Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Are there enough superlatives?
It is very, very hard to describe this CD without resorting to gushing superlatives and over-use of the words "amazing", "fantastic", and "wonderful"; yet this album is all of those things and more; much more.
To describe it briefly, I'd call it a collection of jazz songs and classics carefully selected from the 1920's all the way to the present, sung in beautifully...
Published on 3 Oct 2004 by mikezm

versus
5 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars silly
Having bought and listened to every track I now see the nonsence people talk. The over lush backing to nearly every number is just plain silly. It totally distacts from her singing which is very good. Before buying this CD listen to a least a couple of tracks and if that's what you like then fine. I didn't I bought it from hearing her sing 'Both sides now' in the film...
Published on 10 Jun 2012 by Danny Thorpe


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely easy listening, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Both Sides Now (Audio CD)
I purchased this cd for one specific song yet have enjoyed all the songs on this cd. A good easy listening cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars collectors item, 3 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Both Sides Now (Audio CD)
great, just as I remember from decades ago. Got the cd to complete my collection and play it in the car
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Songs, 3 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Both Sides Now (Audio CD)
Every song on this CD is worth listening to. I must admit I'd never really been into Joni Mitchell before listening to this. Both Sides Now and A Case of You are my favourite tracks. I think she has captured a new fan. Absolutely loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing album of an interesting mix of songs, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Both Sides Now (Audio CD)
Tremendous jazz voice of Joni Mitchell was quite a surprise to me, based on previous knowledge of the singer. The highpoint of this album , the track ' A case of you' with the immortal lines
I could drink a case of you darling
Still I'd be on my feet
Loved it and I implore you to try it out you wont be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Emotional filled music., 12 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Both Sides Now (Audio CD)
Beautiful music, great cd by joni Mitchell. Great to listen to in the background and really stirs the emotions. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Big Band Joni Mitchell, 15 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Both Sides Now (Audio CD)
This is a step back in time, with songs and arrangements from yesteryear. Sumptuous recording - a welcome addition to any library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful voice, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Both Sides Now (Audio CD)
I have been wanting a Joni Mitchell album for ages and I am so glad I bought this CD, great choice and great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Both Sides Now, 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Both Sides Now (MP3 Download)
Buy this album for two very good reasons: 1 - the chance to hear Joni Mitchell work her way through a selection of beautiful but bitter-sweet love songs and 2 - the chance to hear Vince Mendoza's wonderfully lush orchestral arrangements for these songs. You buy one, you effectively get one free. Who could ask for more?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I have fallen in love and gone to heaven!, 17 May 2013
By 
JMC663 (Huddersfield) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Both Sides Now (Audio CD)
Joni Mitchell is an amazing artist. her music is so emotional and captures you. I can listen to her album over and over again. Simply Outstanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply wonderful., 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Both Sides Now (Audio CD)
The collection that Mitchell has put together is truly wonderful. Both sides now is exactly that. She takes the listener on a journey of falling in heady love, then things start to grow wrong, and ending up being able to articulate 'both sides now' coming out at the other end let down and alone. Don't listen to feel better, but to just to revel in her beautiful tones, the jazz and be taken on a ride of emotion, sorrow and aloneness. Takes a clever artist to pull this off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Both Sides Now
Both Sides Now by Joni Mitchell (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews