Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chuck was good too!
When people talk about FNM they always refer to the Real Thing onwards, and appear to forget that FNM existed before Mike Patton. This along with We care a lot (their debut) are my favourite albums from these guys. Whilst admittedly Chuck Moseley is not as talented as Patton, his vocals nevertheless have a certain charm about them, as well as tons of attitude. On this...
Published on 23 Mar 2004 by Reza

versus
0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars its worth having for this price
not a great album by FNM standards as singer Chuck Mosely is quite difficult to understand. a lot more simpiler than the rest and less rocky. does have a few good tracks though, not excellent but good. the tracks sung by patton live in the early 90`s are so much better.
Published on 10 Mar 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chuck was good too!, 23 Mar 2004
By 
This review is from: Introduce Yourself (Audio CD)
When people talk about FNM they always refer to the Real Thing onwards, and appear to forget that FNM existed before Mike Patton. This along with We care a lot (their debut) are my favourite albums from these guys. Whilst admittedly Chuck Moseley is not as talented as Patton, his vocals nevertheless have a certain charm about them, as well as tons of attitude. On this album FNM come across like a junior Public image limited or baby Chilli Peppers. Which is no bad thing. Get this album it's an undiscovered gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, you must believe!, 9 Jan 2002
By 
This review is from: Introduce Yourself (Audio CD)
I've read all the other reviews and one thing comes up everytime. Chuck Moresoly (spelt wrong) or Mike Patton? This really isnt the question as the anwser to any inquiry about Faith No More's underrated second album is "Yes, it ROCKS!!. Muscially there is almost nothing you can fault with this album, every song is amazing. Jim Martin is at a peak, listeners of The Real Thing can expect similar excellence here.
But again we must come to the Chuck or Mike debate. Dont get drawn into it. Never think 'I wish Mike Patton was singing'. Chuck does have a initially irritating lispy singing voice, as he cant really sing. But each song is so superb, and his voice is a big contributer to that. Get this album now, and listen to it without Mike Patton hang ups. I almost overlooked it by not giving it a chance. Then i bought a portable cd player, bunged it in, listened to it PROPERLY and loved it with all my Faith No More passioned heart. Hats of To Jim Martin (the crunch master), Billy Gould (superb bass), Mike Bordin (amazing tribal drumming), Roddy Bottum (adds every ounce of atmosphere) and yes, Chuck. The power behind the messege.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful in it's Ugliness, 29 Aug 2007
By 
J. S. Silke "hobo-john" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Introduce Yourself (Audio CD)
I am something of a Mike Patton fan to say the least, I think he's earth shatteringly brilliant. I love Faith No More in all their different phases. However, as the years roll by I think one FNM album stands out as consistently brilliant and exciting. It's this one, Introduce Yourself with the under achieving Chuck Mosely on vocals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't pass this over..., 25 April 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Introduce Yourself (Audio CD)
OK - the problem this album always faced was FNM really hitting it big once Chuck had left the band, but this album for me has so much going for it - an early energy that the band seemed to lose a slice of with each album they issued after.
Highlights here are the amazing Chinese Arithmetic, the well played We Care A Lot, and Anne's Song.
I admit Chuck's voice is an aquired taste, a slightly lazy vocal, but full of character as is the music. The album embraces a wide range of ideas, creating a varied, sometimes amusing, mostly heavy mix.
Not their first album, but an album that for me defined what Faith No More were to become, but with a little hint of magic and freshness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great>>Fantastic>>WONDErful, 14 Jun 2007
By 
jase "Jammy" (Ireland(North)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Introduce Yourself (Audio CD)
This is without a doubt ,one of the best records ever made..The words man sung by Mosley are genius..Patton done one great album with Faith no More,Chuck Mosley did two.. Jim Martin and Chuck Mosley made the sound of this band,Patton ruined it(the sound)..I like Patton on the real thing,,,everything else he did with FNM was usesless like that Mr Bungle stuff..Theres only so many times you can listen to Epic and a few other stuff...,But the crab song and this album,never dulls..quite the opposite infact..it inspires more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than you first think, 9 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Introduce Yourself (Audio CD)
Pre-Patton FNM has always had it's fair share of bad press, and with good reason - Chuck Mosely's vocals are drab, monotone, tuneless...
But give 'Introduce Yourself' a chance. Try to listen past the voice, to the music & the lyrics, & you'll find one hell of an album.
There's not one bad song on here: 'Faster Disco' is a cracking opener, and 'We Care a Lot' is a classic. 'Anne's Song', 'Death March', and 'Blood' are all great tunes too, but 'Chinese Arithmetic' is brilliant - overlooked far too regularly.
Yes, yes, we all know that if Mike Patton was singing it would have sounded better, but if Patton had been in the band at this time then these wouldn't have been the songs we'd have got - it would have been very different, both lyrically & musically.
So be grateful for the fact that this record was made the way it was. And after a while, when you're familiar with the songs, Chuck's voice really doesn't sound half as bad...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Definitive Faith No More Album, 26 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Introduce Yourself (Audio CD)
Forget everything you know about faith no more and listen to this album as one produced by a different band and you will love it. It is certainly superior to anything they have produced since. True, Chuck Moseley's vocals are an acquired taste, but they work wondefully well with the music. Had Mike Patten sung these tracks they WOULD NOT BE AS GOOD! The music avoids the silly heavy metalness they have since been associated with and can be at once raw and beautiful (the crab song). BUY THIS ALBUM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars old skool, 16 July 2010
This review is from: Introduce Yourself (Audio CD)
Not one of my favourite albums but we care alot is a classic and definately shines through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mike Who?, 9 May 2009
By 
G. Crone "gacman" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
By far the best FNM album. As far as I am concerned FNM became dull and tedious when Patton took over from Moseley. This album has more attitude than you can shake a stick at and, in my opinion, has never dated (unlike the rest of FNM's funk-metal stchick). Rock on Chuck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars no, chuck! don't do it! think of your puppy, milo, 19 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Introduce Yourself (Audio CD)
this could easily have been the greatest faith no more album of their career if only they'd put mike patton on vocals earlier. there isn't really one bad song in this collection and the only thing which prevents it from becoming a classic is mosely's irritating and lispy voice. if only they'd have stolen patton from bungle earlier they would have created a masterpiece far superior to angel dust
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Introduce Yourself
Introduce Yourself by Faith No More (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews