Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely magical
absolutely magical - inspiring from start to finish, this is one of my favourite albums of all time. Humourous, melancholy and plain strange, this is worth every penny. 'physics disco' describes every geek you ever knew, 'roro blue' comes as close as a song ever can to reducing me to tears, and 'sur la plage' - well its partly sung in french! what more needs to be...
Published on 17 Dec 2001 by freya (frena@breathe.com)

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's 1995 all over again
I was briefly excited about this band last year on the basis of two excellent singles, 'Blossoms Falling' and 'Shorley Wall'. I was hoping for a similarly exciting debut album, but this is a huge disappointment: tedious, melodically uninspired, fairly soulless. The band's professed hatred of irony means that the lyrics are basic and often cloying; there are several...
Published on 10 Feb 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely magical, 17 Dec 2001
This review is from: The Magic Treehouse (Audio CD)
absolutely magical - inspiring from start to finish, this is one of my favourite albums of all time. Humourous, melancholy and plain strange, this is worth every penny. 'physics disco' describes every geek you ever knew, 'roro blue' comes as close as a song ever can to reducing me to tears, and 'sur la plage' - well its partly sung in french! what more needs to be said!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true representation of hearftfelt innocence and warm love., 18 July 2001
By 
capulet7r@yahoo.com (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Magic Treehouse (Audio CD)
From the opening track to the hidden delights at the end of Silver planet, Ooberman have managed to lay down life, love and all those things that keep the mind young in a 14 track musical treat. Special mention goes to the following tracks, which are a 'must listen' for anyone who has ever loved and been loved by someone special; Track 11) Amazing in Bed & 12) Shorley Wall. The latter was the first track to bring me to the attention of Ooberman and no doubt was for many other listeners. Further listening confirmed this band have what many other bands have lost..."The desire to write music on what truly matters in life after all the layers of corporate varnish have been stripped away. 'Sur la Plage' gives us the wonderful vocals of Sophia as does 'Shorley Wall', together with the kicking base line in 'Bees' and 'Sugar Bum' gives this album depth and variation as well as melodic menageries such as 'Roll me in Cotton' and 'Roro Blue'. The whole album is a wonderful mix of musical enlightenment and honest lyrics, which leaves the listener feeling young again and with the feeling they have just discovered something very special. No record collection is complete without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do not buy this Album! It will change your life forever!, 12 Jan 2001
This review is from: The Magic Treehouse (Audio CD)
As every Ooberman fan would tell you this album is a life changing experience. It will tug at every string of emotion in your body.
You must be warned, to some this is not just an ablum, it is a collection of human emotion!
It can make you tingle with joy with the likes of 'Blossoms falling' and 'stormtrooper' and melt your heart with 'Shorley Wall and 'Roll me in Cotton'
Ooberman have gone to the limits of chessy pop with the Magic Treehouse, and yet somehow still keep in sense of almost unatural class which is carried on from the Shorley Wall EP (which in itself is the most beautifull thing in the world!)
Ooberman carry a unique scent of life in their music,which is so uplifting when comparing the likes of the other teeny pop pondlife surfacing in the charts every week.
In essence, Ooberman have done good in The Magic Treehouse. They really have created the 8th Wonder of the world!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beauty in a box., 22 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Magic Treehouse (Audio CD)
Once, whilst taking a train journey, I overheard a man who said, 'All things which are truly beautiful are those which come from nature: plants, animals, people, life.'. He had not heard The Magic Treehouse.
In less than one hour, Ooberman's writing partnership of Andy Flett and uncredited assistant producer Dan Popplewell have encompassed human emotion in its entirity. So full is this debut, that two years later, I'm almost grateful for the label wranglings that have caused a delay in the follow-up; for it could only be a disappointment.
Ooberman's singles are also worth finding for some excellent b-sides such as Danny Boy, and Laughter Lines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ********** (10 stars out of 5), 19 Mar 2004
By 
This review is from: The Magic Treehouse (Audio CD)
it's lively, it's beautiful, it's meaningful, it's happy, it's sad, it's mad, it's complex, it's simple, it's perfection.
I didn't listen to it for a while then found it again, popped it in the cd player and just cried with happiness. everyone can connect with at least one song on there and it's just feel good pop that takes you back to childhood once again.
Buy it if you want your life changed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magical, beautiful, wonderful, 16 Oct 2003
By 
Mr. D. N. Sumption (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Magic Treehouse (Audio CD)
I first came across Ooberman via the Transcopic Records website - bought their first single Sugar Bum because it was infectiously bouncy, dancey, wonderful. When I saw this album I bought it because I loved Sugar Bum so much - initially I was a little disappointed because the other tracks on the album weren't as punky (and even the version of Sugar Bum on here has less of a raw edge), but very soon I got to love every single song on here. My wife and I even ended up leaving our wedding ceremony to the sound of Ooberman singing "Amazing in Bed".
Ooberman approach music-making and lyric writing in a way that it completely, uniquely their own, and the result is a magical emotion-laden world that will make you laugh and cry more than any other band I can think of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A truly magical album, 22 Mar 2003
By 
This review is from: The Magic Treehouse (Audio CD)
This is the one album that made me sit and realise what it is all about. My first experiences of Ooberman was the track "Shorley wall". This is a magical melodic peice of music as is the whole album. It's worth buying to hear the angelic vocals of Sophie's angel like voice reading a beautiful poem at the end of shorley wall.
The are not many bands out there with such honest lyrics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely magical, 17 Dec 2001
This review is from: The Magic Treehouse (Audio CD)
absolutely magical - inspiring from start to finish, this is one of my favourite albums of all time. Humourous, melancholy and plain strange, this is worth every penny. 'physics disco' describes every geek you ever knew, 'roro blue' comes as close as a song ever can to reducing me to tears, and 'sur la plage' - well its partly sung in french! what more needs to be said!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Uncomplicated, intelligent and inspired!, 12 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Magic Treehouse (Audio CD)
I had never heard of this band before, but when a friend put this CD on one night I was instantly hooked. Every tune is memorable. It makes a mighty fine change from listening to the same old complicated and pretentious trash released by most contemporary bands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No cheese or pretentiousness, just perfect pop, 13 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Magic Treehouse (Audio CD)
One of the great ironys of the music world is that great music is often ignored because of flash-in-the-pan boy or girl bands designed for maximum exposure on radio and tv.
Ooberman hope to break this chain with the radio-friendly but cheese-free Shorley Wall, their next single off The Magic Treehouse, which will surely get higher than their last hit Blossoms Falling which just broke into the charts at 39. The Magic Treehouse is a journey through childhood, teenage years, and into adulthood with a sepia tinted view of life. The sad songs are uplifting and offer hope, the happy songs are, well happy. This band just want to have fun, and invite you to join their ride.
The next time you plan to spend a tenner of hard-earned cash, look further than whats on Top Of The Pops every week... Theres more to life than Steps and Westlife.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xadb8b684)

This product

The Magic Treehouse
The Magic Treehouse by Ooberman (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews