Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars28
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 December 1999
Forget Lauren, Erykah, Macy Gray or any of the other pretenders. "Black Diamond" oozes class. Pure soul tracks overlaid with incredible vocals.
Angie Stone has been there and back - writing for the likes of Mary J, Maxwell, D'Angelo and Kravitz over the last 20 years. The album has the kind of feel and vibe that you associate with one of the great soul artists - Gladys Knight, Chaka Khan, Al Green and The Isley Brothers
Dare I say it - this is a timeless record - she will be massive in 2000! Buy it!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2000
Angie's debut is stunning... up there with the likes of last year's best albums by female artists, i.e. Mary J Blige's 'Mary', Macy Gray's 'On How Life Is'...
The influences of D'Angelo are most obvious in 'Coulda Been You' and 'Everyday', but on other tracks, Angie's own distinctive style is shown... 'No More Rain', 'Visions', 'Life Story' and 'Green Grass Vapors' are all brilliantly original, yet still mainstream.
Angie covers two lesser-known songs as well: Marvin Gaye's 'Trouble Man' and Lenny Kravitz's 'Heaven Help', both to a very powerful effect... with slight variations because of her gender!
And Angie's voice is pure bliss to listen to.
She can be let off for the over-sentimentality in her thankyou's in the cover - because the music is pure first class soul - something we have been short of in recent years. Mature, sultry, smooth - Angie Stone is here to stay.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2000
When I first listened to this record, and even listening to it now, the songs that sound out are the little numbers where Angie is singing with little or no music to back her up (Black Diamonds and Blue Pearls, and a little song at the end of My Lovin' Will Give You Something). In these songs she sounds genuine and soulful.
In contrast songs such as Coulda Been You, Visions and My Lovin' Will Give You Something aren't as good, more mechanical than soulful, which is the problem with this record and (though not immediately) become really offputting.
She does make up for it though with some other great tracks which show her great potential - Everyday, No MoreRain (In this Cloud), Green Grass Vapours and Baby Slow Down
This isn't a bad album, far from it, but in with Black Diamond it's a case of when it's good it's VERY good and when it's bad it's awful
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2000
there is not a bad track on this album. perfect for relaxation and brilliant as a genral listning record. all the way through the c.d her glowing voice shines through, she is a gifted lady. if you rated each track individually non of them would have a rating of under four stars. an absolute nececity for any record collection. so much soul.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2000
The debut effort from Angie Stone, Black Diamond, is perhaps the third best album of 2000 (behind Jill Scott and Sade). Songs such as the beautiful Heaven Help, bluesy Everyday, and the pure brilliance of Life Story ensure this. Even the interludes refrain from being the annoying, unnecessary fillers they usually are. However, the main problem is that a couple of tracks are over-funky, such as Baby Slow Down and Love Junkie, giving an over-slick feel. Other notable tracks include the serene No More Rain, the understated Just a Pimp and Green Grass Vapours, and her version of Marvin Gaye's Trouble Man. Overall, a great debut, perfect to play early in the morning or late at night... so buy it!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2000
You can do yourself no better favour than to make it your absolute priority to buy this recording right now. Don't be proud. If you need to beg the money...do it. Someone has called this "overpolished". Now way. I'ts just precise; and it's a precision that can only be achieved by an exceptional artist. It's just carefully considered and beautifully crafted soul music, straight from Angie's heart. There's no affectation here, every track, every beat, every breath has a reason. A really enjoyable, honest and accessible, upbeat, funky record. It's hard to convey in words how good this really is as you need to feel it. Just buy it. You win all the way.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2014
I came to Angie Stone late - not until 'wish I didn't miss you' and have her later albums (The Art of Love and War and Mahogony Soul which I love and Rich Girl which I didn't really). Recently saw her live and she sang a few songs from this album which I then HAD to get. This album is now my favourite - No More Rain, Green Grass Vapours, Life Story, Visions, Just a Pimp, Baby Slow Down being the stand out tracks for me. If you love soul (or neo soul as they call this but as Angie says it's all soul) you'll love this album and will play it again and again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2000
This lady is has got real depth. She sings like she means it, her fantastic voice expresses everything she's feeling...and more. These days that's quite a rarity. She brings to mind artists such as Chaka and Gwen McRae..(though I would never compare!) Her talent is obvious, unlike most of the so-called 'soul diva's' around at the moment. I bought this CD knowing only one track 'No More Rain', but that was just a taster of what I was in for. This is funky, sexy soul with a fresh new edge...at last! GO GIRL!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2000
I first heard Angie Stone on the radio. Its was one of those days when you needed to breath of fresh air. Mine came in the form of Ms Stone. I bought the Album and not only are her song writing skills undisputable, her voice can take you to heights and depths of emotions which most songs cannot even begin to do. Angie Stone is a true conveyor of thoughts and feelings. In concert, her voice is better live and she has a presence that leaves you enthralled. You go girl!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2000
Typical of hearing a good single 'My Life Story' I went and bought this album. The tracks just don't really catch you so you only play the bits you like.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)