a well crafted, unpretentious and enjoyable boys own adventure about a Mosquito squadron (led by imported American star Cliff Robertson) on a suicide mission against a Nazi factory located in a Norwegian fjord. A playground favourite in the pre-Schwarzenegger days if ever there was one (come on, how many of you pretended to be bombers while humming the theme tune when you were kids?) with a finale that reputedly influenced the climax of Star Wars, it's hard to make a case for it being a great film. But while the clichés fly thick and fast, it still makes for an entertaining guilty pleasure for all overgrown schoolboys.

The widescreen 2.3:1 transfer is decent without being spectacular, with the original trailer the only extra.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 64 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dig the Mosquito!!, 4 Oct. 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 633 Squadron [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
This was one of my fave films ever when I was 11, along with the Dambusters and Battle of Britain. I didn't notice the fairly naff special effects or at times bad acting, but I was taken with the Mosquito and the the ending where 633 Squadron fly up the fjord and try to blow up the V2 rocket fuel factory.
Seeing it 10 years later, I still very much enjoy it, but notice the faults (the naff effects etc) but it doesn't take away from a very enjoyable film. The parts where they discuss the mission and train for it are all well done, and the flying scenes (apart from the dodgy models) are well done. The parts with the squadron leader and the resistance cell's leader's sister are pretty bad though.
I'd definately recommend this, along with Battle of Britain and The Dambusters as a great war film, and a chance to see some great aeroplanes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Watch this one for the Mosquito's., 27 Nov. 2014
This review is from: 633 Squadron [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
The perfect gift for all historical movie enthusiasts is THE ROMA VICTRIX WINE BEAKER[[ASIN:B004WWNHFM Calix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine
beaker]]
I remember 1964 quite well and "633 Squadron" was one of those highlights. I first saw "633" during its initial release. I was 8 years old at the time and infatuated with just about any plane that flew especially WWII aircraft.

Yes, I have read some comments on this movie about the use of less than realistic props (airplane models) but let's not forget this was shot back in the early 60's. I think it was done well for the special effects technology available at the time.

Just the sight of the actual Mosquito flying scenes (don't forget there weren't very many restored Mosquitos around to fly) did it for me not to mention the opening scene flying through the clouds as the opening score played on. It really gets my blood pumping to this day!

Watch this film for its remarkable footage of one very remarkable aircraft, the film's real stars.......the exciting, beautiful, fast, deHavilland Mosquito's. The dialogue is sometimes painful to recall, the story could have been better written, but the flying sequences recalls many real Mosquito W.W. II exploits as a pinpoint high speed strike aircraft, such as the real historical attack at rooftop height in France on the Gestapo headquarters freeing the many French Resistance prisoners standing out foremost. Why could the story not revolve around this real historical exploit, among many others?

Cliff Robertson's real life flying experience bleeds through somewhat, but we are wishing more. The romantic subplot?...fast forward the video through this. Also the kinky Gestapo woman interrogating Chakiris! Enjoy the Goodwin score, as the Mosquitos practice for there mission in the Scottish highlands, and the sound of those Merlin engines. Love those planes! '633 Squadron' is a keeper, but for aircraft buffs only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 633 Squadron, 27 Oct. 2003
By 
David A. Fisher "dave-fisher1" (Mississauga, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 633 Squadron [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
My first of many viewings of this movie, was during a rained off test match. The BBC seemed to have this film on permanent standby for rainy cricket matches in our beautiful summers. If you have a love of WWII aircraft especially the wonderfull Mosquito this is a must. The plot is a little predictable, and takes a while to get going. But hey you can always fast forward to the flying scenes. Having an American lead actor is dissapointing but ulitmately this does not detract from film as a whole. I wholeheartedly reccomend this film, especialy for a rainy summer afternoon when the weather has ruined a days cricket.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For Mosquito Lovers Everywhere, 14 Nov. 2004
By 
Graeme J. W. Smith "graemejwsmith" (Newport, RI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 633 Squadron [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
It's a pretty naff film (even for its era). The model and special effects were pretty poor - even then.
The HUGE plus for warbird afficandos are the last three airworthy Mosquitos roaring across the screen. It was the last time - and now at time of writing (Nov 2004) there are no airworthy Mossies - so the film records their wooden wonder passing.
Ron Goodwin's stirring "633 Squadron March" is a gem to go with the flying sequences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fall in for the blood pumping joy of De Havilland's Mosquitoes., 17 May 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 633 Squadron [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
Fall in for the blood pumping joy of De Havilland's Mosquitoes.

A WW2 squadron of Mosquito bombers are training for a perilous mission to bomb a cliff face in Norway; with the aim to bring the cliff tumbling down on the German arms factory below it.

633 Squadron may not be a film for the War enthusiast purists? But the work done here to make this film a winner should never be understated. In this day and age it's often forgotten how these type of film's relied on good aerial photography, deft model work, and a stirring score. All of which this picture contains, thus making 633 Squadron more than a wet day crowd pleaser. Sure the intermittent scenes between the training sequences and the actual mission are mere filler, and the subplots obviously halt the flow of the movie (hello romance, hello sacrifice clichés); but what they do do is give a sort of added feel to the proceedings come the mission at the end. We do after all have to have some sort of affinity with the characters putting their lives at risk, and we get that here courtesy of a well written first half. Also boasting (in my opinion naturally) one of the greatest scores used in a War movie, courtesy of Ron Goodwin, the film triumphs because the ending is all that you hope for. In truth it's never in doubt given the build up we are given (and being the normality for many genre pieces), but with little dashes of poignancy and slivers of adrenalin rushes, the impact is akin to a jingoistic chest thudding.

Besides which, if you can't get a tingle on your neck watching the Mosquitoes fly over the Norwegian fjord? Well you got no blood in your body say I! 7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 633 Squadron, 2 Jun. 2003
By 
RTFishall "terry5680" (Lincolnshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 633 Squadron [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
A marvellous film if only for the super flying sequences of that great aircraft "The Mosquito"
On the downside its suffers from the same casting trade-off that most British war films have to make...... It has to feature a Yank as the principle hero so that it could make money from the US box office!! Still worth buying though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars sigh for a merlin, 30 Sept. 2013
This review is from: 633 Squadron [VHS] [1964] (VHS Tape)
The obligatory American (a wooden Cliff Robertson) as the dramatic and romantic lead, a supposedly Norwegian co-star who looks about as Norwegian as Omar Sharif, cardboard characters who make up the rest of the cast, a great theme tune that becomes tedious through constant use, dodgy special effects (how do they manage to make those Mossies bank while the horizon stays level?)...

And yet... the film's dark and scrappy opening, with a group of Norwegian resistance getting massacred while a British plane takes off from a field in the nick of time, immediately followed by that thunderous Ron Goodwin opening music, the billowing white cloudscape and the blood-red title script - "THE MIRISCH CORPORATION.. 633 SQUADRON..." and, last but not least, the sound of the wonderful Merlin engine and those beautiful, beautiful Mosquitoes, blasting over the English countryside and screaming down those Scottish glens...

whose life is the poorer for having seen it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love Those Mossies, 10 Dec. 2009
This review is from: 633 Squadron [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
The stars of this film are those wonderful De Havilland
Mosquitoes. What a plane! Made of wood, used both
as a fighter and a bomber. Josef Goebbels cursed them
when they were used by RAF Bomber Command's Light Night
Striking Force when the bombed Berlin every night for
weeks on end towards the end of the war...they flew so
fast and high they had very light casualties and prevented
the Berliners from getting any sleep, sometimes carrying out
two raids per night. This film shows them in their role
as maneuverable light bombers in their daring raid.
In my opinion, the story is a little thin, but watching
the Mossies in action makes up for it. We see the stereotypical
"ice-water-in-his-veins" senior RAF Officer played by Harry
Andrews, Cliff Robertson plays an American volunteer for the
RAF who doesn't want to get too emotionally involved in the war, but who eventually gets consumed by it, and we see a Sikh pilot and another pilot with a hook instead of a hand. In spite of their differences, the film shows the true-life dedication of these men in carrying out the mission, even when it endangers their lives.
As a little side-note, there is a scene near the end when the special bombs to be used on the raid are being towed to the aircraft, and at the very top of the screen we see a then-contemporary 1960's car go zooming by!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Star Wars !, 2 Oct. 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 633 Squadron [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
Anybody who has watched Star Wars (the original first film from 1977) will realise, watching the climax of this film, what a great deal of inspiration George Lucas got from it when he filmed the destruction of the Death Star. It features exactly the same narrow fjord like attack path, bristling with AA guns, and the one bomb that really does the business, after most of the attackers bite the dust ! Great fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

633 Squadron [VHS] [1964]
633 Squadron [VHS] [1964] by Walter Grauman (VHS Tape - 2000)
£3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews