Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Introspection, pathos and insight, ..."Brilliant!"
This is such an accomplished album on so many different levels, that it really should be bought by all music lovers. She writes the most poignant songs that are so acute to feelings innate to us all. The album has a very distinct chronolgy to it, that I would imagine, mirrors events in her life. "Telling Stories" the title track recounts a relationship where she...
Published on 27 Oct 2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars CD Doesn't load to PC
I have recently bought this and a couple of other Tracy Chapman CD's. None of them will load to my, relatively new, PC. The disk just isn't readable on it. This is teh only artist I have this issue with, all my other CD's load up just fine. I have managed to get round the problem by copying the CD using and older PC and the copy loads up just fine. Beware, Tracy's CD's...
Published on 2 May 2012 by RAJ1o1


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Introspection, pathos and insight, ..."Brilliant!", 27 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Telling Stories (Audio CD)
This is such an accomplished album on so many different levels, that it really should be bought by all music lovers. She writes the most poignant songs that are so acute to feelings innate to us all. The album has a very distinct chronolgy to it, that I would imagine, mirrors events in her life. "Telling Stories" the title track recounts a relationship where she was fictitiosly made out to be the 'one at fault' all the time. "Unsung Psalms" - truly one of the most beautiful songs you'll ever hear, is concerned with the ideas of redemption and salvation. She questions her life, the afterlife, and whether at her funeral, she would have had a fulfilled and generally 'proper' existence. My favourite song besides the two I've mentioned is "The Only One" which is Tracy's dirge for her mother who died last year. IT regards her losing centre, and finding that living without her mother is an experience that she is finding difficult to get used to. She almost reverts back into a child to reflect this point. "Does heaven have enough angels yet?" she continues to say. The line " sometimes I hear her calling straight from the house of God!" just sums up Tracy Chapman's considerable talents. She has a fantastic voice, full of emotion, and is able to relate complex feelings in a simple form, the mark of a true genius. I can not emphatically recommend this album enough!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This album exhibits Tracy Chapman at her very best., 21 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Telling Stories (Audio CD)
When I heard that Tracy Chapman had a new album out, I simply had to rush and buy it. I bought the album after only hearing the first single "Telling Stories" once. I enjoy every track on the album. "Unsung Psalm" tells a haunting tale of a person looking back on their life after they have died. Tracy proclaims "There would be psalms sung by a choir/If I'd lived right." I have always thought that Chapman is an underrated love song writer. "Devotion" from this album is a simple, yet very poignant song expressing the truth of love. It follows in the mode of "Baby Can I Hold You" and "For You" from her 1988 self-titled debut album. Tracy evokes a sense that we have no control over whom we love and the emotion in this song makes the listener feel as if she has felt these emotions before. "Less Than Strangers" speaks of the reality of a broken heart. Tracy sings "You and me had some history/Had a semblance of honesty/ All that has changed now/ We shared words only lovers speak/How can it be?/ We are less than strangers" Perhaps the most beautiful song on the album besides "Unsung Psalm" is "The Only One." This song features (hold onto your hats)the great Emmylou Harris shadowing Tracy on the chorus. The song simply evokes emotions in me that I never knew existed. "Paper and Ink" is a great song to listen to just to appreciate Tracy's talent with the acoustic guitar. I wholeheartedly recommend this album for all true Tracy Chapman fans. All true Chapman fans know the talent that exudes from this woman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stories Of Love And Life, 28 Feb 2007
This review is from: Telling Stories (Audio CD)
Obviously Tracy Chapman has been a name practically everybody on the planet knows if not they know and love her song 'Fast Car' from way back in 1988. 'Telling Stories' Chapman's fifth album is probably one of if not my favourite album of hers. I came across it by sheer accident i lent a CD to my older cousin and when i got it back this CD was in the case of the other (Smashing Pumpkin's Gish to be precise), I thought 'cool lets give it ago' i was blown away i ended up listening to it the whole night and ended up buying it a couple days later, I love this CD.

1.Telling Stories - Basically the song is about people lying about themselves to make them seem more interesting and appealing to others.Also the song could be about the affair Tracy had with acclaimed author Alice Walker back in the ninties i guess it wasn't a good break up then Tracy!

A brillantly written song which is one of my favourites 10/10

2.Less Than Strangers - One song that i personally identify with. She does a great job of expressing what it feels like to come face to face with an ex-lover; the kind of wistful awkardness that arises when you realize that you cannot even say hello to someone who you used to be able to share the most intimate of conversations with a beautifully sad song in the sense that it just goes to show you how much you can share with someone in the blink of an eye be nothing at all great song writing yet again, maybe another one about Alice Walker! 10/10

3.Speak The Word - I love the way her vocals are on this one, one of the sub-topics on this album is obviously love and this one is a clear indication of that.In this song we see Tracy trying to get people to feel and share this word 'love' as in the world there never seems to be enough of it almost like a gospel song just 'speak the word' and maybe it will come to you dont be afraid. 9/10

4.It's OK - Now this song is interesting it has of a baseline that most of her songs with a hip-hop beat.The song is about loving someone so much that their flaws don't phase you at all as alot of relationships take alot of work because both parties are different somethings are harder to tolerate than others so you 'keep the walls from falling down' for the love you have for that people and 'its OK' to be you 10/10

5.Wedding Song - Now since i've had this album this one the song that stuck out prominantly.The contents of the song is in the title really about giving yourself to someone who you love. The song is just so touching i love the melody,the lyrics,the vocal arrangements everything it's just one of the most perfect songs i've ever heard and you might think thats drastic but this song just spoke to me in others haven't it's my favourite song on the album and probably my favourite of her whole career. 10/10

6.Unsung Psalm - As well as love the other sub-topic is religion, almost like 'Wedding Song Part II'. I love the imagery she conjures up by the words she sings in the sense that it seems to me that she wants to be a pastor and like giving yourself to god, as i'm not a christian it doesn't really touch me in that way but i do love the song it's a nice down tempo ballad, almost heartwrenching it put me in the mind of an Anthony Hamilton song called 'Pass Me Over' which is of a similar subject (he could have been inspired, doubt it though) great song 9/10

7.Nothing Yet - I have to admit as much as i was touched and inspired but the whole album in general i'm not overly keen on this one.It has a sharp guitar riff, with a somewhat political mindset,I just got the feeling it was about city life in one way or another and how we treat others if u think it's bad now, 'you aint seen nothing yet' i like the lyrics it makes you think about society and your own situation but I felt it was a tad too long 7/10

8.Paper And Ink - A clear favourite of min, She sings about how material possession arent really that important and that money is only paper and ink,I do love the song alot but i thought that Tracy must be a bit disillusioned if she thinks that money isnt everything because truth be told it is, weither we like it or not which is a sad thing to comprehend but it's true

but in an ideal world i guess it would only be 'paper and ink' 10/10

9.Devotion - Another religious flavoured song, also very short too the lyrics are pretty straight forward i got the impression she was saying that if your devoted to your word then you'll go far, whatever kind of problems you have if you have the faith in yourself that you can stop your wrong doings then it will happen 6/10

10.The Only One - I really like this song it features background vocals from one of my favourite ladies Emmylou Harris,a nice laid back country-feel song. The song itself seems like a death of a loved one abeit a mother of sister..etc

i love the lyric "does heaven have enough/angels yet" i thought that was very sweet. Tracy and Emmylou work very well together they both have that distinct voice that just sounds beautiful (kinda like when Emmylou sang with Beth Orton)

great song to wind the album down. 9/10

11.First Try - This is another one like Wedding Song that i fell in love with, now with this song i felt that it could convey alot of different things but I felt that this could be about sexuality, especially with the lyric "Can't learn to except that its alright" i just started to think maybe this is another one about Alice Walker now as Tracy doesn't really talk about her personal life i don't know if shes ever been with men but if she has then this would be about either first try with a male or with a female i like the mystery the song holds and the jangly guitar riff gives it a mellow but sombre feel to it and the vocals are near to flawless definately favourite 10/10

Top 5

1.Wedding Song

2.First Try

3.Telling Stories

4.It's OK

5.Less Than Strangers

Shes one of the most iconic singer songwriters of the 80's/90's and she still one of my favourite and this album also falls under that catagory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best CD Tracy has done wonderfully poetic as usual, 27 Mar 2000
This review is from: Telling Stories (Audio CD)
Tracy Champman is one of my favorite artists. Telling Stories lives up to her high expectation. This CD will appeal to all her fans and also to people who are not familar to her work. Wonderfully original and caters for all moods. This CD gets two thumbs up, and definatly worth every penny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars highly under rated, 28 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Telling Stories (Audio CD)
This album has been long over due. unsong psalm, wedding song and only one are perhaps some of the best on the album, and one can feel the meaning and emotion with in the songs as she sings. Again i feel that she exceeds herself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tracy Chapman meets drum loops in the 21st Century, 14 April 2002
By 
C. Dodkin (California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Telling Stories (Audio CD)
Remember all of those acoustic tracks from her debut album, the near perfect production, clean and detailed recordings of heart felt songs....
Well Tracy has returned, after quite some time away, and she's still overflowing with the meaning of life experience, still producing music that demands to be listened to, but she's discovered some digital technology along the way.
No problem with that, the sample loops blend effortlessly into the soulful lyrics and spacious mixes.
The CD has been mastered as an HDCD, and it shows.
Buy this album if you love the Tracy Chapman of the 20th Century, or you love quality singer songwriters, or you just love beautifully produced CDs that make your hi-fi sound gorgeous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars upbeat tracy?, 13 Aug 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Telling Stories (Audio CD)
This album is good, only because it stands out from the rest of her albums, The songs are very upbeat, quick, jaunty, uplifting and pop like??? which is very strange for her, but of course with a chapman twist. I have to say I do like the vow like song of "the wedding song" its a very sincere, honest and humbling song.Where as the first song on the album "telling stories" is catchy and the chorus line will get stuck in you head!
Speak the world is tracy chapman in her usual niche of trying to change the world through song. Again it is upbeat.
In summary, this album stands out from the rest of tracys works which she pulls off quite well, even if it is slightly pop like! lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Delighted!, 4 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Telling Stories (Audio CD)
Had this playing non stop since it arrived. Was delivered a lot faster than expected. Delighted!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Voice, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Telling Stories (Audio CD)
Love Tracy Chapmans songs so obviously I was pleased with this. If its your taste you certainly won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This album is a must for any collection., 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Telling Stories (MP3 Download)
one of my all time fav singer songwriters,beautiful lyrics great melodies,not a bad track on this album dont miss it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Telling Stories
Telling Stories by Tracy Chapman (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews