Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stands up on its own
This was the first Smashing Pumpkins record I bought, and despite working backwards through the earlier recodings, this remains my firm favourite. Maybe I'm not a typical Pumpkins fan, but this has drive and energy to it that I find lacking in 'classics' like Mellon Collie. Almost every track has my foot tapping away as the beat takes me over...
Published on 26 Nov 2003 by David Bradshaw

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amost - But Better Is Out There
All the other reviews here say why this is a great release but it's worth mentioning that this was meant to be a far bigger project.

Well, record companies often do the stupidest things. Billy Corgan wanted this to be a double CD and they said no. Then Billy wanted to release another album called 'Machina II' (also a double) and they said no again...
Published on 11 Aug 2008 by Vitamino


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amost - But Better Is Out There, 11 Aug 2008
This review is from: Machina / The Machines Of God (Audio CD)
All the other reviews here say why this is a great release but it's worth mentioning that this was meant to be a far bigger project.

Well, record companies often do the stupidest things. Billy Corgan wanted this to be a double CD and they said no. Then Billy wanted to release another album called 'Machina II' (also a double) and they said no again.

Poor sales was their reason but this is the Smashing Pumpkins we're talking about here. Surely a record company should have faith in their artists. Oh, I'm being silly now.

Get this and then head over to the Pumpkins' own site where you can download 'Machina II' for nothing. It makes this whole project make sense. 'Machina II' is a rougher and more life affirming experience and (along with Machina I) you can hear what Billy Corgan was really trying to do here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stands up on its own, 26 Nov 2003
By 
David Bradshaw "hassleddad" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Machina / The Machines Of God (Audio CD)
This was the first Smashing Pumpkins record I bought, and despite working backwards through the earlier recodings, this remains my firm favourite. Maybe I'm not a typical Pumpkins fan, but this has drive and energy to it that I find lacking in 'classics' like Mellon Collie. Almost every track has my foot tapping away as the beat takes me over...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Give it a chance!, 4 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Machina / The Machines Of God (Audio CD)
After the release of Mellon collie and the infinate sadness, Billy Corgan stated that it would be the band's last album of that type. This was proved, but still to the surprise of many, with the release of Adore. Now, with the return of the drummer, Jimmy Chamberlain, the Smashins Pumpkin's release MACHINA/the machines of God; a high-flown, sometimes heavy, sometimes mellow part 1 of their farewell.
It is the sort of album that you will either love or hate. The album is opened by the rather heavy "The Everlasting Gaze", which, although easy to appreciate, lacks something that long-time Smashing Pupmkins fans have come to expect. This is followed though by the Duran Duranish "Raindrops and Sunshowers" before the first single, "Stand Inside Your Love", which conclusively proves that the Pumpkins have still "got it". Just when you thought the album could get no better, this is followed by "I of the Mourning" which starts out slowly, but finishes in style with Jimmy Chamberlain proving that the band were firmly correct to re-enstate him.
After this promising start, the album fluctuates from the very good, to the quite good, before reaching the peak: track 13, "With Every Light", an atmospheric number which re-asserts the truth that the band has not deteriorated, but progressed; a certainty which may have waver within the listener since track 9: "The Imploding Voice".
On the whole, it is fair to say that the album has more ups ("Stand Inside your Love", "I of the Mourning", "This Time" and "With Every Light") than downs ("The Impolding Voice" and "Blue Skies Bring Tears"). It is proof that, although the pumpkins have moved on, they have still got what we all loved about Siamese Dream and Mellon Collie and the Infinate Sadness.
In conclusion, I will refer back to my first point: Machina sings true what Billy Corgan said: the Smashing Pumpkins would never again produce music like that of the first three albums; now they have moved on. In the same way though, that is not to say that the music would deteriorate, and Machina proves that it did not.
Give the album a chance; it might not be what you expect, but it is still well more than one listen, and is a fitting farewell to such a great band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One Last Swing..., 19 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Machina / The Machines Of God (Audio CD)
'MACHINA / the machines of god', laden with heavy guitars and pounding drums, is a far cry from the overall refined solemnity of it's predecessor 'Adore'. From the opening burst you would expect the entire album to attempt to distance itself from the change in sound the Smashing Pumpkins experimented with on Adore (especially considering the first line "You know I'm not dead") but it doesn't. In fact MACHINA runs much deeper than that, and lyrically Billy Corgan shows he's just as good as ever. There are some pretty impressive and diverse songs here; in fact most are of excellent quality, however it does droop somewhat on the track 'Blue Skies Bring Tears'. Some fans may be disappointed that the band (entire once again) do not return to the familiar sounds of 'Siamese Dream' or 'Mellon Collie And The Infinite Sadness', but the Pumpkins have far more talent up their sleeves than to be repetitive. MACHINA is a welcome break from the shallow, pop-frenzied music world into which the album was released and is the most difficult Smashing Pumpkins album to grasp, but once you get your arms around it you can devour it's brilliance and you'll be left eagerly awaiting the leftovers album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heaven Sent, 28 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Machina / The Machines Of God (Audio CD)
After the relative commercial failure of 1998's delightful "Adore", The Smashing Pumpkins went back to the drawing board. Welcoming rehabbed drummer Jimmy Chamberlin back into the fold, the band prepared to rock. So it is with their 5th album "MACHINA/the machines of God", that they return with their finest material to date. Encompassing elements of previous albums "Gish", "Siamese Dream", "Mellon Collie" and "Adore", the Pumpkins are back with a bang. From the hard rock of "The Everlasting Gaze", to the almost acoustic, upbeat mellow rocker "Wound", there's something for everyone on this record. The melodic rock of the paen to rock radio "I of the Mourning", the blissful "Age Of Innocence" and the prog rock type behemoth "Glass and the Ghost Children" consolidate the truly great nature of the album. An album accessible to long term fans and newcomers alike, "MACHINA" does not dissapoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cosmic Rock, 5 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Machina / The Machines Of God (Audio CD)
Taken on its own, Machina_The Machines of God is an interesting album with some great moments, e.g. Stand Inside your Love, and some less accessible, even perhaps quite patchy moments; but the album works in its strong focal vision, consistency of sound-scape and sound-effect which, for want of a better word, I would describe as "cosmic". However Machines of God is only part one of the project as another reviewer very helpfully pointed out.

Downloadable for free online is Machina 2_The Friends and Enemies of Modern Music which is punchier, grittier, and even more "cosmic" than Machina 1 which really gives the Machina project a whole new dimension. Any self-respecting Pumpkins fan must download Machina 2 now and discover it for themselves; in effect Machina 2 is to Machina 1 what "Twilight to Starlight" is to "Dawn to Dusk" on the Mellon Collie album, they form part of a unity.

Taken as a whole, then, Machina is a fascinating art work from an immensely prolific and creative band - or artist, since Billy Corgan i s the Pumpkins (to which one may add Chamberlain as the unsurpassed drummer of the band). The Pumpkins are one of the all time great rock bands and, in my estimation, tower above the likes of "Muse", "Radiohead", "Foo Fighters" in terms of creative vision and energy - and I do like the aforementioned bands but the Smashing Pumpkins just have that daring edge that, unsurprisingly, has gone unnoticed by thoughtless Rock critics who, for instance, even managed to snob Queen in their prime!

Taken on its own, however, The Machines of God is a good though not excellent album; I like it but have not quite reached the stage yet where I love it. Four stars it is then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly underrated masterpiece, 24 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Machina / The Machines Of God (Audio CD)
For many Pumpkins fans 'Machina' is near the bottom of the collection. Yet, it is an amazing album, it has that classic pumpkins feel thanks to Jimmy Chamberlain's return, whilst feeling new thanks to the ventures into new genres made by Billy Corgan. It can be best described as the sound of the much-loved favourite 'Siamese Dream' colliding with the meloncoly, expermimental 'Adore'. The only flaw is its a few songs too long, cut down those songs to 12 and it really is an undeniable classic.

The opening says it all with the brutal 'The Everlasting Gaze' which sounds like the most distorted Shoegaze know to man, while having a disco-esque drumbeat and an amazingly heavy bass. Its sets the tone of not knowing what to expect from the album. You have songs that will please fans of old. 'Stand Inside Your Love' which is like an intimate 'Tonight,Tonight' and the sad 'Try,Try,Try' which combinds sadness to a flowing, upbeat rythm in a way only bands of the Pumpkins talent can do effectively. 'I Of The Mourning' has a strong beat and a popish feel to it as does 'The Scared And Profane' both of which are brilliant songs.

I consider 'This Time' to be one of, if not the best, Pumpkins song ever. It has such a somber vibe, yet the guitars are distorted and loud, the bass strong and the drumming wonderfully rocky (Chamberlain really is superb). Corgan's voice sounds great on the album, much stronger than the early days, and his lyrics are great as usual. 'Wound' has a great gloomy, yet uplifting feel (i dont know how they do it) and Corgan sounds so emotive and powerful on it. 'With Every Light' and 'Blue Skies,Bring Tears' continue thise vibe and are great. While 'Age Of Innocence' ends it brilliantly, a song in a very simliar vain to '1979' and 'Perfect'.

It really is a great tragedy how underrated Machina is. In my eyes its easily up there with the Pumpkins best work and among the best album of the last 15 or so years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Machina Pumpkins at their best, 4 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Machina / The Machines Of God (Audio CD)
This is the pumpkins at their best.IT has Adore style slow songs , heavy new stuff (Heavy metal machine , everlasting gaze) and classic pumpkins -stand inside your love , this is in my opinion one of their greatest songs ever and could have come from ANY of their albums.The people who whine that this isnt like Siamese Dream etc just listen to the pumpkins for a quick fix of alt-pop and cant appreciate this masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like the Smashing Pumpkins you MUST have this album, 3 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Machina / The Machines Of God (Audio CD)
The only reasons I can think that people dislike this album is that they didn't take the time to get into it or they just didn't get what the Smashing Pumpkins were about in the first place. From the opening track The Everlasting Gaze where Corgan slags off all the people who wrote him off after Adore to the beautiful songs that are Stand Inside Your Love and Try, Try, Try this album just has class. My one regret about this album is that it was they're last. This album should've been the start of the Pumpkins comeback but instead meant they split up. I still feel this will be they're last ever album (not counting Machina II) but I still hope that they will reform as the world is poorer without them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Close, but not quite 1995, 25 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Machina / The Machines Of God (Audio CD)
I must agree with many of the contributors, this is a good album, and with 'Music' in the poor state it is in at the moment with the saturation of candy sweet pop this is a metaphorical light at the end of a very dark tunnel. Following the terrible 'Adore' and the mass walk away by many genuine Pumpkins fans, at least Billy C has attempted to try and go back to what he excells at, self pitying rock music. The album contains a few Great songs, of which 'This Time' and 'Glass and the ghost children' still stop me in my tracks with their brilliance every time I hear them. But in places there is still reminants of what and where Billy attempted to go with Adore. Many will say music should only evolve, but the pumpkins went too far last time and lost the essence of what they had brilliantly created. Buy this album, it'll make you believe in rock again, but it certainly isnt Mellon Collie or Siamese Dream if that is what you are searching for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9de93408)

This product

Machina / The Machines Of God
Machina / The Machines Of God by Smashing Pumpkins (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews