Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars67
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 January 2013
yeah dis is a good album its got good variation abot it da pumpkins are a very good indie type group
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2000
This is the Pumkins' latest album following the so called 'flop' of Adore and I can tell you this is one album that cannot be criticised by even the most cynical of people.
A lot has been expected from the Pumpkins after their massive success with Siamese Dreams and Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness. This is especially so because many were dissapointed by Adore's apparent lack of depth. The Pumpkins are the victims of their own success by producing such works of art (Siamese Dreams, MCIS) making it very difficult to improve on perfection.
This album in a word is glorious. Profound songs built on a foundation of prodigious drumming, deep lyrics and swirling sounds that you would never imagine could be produced by a guitar, will capture you in their involving beat. This is new, this is different, this is one album to get!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2006
This is one of those albums which at first, I wish hadn't been made. Taking a distinct change in sounds to previous albums but returning to original drummer Jimmy Chamberlin, Corgan sets out once again to take you on an astonishing trip of stunning and tragic music. At first i couldn't get to grips with the new sound, especially the layer of distortion that seems to be on top of everything else. I was crestfallen, surely the Pumpkins couldn't fade out like this? I didn't know how wrong I was, soon i was loving little snippets from 'Glass', 'Everlasting Gaze' and 'Wound', as I discovered the lyrical and musical depth on display here. 'Try' and 'This Time' are also instant pumpkins classics, and 'Age of Innocence' is likely to make any fan cry if listened to late at night. A brilliant and unique Pumpkins album that marks the end of an era.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2000
'Siamese Dream' is still my number one album of all time. I don't know why exactly, but that's music. The first review I read of this album said that it was a return to Pumpkin roots, which, I think everyone would agree, would be an improvement on their last album, 'Adore'. But I don't think it is. If I had to compare it with any of the other albums, it seems most similar to 'Adore', although admittedly more rocky. I can, however, say that, although this album was disappointing on this front, it is still good. One pleasing point is the return of Jimmy Chamberlin, who is an excellent drummer (the band line-up is not new at all, as stated below) - one reason that I thought a return to the older style seemed likely - and certainly the sound seems to have 'matured', which seems to be important to music critics today.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2000
This is class from start to finish, but its strange! mainlybecause "stand inside your love is definately the best song iheard this year. it's alongside "showbiz" by muse and "warm machine" by bush and "everlong" by foo fighters. Epic grandeur all round. The scale of greatness of songs like SIYL and "This Time" and "Try Try Try" is strangly not outweiged by the wierdness and of some of the songs. If Billy Corgan wants to make an art rock cd, he should look at OK Computer. The gothic sleeve and dark songs are obviously looking at the market of fashionably unhappy teenagers. But the great songs are unbelievable. Buy it if you like rock
P.S- what's the Meatallica moment all about at the end of everlasting gaze? END
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2001
The only reasons I can think that people dislike this album is that they didn't take the time to get into it or they just didn't get what the Smashing Pumpkins were about in the first place. From the opening track The Everlasting Gaze where Corgan slags off all the people who wrote him off after Adore to the beautiful songs that are Stand Inside Your Love and Try, Try, Try this album just has class. My one regret about this album is that it was they're last. This album should've been the start of the Pumpkins comeback but instead meant they split up. I still feel this will be they're last ever album (not counting Machina II) but I still hope that they will reform as the world is poorer without them
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2000
I saw the Smashing Pumpkins in concert in London in January and I was HIGHLY impressed with their new work. It is so amazing... I can't even begin to express how Billy has totally contradicted himself on his own words. They prove that they are able to come back with some totally groovy and very ROCKIN' tracks. If you are a true Pumpkins fan you will love it. If you're afraid that it won't be like the Pumpkins you know (i.e. "Siamese Dream" or "Mellon Collie") and more like "Adore" don't be... it's the smoothest. Totally check it out... I mean it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2000
From the opening riff of the everlasting gaze you know that this album is not album is not going to be like the last. Dont get me wrong Adore was an incredible album but this sees the pumpkins performing as only they can, with sheer power. It still has the electronica of Adore but a deffinate heavy feel harking back to such triumphs as X.Y.U and quiet. There are rumours that this is to be the last Pumpkins album. If so then this would be an excellent way to bow down in style.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2001
This is the pumpkins at their best.IT has Adore style slow songs , heavy new stuff (Heavy metal machine , everlasting gaze) and classic pumpkins -stand inside your love , this is in my opinion one of their greatest songs ever and could have come from ANY of their albums.The people who whine that this isnt like Siamese Dream etc just listen to the pumpkins for a quick fix of alt-pop and cant appreciate this masterpiece.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2000
This album is slightly different to their other albums but that is probably because of the new band line up. It has a lot to offer, the opening track the "everlasting gaze" is one of the greatest openings ever and "the crying tree of mercury " with its cowboy style sound. If you are a pumpkins fan then buy this if you have just discovered them get "siamese dream or mellon collie"
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£14.64
£3.41

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)