Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Give it a chance!
After the release of Mellon collie and the infinate sadness, Billy Corgan stated that it would be the band's last album of that type. This was proved, but still to the surprise of many, with the release of Adore. Now, with the return of the drummer, Jimmy Chamberlain, the Smashins Pumpkin's release MACHINA/the machines of God; a high-flown, sometimes heavy, sometimes...
Published on 4 Nov 2000

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amost - But Better Is Out There
All the other reviews here say why this is a great release but it's worth mentioning that this was meant to be a far bigger project.

Well, record companies often do the stupidest things. Billy Corgan wanted this to be a double CD and they said no. Then Billy wanted to release another album called 'Machina II' (also a double) and they said no again...
Published on 11 Aug 2008 by Vitamino


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The smashing Pumpkins on form again., 28 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Machina / The Machines Of God (Audio CD)
From the opening riff of the everlasting gaze you know that this album is not album is not going to be like the last. Dont get me wrong Adore was an incredible album but this sees the pumpkins performing as only they can, with sheer power. It still has the electronica of Adore but a deffinate heavy feel harking back to such triumphs as X.Y.U and quiet. There are rumours that this is to be the last Pumpkins album. If so then this would be an excellent way to bow down in style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Anybody who truly loves the SP's will adore this album, 21 Mar 2000
By 
hc700390@ntu.ac.uk (Nottingham, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Machina / The Machines Of God (Audio CD)
I've only recently recieved a copy of the CD but have already listened to it about 50 times. As always with this band, the songs they produce are varied, with slow thoughtful melodies mixing it with heavier, guitar driven tracks. Songs of distinction, in my opinion, are Age of innocence, Wound, Heavy metal machine and This time. (although I think most of them are really good!) So, if you trust my views above, go on and buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Machina Pumpkins at their best, 4 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Machina / The Machines Of God (Audio CD)
This is the pumpkins at their best.IT has Adore style slow songs , heavy new stuff (Heavy metal machine , everlasting gaze) and classic pumpkins -stand inside your love , this is in my opinion one of their greatest songs ever and could have come from ANY of their albums.The people who whine that this isnt like Siamese Dream etc just listen to the pumpkins for a quick fix of alt-pop and cant appreciate this masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exellent!, 13 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Machina / The Machines Of God (Audio CD)
This album is slightly different to their other albums but that is probably because of the new band line up. It has a lot to offer, the opening track the "everlasting gaze" is one of the greatest openings ever and "the crying tree of mercury " with its cowboy style sound. If you are a pumpkins fan then buy this if you have just discovered them get "siamese dream or mellon collie"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cosmic Rock, 5 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Machina / The Machines Of God (Audio CD)
Taken on its own, Machina_The Machines of God is an interesting album with some great moments, e.g. Stand Inside your Love, and some less accessible, even perhaps quite patchy moments; but the album works in its strong focal vision, consistency of sound-scape and sound-effect which, for want of a better word, I would describe as "cosmic". However Machines of God is only part one of the project as another reviewer very helpfully pointed out.

Downloadable for free online is Machina 2_The Friends and Enemies of Modern Music which is punchier, grittier, and even more "cosmic" than Machina 1 which really gives the Machina project a whole new dimension. Any self-respecting Pumpkins fan must download Machina 2 now and discover it for themselves; in effect Machina 2 is to Machina 1 what "Twilight to Starlight" is to "Dawn to Dusk" on the Mellon Collie album, they form part of a unity.

Taken as a whole, then, Machina is a fascinating art work from an immensely prolific and creative band - or artist, since Billy Corgan i s the Pumpkins (to which one may add Chamberlain as the unsurpassed drummer of the band). The Pumpkins are one of the all time great rock bands and, in my estimation, tower above the likes of "Muse", "Radiohead", "Foo Fighters" in terms of creative vision and energy - and I do like the aforementioned bands but the Smashing Pumpkins just have that daring edge that, unsurprisingly, has gone unnoticed by thoughtless Rock critics who, for instance, even managed to snob Queen in their prime!

Taken on its own, however, The Machines of God is a good though not excellent album; I like it but have not quite reached the stage yet where I love it. Four stars it is then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly underrated masterpiece, 24 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Machina / The Machines Of God (Audio CD)
For many Pumpkins fans 'Machina' is near the bottom of the collection. Yet, it is an amazing album, it has that classic pumpkins feel thanks to Jimmy Chamberlain's return, whilst feeling new thanks to the ventures into new genres made by Billy Corgan. It can be best described as the sound of the much-loved favourite 'Siamese Dream' colliding with the meloncoly, expermimental 'Adore'. The only flaw is its a few songs too long, cut down those songs to 12 and it really is an undeniable classic.

The opening says it all with the brutal 'The Everlasting Gaze' which sounds like the most distorted Shoegaze know to man, while having a disco-esque drumbeat and an amazingly heavy bass. Its sets the tone of not knowing what to expect from the album. You have songs that will please fans of old. 'Stand Inside Your Love' which is like an intimate 'Tonight,Tonight' and the sad 'Try,Try,Try' which combinds sadness to a flowing, upbeat rythm in a way only bands of the Pumpkins talent can do effectively. 'I Of The Mourning' has a strong beat and a popish feel to it as does 'The Scared And Profane' both of which are brilliant songs.

I consider 'This Time' to be one of, if not the best, Pumpkins song ever. It has such a somber vibe, yet the guitars are distorted and loud, the bass strong and the drumming wonderfully rocky (Chamberlain really is superb). Corgan's voice sounds great on the album, much stronger than the early days, and his lyrics are great as usual. 'Wound' has a great gloomy, yet uplifting feel (i dont know how they do it) and Corgan sounds so emotive and powerful on it. 'With Every Light' and 'Blue Skies,Bring Tears' continue thise vibe and are great. While 'Age Of Innocence' ends it brilliantly, a song in a very simliar vain to '1979' and 'Perfect'.

It really is a great tragedy how underrated Machina is. In my eyes its easily up there with the Pumpkins best work and among the best album of the last 15 or so years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This album has everything, 2 Aug 2002
This review is from: Machina / The Machines Of God (Audio CD)
I listened to "Machina/the machines of God" because I had heard "Try, Try, Try" and couldn't get it out of my head. This was the first experience I had ever had of the Smashing Pumpkins, barring their appearance on "the Simpsons". I wasn't really expecting the rest of the album to be as good as "Try", but I thought the sleeve design was rather interesting (to put it mildly) and I gave it ago. I don't consider myself a grunger, and I had always thought the Pumpkins were a grunge band, which is why I stayed away from them. However, "Try" is definitely not a grunge record. In fact, with it's chorus "try to hold on", it is the exact opposite. When I got the album, still slightly wary, I skipped automatically to "Try" and it was, thankfully just as good as I remembered. I then started listening from the beginning, which is where "the Everlasting Gaze" hit me. A rip-roaring, defiant song with an addictive riff and Billy Corgan wailing his heart out in that wonderfully weird voice of his. I was surprised how much I enjoyed it. The only other track on the album which is as grungy is the equally enjoyable "Heavy Metal Machine". The great thing I've noticed about the Pumpkins is that Billy Corgan's lyrics are so obtuse and ambigious compared to other grunge bands, without the tiresome "I want to die" attitude ringing throughout every song. There is a great variation in the Pumpkins' songs. Just listen to "Heavy Metal Machine" and then "With Every Light", and you'll see what I mean. One is loud, brash and doom-laden; the other is sweet, jangly and melodic, and could put a smile on anybody's face. Admittedly, it is difficult to listen to an album lasting just over 70 minutes, but I find that if you make the effort with some of the later songs (which is where most people find their attention drifting), and try and get an idea of the songs' patterns, you will be rewarded. The other reward is "Age of Innocence", the last track on the album which is also a great song, which seems to (justifiably) despair of today's youth. The best song on the album, in my opinion, is "Raindrops + Sunshowers", for reasons I can't describe without sounding pretentious and stupid. Let's just say that it is very, very good. The other stand-out track on the album is "Stand Inside Your Love", which is instantly likeable and catchy with its memorable chorus and guitar solo. All in all, Machina is a great introduction to the Smashing Pumpkins (although it is their last record), with a brilliant variety of songs which demonstrate their grungy side, their happy side and their hopeful side.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pumpkins sound different yet the same, 16 July 2001
By A Customer
I think that this is an excellent album from the band. Many REAL pumpkin fans can say that all of there albums are brilliant in their own way. This, their last official release, is a compliment to everything the pumpkins have ever done. The songs on the album seem strange at first but they soon grow on you. Songs such as "I of the morning" and "stand inside your love" are brilliant. Although the album hasnt been so succesfull in the UK it did well in the US and should be given a chance. I think this is one of the bands best peices of work and essential for any Pumpkins fan. This album represents the pumpkins final tour of which the band performed most of these song excellently. Buy it now, you wont be disapointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Final Masterpiece, 7 Nov 2002
By 
Chris (Malvern, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Machina / The Machines Of God (Audio CD)
This album is pure genius and possibly the pumpkins best album, and there stunning finish - where as many bands simply dewindle out. The album follows a similar style throughout, but conatins 15 songs, 73minutes and not an off chord, it's not an exciting album but more reflective its highly depressing, but brillant.
For those with the best of; The Everlasting Gaze doesn't really represent the album the songs follow more along the line of inside your love. I would definatly recommend this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Machina CD The Smashing Pumpkins, 23 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Machina / The Machines Of God (Audio CD)
Good CD although not my favourite but definately one for the collection. If a fan of the SP then by this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Machina / The Machines Of God
Machina / The Machines Of God by Smashing Pumpkins (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews