Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A New Order Turning Point
This is most definitely a turning point for the Order. Movement was really a Joy Division release without Curtis, whereas Power Corruption and Lies is clearly a band finding their own sound with the distinctive use of electronics throughout. I have this on vinyl and the track order is very different to the CD listed. However I am sure this will not detract from ones...
Published on 3 May 2003 by David Ellis

versus
17 of 36 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Another Pointless New Order Issue
Power, Corruption and Lies is a wonderful New Order album, it is an album I love and is dearly treasured and important to me, and it is a crucial release in the development of the band as they slowly slip from the shadow and reputation of Joy Division and Ian Curtis.

That said PCL's shape, form and sound - as it was designed by the band in 1983 - had a beauty,...
Published on 30 Sep 2008 by Mr. G. Hassan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A New Order Turning Point, 3 May 2003
By 
David Ellis "DE" (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Power, Corruption And Lies (Audio CD)
This is most definitely a turning point for the Order. Movement was really a Joy Division release without Curtis, whereas Power Corruption and Lies is clearly a band finding their own sound with the distinctive use of electronics throughout. I have this on vinyl and the track order is very different to the CD listed. However I am sure this will not detract from ones overall enjoyment.
The opener "Age of Consent" brings Hooky's base to the fore of the music and Morris's drumming is excellent along with Bernard’s (slightly more) confident vocals combine to give a definitive New Order Track.
Another track of note is "586", which can only remind listeners of Blue Monday. The distinctive New Order sound is very much present, which would be developed in later albums.
These are two of my personal favourites from the album, but to be honest none of the tracks are weak. This isn't the best Order album to buy first, (Low - Life would be a better first buy), but this is still an excellent release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New Order - Power Corruption and Lies - Best Album to date, 23 Sep 2008
Update :

New Order issues
===================================================================
Warner respond to fan complaints about poor quality re-issues
10 October 2008 - Peter Hook has revealed to the BBC that the New Order reissues have received complaints from fans because of the poor quality.

The records were released at the end of September and Hook has blamed the problems on cut backs in the record industry and some missing tapes.

The former Joy Division and New Order bassist explained the problem: "Funnily enough we've actually got a few problems with our fans complaining about the quality of the re-masters of the companion discs. Not the LP's because they're safe and the tapes for those we have.

"A lot of them are lost, between us listening to the collation and between them coming onto the CD, something seems to have gone wrong."

Hook attributed it to problems within the record company, saying: "They don't have half the staff they used to have so everything becomes quite a trial, and I know from doing the Hacienda compilation tape, you get a lot of masters of old songs - they are mastered from the record because nobody can find the tape."

And it seems there was some miscommunication with their record label: "What's been intensely annoying for us is that all these people are complaining because they've bought them in the shops and Warner's chose to release them to the shops before they sent them to the band, so I haven't got one. A masterful piece of planning."

Contact Warner

Warner say that if any of the fans want to contact them about the quality of the New Order re-issues, then they can email this address:

Neworder.d2c@warnermusic.com

New order- power corruption and lies (remaster)
----------------------------------------------------
Well, its here at last...

For me, the pinnacle of their career, and their best album.
nothing has quite come close to the level they were at when
this album came out..

So lets talk about specifics:
=======================================================
1) The album is not overly loud, or 'over mastered', i'm
still comparing all the individual tracks... but so far
they look really good

2) The soft parts are clear, with no noise or artifacts
that i've noticed..

I'm listening through altec-lansing speakers, and also through
headphones

3) The loud parts are not distorted

4) Tracks are complete and not missing parts

The bonus disc:
==========================================================
1) Unfortunately , the bonus disc starts off badly with
'blue monday' still missing the intro beats

2) The sound quality for 'blue monday' is very good however, i'll compare
it with the 'substance' version, and also with the '24 hour
party people version)

However, note that the mastering for the bonus tracks is on the 'loud' side, and it looks like there might be a little bit of overcropping..

3) The rest of the tracks sound fine also, and are not overly
loud, and do not have their levels maxed out...

4) The last track on the disc is listed as 'confusion (alt version)',
when in fact it is confusion (instrumental)....

==========================================================

Overall, the main album is excellent, and
definitely worth getting...

The bonus disc is average, but the sound quality is very good.. of course they could have put more tracks on there as it is about 60min+ in total

New Order have never sounded better !!!!!

This is a very good job, and after all these
years, to finally get a great copy of it is
very special to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply scintillant, 9 Dec 2011
By 
Seņor Spook "Spooky B" (Charlottetown, PEI, CANADA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Power, Corruption And Lies (Audio CD)
A bouncy, jolly treat, "Power, Corruption & Lies" leaps into action right from the get-go. Opener, "Age of Consent" rocks-out in ways their debut album, "Movement" didn't (and couldn't) before dipping into jazzy melancholy with "We All Stand". Then comes the game changer, "The Village"; the drum machines and sequencers are switched on and the band are in the pipeline for a full-on early 80's Electro blowout. Each subsequent track mines new veins of possibility while joyous experimentation runs rampant throughout. Timeless, fantastic stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime - Possibly Best Album of All Time, 28 Sep 2009
This review is from: Power, Corruption And Lies (Audio CD)
New Order of course did lots of great stuff after this - and are of course as Tony Wilson characteristally said , "The best band of all time", but this is still for me their very best album.
Still remember getting it home to my student shared flat in Cardiff in 1982 or was it 1983 (too old to care) and being pretty amazed.
As an old boy it seems great that it is still appreciated by people new to music today.
A great band and I'm sure Rob Gretton, Tony W and Martin Hannett are looking down from on high with real pride.
Oh and if you are buying any compilations get "Substance" because some of the other compilations have edited down the songs including scandalously the ace instrumental on "Perfect Kiss"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The title says it all!, 9 Dec 2001
This review is from: Power, Corruption And Lies (Audio CD)
Coming some two years after Movement, this was the
turning point album in many ways. Many, including
the band themselves, felt that Movement was too
close to the Joy Division sound and this is partly
borne out as they are not keen to play anything
from it (barring the odd Dreams Never End!).
Movement was also the last JD/NO album to be
produced by the gifted (and late) genius Martin
Hannett. So, P, C & L sees the band stretching
out in different directions at the same time.
Your Silent Face is classic early NO: a sequenced
and metronomic line locked in tight to Steve's
Oberheim DMX drum machine (later to find fame on
Blue Monday). On top of these are Gillian's
spacious string lines, Hooky's melodic bass and
Barney intoning the lethal pay-off line before
aforementioned strings - and his melodica! -
come back: "You've caught me at a bad time so
why don't you piss off?".
I've seen them do this track live a few times,
the last time being in October 2001 at Brixton
and to see a few hundred people shout it back
at Barney is quite something! On record, it's
a glorious moment.
Leave Me Alone is stripped-down, powering along
on Hooky's driving bass and Steve's dynamic
drumming. Ecstacy features another minimal
bassline and superb vocoder vocals. They only
used it on this (and The Beach), it went wrong,
they spent a fortune on it but it never worked
again! Ultraviolence conveys an air of menace
where Barney's restrained vocals compliment the
impending savagery of the music perfectly.
Both We All Stand and 586 first saw an airing in
early form on a Peel session in the summer of 82.
We All Stand is incredibly minimal: there's very
little there, just sparse guitar, Hooky's winding
bass and Steve's effected drumming.
586 is a different kettle of fish. The Peel
version is quite minimal but this is a corker.
An insistant sequenced bassline draws us in
and the band give it to us with both barrells,
drawing to a close with a brilliant sampled
toy piano solo!
"I heard you calling..." says Barney as the
music swells and the sound is quite joyful
and exuberant, two fingers to NO's detractors
who see their music as dour and joyless.
Not so. They were on their way to the big time
and this album paved the way...
Al Ferrier, December 2001
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Order reach top form, 18 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Power, Corruption And Lies (Audio CD)
Their second and much more consistent album. Hooky's bass really starts to take effect from this release onwards.
It is obvious from this album that the band had discovered their own direction to take, rather than copying their old JD days. Barney's love of eurodance combined well with the pop stylings of the band on such numbers as the opener 'Age of Consent'.
However a darker touch still is constant on this album. Though unlike before it is much more focused and expertly written into songs.
On '586' you can hear the blueprint for 'Blue Monday',(absent from the UK release), it is very similar in style and compares quite favourably with the classic 'Monday', especially when it reaches the closing stages and the piano kicks in.
'Ultraviolence' is a dark track, though this is disguised with the sounds created by the band. 'Ecstasy' is a vocodered driven electronic track. Don't let that put you off! Rather than maxing up with mic, Barney sings quietly through it and it sounds more like he's singing through a very basic radio microphone. New Order used vocoders well, once and never again, unlike others!
A great album and New Order's first essential release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rare Beauty, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Power, Corruption And Lies (Audio CD)
I had forgotten what a timeless album this was - after seeing them live in Asia last year where they played a couple of the tracks I repurchased it on CD as the original disc is marooned in an attic 1,000's of miles away.

Having listened to the vinyl throughout teenage years the CD does not fail to deliver. It still retains its melancholic beauty and charm.

A truly wonderful piece of music does not contain any superfluous filler. Each track meshes into the next with a seamless cohesion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Power, Corruption and Lies, New Order, 15 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Power, Corruption And Lies (Audio CD)
New Order at its finest, 10/10. There are no duff tracks so you can listern to it all the way through....Which makes it a great album for when your driving!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All hail . . ., 22 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Power, Corruption And Lies (Audio CD)
I've just purchased this album on CD after owning it on vinyl for over 20 years.

As soon as I heard the intro to 'Age of Consent', I fell in love with New Order all over again.

No one sounds like them. No one makes me 'well' up like them.

I can't write any more, as i'm wasting time by not listening to it again . . .

BUY IT!! And I hope it soundtracks your life like it did mine (and does again) . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soldier waiting, 27 April 2008
By 
Mr. M. J. Cole "Coleser" (Gloucester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Power, Corruption And Lies (Audio CD)
This possesses a particular sound that resonates through all the tracks, a confident electronic groove that indicates a band that has found its collective feet and knows the kind of music it needs to make. It sounds fabulous. That flowery cover was great too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Power, Corruption And Lies
Power, Corruption And Lies by New Order (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews