Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stands up on its own
This was the first Smashing Pumpkins record I bought, and despite working backwards through the earlier recodings, this remains my firm favourite. Maybe I'm not a typical Pumpkins fan, but this has drive and energy to it that I find lacking in 'classics' like Mellon Collie. Almost every track has my foot tapping away as the beat takes me over...
Published on 26 Nov 2003 by David Bradshaw

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amost - But Better Is Out There
All the other reviews here say why this is a great release but it's worth mentioning that this was meant to be a far bigger project.

Well, record companies often do the stupidest things. Billy Corgan wanted this to be a double CD and they said no. Then Billy wanted to release another album called 'Machina II' (also a double) and they said no again...
Published on 11 Aug 2008 by Vitamino


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amost - But Better Is Out There, 11 Aug 2008
This review is from: Machina / The Machines Of God (Audio CD)
All the other reviews here say why this is a great release but it's worth mentioning that this was meant to be a far bigger project.

Well, record companies often do the stupidest things. Billy Corgan wanted this to be a double CD and they said no. Then Billy wanted to release another album called 'Machina II' (also a double) and they said no again.

Poor sales was their reason but this is the Smashing Pumpkins we're talking about here. Surely a record company should have faith in their artists. Oh, I'm being silly now.

Get this and then head over to the Pumpkins' own site where you can download 'Machina II' for nothing. It makes this whole project make sense. 'Machina II' is a rougher and more life affirming experience and (along with Machina I) you can hear what Billy Corgan was really trying to do here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stands up on its own, 26 Nov 2003
By 
David Bradshaw "hassleddad" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Machina / The Machines Of God (Audio CD)
This was the first Smashing Pumpkins record I bought, and despite working backwards through the earlier recodings, this remains my firm favourite. Maybe I'm not a typical Pumpkins fan, but this has drive and energy to it that I find lacking in 'classics' like Mellon Collie. Almost every track has my foot tapping away as the beat takes me over...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Give it a chance!, 4 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Machina / The Machines Of God (Audio CD)
After the release of Mellon collie and the infinate sadness, Billy Corgan stated that it would be the band's last album of that type. This was proved, but still to the surprise of many, with the release of Adore. Now, with the return of the drummer, Jimmy Chamberlain, the Smashins Pumpkin's release MACHINA/the machines of God; a high-flown, sometimes heavy, sometimes mellow part 1 of their farewell.
It is the sort of album that you will either love or hate. The album is opened by the rather heavy "The Everlasting Gaze", which, although easy to appreciate, lacks something that long-time Smashing Pupmkins fans have come to expect. This is followed though by the Duran Duranish "Raindrops and Sunshowers" before the first single, "Stand Inside Your Love", which conclusively proves that the Pumpkins have still "got it". Just when you thought the album could get no better, this is followed by "I of the Mourning" which starts out slowly, but finishes in style with Jimmy Chamberlain proving that the band were firmly correct to re-enstate him.
After this promising start, the album fluctuates from the very good, to the quite good, before reaching the peak: track 13, "With Every Light", an atmospheric number which re-asserts the truth that the band has not deteriorated, but progressed; a certainty which may have waver within the listener since track 9: "The Imploding Voice".
On the whole, it is fair to say that the album has more ups ("Stand Inside your Love", "I of the Mourning", "This Time" and "With Every Light") than downs ("The Impolding Voice" and "Blue Skies Bring Tears"). It is proof that, although the pumpkins have moved on, they have still got what we all loved about Siamese Dream and Mellon Collie and the Infinate Sadness.
In conclusion, I will refer back to my first point: Machina sings true what Billy Corgan said: the Smashing Pumpkins would never again produce music like that of the first three albums; now they have moved on. In the same way though, that is not to say that the music would deteriorate, and Machina proves that it did not.
Give the album a chance; it might not be what you expect, but it is still well more than one listen, and is a fitting farewell to such a great band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A return to form for Billy and co., 3 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Machina / The Machines Of God (Audio CD)
If with "Mellon Collie" the SP's proved that a double-album in the MTV-fuelled 3-minute attention span '90's wasn't necessarily commercial suicide, then with "Adore" they didn't quite win the dare, jarring quite sharply and harmfully between wash-out shallow singles and deep awesome lovely textures.
It comes as a relief then that Billy and co are back on-track despite the problems that have come upon them and still threaten. On first listen, like all SP albums (IMHO) it all seems like a mash of sonics - 3/4th listen in things begin to clarify. Token rockers "The Everlasting Gaze" and "Heavy Metal Machine" (do these sound perhaps a little similar to previous SP rockers "Zero" and "Love" respectively?), hit first, but then slower deeper songs like "The Scared and Profane", "Try Try Try", "This Time" and "I of the Mourning" kick-in and its hard not to be involved. The album slides from overt heavy at the beginning to soft fade-out come the end, yet yields it almost subliminally so that you feel almost a lifetime's emotions passing with each listen. Maybe at the long 73 minute running time some would agree cynically so, but the time is never wasted, Billy saturates the disc with feel. Its almost as if the disc is beating a pulse in your hands. If there are any faults to mention then its only perhaps that the album will not lure anyone so far alien to the Pumpkins cause.
Overall, especially it seems from current interviews with the band, Billy is down and angry again, and as of the past it seems that if pain causes pleasure then this latest slice is something to treasure. Those with a short attention span will not enjoy this, but SP fans and lovers of deep, intelligent, enjoyable 3-dimensional rock will be in Zen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Close, but not quite 1995, 25 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Machina / The Machines Of God (Audio CD)
I must agree with many of the contributors, this is a good album, and with 'Music' in the poor state it is in at the moment with the saturation of candy sweet pop this is a metaphorical light at the end of a very dark tunnel. Following the terrible 'Adore' and the mass walk away by many genuine Pumpkins fans, at least Billy C has attempted to try and go back to what he excells at, self pitying rock music. The album contains a few Great songs, of which 'This Time' and 'Glass and the ghost children' still stop me in my tracks with their brilliance every time I hear them. But in places there is still reminants of what and where Billy attempted to go with Adore. Many will say music should only evolve, but the pumpkins went too far last time and lost the essence of what they had brilliantly created. Buy this album, it'll make you believe in rock again, but it certainly isnt Mellon Collie or Siamese Dream if that is what you are searching for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glorious..., 8 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Machina / The Machines Of God (Audio CD)
This is the Pumkins' latest album following the so called 'flop' of Adore and I can tell you this is one album that cannot be criticised by even the most cynical of people.
A lot has been expected from the Pumpkins after their massive success with Siamese Dreams and Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness. This is especially so because many were dissapointed by Adore's apparent lack of depth. The Pumpkins are the victims of their own success by producing such works of art (Siamese Dreams, MCIS) making it very difficult to improve on perfection.
This album in a word is glorious. Profound songs built on a foundation of prodigious drumming, deep lyrics and swirling sounds that you would never imagine could be produced by a guitar, will capture you in their involving beat. This is new, this is different, this is one album to get!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One Last Swing..., 19 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Machina / The Machines Of God (Audio CD)
'MACHINA / the machines of god', laden with heavy guitars and pounding drums, is a far cry from the overall refined solemnity of it's predecessor 'Adore'. From the opening burst you would expect the entire album to attempt to distance itself from the change in sound the Smashing Pumpkins experimented with on Adore (especially considering the first line "You know I'm not dead") but it doesn't. In fact MACHINA runs much deeper than that, and lyrically Billy Corgan shows he's just as good as ever. There are some pretty impressive and diverse songs here; in fact most are of excellent quality, however it does droop somewhat on the track 'Blue Skies Bring Tears'. Some fans may be disappointed that the band (entire once again) do not return to the familiar sounds of 'Siamese Dream' or 'Mellon Collie And The Infinite Sadness', but the Pumpkins have far more talent up their sleeves than to be repetitive. MACHINA is a welcome break from the shallow, pop-frenzied music world into which the album was released and is the most difficult Smashing Pumpkins album to grasp, but once you get your arms around it you can devour it's brilliance and you'll be left eagerly awaiting the leftovers album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heaven Sent, 28 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Machina / The Machines Of God (Audio CD)
After the relative commercial failure of 1998's delightful "Adore", The Smashing Pumpkins went back to the drawing board. Welcoming rehabbed drummer Jimmy Chamberlin back into the fold, the band prepared to rock. So it is with their 5th album "MACHINA/the machines of God", that they return with their finest material to date. Encompassing elements of previous albums "Gish", "Siamese Dream", "Mellon Collie" and "Adore", the Pumpkins are back with a bang. From the hard rock of "The Everlasting Gaze", to the almost acoustic, upbeat mellow rocker "Wound", there's something for everyone on this record. The melodic rock of the paen to rock radio "I of the Mourning", the blissful "Age Of Innocence" and the prog rock type behemoth "Glass and the Ghost Children" consolidate the truly great nature of the album. An album accessible to long term fans and newcomers alike, "MACHINA" does not dissapoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock is NOT dead!, 27 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Machina / The Machines Of God (Audio CD)
I saw the Smashing Pumpkins in concert in London in January and I was HIGHLY impressed with their new work. It is so amazing... I can't even begin to express how Billy has totally contradicted himself on his own words. They prove that they are able to come back with some totally groovy and very ROCKIN' tracks. If you are a true Pumpkins fan you will love it. If you're afraid that it won't be like the Pumpkins you know (i.e. "Siamese Dream" or "Mellon Collie") and more like "Adore" don't be... it's the smoothest. Totally check it out... I mean it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The smashing Pumpkins on form again., 28 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Machina / The Machines Of God (Audio CD)
From the opening riff of the everlasting gaze you know that this album is not album is not going to be like the last. Dont get me wrong Adore was an incredible album but this sees the pumpkins performing as only they can, with sheer power. It still has the electronica of Adore but a deffinate heavy feel harking back to such triumphs as X.Y.U and quiet. There are rumours that this is to be the last Pumpkins album. If so then this would be an excellent way to bow down in style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Machina / The Machines Of God
Machina / The Machines Of God by Smashing Pumpkins (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews